15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About WhatsUp Gold

Get at-a-glance up/down status and performance info for network devices, servers, storage and wireless - in the cloud or on-premises.

Learn more about WhatsUp Gold

Pros:

It integrates well with PagerDuty and covers the bulk of our monitoring needs.

Cons:

Navigating through the Web interface is little difficult as it has many options and you need to drill down to get to the information you need.

WhatsUp Gold ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.4
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

WhatsUp Gold has an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 223 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used WhatsUp Gold before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (223)

Jaime Isai
Jaime Isai
Senior Network Engineer in El Salvador
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

WhatsUp Gold best Network Monitoring System

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent experience, I can't complaint. It's a must have tool for every organization to perform a better approach in advance and to have a full network visibility.

Pros:

It is easy to implement and use. It enables you to map all of your network devices and access them thru it. It helps you to have a full visibility of all of your network. You can also set the performance alerts at your critical devices as servers, switches, routers and firewalls. It helps you to get the bandwidth monitoring by devices and applications.

Cons:

It will be great to have a full library of MIBs for all network security devices and not having to look by each brand site.

Kristina
Sys Admin in US
Machinery, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

WhatsUp Gold Review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: After everything was set up, we have had almost no issues. The customer support is great and the reps are great. The software has free updates which is awesome and the community board is very helpful. I would recommend this product to any IT environment that is looking for network monitoring solution.

Pros:

It fits exactly what we need it to do. Monitor our devices and send us alerts when there is an issue. The schematic is also very helpful because we have it broken down into locations and grouped together to make things easier to use. It is also very helpful to put in all the information we have into the details of the device so that its all in one place. It helps us stay organized!

Cons:

The set up was atrocious. We had to run a scan like 6 times to find everything. Eventually I had to add things in one by one which took forever. It is not simple to use. You have to really understand the icons and how things are linked within the software. I wished there was better documentation and videos about this. Especially with the setup. The whole installation and setup was a nightmare.

Matt
AM in US
Automotive, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

WhatsUp Gold

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

WhatsUp Gold allows you to set up email and text alerts when your equipment goes down.

Cons:

The setup of WhatsUp Gold is a bit cumbersome.

Jim
Network Engineer in US
Staffing & Recruiting, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

WhatsUp Gold

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: We use Whatsup Gold to proactively tell us when something is wrong before users start complaining. It has served us well in this capacity
We use WUG thresholds and netflow data to determine when business (and non-business) processes are interfering with user performance at our branches with limited network capacity. We use the netflow data and work with the branch to have the offending processes eliminated or moved to afterhours when there is no user impact.
We use thresholds and dashboard graphs to provide capacity planning information.
Overall WhatsUp Gold has been a mixed bag for us. There have been failed upgrades and bugs that cost us time. Page rendering is adequate at best and frustrating at its worst. But is has provided the monitoring alerting, and capacity planning that we need to stay ahead.

Pros:

The ease of adding a device, and getting monitors configured with alerts is what like best. To go from no monitoring to getting a text/email when something goes wrong is relatively easy with this product. The ease of putting specific graph items on a page (dashboard) is also very useful.

Cons:

The biggest problem with this product is the performance/capacity of the product to generate graphs. Using java to fetch data from the database to paint pages is slow. I can collect 500,000 data items and generate 100,000 graphs without much horsepower with a tool like CACTI which uses php and flat text rrd files to paint the graph. I can put ten times as many graphs on a page and it still paints 10 times faster. This performance limitation is the biggest week point between your products and the competition. I maintain a CACTI server to do the heavy lifting for graphing high density interface switches in the data centers because WUG is too slow. The thing that I like least about the software is the inability of the administrator to manage other users views. and the lack of an anonymous view. You want to be able to give upper management a link to click on to see pretty graphs and charts. They do not want to have to log in. And you do not want them messing up the view so it constantly has to be fixed. Logging in as admin, changing the users rights, logging out,logging in as the user, changing the dashboard, logging out, logging in as the admin and setting the rights back, is a lousy way to have to manage this.

