BrightLocal

Who Uses BrightLocal?

Local brick-and-mortar businesses. Service-area businesses. SMBs. Multi-location businesses. Enterprise clients. SEO agencies. Marketing agencies.

What Is BrightLocal?

BrightLocal's mission is to make local marketing simple.

Trusted by SMBs, multilocation businesses, and agencies, BrightLocal's all-in-one platform includes Reputation Manager, Local Search Audit, and Citation Tracker.

The platform also provides white-label reports and agency lead gen tools.

In addition to BrightLocal's all-in-one platform, you can manage business listings through Citation Builder.

Try BrightLocal free for 14 days (no card required) and see if it works for you!

BrightLocal Details

BrightLocal

https://www.brightlocal.com

Founded 2009

BrightLocal video
Play
-thumb
-thumb
-thumb
-thumb
-thumb

BrightLocal pricing overview

BrightLocal does not have a free version but does offer a free trial. BrightLocal paid version starts at US$29.00/month.


Starting Price

US$29.00/month

Free Version

No

Free Trial

Yes

BrightLocal deployment and support

Support

  • 24/7 (Live Rep)
  • Business Hours
  • Online

Deployment

  • Cloud, SaaS, Web

Training

  • Live Online
  • Webinars
  • Documentation

BrightLocal Features

  • A/B Testing
  • Auditing
  • Competitor Analysis
  • Content Management
  • Dashboard
  • Google Analytics Integration
  • Keyword Rank Tracking
  • Keyword Research Tools
  • Link Management
  • Localisation
  • Mobile Keywords

View full list of SEO Software

BrightLocal Alternatives

More BrightLocal alternatives

BrightLocal Reviews for UK Users

Read all reviews

Overall rating

4.5/5

Average score

Ease of Use 4.3
Customer Service 4.5
Features 4.5
Value for Money 4.5

Review software

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Write a Review!
Ricardo P.
Founder
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/09/2020

"Palaciobox using BrightLocal"

Comments: Overall, BrightLocal really helped Palaciobox and helped us manage the SEO campaigns we ran for our clients. We are very happy with being part of BrightLocal and having them as a powerful too which helps us run our business.

Pros: What we liked best about BrightLocal was all the features that come with the software. There are many things you can do to analyze local SEO for different businesses. There are so many features set in place in order to help rank a business higher in Google.

Cons: What we liked least about BrightLocal was the set up and understanding how to use the website/software. They offered a demo on how to use the site, but there was still many questions at first that eventually we figured out. Still a great site to use for SEO.

Vendor Response

by BrightLocal on 23/10/2020

Thank you very much for reviewing us Ricardo, and for your feedback which we will certainly take on board.

You're more than welcome to get in touch if you need any help at all, and the team will be happy to help

Many thanks
Myles - BrightLocal CEO

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/09/2020
Carlos A.
Owner
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/12/2020

"Simple yet robust. An excellent investment for any digital agency supporting local SEO."

Comments: When we first started with Brightlocal we worked directly with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]. I always appreciated his genuine character and hard work in supporting his clients. Today, they have a good support team, people like [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] (customer success team) who are always timely and detailed in responding to our support requests.

Pros: While there are many pros, overall - for me, the Whitelabel features equip an agency like ours to utilize the tools/reporting to the benefit of the clients we serve. We have used many tools since our inception, and we are confident BrightLocal remains at the top. They are always working hard at improving their toolset, and I get excited every time they launch a new feature, like a kid going into the candy store.

Cons: No cons, per say. Requesting more white-label tools to increase lead gen, over and about the site audit would be great. They are growing quickly, and in that come some issues here and there, but that is to be expected. I know they have the best interest of their clients in mind, so we roll through the issues together.

Vendor Response

by BrightLocal on 16/12/2020

Hey Carlos,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a fantastic review.

It's great to hear you've noticed we've been working hard to improve the tools. We really do value all customer feedback, it's incredibly important to us!

I'm glad you've been making use of the Whitelabel feature and thank you also for the feedback regarding the ability to add more customizability to the Lead Generation Widget, this is certainly something for us to consider for future changes.

Don't hesitate to get back in touch with the team if you need any further help at all.

Best Wishes,

Myles- BrightLocal CEO

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/12/2020
Caleb A.
Co-owner
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2019

"80% data inaccuracy. 0% customer service."

