15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Netreo

Smart & Secure full stack monitoring & observability platform for large enterprise networks, infrastructures, and applications.

Learn more about Netreo

Pros:

Excellent customer support. Excellent APIs for integration with custom software or scripts.

Cons:

Right now the only issue we have with the package is that if we lose connection to our WLC/APs in our environment we have to set those back up.

Netreo ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.9
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.9/10

Netreo has an overall rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 29 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Netreo before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (29)

Chad
Chad
Independent Business Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easiest Setup out of the Box!

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We gained as close to real time monitoring of services on our network that we've never had before! The pure fact that we can begin trouble shooting issues if they happen prior to end users telling us they have a problem on the network has kept everybody happy at work! The reporting tools are amazing as well for tracking how well we have been managing the network. This allows for development of IT Staff as well. Seeing the trends of the devices allows for targeted training to help prevent future related issues with the IT Staff. The tools are also very beneficial for our Top Management staff as well. They can see the benefits and effects of having a stable network more clearly now since trends can be shown and good (or bad) data can be used to related to recent events that helps drive our business model!

Pros:

The auto discovery and how quickly you can customize reporting for your environment! The mobile alerts are also amazing! I like that we can now be already working on situations before end users call! Moreover, it's great that we can set thresholds to alert us as well so we never even need to get to that point!

Cons:

Right now the only issue we have with the package is that if we lose connection to our WLC/APs in our environment we have to set those back up. Thankfully this doesn't happen very often but it would be nice if OmniCenter could capture our current AP list and store that information for when OmniCenter detects them to be back online.

Manny
Sr. IT Project Manager in US
Food Production, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

OmniCenter is a easy to use tool and is very affordable.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: OmniCenter is a monitoring, alerting, and reporting appliance (physical or virtual) which provides cost-effective and easy-to-deploy application, network, and systems management. It provides a unified single view into virtually all IT components, from end-user application experience to device-level performance and capacity planning. Our appliance-based architecture simplifies deployment, with all hardware and software pre-integrated. Several appliance options are available to suit any size environment or redundancy requirement, including clustering, hot-standby, and distributed data collection with centralized reporting and administration.

Pros:

OmniCenter is an easy to use tool and is great for monitoring network interfaces. The software allows the end user to easily add devices that need to be monitored. OmniCenter is a monitoring, alerting, and reporting appliance (physical or virtual) which provides cost-effective and easy-to-deploy application, network, and systems management. It provides a unified single view into virtually all IT components, from end-user application experience to device-level performance and capacity planning.

Cons:

It is not as affective as Netflow. Netflow can pin point the source of the problem much easier. Our appliance-based architecture simplifies deployment, with all hardware and software pre-integrated. Several appliance options are available to suit any size environment or redundancy requirement, including clustering, hot-standby, and distributed data collection with centralized reporting and administration.

Greg
Network Adminsitrator in US
Banking, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Overall it works good but could be better.

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: I allows us to monitor all devices on our network.

Pros:

It can monitor all types of SNMP devices and give status at a glance. The system is great for tracking the uptime and performance for the various systems and the parenting feature works well. The various device can be put in groups/categories and can also be tracked by location.

Cons:

The system is very very slow. Sometimes it is almost unusable waiting for the screen to refresh. There are no help files. Most changes/settings need to be made by Netreo remotely. We found a lot of minor bugs with the system.

David
Systems Architect in US
Pharmaceuticals, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Been using it for a few years now, easy to use, great reporting

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Simple yet effective/detailed monitoring and automated alerts for critical issues.

Pros:

OmniCenter is very easy to use and customize from an administrator's perspective, and easily usable from Lower tier support staff. The Single pane of glass view for all services makes the purchase and implementation very justifiable to upper management. (yes even they can use it)

Cons:

Initial setup: out of the box it is very easy to get devices imported into the system, but the recommendation from Netreo is to have their support add the devices based on a list you give them. A simple one page document should be sufficient, as most Administrators will want to figure out the ins/outs on initial setup rather than have it done for them. (I do understand that some people do purchase it and don't have the technical ability to do it, but it should not be the default)

Don
Network Specialist in US
Automotive, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simple but very efficient monitoring tool!