Ray
Global Technical Operations Manager in US
Financial Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

WUG CRA Experience

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Alerting and allowing us to be proactive on issues is main focus and WUG has allowed my team to accomplish that goal. Reporting/automating reports and providing different practices within CRA the option of personalized dashboards to gauge performance has been a favorite offering from IT to our end users.

Pros:

Goes without saying that it is easy to implement, intuitive and easy to manage. Dashboards and views are ++++

Cons:

been using WUG for over 10years and have brought in to 3 different companies i've worked for---to date, i haven't found anything I dislike.

Progress Software Response

4 years ago

Thank you for the review and for being a valued customer.

Mark
Network Administrator in US
Farming, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

WhatsUp Gold Replaces Monitoring Service

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: WhatsUP gold is monitoring the same things, if not more, than an IT services company was doing for about $500/mo. This saved us a huge amount of money in the long run and was totally worth the configuration issues we had.

Pros:

Customizable to monitor only the network parts/components that we wanted monitored. Able to set it to send email and SMS (via email) alerts to multiple users.

Cons:

Network discovery was a bit slow and clunky. After a network change we had to delete the current monitors and do a complete re-scan or it doubled up the devices.

Tom
IT Director in US
Government Administration, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Legacy WUG user

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We are proactively monitoring network, server and application infrastructure in a way that allows for pro-active maintenance and reporting. It allows us to view and manage IT assets easily, I only wish I had more time to utilize more of it's features.

Pros:

It provides a nice visual representation of the health of your IT infrastructure environment and allows for the easy drilling down into details that are needed. It is full of features and information and allows for proactive monitoring.

Cons:

Nothing specifically at this time.

Doug
Director of IT in US
Retail, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

WhatsUp Gold Application Review

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

WhatsUp Gold is easy to use and gives us great visibility into our Network and Servers. The discovery of devices has been very helpful. The alerts and reporting have been very helpful.

Cons:

It took a little while to learn to navigate the software but once you learn the layout you can move around quickly and find the information needed.

Dorian
Global Systems Architect in US
Utilities, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great program for monitoring and maintaining your IT infrastructure

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Basic installation and configuration of WUG is very easy. Out of the box, there are many monitors that can be set up without a large amount of experience. The titles and tooltips make setting up the initial software package very simple.

Cons:

Adding non-default alerts seem to be a little more difficult than should be.

Craig
Owner in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy to configure, customize and implement

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Wonderful product and reasonably priced compared to other commercial solutions.

Pros:

Ability to setup proactive alerts based upon custom application monitors, to provide notification to key support individuals of critical process failures.

Cons:

Web interface can sometimes be slow and/or require clearing cache and refreshing.

RJ
Infrastructure Operations Manager in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

wug 17&18 has an overall better interface that is responsive, a few minor fixes will make it aweso

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The device cards are a nice addition; quickly access common features. Creating dashboard is much easier now than in previous version; more flexible. I like how things are now grouped together, e.g. accessing logs you don't have to go to 3-4 different locations. Searching for devices is great!

Cons:

Device roles and discovery could use some work. need to be able finding monitors in library is cumbersome, need a way to search or jump alphabetically Device types were remove, new versions don't support changing OS type Need a way to create dynamic HTTPS content monitor, meaning you could hit an address like so : http://%device.Hostname/NmConsole (hostname is not supported, only address) HTTPS TCP monitors only support SSL TLS 1.0 I spend a lot of time hitting F5 to refresh the browser because the change I just made is not reflected. you can drag and drop devices - need an easier way to manage groups. Need a way to pin favorite groups in navigation pane. When you are on device status page from my network you have to click back button 3-4 times to return to the my network page. Would like to see more youtube videos on how to use the newer version; would be a great way to deliver user training. I would like the ability to delete a device from the devices properties page.