Comments: abismal

Pros: N/A none at all terrible do not consider you have been warned

Cons: This is a reporting tool who's data is 80%+ inaccurate. After working through many automated emails from them, my team and I finally got a meeting with our Brightlocal rep. They literally told us to go in and fix it manually for each and every client. Clearly we have no use for a reporting tool who's reporting is so aggressively wrong so we attempted to cancel our annual subscription. Here was the reply: Our rep:
"As per our Terms and Conditions:
Section 6.5) 'If you subscribe to a Subscription Service then you may cancel such Subscription Service at any time. Termination will take effect from the end of the current Subscription Service Period. Subscription Fees will not be refunded for early cancellation or any other reason'."
Basically, if you own the annual account for a day, you can't get refunded for the year, even if the product is faulty in nearly every way from a reporting perspective, contrary to what was advertised. I'm sure a representative will comment on this rating and claim that they "taught us how to correct this issue and how to identify reporting mistakes" so here is my preemptive rebuttal: A. - Going in regularly to correct reporting issues completely eliminates the purpose of having a reporting tool. We were not made aware of the potential for reporting inaccuracies until after we were annual customers. B. - With client facing white label reporting, I might be able to identify and ignore faulty information but my client certainly won't.

Vendor Response

by BrightLocal on 18/11/2019

Hi Caleb

I'm Myles, BrightLocal's CEO.

I'm very sorry that you had such a frustrating experience.

Our policy is not to refund fees, however, we offer a free 14-day trial which typically gives customers long enough to evaluate our service, and most sign up for a monthly plan (not annual) which means they can leave any time. I have spoken to my Head of Support and discussed your case, and we will refund your payment in full as a gesture of goodwill.

We put a huge amount of effort and resources into data accuracy but the data isn't always 100% correct for a few reasons. We grab data from over 400 sites and many of these sites don't have APIs so we have to scrape the data. Many sites are not well structured which makes finding listings tricky. I won't go into the detail but long story short, finding listings isn't an exact science.

I would really like the chance to talk 1-1 so I can apologize personally; I have emailed you directly.

Thanks
Myles

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2019
Jonny C.
SEO Executive
Financial Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2020

"Good option for start-up Agencies or Freelancers"

Comments: Whilst it may not be perfect, for those of us starting out on our own this is a very inexpensive way of collating and tracking all the data we need to report to clients on a monthly basis.

Pros: BrightLocal is inexpensive for the features it provides, which allows you to track a lot of SEO metrics in once place. This makes it really handy for tracking and reporting purposes. Their local citations also allow quick link building options when required. White-label reporting options also gives you quick access to download user friendly and well displayed ranking and brand data to send to your clients, branded with your own logo. This is a real time-saver if you cannot afford some of the more expensive SEO products.

Cons: The reporting options could do with some additional customisation. Whilst you can white-label and add your own branding, the actual data that is presented is fairly linear. For example, you can only compare rankings to one point in time, and can't compare both starting rankings and month-on-month in the same report. If you opt to use their lead-generator audit tool be aware it uses a credits system. This runs out fast depending on how you set it up, so I don't personally believe it's a viable source of generating leads.

Vendor Response

by BrightLocal on 26/11/2020

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us Jonny.
It's great to hear you've had a positive experience, especially the fact we've been able to save you time!
I appreciate the comments regarding our reporting options and the ability to do more report comparisons, this is something for us to consider for future improvements. I'm sorry you've not found the Agency Lead Widget suitable for your needs though, additional credits are available and we do try and keep these at a low price to ensure they're cost-effective for our customers.
Best Wishes,
Myles - BrightLocal CEO

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2020
Vicki F.
Communications/Project manager
Internet, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/12/2020

"Great Software with great support"

Comments: The educational webinars, the documentation, the support materials and the really patient and helpful support team all make a really good product all around excellent !

Pros: I like the incredible support team and the well packaged programs that help sell the products to our client (Brightlocal helps users from beginning to the end of their clients' journeys)

Cons: Wish it were a little easier to import client business details into the location details area (I had to build a form to collect the clients' information, then copy and paste their responses into location details -- sometimes the minutiae of the details or changes gets a little overwhelming and I make mistakes...)

Vendor Response

by BrightLocal on 16/12/2020

Hey Vicki,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a great review!

It's fantastic to hear you've had such a positive experience, and I'm thrilled to hear our support team have been so incredible too.

Thank you also for your feedback regarding the Location Details area of the BrightLocal dashboard.

We do offer the ability to import Google My Business locations which is how a lot of customers save time- rather than manually inputting details. You are also able to make changes at any time. So, if you do spot any mistakes, we make this very easy for you to update.

Best Wishes,

Myles - BrightLocal CEO

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/12/2020