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: This software gives us insight into the health, trends of many different key components of our network.

Pros:

This software is easy to use and have excellent customer support that will help you when and if it is needed. There are multiple ways you can monitor a server, network, device and you can also customize templates (or layers of template). You can see everything in one page. Router or network configuration can be managed. Very flexible in what it can do and provides integration with custom scripts, like you can use your own powershell scripts .

Cons:

There is learning curve if you are not used to this type of product which have many options, possibilities. But the good thing is that they have friendly customer support you can call for help.

Thom
Infrastrucutre in UK
Insurance, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Feature rich, logical monitoring tool with awesome support.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Replaced SCOM which was awful. Netreo OmniCenter saved us time and money on the SCOM renewal costs. Also gave us visibility as we finally had a system that we could trust

Pros:

Top 3 - Support - Development - Simplicity (once you understand templates) The support staff are great. Alot of the younger companies try and differentiate themselves by having exceptional support staff (Nimble customers will know what I mean). Netreo are 17 years young but their support staff are fantastic. you have a direct line to technical resources, saving you lots of time. They have a great VPN feature allowing them to access your system to troubleshot\perform upgrades they even offer a managed service if required. The product is constantly improving with regular major releases and features. The interface and construction on how to apply thresholds to devices takes a little while to understand but once its understood, its very easy to manipulate and customise to how you want to use the tool

Cons:

Support times - This is a 100% US company so while support are available 24 hours for a UK company its generally towards the end of the working day that you will get responses to queries. For a monitoring tool this was fine with us. There are no built in metrics\thresholds for things like SharePoint and Citrix, however you can create customise process checks if required.

Daniel
Programmer/Analyst in US
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great responsiveness and quality support

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Based on the support I had I would recommend

Pros:

The support is excellent and he provides good answers which solve the root of the problem instead of simply providing an answer. He is knowledgeable and effective in his job. I appreciated that, although he is not obligated, he is willing to reply at all hours/days as we are also working around the clock to keep the campus up and running smoothly.

Cons:

There are some bugs like any software but I want to focus this review on the quality support we have had with the support staff.

Steven
Sr. InfoSec Engineer in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Omnicenter review

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Great product that does what it says There are equal cost products out there. But when it comes down to support, adding new devices, learning about new features or tips and tricks. They are hands down the best out there. Installation is beyond easy, import a file or scans a subnet then adjust to taste. I always recommend this as it is hands down the easiest to get running and years later it is still the easiest to operate and use.

Scott
Senior Systems Administrator in US
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Omni Center is a full fledged and complete monitoring solution with excellent customer support

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: an effective monitoring solution for the whole organization

Pros:

very flexible in what it can do wide variety of things you can monitor out of the box excellent customer support excellent APIs for integration with custom software or scripts

Cons:

not as many sensor types as PRTG can be resource intensive the interface is a little clunky and sometimes not intuitive

David
David
Director of Technology Services in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Law Practice, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product, great support and easy to use

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use and powerful. Monitors a myriad of different devices. Responsive customer support. Straight-forward pricing.

Cons:

I would like to have deeper visibility into Office 365 and other SaaS offerings so that I can have access to the same information I have for my on-premises infrastructure.

Adam
Systems Engineer in US
Gambling & Casinos, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

OmniCenter has achieved our business goals, but not easily in all cases

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: Automated alerts and incident management are key to our success. Omnicenter provides that functionality in a way that meets our current business needs.

Pros:

Already in place and meeting our business goals for the most part. Nimble appliance with few moving parts under the hood. Easy to maintain from an administrator perspective. Support is wonderful, responsive, and extremely helpful.

Cons:

Architecture is lacking. To achieve all of our business goals, a lot of customization has been required from Netreo. Most new features have to be developed and are not already in the software leading to long turnaround times for enhancements. A lot of configuration tweaking has to take place to meet our needs. VPN requirement is challenging to implement due to regulatory hurdles.

Lori
Principal Architect in US
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great team - Interested in partnering not selling and running. Support and customization = easy

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: My clients finally have a single package that is integrated. Not a package that is 30 year old technology that has been added to over time to try and keep it current, but continuing to keep 30 year old tech. The other advantage is everything is one price, period. No additional price for netflow, or different types of devices.

