15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

What is Gingr?

Made by pet lovers, for pet lovers. Gingr is the top pet-care software. Features include: Gingr PreCheck, Pet Parent Mobile App + Portal, Multi-Location Functionality, Online Bookings, Automated Reminders, Marketing Campaigns, Pet Report Cards, Staff Scheduling, In-Depth Reporting.

Gingr has the highest security and reliability in pet-care software, with A+ ratings in data security, uptime performance and speed.

Who Uses Gingr?

Made by pet lovers, for pet lovers. Gingr is the top pet-care software. With industry-leading performance and powerful features, Gingr works 24/7 to help pet-care professionals thrive.

Gingr Software - Gingr PreCheck: The first of its kind in pet-care software. Similar to checking in before a flight, our new industry-leading Gingr PreCheck functionality is designed to allow pet parents to complete a detailed check-in form before a
Gingr Software - The pet-parent mobile app is included with all subscriptions. This is the Pet Parent App account view.
Gingr Software - Manage employee tasks and see real-time updates of jobs from the dashboard
Gingr Software - Manage appointments from the built-in calendar with color coding for ease of understanding
Gingr Software - Create profiles for pets, including the most important information for the business

Not sure about Gingr? Compare with a popular alternative

Gingr

Gingr

4.6 (204)
US$95.00
month
Free version
Free trial
88
7
4.5 (204)
4.5 (204)
4.5 (204)
VS.
Starting Price
Pricing Options
Features
Integrations
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Customer Service
US$28.00
month
Free version
Free trial
51
3
4.6 (132)
4.7 (132)
4.9 (132)
Green rating bars show the winning product based on the average rating and number of reviews.

Other great alternatives to Gingr

Pet Sitter Plus
Top rated features
Appointment Management
Calendar Management
Client Management
Revelation Pets
Top rated features
Calendar Management
Email Reminders
Reminders
ProPet
Top rated features
Appointment Management
Electronic Payments
Pet Grooming
Kennel Link
Top rated features
Appointment Management
Booking Management
Client Management
DaySmart Pet
Top rated features
Appointment Management
Client Management
Confirmation/Reminders
PetExec
Top rated features
Appointment Management
Client Management
Online Booking
Pawfinity
Top rated features
Appointment Scheduling
Confirmation/Reminders
Pet Grooming
Kennel Connection
Top rated features
Appointment Management
Booking Management
Client Management
PocketSuite
Top rated features
Billing & Invoicing
Client Management
Mobile App

Reviews of Gingr

Average score

Overall
4.6
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.5

Reviews by company size (employees)

  • <50
  • 51-200
  • 201-1,000
  • >1,001
Scott
Scott
Senior Director of Marketing in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

"Most Useful Mobile App for Pet Owners"

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: There was a lot of time and effort put in, but the end result was not worth it. The implementation has been time-consuming and has not improved efficiency over the previous program. We spent over six months getting it functioning, and we've already heard that several of the tasks that our prior (free) program handled effortlessly with no effort are impossible with GingR. When I need help, I often get various answers from different members of the staff. If I'd been aware about Pet Exec beforehand, I definitely would have made that choice.

Pros:

A reservation and point-of-sale system, yes, but also so much more. It's a pretty thorough software that helps with organizing, communication, and streamlining. If it hasn't been implemented yet, it will be soon, as new features are being added to the application as quickly as the developers can conceive of them. Even though I had my doubts at first, it turned out that getting help with technical issues was as simple as going online. Their customer support is excellent, and they have implemented the few feature requests I've made. Because of the built-in tipping system, our staff has seen a tenfold increase in their tip income.

Cons:

I'm aware that there's often some sort of drawback to upgrading software. For four days, I thought about what I might say in this review that would be most useful to a new customer thinking about using Gingr. After two months of using Gingr, I still haven't found a single feature that I dislike.

Leanna
General Manager in US
Hospitality, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Alternatives Considered:

Long Time User - I Highly Reccomend!!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I love Gingr and am currently on a mission to convince my new employer to switch. If you have a dog care facility use them.

Pros:

All inclusive, multi-functional, customize-able, and intuitive. You can become an expert by simply clicking around. The included staff training is very useful and effective. Customization is a 4/5, you can do almost anything you want within the confines of their general set up. The system is reliable and updates in the background with little to no impact on user experience.

Cons:

The client portal isn't the most aesthetically pleasing and can be confusing at times. The customer support hours are stringent, and they lack a phone support option; but after you go live you need to contact support so infrequently it makes little impact. In my 5+ years working with their software I have needed to contact support maybe half a dozen times. My one big issue is the implementation team. At a previous employer, that was in the process of opening a daycare, I knew more about their software than half the team helping. BUT if you have any technological literacy it shouldn't be that major of an issue, just annoying.

Laura
Owner in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Like the software very much hate the lack of customer service.

2.0 6 years ago

Pros:

We like the basic functionality and speed of use especially vs. software that sits on the hard drive. The portal is nice and out clients enjoy it. The help articles for the basic set up and functionality are well done.

Cons:

When there is a big issue outside of basic functionality the chat support is a waste of time. A typical chat takes about an hour just to get to the point that they kind f understand what your talking about. For example my company Voxy Canine Camp recently reorganized and we opened a new merchant id account. The back end sent me the wrong merchant id #. I Ofcourse did not know it was wrong and after an hour on chat the person had no idea what was the problem because they did not have access to all of the information. It's a week later and aim trying again and still having issues. After introducing myself and business name/ 30 min into chat the rep from Gingr asks me what company Im with, Real problem solving should not be done by chat so this part of Gingr is horrible. Horrible enough that we are looking into switching this winter.

Gingr Response

6 years ago

Laura, We appreciate your candid feedback, and are sorry to hear that your most recent chat experiences have not been favorable. I called you directly last week to clear up the merchant account issue, which was a simple misunderstanding between how/why you were updating your merchant accounts. Once we got to the bottom of it, we resent the correct merchant number to be updated in your app. I also suggested that if you needed anything moving forward, to ask for me specifically and I would give you a call. In regard to this most recent issue, our staff was prompt in responding and in inquiring about the issue you were experiencing, and although it did take a bit to understand why you couldn't process payments (the merchant ID had been typed incorrectly - chat records show the correct ID was sent on 6/28) we were able to get this resolved and get you back up and running. Please let me know if you have any concerns moving forward. Michelle Ober Director of Operations

Jasmin
Salon Manager in US
Veterinary, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Booking with ease

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall Gingr has been a great asset to our company, and was such an ease to transition into when we switched from our old Booking system. So many features, and so easy to use.

Pros:

I like most that it's easy to use, serves for so many purposes in our Company such as booking Grooming Appointments, walk in services, daycare stays, daycare Evaluations, classes, and now we can use it in our multiple locations as well

Cons:

The only cons lately have been inconsistent customer service with longer wait times, and the Phone Number search feature not working lately has made some booking over the phone take longer. Phone number search is usually our go to Customer look up. It leaves us with less room for error and less time on the phone with the customer for easier booking

Aileen
Owner in US
Veterinary, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Couldn’t run our business without it

4.0 last year

Comments: We’ve had Gingr for approx 5 years now and could not do our daily business without it. Customer service on chat has always been pretty good and the onboarding and setup was very thorough.

Pros:

Being able to check in from anywhere is invaluable to me. The software is incredibly deep with a lot of settings and options etc.

Cons:

Gingr is really glitchy. There’s constantly small things here and there that are issues or aren’t working correctly or whatever which is frustrating, especially considering what we pay per month.