Progress Software Response

6 years ago

Hi, Thanks so much for the kind words! We're delighted that you're enjoying WhatsUp Gold and we love hearing about how you're using it. Please note that we do have a number of videos on Youtube that go into detail on our most recent release WhatsUp Gold 2018 as well as a Quick Tips series of how-to videos here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MmaOx9MsMEQ. If you have further questions about using WhatsUp Gold please feel free to contact us directly or visit our online Community for more help. Thanks again for using WhatsUp Gold.

Thomas
Information Security Officer in US
Education Management, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

WhatsUp Gold Analysis

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, WUG has been a very positive experience with more positives than negatives. It has alerted us of issues before our customers are aware of them. It has allowed us to create baselines on uptime.

Pros:

This is an inexpensive way to look at your network and get notifications of when you have issues. It also allows you to obtain an inventory of your products. It can take advantage of SNMPv3.

Cons:

You can have issues with the requirement to delete and recreate objects to get new inventory. This means replying all the rules again.

Paul
Senior Systems analyst in US
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I have had nothing but outstanding experience with IPswitch and it's staff.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Our Network and VM monitoring has improved by 200%

Pros:

First is its reliability. I have matched it against other products such as CACTI and more accurate in the numbers game. Also, its flexibility when it comes to even exporting and importing of databases to new versions of WUG. Another aspect I like is how there is always constant improvement with the product. The versions never stay static. Always moving forward. I have in recent made of suggestion and IPSwitch said they would investigate it and possibly have it in a beta release.

Cons:

This is a most difficult question to answer. If I had to come up with anything ... It is that they are under staffed. Every single employee on tech side, sales, marketing must be working 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Answers are always 100 percent correct but the same staff answers your questions. Those employee s need help. Hire !!!

Denys
Net Admin in US
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Happy customer

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: using for network issues troubleshooting . Very convenient tool

Pros:

Currently we're using ping , http monitoring for internal network and also for outsided websites. In live gives me the picture of what's happening with the network if any problems. Overall gives what I'm expecting. I know there are a lot of other features available but don't use them yet.

Cons:

It's sitting on the local server so I don't have access to it from outside (from app for example) which not very convenient. Also, we had to purchase third party monitoring system to monitor What's up, in case any problem with internet or with actual server. To have some outside monitoring system would be helpful too.

Progress Software Response

4 years ago

Thank you for the review and for being a valued customer.

Kevin
Director of Technical Services in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

WUG Review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: the product is easy to use and not too expensive, it makes it a good fit for my company.

Pros:

The ease of use and the renewal cost of the product

Cons:

the more the product grows the more functionality they seem to take out of it.

Springman
Network Operations Manager in US
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Visibility is the key

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Setting up took a bit time but once it's up and running, pretty much worry free. LOVE IT.

Pros:

I have been using WhatsUp Gold since 2007 while the main purpose at the time is to see "what is up and what is down". Over the course of the past 13 year as a WUG user, the focus, to me, is switching to have the visibility of our entire network. How is our Internet bandwidth usage? How is the CPU/memory consumption on the application server, etc. I can't imagine how I can do troubleshooting without WUG.

Cons:

The VoIP and Wireless module they offer do not work with what we have. That's probably the only down side that I wish everything can be included in one tool.

Progress Software Response

4 years ago

Thank you for the review and for being a valued customer.

Marques
Senior Director in US
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Useful Monitoring but Subpar Interface

2.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall - Whatsupgold gets the job done but its not a platform that I would necessarily gravitate towards today if I were starting over. The platform definitely has the tools to get the job done, but those tools are not organized in a coherent/cohesive way - which makes the experience feel quite disjointed.

Pros:

I like the amount of monitoring this platform can do. Pretty much if the item is somehow connected to the network, it can be monitored by this platform. Whatsupgold has been good in terms of letting us know proactively when a key system is down and for monitoring the bandwidth at our network sites. It's been a very solid platform when doing some basic things

Cons:

The interface is very unintuitive. It feels like you need to take a course on the platform in order to use it successfully. There are alot of options within the platform, but getting them all to work in a clear/clean fashion takes alot of work. Sometimes it feels like you need adjust to the limitations of the platform rather then the platform conforming to you. It doesn't feel as modern as it once did.

