Acctivate Inventory Management Reviews

Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Acctivate Inventory Management

A real-time inventory management and high-volume order fulfillment add-on solution for growth-focused businesses using QuickBooks.

Learn more about Acctivate Inventory Management

Showing 108 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Accountant Office Manager
Wholesale, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/08/2018

"Acctivate Inventory Software preforms well"

Comments: Our inventory is able to be managed in a timely manner. Accurate inventory is key to our business.

Pros: It is easy to process orders and maintain inventory.

Cons: There are many helpful reports. However, I would like the ability to run my own queries to customize the information I need.

Vendor Response

by Acctivate on 27/08/2018

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how Acctivate is helping your business and enhancing your order and inventory management.

Acctivate does provide the ability to customize the standard reports. The following help article explains how to add/change filtering criteria of any report to meet your needs - https://help.acctivate.com/articles/856/; and this video gets more in-depth on the topic -https://help.acctivate.com/webinars/std-rpts-july-17/.

Our support team can also assist with slight modifications to standard reports. If you need more information or assistance on customizing reports, please reach out to them at 817-870-1311 or online at https://help.acctivate.com/requests/. - Erica

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/08/2018
Denley R.
Purchasing Director
Food & Beverages, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/08/2021

"Acctivate Review"

Comments: overall, pretty good! It does what I need on a daily basis!

Pros: Purchasing, inventory management, tracking of POs, tracking cost of products

Cons: search functionality! and crashes often :(

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/08/2021
Randy K.
CFO/Controller
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2018

"Wolf Companies"

Comments: The Costing trail for Inventory items lacks reports that show how current cost is calculated.

Pros: Fairly easy to use. Is a good overall value.

Cons: Lack of Print screen feature which is helpful when researching transactions.

Vendor Response

by Acctivate on 22/08/2018

Randy, thank you for taking the time to let us know how things are going with Acctivate.

Taking screen shots is definitely helpful and Windows can be used to capture your full screen, as well as third-party screen capture utilities, in which many are free.

In terms of seeing how cost is calculated, the Inventory Ledger report can provide the information you need. This is found under Acctivate¿s Inventory Management Reports > Transactions. Make sure to select a beginning transaction date and the report will show the true cost calculated by dividing the resulting value by the resulting quantity on hand. If you need any assistance with this, please contact support at 817-870-1311 or online at https://help.acctivate.com/requests/. - Erica

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2018
Steven D.
IT and Sales
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/03/2016

"Acctivate is Active :)"

Comments: It took a lot of work, but after putting in the time and learning all about the software, I have to say it is a great system, with so many options and ways to do things. It can be customized to work in most unique scenarios. The strongest points for us is the inventory Lot control, gives us more power over our inventory, and where its coming from, etc. The Activity feature helps us communicate and acts as a CRM for our reps. The way dropship PO's are handled is very helpful, and works almost perfectly for us. Using the mobile device changed the way our warehouse receives and picks products in a good way. Since the software's infrastructure is basically a database, it gives versatility for using with other products, like our shipping software and our website. The Reports side is dependent on Crystal reports, which opens up a world of possibilities, it does add some complexities, but the support that Acctivate gives with there product makes up for all complex situations. I have been helped and things have been fixed numerous times. The software is also in a stage where it will always be improving over time. There are a few cons. Bugs and things not quite working the way they should require a dedicated person within our company to occasionally be working with Acctivate to clean out these scenarios and learn about limitations and potential future added features. The Credit card system is very limited and makes it a little difficult with the way we do things. I find myself really loving the way it handles customers, all the different tabs to product history, comments, activities, transactions. The UOM has added a complexity that we needed when it comes to purchasing single units vs boxes vs cases. The ability to setup diff pricing for a product or a customer really helps with on sale items and contract pricing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/03/2016
Aaron M.
Laser Safety Officer
Machinery, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/03/2019

"Bloated software with poor support."

Pros: There are many features available, even if difficult to manage.

