HVMS Reviews

by Business Infusions

Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.7 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.5 /5

About HVMS

Scheduling, accounting, records, invoicing, digital image management, partner and commission-based tracking and inventory control

Learn more about HVMS

Showing 40 reviews

Kris S.
Inventory & Customer support
Veterinary, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/06/2018

"Software was easy to learn. Customer chat is very helpful with questions."

Comments: Information is at our finger tips when on the phone with clients.

Pros: Software is user friendly. It is easy to search by horse, customer , or trainer. Calendar is easy to set appointments and reserve equipment needed. Inventory system is easy to track the medications in the pharmacy and on the trucks. Just make sure employees properly transfer items. Human error is our most common problem.

Cons: When system updates are done. Sometimes things change and you are not notified. Sometimes when tickets are started for new questions or concerns, it seems like they can be overlooked if you do not keep inquiring about them.

Vendor Response

by Business Infusions on 18/06/2018

Hello Kris!
Thanks so much for reviewing our HVMS Software, we appreciate the time you took to give us feedback :) I just wanted to take this opportunity to let you know that over the past year we have been publishing our HVMS update change logs in our support portal (follow it here for instant email notification: https://hvms.businessinfusions.com/discussions/forums/13000000283 ) and we also send out a newsletter with the changes before the update is released. If you would like to receive these newsletters to be notified, please sign up from this link: http://eepurl.com/dhCk89
Thanks again Kris for your continued support!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/06/2018
Katie H.
Customer Care
Veterinary, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2018

"The functionality of the product is ok at best. The worst part is the customer service."

Pros: HVMS has worked for our all equine clinic for the past few years. The pros are that is is tailored to equine for us and the ease of use is pretty good.

Cons: The worst part of the software is the support and customer service. The computer has a LOT of glitches and randomly will close on you or send an error message, several times a day. It is also not cloud based and syncing can be a pain since we are ambulatory. Updates are needed. It often does not link to Global Vet Link when we try to run coggins test as well.

Vendor Response

by Business Infusions on 11/06/2018

Hello Katie,
Thank you for taking the time to review our software, we value your feedback!
I'm sorry you are not satisfied with the customer support you have received and would like to take this opportunity to address a few of your concerns. We were able to determine the cause of your HVMS software randomly closing was due to an "auto log-off" setting your practice had enabled. We had resolved that a few months back but if this is still a current issue you are experiencing, can you please reach out to us and let us know so we can investigate further and get it resolved for you?
We were also experiencing Global Vet Link issues a few months back which have since been resolved, there should be no connection issues related to HVMS directly but Global Vet Link does require an internet connection to use that integration in Main HVMS and from our remote tablet software. If you are still having connection issues with GVL, just let us know and we'll investigate from your system for you :)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2018
Krista S.
Inventory Manager
Veterinary, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/06/2018

"I am the main point of contact at our clinic for HVMS support requests."

Pros: It seems to be a well-rounded software.
I like the integration of bar codes and supplier translations.
Will go back to using the Reorder Matrix to import into orders, now that the sales tax issue is fixed.

Cons: Would like to see the creation and modification of worksheets be more user-friendly.
Would like to see more suppliers integrated into HVMS for ordering (perhaps via Vetcove?).
Would LOVE to see the Mins/Maxs tab operate using a Min and a Max number and allow it to determine the order amount based on the MAX number vs the QOH for that item.
Would like a more specific way to track/account for inventory that is used in-house and not billed to clients - other than making adjustments.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/06/2018
John B.
owner
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/06/2018

"many frustrating hours spent trying to change code parameters"

Pros: Powerful program with many analytical features. Relatively easy to invoice billings. After much trial and error, I have made the reports section be of business and financial value to me.

Cons: Monthly support fee is very high. Day to day use is manageable but making changes to codes and values is a nightmare.
Support is there but slow. Seems support staff is overwhelmed with work and can't keep up.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/06/2018
Michelle B.
Manager
Veterinary, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/06/2018

"I'm not sure you can know enough to set this system up in the best way for your practice."

Comments: More report options

Pros: The variety of information it offers. It can do some real complex reports. Customer support has been helpful.

Cons: It's not as user friendly as I would have expected. It seems to lack the ability to run simple information. Way too many clicks, very complex system! Inventory Management very complex and is taking a ton of time to learn, even after 18 months we still have stuff incorrect.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/06/2018
Kate B.
office manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2018

"Program is not very user friendly for small animal"

Pros: Online support staff are easy to get in touch with. Great communication, follow through with any problems we may have.

Cons: Cannot "refill" prescription labels
Not able to print vaccine history that easily states when vaccines were given/due

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2018
Christy S.
Veterinarian
Veterinary, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/06/2018

"This program has several functionality aspects that makes things markedly easier."

Pros: Scheduling, inventory control, packaging inventory and billing codes, worksheets, and production management.