Frank
Director of technology in US
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

WhatsUp Gold allows us to be proactive

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

It allows us to fix most things before the phone calls come pouring in

Cons:

We are very happy with the software for what we use it for, daily network monitoring.

Robert
Supervisor Network Services in US
Government Administration, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Limited functionality and features, software updates are unreliable.

2.0 6 years ago

Comments: We use it to monitor up/down status for 3000 devices.

Pros:

I am familiar with the interface. The price model is acceptable. .

Cons:

The product has limited functionality and is inflexible to use as a 24x7 monitoring tool. Software updates may fix some problems but often introduce more problems. Overall I am very disappointed with What's Up Gold.

Progress Software Response

6 years ago

Hi, I'm sorry that WhatsUp Gold hasn't lived up to your expectations. Our records show that your team had issues with an upgrade. I wanted to let you know that I've reached out to your Ipswitch Account Rep, Shane Lusby, and he will be in touch immediately to make sure we can address any issues that you continue to have. Regards, Alex.

Jeff
Manager of Information Technology in Canada
Government Administration, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

WhatsUp Gold Features

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I have this on all my switch and SCADA network, on the switch I can break to see performance monitoring Switch interfaces, Utilization, Memory and CPU pretty simply, grouping is also a nice feature.

Pros:

This product was easy to setup and scan your network, with a few clicks you are off and running monitoring your devices. Another nice feature is the up and down dependency which stops 100's of alerts firing off all at once. The mapping is a nice feature to see all of your network in one glance.

Cons:

I wish this product was cloud based and a mobile app

Dustin
Sr Systems Administrator in US
Printing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

WhatsUp Gold as a Monitoring Tool

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I enjoyed using the Windows application view and took a while but I'm now comfortable with the web interface.
It provides a critical part of our monitoring environment.

Pros:

The ability to easily monitor various items such as Services, Logs (via syslog), SNMP, WMI. Sending periodic reports via email to get snapshots of the system and network statuses.

Cons:

Exchange application monitoring is thorough but almost too thorough. I had to adjust quite a few monitors to get a more simplified view.

Progress Software Response

4 years ago

Thank you for the review and for being a valued customer.

Jacek
Systems Engineer in Canada
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Product

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Its great, really easy to use and allows IT to be more proactive about their environment. Its nicely displayed in our team area on a digital NOC.

Pros:

Useful dashboards, and alerts that allows our team to fully see how our environment is behaving in realtime. Allows us to be more proactive than reactive.

Cons:

It would be great if this application came with all the "add-on" instead of purchasing individual plugins.

Michael
Network Engineer in US
Airlines/Aviation, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

What's Up Gold

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: i really love the bandwidth utilization information on our network equipment and that also goes for our wifi network.

Pros:

We mainly use WUG for SNMP monitoring of our network. This tool is quite useful for our operations team to use off hours. We have WUG setup to page the network team and/or our operations team can page when devices are down.

Cons:

I would say my network map but I haven't spent a lot of time organizing it.

Robert
Director of Network Engineering in US
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Decent nms

3.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I like the features around bandwidth monitoring

Cons:

Its cumbersome to use and maintain. Otherwise its not bad.

Paul
Sr. Network Administrator in US
Automotive, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Been using WUG for 10+ years, great product!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Ability to identify network traffic bottlenecks, down devices or down monitors of devices.

Pros:

Layer 2 maps of network with an easy to read & understand status are great. When analyzing network traffic, the ability to filter down to a specific devices' traffic has allowed me to identify networking issues on multiple occasions.

Cons:

Challenges working with web interface, sometimes there are issues with certain browsers not being able to perform certain functions.