FinancialForce Accounting Reviews

by FinancialForce

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.9 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.8 /5

About FinancialForce Accounting

The #1 Cloud Accounting & Financial Management Solution on the Salesforce Platform. Built for SALESFORCE CUSTOMERS with 100+ EMPLOYEES.

Learn more about FinancialForce Accounting

Showing 25 reviews of 42

Nolan M.
Board Of Trustees
Information Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2018

"FinancialForce Accounting Review"

Pros: this software has helped my company significantly in our process to switch over from older software.

Cons: This software takes a lot more time to use although it may be worth it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2018
Erin T.
Director of Operations
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/08/2015

"Overall we've had a very positive experience with the SCM Module!"

Pros: The SCM Module of FinancialForce is fantastic for organizations looking for a plug in to Salesforce that can be customized but also has a lot of fantastic out of the box features. Our company went from using Quickbooks which provided very little if any controls and reporting to using the SCM product which allows you to use the same functionality for permissions, page layouts and reporting as you get in the native Salesforce application. The product links seamlessly into your existing organization and allows you to take Opportunities in Salesforce and create Quotes to your customers, sales orders from the quotes, purchase orders to your vendors and invoices to your clients. You can report at the line item level on all of these objects which gives you excellent visibility and control into the day to day operations of your business. There is also an inventory functionality that can assist with inventory management. We don't use this function but I've seen the capability and it's also fantastic.

Cons: Because SCM is still growing there are a lot of new releases of the product that have great fixes and updates. However, upgrading can be a long process because of the amount of testing you have to do. The more customized your environment is the longer the upgrades can take. We are running about 10 versions behind right now due to this. However, we realize this will level out over time and become much less time consuming as the product matures.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/08/2015
Francis P.
Management Consulting
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2015

"One of the best cloud-based accounting applications at the moment"

Pros: It's built on the Force.com platform. You can code your processes around FinancialForce using their APIs or by directly manipulating their database, so it gives you a lot of flexibility on how you develop around FinancialForce. It has a nice customer community portal where you can share ideas, log issues etc. Support is great, and if anything does crop up as an issue, they really work hard to get it fixed.

Cons: It was one of the first cloud-based accounting packages, and with that has come some architectural decisions that I think they've realized were a mistake, but with every release, they fix these. Invoices need to be hand-coded in Apex VisualForce; there is no "Invoice creation wizard", but FinancialForce is happy to do this for you. When you create an invoice from an opportunity, FinancialForce assumes that you want to invoice every line on the opportunity. This isn't the case sometimes. You can delete the lines off the invoice, but then it becomes hard to see which lines have been invoiced and which haven't. You can't invoice multiple opportunities at one time. That said, we have resolved them all by using custom Apex code. Trying to fit FinancialForce into a developer org is tricky, due to the amount of configuration data that is required.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2015
Verified Reviewer
Salesforce Administrator
Information Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/03/2018

"Robust financial management system"

Comments: Huge improvement over our previous financial system.

Pros: After the initial setup process (albeit long and tedious), the platform seems to work pretty well. It is well designed and a huge improvement over our previous financial management system and has cut our month-end, year-end, and other periodic closing process times in half.

Cons: The system consistently slows down after a few days/weeks/months. Sometimes this is due to a FinancialForce upgrade, and sometimes it has been due to bad code written for us by our FF consultant. The process for getting these performance degradation resolved can take weeks, wasting dozens of hours of valuable time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/03/2018
Chris B.
CEO
Civic & Social Organization, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/08/2018

"Over promised software that is incredibly complex to set up"

Comments: Over complex software supplied by an unhelpful vendor.

Pros: It is highly configurable and provided it meets your requirements and when it is finally configured and set up it works okay.

Cons: It is incredibly complex and entails significant learning and development time to configure it. High on-going costs for maintaining and evolving the product in line with the business, entailing the support of a significant in-house IT team. Not suitable for SMEs and organisations of less than 100 staff or T/O of over $50m. The sales team from Financial Force understated the complexity of set up and learning time and over promised on suitability and functionality. The support team at FF have proven to be unhelpful and difficult and are only interested in selling more consulting time. Issues in integrating with Microsoft.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/08/2018
Linda T.
Controller
Law Practice, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2018

"FFA Review"

Pros: I like how you can make it your own. It takes a lot of work to customize it to how you need it to be... I'm still working on this.