Cons: Support...
I have been dealing with a print error from Acctivate and have had a ticket open for over a week now with only back and forth email communication. If you call the support number, you will eventually be dumped into voicemail and they sometimes have never returned a call, when they do it takes days.
A business is not able to conduct good business with this software when support is this poor and lacking.

Vendor Response

by Erica on 15/04/2019

Aaron,
Thank you for letting us know about your recent experiences.

We strive to deliver easy-to-use features and are more than willing to assist you with any challenges. If you are not finding the answers you need on our help site (https://help.acctivate.com) for any particular feature, please reach out to the support team for assistance.

Our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with your recent support request. We are here to provide quality support, so when dissatisfaction is expressed, we use it to see how we can improve. Being that this request originated via email, we continued in that manner, so any time you would like to have a phone call please let us know and we will be happy to call you. We also respond to voicemails, if you call and do not immediately get someone on the line.

We appreciate your feedback and will use it to help in improving our processes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/03/2019
Bart M.
President
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/03/2016

"The Good, Bad & the Ugly"

Comments: Acctivate is a really good inventory control system and it is pretty easy to learn and it has a lot of capabilities and we love it. But here are the problems I have had. I have had numerous problems with technical support, and it has only gotten worse instead of better. In order to reach customer service now, you have go to the Acctivate website and enter a service request, and you may or may not get a prompt reply back. When we are having technical problems with this program, it can bring our entire operation to a halt and there doesn't seem to be any sense of urgency on the part of the technicians at Acctivate. This is my biggest problem with Acctivate and it the one thing that makes me very angry. My only other problem is training. This is a very complex program, and you can learn the basics pretty quickly and that will get you by. But there is no formal training to teach you everything you need to know other than videos that you can watch and some webinars. I think there needs to be a trainer that can teach new users how to use the program in depth at your facility in Arlington so that customers that have purchased the program can spend 3-4 days with some in depth training. I have had this system for over 2 years now and we are still finding new things that we have never seen or used before. When we purchased Acctivate, they do a great job of getting you up and going and answer any questions you might have, but some real hands on training would be so much better. But once you get used to the program, it's great.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/03/2016
Tim G.
President
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/04/2016

"Why do I love Acctivate? Let me count the ways...."

Pros: Top-notch functionality and support. It uses SQL for the database and Crystal Reports for reporting which are expected these days for products of this type. The amount of detail and functionality is amazing. The programmers are awesome in some of the functionality they have come with. As an accountant, I can fully recommend the product to prospects without fear of a core functionality or need missing.

Cons: No online product, unless you use a hosting company.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/04/2016
Amber T.
Director of Marketing
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/04/2016

"Overall great investment"

Comments: Overall this has been a great investment. We are a medium sized company who sells multi-level assemblies as well as services, and have all of our accounting in Quickbooks. The integration between Acctivate and QB has proven quite valuable. We initially intended on putting products and services sales through Acctivate, but have since decided to keep services transactions solely in QB. The platform gives us real-time visibility into key data that we were previously tracking across multiple spreadsheets which required ongoing effort to keep updated, and yet the data was still never as fresh as you'd want. It has taken some time to settle in, but across our company folks now have their dashboards and other features customized to display meaningful info and metrics for each individuals' area of responsibility. We have already been able to change the way we make decisions, doing things more efficiently today and with a higher degree of certainty than we had in the past. The two primary cons I run into are : 1) not being able to customize the reports and templates (my organization does not have Crystal Reports), and 2) I wish we are able to select which fields display in certain activities. Both of these would make the system more user friendly, however there are certainly ways to work around each issue.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/04/2016
Pedro C.
Accountant/IT Administrator
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/04/2019

"Good inventory management program"

Comments: It has been good so far. Tech support has room for improvement, but overall it has been a good program.

Pros: Acctivate provides us with the accountability, stability, and organization that our company really needed.

Cons: Need to have some SQL Server and Crystal Reports experience beforehand. Auto syncing would seem like a nice feature to add.

Vendor Response

by Acctivate on 01/05/2019

Hi Pedro,
It is great to hear about the improvements that Acctivate has brought to your company.