Cons: Several errors, loosing records, inconsistent data, no confidence in storage, major flaws in records/ production, and code management.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/06/2018
Velvet M.
Realtor
Veterinary, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/08/2018

"Great comprehensive veterinary software"

Pros: ease of accessing patient info (images, etc.)
Comprehensive nature of having patient/client info in one accessible place

Cons: reporting is varied and confusing to search

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/08/2018
Vandy S.
Practice manager
Veterinary, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/06/2018

"Franklin Equine Services implemented HVMS in 2010. This software & support are superb! A+++"

Comments: I have listed in the review submitted the "pros" of this software. Franklin Equine Services, LLC is an avid fan and promoter of HVMS. We strongly recommend it to any other our fellow practitioners. This software is fantastic for a sole or multi-practitioner practice...or practices that have multiple locations. It fits the needs for equine veterinarians.

Pros: There are too many positive attributes to list regarding HVMS software. These are only a few: the ease of inventory control in the hospital and truck ( and transferring); the ability to set up relational billing /"pickers" so that inventory items & services are not omitted; by having these functions, we are lessening the possibility of lost entries and revenue; ease of use by all staff & the variety of reports available allow you to track and see so many functions regarding everything from inventory, production and revenue.
The Business Infusion/HVMS support staff is extremely helpful to assist with problems and suggestions and from an overall perspective---HVMS more than meets the needs of this practice. We have had other equine veterinary software and this by far is the best software investment!

Cons: While it is difficult to list any "cons" regarding HVMS software. At this point, I can not think of one negative comment.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/06/2018
Shawn J.
associate vet
Veterinary, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/06/2018

"support has been good and it is easy to learn"

Comments: the worksheets are nice and being able to take the tablet version with to the field is nice. the hospital template is very helpful

Pros: the hospital template and treatment plan makes it very easy to get all horses treated and the billing done in one step.

Cons: The remote servers sometimes is down and then we can not use the treatment plan. I also tried to get a repro module done a couple years ago and was told it was in the works and would be ready soon and then I gave up after several months and no progress.
Some of the billing codes seem to have redundant mouse clicks that take 3 or 4 clicks when it could be 1

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/06/2018
Laura J.
Partner
Veterinary, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2018

"I have a love hate relationship with this software."

Pros: The whiteboard and facility map, the integration of inventory, scheduling etc. The integration with lab results (for those systems that work).

Cons: It is very prone to bugs and errors and cannot do a number of simple things that I think it should be able to do. Everything related to invoicing and reporting is a complete headache and clients don't like the format of invoices. Compensation is also overly complex and we never know if people are really getting compensated as they should.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2018
Tiffany B.
Admin
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/06/2018

"I always have issues with the software Errors,Speed, getting IT help"

Pros: I did like when I could go to the website when I had an issue and teamview right away to resolve issues. Now that for some reason is not an option.

Cons: I have issues with the connection, it runs very slow when I have great internet service. I get errors for days when I am uploading pics to process coggins. Some days I have to log out and back in 3 to 4 times to get my work done. IT used to be so helpful but I don't feel like they are as available as they used to be.

Vendor Response

by Business Infusions on 18/06/2018

Hi Tiffany,
Thank you so much for the review of your HVMS software, we at Business Infusions appreciate the time you took to review our software `HVMS¿. I¿d like to take this opportunity to address some of your concerns for you. From your comments it appears you are having issues with the server hosting solution and IT services you are receiving from the Inova Management company. We are no longer affiliated with that company however they use our software for all their clients and offer the server hosting and IT services. They have taken the teamviewer link off their website but you can still access it directly from within your HVMS software from the top left hand corner of your workbench. I believe the issues you are experiencing with slowness, connection drops and errors are related to the hosting solution they have in place for you. I will reach out to them on your behalf and start a support case to see if their IT is able to look into this and can offer any solutions for you.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/06/2018
Wendy J.
Office Manager
Veterinary, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2018

"We received the new software as part of a deal with a practice management group."

Pros: I think it is basically user friendly and easy to figure out for our new staff. I don't know that it's any better or worse than others as I have only used DVM software prior to HVMS. HVMS is more advanced as far as technology goes compared to our other software.

Cons: That it has to be rented and can't be purchased. And that the remote server is in Texas and it is not always available.

Vendor Response

by Business Infusions on 08/06/2018

Hello Wendy,

Thanks for the review; we really appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback :)
Regarding your comment on the server hosting, we understand there have been some issues with the availability of the servers due to internet outages and network issue at the site in Texas and offer our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience this has caused your practice. As a result, we have been diligently working on an alternate hosted server solution we can offer you which will bring your HVMS server to the cloud providing a much higher level of reliability. We will be reaching out to you in the coming months to introduce this new solution and discuss some of the added services we will be providing with it. Another option is always for your practice to have your own onsite server versus have us host it. If you would like more information on this option, please reach out to our support team and we will get you additional information :)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2018
Jamie F.
Practice Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/06/2018

"Overall user friendly with good support, easy to access patient and client info, some glitches."