Cons: All of these list views. Sometimes it's not as intuitive to use compared to other accounting software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2018
John H.
Head of Finance and Administration
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/12/2011

"Significants improvements to Financial Control for an NGO"

Comments: Excellent analysis tools and integration with Excel supports our multiple reporting and wider organisational needs.

Pros: Excellent Multi-currency.
Dimensions Feature allows the level of reporting we need to comply with multi-country/currency/project/phase/donor requirements.
Very easy to use and to train others to use.
Excellent import/export facility with Excel.
Web based allows field and UK staff to work in real time on the same data.

Cons: We are an NGO, and our requirements are only for General Ledger, so I cannot comment on the pros and cons of the full system.
We also use SalesForce; which is a pre-requisite to gain some of the benefits above.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/12/2011
Verified Reviewer
Professional Golfer
Medical Devices, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2019

"FF Review"

Pros: I love Salesforce, and they have hit the nail on the head yet again with this product. Imagine Salesforce for accounting.

Cons: I have no cons to report. This gets the job done and is easy to use. Subject to user error, so train employees diligently

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2019
Kirsten G.
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/10/2016

"Upgrade not easy"

Comments: FF is integrate in our Salesforce environment, in general customer service is good, we are just experiencing problems with the upgrade to the latest version at the moment, our platform is highly customized.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/10/2016
Lauren A.
Business Analyst
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2017

"Great UI, support, and finance/accounting reports."

Pros: I love that the UI is so intuitive and easy to navigate. Their support team is the best and I love the reports that this software is able to produce.

Cons: I wish they had more options for different types of reports. Other than that, I really enjoy using this software!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2017
Hanumantha M.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2016

"Project management"

Comments: Easy to configure. It covers all generic features required for project management industry agnostics. Will recommend

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2016
Elie A.
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2018
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2018
Philip C.
Director
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2018

"Good ideas but much development still needed"

Comments: the Overall experience is mixed. we Keep using it because a migration would be even more costly. I guess with much more customization it will be great one day.

Pros: - online Access
- great performance even with big data
- cross company / multicompany mode

Cons: - no Country customization
- no links to local authorities (VAT, direct tax Returns)
- no natural support of multiple GAAPs per Company (e.g. local GAAP, IFRS)
- no usually fixed asset Register for financial fixed assets.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Director of Information Technology
Public Safety, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/04/2019

"Not the greatest"

Pros: If you need an accounting package that integrates with Salesforce, this would be the best option. It does have most features your accounting and finance people need.

Cons: Our financial people constantly complain about the speed, has decreased efficiency as it takes longer to do tasks than previously in Quickbooks. Also, it has periodic slowdowns that has been determined to not be our network, but them. Admittedly this is mostly secondhand from our accounting and finance departments.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/04/2019
Mary D.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 01/12/2011

"Recommendable!"

Comments: We have been doing for the last 5 months our invoices, collections and the month-end-close with this accounting software and we are pretty happy with everything. It is our first cloud accounting solution and I wouldn´t like to go back to our old system.

Pros: - 360° customer overview
- web-based
- easy-to-use dashboard
- you can set up payment notifications and alerts

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 01/12/2011
Swathi S.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2016

"very effective app for financial app"

Comments: very help full app

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2016
Martin K.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2016

"FFA rating"

Comments: Overall good experience with some bumps. The features are great but the configuration bit complicated

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2016
Beth S.
CRM Administrator
Philanthropy
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2015

"FinancialForce for small organization of 20 FTE"

Pros: My favorite quality of FinancialForce is the seamless integration with Salesforce.com. The platform operates much in the same way as Salesforce, so customizing and reporting were easy and quick to learn. This made the integration process go much smoother and I was able to train my team quickly on using the new financial system. Throughout my history of using FinancialForce, whenever I did encounter a questions or problem, opening a case was easy and the response time was within 1-2 days.
Another key functionality that I really enjoy with having both our operations and finances under one login, is the reduced amount of data entry. We have greatly reduced the amount of time spent on duplicate data entry by operating in the same system. FinancialForce also offers a lot of automated functionality, but one we use is the automated cash matching, which takes out another step of manual data entry. The operating efficiencies we've leveraged by implementing FinancialForce have paid for the cost and then some.