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback. We look forward to the continued partnership with you and your company.

Kind Regards, Erica Avila

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/04/2019
Tina V.
owner
Automotive, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/02/2021

"customer service is very poor"

Comments: they set everything up, even quickbook categories with no explaination and year end i had to hire a certified quickbooks person to fix my reports with no help from acctivate

Pros: clean screens not too busy. can access everything on one screen

Cons: alot of screens to update inventory, too many steps and screens to update. they do not know much about quickbooks

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/02/2021
Vic M.
Owner
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/04/2016

"Acctivate is the best inventory add on for QuickBooks."

Pros: Implementation of acctivate is a smooth and painless process. Learning a new software can sometimes be stressful but acctivate is intuitive and easy to use.

Cons: Would love it if acctivate had more manufacturing features.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/04/2016
Joel B.
Production Manager
Consumer Goods, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2016

"Not for my shop"

Comments: This product has a low learning curve and easy to set up and use. It may be good for some businesses but it is not worth the money for ours. It works great for tracking inventory and bringing completed goods into our system and tracking them through to a sale. This is where it breaks down. We are a small business and do a lot of custom goods and small run manufacturing. There's not a lot to offer for the manufacturing side of our business. For a small shop, most of the functionality of this software can be done in Quickbooks. This product still requires quickbooks for accounting as well. The yearly maintenance fee, hard to swallow for what it does for our buisness.

Pros: Easy to use and update

Cons: Many glitches and bugs
Little help with manufacturing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2016
Tom D.
Product Manager
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/04/2016

"Overall, we have seen the benefits of inventory counts and integration with Quickbooks"

Comments: Pros: Ease of use and training for other employees. Overall this is a good product and I would recommend for inventory management. Cons: Real time quantity available while making assemblies to know if you have enough product to build your assemblies.
Ability to add vendors in acctivate would be helpful. To have the
ability to see workflow on assemblies in progress on alert screen.
I would like to see adds to control shop floor movement of materials related to manufacturing, via being able to team members sign in and out of jobs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/04/2016
Teresa M.
owner
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/04/2016

"Great inventory system, difficult to understand the concepts of use."

Comments: -Pro-Great inventory system. Great reports. Has been an added bonus to our organization for the last 7 years, I believe.
-Cons-There are some changes I would like, and have requested concerning how inventory is tracked. Returned items awaiting credits.
Customer service is slow to respond when there are issues. It usually takes 2 requests and a phone call.
I feel the new version is very bulky. We have had to retrain employees :(
I am however, very pleased overall.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/04/2016
Suzanne H.
Controller
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/03/2016

"It is easily self taught and reasonably priced for small businesses using quickbooks."

Comments: Pros - user friendly, easy to get processes created, handles inventory with transparency.
Cons - implementation needs more clarity from Alterity, more prep should be discussed.
After getting thru the fact that we did not prep correctly, we straightened that out and get back on top of all the details needing to be addressed it is a well oiled working software. The benefits from using ACCTivate now, out weigh any hurdles you may incur.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/03/2016
Lisa N.
President - CEO
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2016

"Customer Services is outstanding"

Comments: When working with so many software vendors; you dread picking up the phone or sending that email because you know you will get the run around no matter how thorough you are with your description. Not with Acctivate support! They have worked with us as the business model changed for our client. Support staff have been professional and helpful throughout our relationship! They are here to support us in the beginning and 3 years later!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2016
Josh A.
Operations Manager
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/03/2016

"Still Setting Things Up But Excited To Get Started!"

Comments: We are still in the process of setting up our company file but with what we have seen so far, we know that Acctivate will help our business out tremendously. The team at Acctivate has been extremely helpful and professional throughout the process so far.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/03/2016
Donald W.
President
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2016

"Been using for 4 years. It works for us."

Comments: updating is one problem....we lose our custom forms each time. Seems to be some type of problem in cost computation and journal well not post until someone fixes this issues every few months.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2016
Tom D.
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/01/2017

"Overall great software"

Comments: In a nutshell Acctivate is a good extension of QB. Great inventory control and great reporting. The reason not 5 out of 5 stars cannot add vendors in or modify in Acctivate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/01/2017
Nancy C.
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2016

"Been using it for the past 9 years - love it!"