Pros: Scheduling multiple doctors. The view of the schedule and ability to modify appointments easily is helpful, especially during very busy times. Allowing us to be able to personalize events is beneficial on keeping the doctors organized and efficient.

Cons: Reports. Not easily readable, typically confusing, or not the information we are looking for. The names of reports are not always indicative of the information that will be given. It typically takes several attempts to find the right report and select the correct filters to get to the information needed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/06/2018
Lauren W.
Practice Manager and Veterinarian
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2018

"Can do a lot of things, but a lot of quirks and promises of fixes without follow through"

Pros: everything in one place. not cloud based so works even without cell service. has the option for in house treatments as well as field cases.

Cons: lots of bugs, rarely fixed (more often they just give a weird workaround). expensive so expecting a top notch product and don't always feel like those top notch promises come to fruition. a bunch of small things that don't work like unable to take pictures off system to make online health certs and they still haven't been changed

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2018
Nina F.
Office Manager
Veterinary, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/06/2018

"A system you get used to after awhile."

Comments: Easy to do review

Pros: Worksheets create a Medical Record and an invoice. Day ends are relatively easy. It shows who booked who created or changed invoices. Good security levels for users

Cons: Not the best system for tracking financial end of business. Reports are confusing. Having to make separate invoices for each animal even though they are owned by the same person.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/06/2018
Jenn D.
office manager
Veterinary, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2018

"It's been great!"

Pros: Ease of use, lots of features, ability to customize. Tech support team is always quick and helpful.

Cons: There are some things that we need to contact tech support to update, like the calendar, would be nice if we could update it ourselves. However, support is always very quick and painless!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2018
Victoria S.
Business Manager
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2018

"Its a great software program. Stores a lot of information"

Pros: The ease of use & the amount of info you can store for one horse. The ability for the vets to take the tablet with all of the same information that is back at the office on the road with them.

Cons: The customer service. There is no easy way to get someone on the phone to direct you on how to fix something quickly. It's always a process.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2018
Cheryl O.
Administrative Assistant / Accounts payable
Accounting, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/06/2018

"I appreciate the versatilty of the software but we are all extremely frustrated with slowness!!"

Pros: The navigation between different areas of info are very helpful, there are many ways to get to the information you are looking for.
I appreciate the many filter options that help refine searches.
(I am not able to answer the Value for Money as I do o know about costs for system. )

Cons: The biggest issue of all for our entire hospital is slowness! It is slow trying to type in information, it is slow searching for patient histories, it continues to get slower if you are trying to search by invoice (presumably because there are so many invoices now?).
When you are sending an e-mail thru HVMS and trying to type a note, say sending a statement to a client, it would be SO Helpful if you could save a draft! Having to cancel the e-mail because you get a phone call before completing the note is super frustrating!!
It is not uncommon for HVMS to completely freeze up and randomly just close the system without warning, screen just suddenly goes black. That is a frustrating loss of all the screens you had open, you better remember all of the different things you had going on.
Closing the month for billing has always been slow but has been extremely slow recently, we often have to have the entire staff close down their computers for 20 - 40 minutes while trying to close the month but a couple of times lately it was 4 - 6 Hours! What a waste of time for sooo many employees (we have about 70 employees, large practice) and the sudden loss of the treatment plan is really hard on our employees doing treatments.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/06/2018
Carissa R.
Customer Care/Marketing Coordinator
Veterinary, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/06/2018

"Overall, HVMS seems like a pretty good program even though it does have some glitches."

Comments: Our business runs effectively each day.

Pros: The fact that it can be equine specific is a plus. There are many different options and features that are good as well.

Cons: The worksheets. We have to wait so long for help to get them customized and then the process to do so is tedious. There are also so many options that the program isn't super user friendly and can almost be too technical at times. We have also had problems with linking credit card processing systems as well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/06/2018
Katie A.
Operations Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2018

"Full-Featured and Responsive Software for Equine Veterinary Practice"

Comments: Succinct customer file management
Powerful reporting capacity

Pros: - array of features available means all client care can be taken care of in one software
- super training software and responsive, understanding customer support
- very customizable
- frequent updates

Cons: - high numbers of records in the system can slow things down significantly for users
- some glitches aren't resolvable

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2018
Peter H.
Owner and CEO
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/06/2018

"The tech support is not what it used to be. The product does some of what I want, but not everythin"

Pros: Customizable invoicing packages allows us to minimize missed charges. Worksheets create uniform documentation.

Cons: Difficulties with inventory management. Difficulties with accurate commissioning. Difficulties with remote access. Unable to see my schedule real-time. No smart device compatibility.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/06/2018
Desirae K.
Office Manager
Veterinary, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2018

"If they don't already have it - They will!"

Pros: I really like the ease of use, many options for record keeping, and the continuous upgrades to make things better!

Cons: I least like errors! I am sure that I am typically the one causing them though. I would also like to be able to create worksheets or documents for use through the software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2018