Pros:

Everything in 1 place not 10 different packages that are linked somehow with tabs & no java needed. Can easily create new type of polled devices.

Cons:

While there are videos and training I would like to see more of this. I would like more control over how to consolidate a dashboard.

William
TSS2 in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent product. Has tons of options and is adding more all the time.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

There are many benefits to this product. The ability to see the status of whatever you want to monitor in one pane of glass has got to be the most important. Second is the ability the granularity that is possible with monitoring while still maintaining simplicity. The third is the speed and friendliness of customer service when/if it is needed.

Cons:

Learning curve is an issue if you are not used to this type of product. There are so many possibilities that it is sometimes difficult deciding where to start.

Lee
Network Technician in US
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Omnicenter performs as it's supposed to, easy to use and administer.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Network/Device visibility.

Pros:

Easy to use and administer, does exactly as promised. Omnicenter allows us to monitor all our devices for status, exactly what we needed.

Cons:

Certain web service checks do not work depending on type of feature used on the URL. Version updates can sometimes move options into different section in the GUI.

Jason
Manager of IS in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product - delivers as promised.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Netreo support is outstanding. They have a very knowledgeble support team and are able to accommodate all situations that arise. They're willing to adjust their product to meet our needs.

Cons:

N/A.

Matt
SVP IT CIO in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Awesome. Super feature, great analytics, and amazing support.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: The support is always present and helpful.

Pros:

Ease of use, sophisticated reporting and analytics, and top level support. Detailed information and the ability to drill down to isolate devices, errors, and performance metrics.

Cons:

Maybe it isn't free.

PJ
PJ
NOC Director in US
Computer Networking, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best NMS System for all Network Monitoring

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Excellent software and NMS System for all Network Monitoring. Excellent support staff. Best company to work with.

Cons:

Can't really think any negative issue with this company or product.

Steve
Chief Information Officer in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Amazing, Reliable, Friendly Service, Knowledgeable team

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Can easily see the status of my network and where to deploy resources to solve any issues. With 100% visibility my team is much more effective and my down time has decreased significantly!

Dan
VP / IT Director in US
Banking, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Migrated to a cloud monitoring solution to add flexibility and resiliency to our environment

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: It's cloud based

Pros:

One of the selling points was that is cloud based. We wanted to know that our monitoring tool was always available and not a single point of failure.

Cons:

We have had some availability challenges which resulted in a few outages. One of the other cons is the implimentation of netflow. It hasn't really been up to what we were expecting.

Thomas
IT Director in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very easy to use and staff made sure we understood what it is and how to use it to our benefit

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I am to lower my down time as I am alerted right away.

Pros:

It meets the need for alerts to my staff. I have very small staff and Omni Center automates the process and keeps us in loop. It's very important for small staff to stay updated on issue without manually monitoring it. Easy to read dashboard is nice too.

Cons:

.

PJ
NOC Director in US
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product, Excellent people, Best value

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Easy to use, excellent reporting, serves many users.

Pros:

Easy to use, delivers excellent reporting. They have the best customer support. I simply love these guys.

Tim
Systems Administrator in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product!

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

This tool gives a great deal of insight into the operation and trends of many different key components of our network.

Jeffrey
Jeffrey
Encompass Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to understand status page

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

The notifications away kept you in to date on how long a device has been online without a restart of the device. The tech support is top notch and the go out of there way to help with any configuration

Cons:

.

Michael
IT Director in US
Utilities, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great product - vendor willing to add specific functionality on request

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Transparency and visibility of all IT supported devices. Network reporting needs to be simplified (especially netflow). Customizable MIBs and templates for specific devices needs to be added. Dashboards need to have a more "modern" look.

Pros:

Flexible and easy to configure - usually these cannot be paired together. Low cost of ownership for a monitoring solution.

Robert
IT Director in US
Government Administration, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Met an Omnicenter representative at a trade show. Transaction happened very smoothly and quickly.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

It is all inclusive and does everything we need without the requirement to buy additional modules. The alerting works exactly as we want it to.

Cons:

Navigation within the app takes some getting used to especially as you drill down into things where the only way to get back to to start at the beginning.