Who Uses When I Work?

From small businesses to large enterprise operations, management teams in every industry are using When I Work's free (up to 75 employees) software to fix employee scheduling & improve communication.

What Is When I Work?

When I Work is the easiest way for businesses to schedule and communicate with their hourly employees. Put the schedule and time clock in everyone's pocket. Schedule on-the-go with free apps for iPhone and Android. Save yourself time and money with simple employee scheduling tools.

When I Work is helping schedule over 1 million people around the world. When I Work is free for up to 75 employees, and flexible plans start at $1.50/month.

When I Work Details

When I Work

http://www.wheniwork.com/

Founded 2010

When I Work Pricing Overview

When I Work has a free version and offers a free trial. When I Work paid version starts at US$1.50/month.

Starting Price

US$1.50/month
See pricing details

Pricing Details

Free for up to 75 employees. Flexible plans start at $1.50/month.

Free Version

Yes

Free Trial

Deployment

Cloud, SaaS, Web

Mobile - iOS Native

Mobile - Android Native

Training

In Person

Live Online

Webinars

Documentation

Support

Business Hours

Online

When I Work Features

Attendance Tracking Software
Calendar Management
Employee Scheduling
FMLA Tracking
Overtime Calculation
Reporting/Analytics
Self Service Portal
Time Tracking
Accounting Management
Customer Management
Inventory Management
Labor Cost Calculator
Nutrition & Ingredient Labels
Nutrition Analysis
Production Management
Recipe/Formula Costing
Recipe/Formula Management
Sales History
Sales Management
Billing & Invoicing
Cask Management
Demand Planning
Distribution Management
Inventory Management
Order Management
Production Tracking
Quality Control
Recipe Management
Banquet Management
Billing & Invoicing
Booking Management
Calendar Management
Contract Management
Costing
Customer Database
Event Management
Facility Management
Inventory Management
Kitchen / Menu Management
Order Management
Quote Management
Recipe Management
Waitstaff Management
Accounting
Committee Management
Donor Management
Dues Management
Event Management
Fundraising Management
Member Database
Membership Management
Social Media Management
Volunteer Management
Automated Scheduling
Messaging
Mobile Access
Online Time Clock
Payroll Management
Reporting/Analytics
Resource Management
Schedule Distribution
Shift Swapping
Costing
For Cafeterias
For Healthcare Facilities
Free / Reduced Meals
Inventory Management
Menu Planning
Nutritional Analysis
Online Payments / Funding
Point of Sale (POS)
Purchasing
Recipe Management
Schools
Tray Tracking
Appointment Scheduling
Billing & Invoicing
Drag & Drop
Faculty/Staff Management
HIPAA Compliant
Multi-Location
No-Show Tracking
On Call Scheduling
Patient Records Management
Physician Management
Recurring Appointments
Self Service Portal
Alerts/Notifications
Appointment Scheduling
Automated Scheduling
Class Scheduling
Employee Scheduling
Facility Scheduling
Group Scheduling
Multi-Location
Real-time Scheduling
Resource Scheduling
Room Booking Management
Activity/News Feed
Alerts/Notifications
Audio Calls
Discussion Threads
File Sharing
Mobile Access
Real-time Chat
Search
Surveys & Feedback
Task Management
Third Party Integration
Video Conferencing
Biometric Recognition
Messaging
Mobile Access
Online Punch Card
Payroll Management
Punch card
Reporting/Analytics
Salaried Employee Tracking
Sick Leave Tracking
Timesheet Management
Vacation/Leave Tracking
Workstation Tracking
Automatic Time Capture
Billable & Non-Billable Hours
Billing & Invoicing
Employee Database
Mobile Time Tracking
Multiple Billing Rates
Offline Time Tracking
Overtime Calculation
Timesheet Management
Vacation/Leave Tracking
Budgeting/Forecasting
Contractor Management
Employee Lifecycle Management
Employee Scheduling
Labor Forecasting
Performance Metrics
Recruitment Management
Skills Tracking
Time & Attendance Management
Variable Workforce

When I Work Reviews for UK Users

Showing 5 of 810 reviews

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
4.3/5
Value for Money
4.5/5
Trish C.
Senior Receptionist and Lead Trainer
Veterinary, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/07/2019

"Great software for teams of all sizes"

Comments: I've been using this software for 5 years, first as an employee then as an employer. Ease of use for both parties is fantastic and it's well worth paying for to save the time. When I change places of business, if I have a choice, I will choose When I Work again and again.

Pros: - Shift templates, makes scheduling a lot easier
- The ability to copy and paste any shift, even faster than clicking and choosing
- Simple to add and remove employees
- App is fairly easy to use
- Time clock is awesome, easy to use

Cons: - Looking at the full staff schedule on a particular day can be tedious.
- For those making schedules, it's so much easier to do on a computer
- In order to have a printed schedule, it downloads the PDF which you then have to print. I wish this printed right off the website.

Vendor Response

by When I Work on 29/07/2019

Hi Trish,

Thank you for taking the time to review When I Work, and your feedback is appreciated! We are always looking for ways to make improvements and appreciate users like you that provide feedback so we can enhance and improve When I Work!

