BrightLocal

Who Uses BrightLocal?

Local brick-and-mortar businesses. Service-area businesses. SMBs. Multi-location businesses. Enterprise clients. SEO agencies. Marketing agencies.

What Is BrightLocal?

BrightLocal's mission is to make local marketing simple.

Trusted by SMBs, multilocation businesses, and agencies, BrightLocal's all-in-one platform includes Reputation Manager, Local Search Audit, and Citation Tracker.

The platform also provides white-label reports and agency lead gen tools.

In addition to BrightLocal's all-in-one platform, you can manage business listings through Citation Builder.

Try BrightLocal free for 14 days (no card required) and see if it works for you!

BrightLocal Details

BrightLocal

https://www.brightlocal.com

Founded 2009

Local Search Grid
Local Search Audit
Reputation Manager
Local Search Rankings Che
Citation Tracker
BrightLocal video
Play
Local Search Grid-thumb
Local Search Audit-thumb
Reputation Manager-thumb
Local Search Rankings Che-thumb
Citation Tracker-thumb

BrightLocal pricing overview

BrightLocal does not have a free version but does offer a free trial. BrightLocal paid version starts at US$29.00/month.


Starting Price

US$29.00/month

Free Version

No

Free Trial

Yes

BrightLocal deployment and support

Support

  • Knowledge Base
  • 24/7 (Live rep)
  • Chat

Deployment

  • Cloud, SaaS, Web-based

Training

  • Live Online
  • Webinars
  • Documentation

BrightLocal Features

  • A/B Testing
  • API
  • Activity Dashboard
  • Advertising Management
  • Alerts/Notifications
  • Analytics/ROI Tracking
  • Audit Management
  • Backlink Monitoring
  • Campaign Analytics
  • Campaign Management
  • Click Tracking
  • Competitive Analysis
  • Content Management
  • Conversion Rate Optimisation
  • Customisable Branding
  • Customisable Reports
  • Customisable Templates
  • Dashboard
  • Data Visualisation
  • Email Marketing
  • Google Analytics Integration
  • Keyword Rank Tracking
  • Keyword Research Tools
  • Keyword Tracking
  • Landing Pages/Web Forms
  • Link Management
  • Localisation Automation
  • Mobile Keywords
  • Monitoring
  • Multi-Campaign
  • Multi-Language
  • Multi-Location
  • Performance Management
  • Performance Metrics
  • Real Time Data
  • Real Time Notifications
  • Real-time Updates
  • Reporting & Statistics
  • SEO Management
  • Scheduled / Automated Reports
  • Social Media Integration
  • Third Party Integrations
  • Trend Analysis
  • User Management
  • Visual Analytics
  • WYSIWYG Editor
  • Web Traffic Reporting
  • Website Analytics
  • Website Management
  • Workflow Management

View full list of SEO Software

BrightLocal Alternatives

More BrightLocal alternatives

BrightLocal Reviews for UK Users

Read all reviews

Overall rating

4.7/5

Average score

Ease of Use 4.5
Customer Service 4.7
Features 4.6
Value for Money 4.7

Review software

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Write a Review!
Scott H.
CEO
Internet, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/03/2021

"Long Time User & Fan"

Comments: To some degree or other we've used all the different toolsets, and every single local business we've worked with has been entered into the system. For some we've used limited items, like citation building and tracking, and for others we've used the whole suite. The improvements over the years have been impressive, with white label dashboard a few years ago, right up to the recent local rankings grid reports.

Pros: The ease of setup when entering a new client is probably my favorite feature, the way you can literally utilize every tool in the shed during a clean click through process.

Cons: The fact that their "Citation Checker" shows an ever growing number, and displays a chart giving a false impression of growth when the old citations may no longer exist. When a citation no longer exists, it should come off the report just like a lost link would. The Google Analytics integration is also very basic, and it would be nice to have more data options, but for a basic customer dashboard it's okay. It's going to need an update soon, since new businesses are defaulting to GA4 and I dont think this integrates

Vendor Response

by BrightLocal on 11/03/2021

Hi Scott,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review. It's great to hear you've found the tools easy to use.

You'll be pleased to know every time the Citation Tracker report is re-run we search for any listings that can no longer be reached (for instance; if they return a 404 error). These will then be removed from the report, and you'll see an alert of this at the top of the report page.

Thank you for your feedback regarding Google Analytics, our developers are currently working on the integration with GA4 and we hope for this to be available in the near future.

I'm glad you've noticed our improvements over the years, we've been working hard to provide better tools for our customers.

Don't hesitate to get in touch with our support team if there's anything else.

Best Wishes,
Myles - BrightLocal CEO

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/03/2021
Carlos A.
Owner
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/12/2020

"Simple yet robust. An excellent investment for any digital agency supporting local SEO."

Comments: When we first started with Brightlocal we worked directly with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]. I always appreciated his genuine character and hard work in supporting his clients. Today, they have a good support team, people like [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] (customer success team) who are always timely and detailed in responding to our support requests.

Pros: While there are many pros, overall - for me, the Whitelabel features equip an agency like ours to utilize the tools/reporting to the benefit of the clients we serve. We have used many tools since our inception, and we are confident BrightLocal remains at the top. They are always working hard at improving their toolset, and I get excited every time they launch a new feature, like a kid going into the candy store.