Cons: We are a small organization of 20 and we do not have a developer in-house. We struggled with the FinancialForce reporting app, as this requires some use of code and developer 'speak'. The standard Salesforce reporting allows for FinancialForce data as well, so we rely on this function more often, but when it comes to the standard P&L structure for our board, we needed a 'pretty' report, and this requires the FinancialForce reporting app. During our implementation we were promised by the implementation partner that they would write the reports for us, however this was never delivered. FinancialForce is working on rectifying the problem for us, but it will require some additional hours and financial resources on our end.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2015
William M.
Owner/Founder
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/12/2011

"More than I need Human Capital Management Software"

Comments: I would say if you are a small or medium business and you have no idea what an HR department or IT department looks like, then you need Vana Human Capital Management. If you have employees and you want to increase performance, this solution is complete. HR departments will thank you, you will save time and headaches. This made our performance reviews a dream. The social collaboration is new to us and has become the center of our corporate universe. you will be overwhelmed so just be warned the Quick Start Implementation will appeal to you, but I encourage you to just get the next level up so the team at VanaWorkforce.com will do all the work for you. Just get it. Oh yeah, since it is on force.com it makes integration with CRM and other force.com products a single click of the mouse and has single sign-on, super cool. Patrick.

Pros: The user interface is excellent. If you know Salesforce.com CRM then you will inherently know how to use Vana HCM. WOW! No training required. Great future vision product, it has more than I need to manage my team, recruit and track people, leave, benefits, compensation, performance and more. Even better I LOVE the Social Collaboration tool. It keeps my employees working and collaborating in the solution and not of facebook or twitter. Also love the collaboration on goals, initiatives, performance reviews and projects. Top it off the library was an added bonus, since I can store and share corporate documents and even education materials as part of the solution (free) and have my team collaborate with others on these and track it in the learning management. Overall: over the top! Thank you.

Cons: There is almost too much to learn. The overwhelm is consuming. I wish I had the ability to configure everything that is delivered. Knowing where to start was a bit daunting, thank goodness they did the first series of configurations to launch the product and provided me with an easy to use Getting Started Guide so my team could calm down and get started 1...2...3 Learning to use the system most effectively was a challenge, but I think we finally got it. It may have been more of a resistance to change, rather than a solution problem. It took a while to adopt it as a company, but we are all on the same page now and it ROCKS! The Social Org Chart was a bit of a challenge to set up, but easy to re-org and fix with a little help and is now AWESOME!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/12/2011
Christina C.
HR Director
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/10/2017

"This has not been a great experience at all for our company."

Pros: You can configure it and have a lot of options. The full suite is good if you do not need any additional requirements.

Cons: You have to be a programmer to work with it. There is a lot of set up time involved in being able to get it to function for you.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/10/2017
Stephanie D.
Product Analyst
Computer & Network Security, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/11/2018

"Ability to do so much"

Comments: It has cut down our process time dramatically and we are able to do much more in less time.

Pros: This software gives you the capability of doing so much and allows you to report on it all

Cons: The amount of click through windows can become tedious but overall there are ways to cut that down as well so it's not really a big issue.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/11/2018
Ayushi M.
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/02/2017

"Recommended cloud accounting system"

Comments: I have been doing my month-end close reports and other invoicing with this software. This is a really efficient cloud accounting system and I can easily work on my ledger accounts, account payables, and receivables.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/02/2017
Jay G.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2016

"great products great support incredibly expensive"

Comments: At some point you will have to decide if the cost is worth the quality. stuff gets done, but you could easily hire several developers to build similar platforms, or integrate with ohers

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2016
Rakesh E.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/10/2016

"Senior salesforce developer"

Comments: Built on a cloud platform this allows me to manage my accounting in a better way. And the most amazing part is it's available everywhere

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/10/2016
Marilyn B.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2016

"Financial Force has simplified our Accounting Processes!"

Comments: As a SF non-profit agency, Financial Force will bring our agency into the future of managing our portfolio of 18 housing sites.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2016