Comments: The only thing would be the settings - sometimes more than one person has to use the same user name and settings always go back to default.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2016
Anthony K.
COO
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/03/2016

"A solid application backed up by great support"

Comments: I have been using ACCTIVATE now for almost 2 years and find it to be a solid application, feature rich and backed up by great support

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/03/2016
Stephanie S.
Business Development
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2016

"Great product"

Comments: Very nicely designed

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2016
Paul D.
Purchasing Manager
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/08/2021

"Acctivate Review"

Comments: We have been using it for 6 years now. There was a bit of a learning curve. Once sorted out, we can order receive, pick and sell our product with ease. Database size has been a bit of an issue and Intuit file size management grows quickly. Great product for a mid size business.

Pros: Acctivate brought us up to todays technology in product Inventory and sales control, at a reasonable price.

Cons: The lack of Vendor control, and Vendor Options make things hard.
Doing a Daily Sync with Quickbooks does not come with out issues, and tax rounding is Canada is a large issue.
We do have SOP's in place to administrate these short falls.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/08/2021
Sean K.
Operations Manager
Wholesale, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/08/2021

"Adequate, But Far From What It Could Be"

Comments: Acctivate is a reasonably decent inventory management and customer service package. Expect to make significant investments in custom reporting and form layout in order to make the program work best for your company.

Pros: Inventory tracking features are pretty solid.

Cons: The reporting features in Acctivate leave a lot to be desired. We have had to spend a great deal in custom report programming to get information that is useful and thorough. It is obvious that the people who wrote this software do not use it daily in a real world situation. Many features are far from intuitive, and the program can be quite buggy. Alterity has also been unresponsive to suggestions that would greatly improve efficiency such as the ability to sort sales orders in SKU order, and the ability to import purchase orders.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/08/2021
Gabriel P.
Sr. Director of Operations
Apparel & Fashion, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2017

"Excellent for the Price!"

Comments: We were able to greatly improve visibility of our performance allowing us to focus resources in the areas that needed help. The quality and consistency of our output also improve dramatically. Probably the one area that had the most drastic improvement has been our warehouse. The ACCTivate our inventory is the most accurate it has ever been and order processing accuracy has also improve dramatically with the use of the mobile scanners.

Pros: Software is filled with many intuitive features that cover a wide variety of of business uses in everything from order processing to inventory management. Inventory management includes ability to manage using bins and multiple physical or virtual warehouses. This is a strong feature for an application in this price range. The ability to create custom fields in virtually every section of the software helps resolve many challenges, and the fields are, in most cases, can be made to appear in reports. Has a great order management module that can be customized for specific views and allow for both visibility and batch management of open sales order. Mobile/handheld support allowed our warehouse to switch from manual to scanned picking, which greatly improved accuracy and accountability. Software supports ODBC connectivity which provide a solid work around for the software's lack of strong out-of-the-box reports (see below) In conclusion, if you are a small to mid-size business that has outgrown Quickbooks, you really cant go wrong with ACCTivate. So long as your Quickbooks data is clean and organized, migration is quick and painless.

Cons: Out of the box reporting is a bit limited depending on your needs. Very basic reports are fine and they are accurate, but if your business has complex or custom logics by which you evaluate performance, you will need to hire a report writer (Crystal Reports) to build your report templates.

No real audit trail tracking/reporting so seeing who did what can be a challenge.
Lacks ability to restrict certain permissions that can lead to accidental or deliberate manipulation of data resulting in order processing errors.

Vendor Response

by Acctivate on 19/07/2017

Gabriel, your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are happy to hear about the improvements across your business after implementing Acctivate, especially the visibility & productivity gains that have allowed you all to focus on the work at hand. We also continually strive to learn what businesses need and how we can enhance our software, so it is also good to know about reporting and permission based needs. - Dakota

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2017