Cons: No cons, per say. Requesting more white-label tools to increase lead gen, over and about the site audit would be great. They are growing quickly, and in that come some issues here and there, but that is to be expected. I know they have the best interest of their clients in mind, so we roll through the issues together.

Vendor Response

by BrightLocal on 16/12/2020

Hey Carlos,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a fantastic review.

It's great to hear you've noticed we've been working hard to improve the tools. We really do value all customer feedback, it's incredibly important to us!

I'm glad you've been making use of the Whitelabel feature and thank you also for the feedback regarding the ability to add more customizability to the Lead Generation Widget, this is certainly something for us to consider for future changes.

Don't hesitate to get back in touch with the team if you need any further help at all.

Best Wishes,

Myles- BrightLocal CEO

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/12/2020
Caleb A.
Co-owner
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2019

"80% data inaccuracy. 0% customer service."

Comments: abismal

Pros: N/A none at all terrible do not consider you have been warned

Cons: This is a reporting tool who's data is 80%+ inaccurate. After working through many automated emails from them, my team and I finally got a meeting with our Brightlocal rep. They literally told us to go in and fix it manually for each and every client. Clearly we have no use for a reporting tool who's reporting is so aggressively wrong so we attempted to cancel our annual subscription. Here was the reply: Our rep:
"As per our Terms and Conditions:
Section 6.5) 'If you subscribe to a Subscription Service then you may cancel such Subscription Service at any time. Termination will take effect from the end of the current Subscription Service Period. Subscription Fees will not be refunded for early cancellation or any other reason'."
Basically, if you own the annual account for a day, you can't get refunded for the year, even if the product is faulty in nearly every way from a reporting perspective, contrary to what was advertised. I'm sure a representative will comment on this rating and claim that they "taught us how to correct this issue and how to identify reporting mistakes" so here is my preemptive rebuttal: A. - Going in regularly to correct reporting issues completely eliminates the purpose of having a reporting tool. We were not made aware of the potential for reporting inaccuracies until after we were annual customers. B. - With client facing white label reporting, I might be able to identify and ignore faulty information but my client certainly won't.

Vendor Response

by BrightLocal on 18/11/2019

Hi Caleb

I'm Myles, BrightLocal's CEO.

I'm very sorry that you had such a frustrating experience.

Our policy is not to refund fees, however, we offer a free 14-day trial which typically gives customers long enough to evaluate our service, and most sign up for a monthly plan (not annual) which means they can leave any time. I have spoken to my Head of Support and discussed your case, and we will refund your payment in full as a gesture of goodwill.

We put a huge amount of effort and resources into data accuracy but the data isn't always 100% correct for a few reasons. We grab data from over 400 sites and many of these sites don't have APIs so we have to scrape the data. Many sites are not well structured which makes finding listings tricky. I won't go into the detail but long story short, finding listings isn't an exact science.

I would really like the chance to talk 1-1 so I can apologize personally; I have emailed you directly.

Thanks
Myles

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2019
Victor P.
Flat Tire Change Near Me
Automotive, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/03/2021

"Most honest company I have done business with in a long time"

Comments: I was absolutely amazed at the knowledge and help the staff gave me. I did tons of research and found this to be the MOST honest and affordable company offering these services. They have several free tools which brought me to their site and then they EVEN offer a free trial. Now you KNOW this business is honest and legit if they can offer a free trial and not worry if you will stick around. That is confidence knowing they have what you want at a GREAT price.

Pros: The absolute best thing about the software is the staff that walks you through it honestly. When just looking at the surface it doesn't look like much, but when you really dive into it. It offers SO MUCH for the price I am just amazed.

Cons: I am mad at myself I didn't talk to support sooner and really dive in when I first came across this business. Oh my goodness the time and money that could have been saved or reinvested. But I am happy I know now.

Vendor Response

by BrightLocal on 26/03/2021

Hi Victor,

Wow! Thank you for your fantastic review! It's great to hear you've had such an excellent experience, especially with our team.

We certainly pride ourselves on being as open and honest with our customers as possible so I'm so happy you've noticed!

Our support team are here to guide you through anything you need assistance with so please don't hesitate to get in touch if there's anything else!

Best Wishes,
Myles - BrightLocal CEO

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/03/2021
Ryan S.
Agency Owner
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/02/2021

"Local Business Citations The Smart Way"

Comments: Whenever I need customer support, they respond so quickly it's not funny! I rarely do though... I recommend it on my YouTube channel and website. I'd certainly recommend it to you to!

Pros: I like how easy it is to use and the cost per citation. We buy $1,000's worth of credits at a time to reduce our cost even more. I also like how it allows you to click through to existing citations whether they created them or not. Finally, I love their notes that tell you the details of creating a citation on each platform if there is something you need to know. Much appreciated feature!!!

Cons: I don't anything negative to say. We use it weekly as a tool in our website, SEO, and Google Ads web agency.

Vendor Response

by BrightLocal on 25/02/2021

Hi Ryan,

I appreciate you taking the time to leave us this brilliant review!

Thank you for recommending us too. It's great to hear your comments regarding our Citation Builder service, and that it's been easy to use, and that you've been enjoying certain features.

Don't hesitate to get back in touch with the team if you need any further assistance.

Best Wishes,

Myles - BrightLocal CEO

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/02/2021