Best,
Amanda

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/07/2019
Sarah C.
Senior Hospitality and Marketing Manager
Wine & Spirits, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/11/2019

"Takes the work out of scheduling"

Comments: We have been incredibly happy with the program. We went from spending 8-10 hours scheduling each month to 1-2

Pros: It is incredibly easy for both the employee to enter their availability and the manager to appropriately schedule. We love that we cant schedule somebody if they mark themselves unavailable, avoids confusion and holds the employee accountable

Cons: The inability to attach files to an email

Vendor Response

by When I Work on 23/11/2019

Hi Sarah,

Anna here from When I Work Customer Care. Thank you for taking a minute to leave us a review! I definitely understand how the ability to attach a file to a group email could improve When I Work. We have just released a new feature called Document Storage that your team may be interested in. I've linked an article that outlines the feature below.

https://help.wheniwork.com/articles/document-storage-release-notes/

Thanks again for leaving us a review. We're happy to hear that When I Work is saving you time and preventing confusion. If you have any questions or concerns, please let us know at https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/.

Have a great day,
Anna

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/11/2019
Verified Reviewer
Waitstaff and Trainer
Restaurants, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2020

"The Best Scheduling Tool On The Market"

Comments: In my restaurant this helps us servers to communicate about who is going to be working at what times. For example if I was sick and wasn't able to work a morning shift, I would put it in the group chat and know that someone could take my shift!

Pros: I enjoy being able to see a detailed, easy to read schedule through an app on my phone. It is insanely easy to use the app. It also gives you access to different group chats within the company, and to have the ability to swap shifts and communicate with co-workers which I love.

Cons: To me, this software was life-changing. The one thing I like least is that the business that I work for while I'm on campus doesn't use it, making it harder to read their schedule.

Vendor Response

by When I Work on 18/05/2020

Hello -

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review for us!

So happy to hear that you're enjoying the simplicity of the app and ease of viewing your schedule, along with our WorkChat feature! We do work with multiple workplaces, so if your campus team has questions, we'd love to hear from them!

Again, thanks for that great review!

Kindly,
Adrianne

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2020
Ellen K.
owner
Retail, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    2/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    2/5
  • Value for Money
    2/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/08/2017

"A good option for timecards and schedule. "

Comments: Initially it was a good solution for employee scheduling. We added the time clock after about 8 months and it has served its purpose. It allowed us to not use a google doc to schedule employees. It is a a good scheduler but not as great of a time clock.

Pros: My employees can use the app to get alerts and check their schedules. Employees can swap shifts with my approval. The time card is integrated into the schedule app. It is somewhat easy to use. We have used this software for about 2 years. When we first started with them there were not a lot of options out there. And it served its purpose. Our employees seem to like using it.

Cons: There are several cons. I think the price is too high for what you get. Trying to process the time cards is very cumbersome and not very easy to understand. We run 24 hours a day and this software is not well suited to a 24 hour clock. Overall I spend too much time trying to understand how to use the time clock - punch in/out- and it is really frustrating. Also- their customer support is really pretty horrible. There is not a way to call someone and you have to submit an email to support and it can take them a bit to get back to you. Issues with time cards are things you want an answer for right away and they do not offer a quick response. Also- you really have to use a desk top to process the time cards and it does not function so well with google chrome- I think safari works better- but I prefer to use chrome. There are glitches with it that are just frustrating.

Vendor Response

by When I Work on 05/09/2017

Hi Ellen!

Thanks for writing us a review! We appreciate the feedback you provided to us. I am happy to hear that you are finding the scheduler helpful. I am, however, bummed to hear that you have had difficulty contacting our support teams. You always have access to live chat within your account, simply by clicking on the chat bubble within the green toolbar. If additional training on the Attendance tool is something you would like, please just let our support teams know and we would be more than happy to provide you with that.

We strive to provide the highest level of support to our customers and we hope that we can meet your expectations moving forward.

Have a great day!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/08/2017
Erin M.
Sales & Marketing
Food & Beverages, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2020

"Scheduling made simple"

Comments: Overall we have loved using When I Work. It makes scheduling seamless and reduces the amount of time we spend on employee schedules. We also really love the reminders and text alerts as it makes it easy to communicate with our team quickly when things change.

Pros: When I Work is so easy to use, it is simple to add employees, great for creating shift templates and the chat features and shift drop applications make changing the schedule simple for employees. As a manager these features are awesome as they reduce the amount of time that I spend re-working the schedule.

Cons: The only challenge we have faced is that we don't have access to the task list as we don't pay for this version of the application. We would love to try it out to see if it is a good value add for us.

Vendor Response

by When I Work on 18/03/2020

Hi Erin -

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a lovely review!

I'm so happy to hear features we offer like Shift Swaps & Drops and WorkChat have been so useful for you. It's awesome to hear that scheduling has gotten easier as well!

We'd be happy to discuss our Tasks feature and see what options are available for you. Feel free to submit a ticket at https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/ so we can assist!

Again, thanks so much for this lovely review!

Kindly,
Adrianne

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2020