Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Splunk Enterprise

Trusted by 92 of the fortune 100, Splunk helps you investigate, monitor, analyze, and act on all of your organizations data.

Learn more about Splunk Enterprise

Showing 135 reviews

Avinash S.
Principal - Program Management in Malaysia
Computer & Network Security, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Splunk - Onestop Log Management & Forensics

5 8 months ago

Comments: Overall i like the product but as the user base grows the logs grows too. This busts the limits of the licensing.
We need to keep on doing housekeeping to ensure that our license limits is not crossed.

Pros:

The ablitity to configure and tweak the use cases. Building Intelligence into forensics. The AI feature is gud but needs more enhancements.

Cons:

The log management needs to be efficient , If the auditing logs is enabled then a huge influx of logs are pumed into splunk but no meaningful meaning can be derived.

Alternatives Considered: FortiClient and McAfee Endpoint Security

Reasons for Switching to Splunk Enterprise: Splunk is a one whole package with features like AI & Forensics and also keeps you updated with the latest and newest threats..

Divyang S.
Divyang S.
Web Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Manipulate You Data

4 last year

Comments: Splunk is widely used for manipulation of data and we encounter the use of this tool almostl twice a week. Even though it costs much more but still we have not found any alternative that is able to offer all these functionalities.

Pros:

Splunk is very easy to use due to high community support and many video tutorials available online for new users to learn. Functionalities are robust and simple to use. Data retrieval and visualisation is nice and easy if you know the right querying process. Machine Learning supports enhances performance for the cloud, especially. It collect wide variety of data and still it amaze you the way it retrievs it.

Cons:

There are many tools available in market which are potential competitors of this tool and that too at reasonable pricing. Splunk offers more functionalities but costs you too much if you look at the work it does. Complex queries may require large CPU usage and may even freeze or atleast slow down the system for a while. Need to be specific while querying the data.

Kalaiselvan K.
Integration Enginner in US
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Splunk review

5 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, it is a very good monitoring tool for an support team and developers for doing root cause analysis.

Pros:

Splunk Visually represents the logs mainly from production servers in the web UI . People who Usually has no access to logs in production servers, will access the logs through splunk UI with very simplified and friendly search query. It has lot of features like you can query for particular date and time range with specific characters. The search engine is very fast which will bring the query response effectively. we can access all types of logs including XML and JSON. we can create a custom dashboard with custom query for each projects and can relatively trigger the email to the support team in case of any issues. This tool is boon for production support team in any enterprise company.

Cons:

Licensing cost is quite higher for enterprise usage. Query response time will be slow when you are searching for relatively longer history(Eg. 3 months old data)

Shashank V.
Software Trainee in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best Tool for Monitoring Purposes.

5 3 years ago

Comments: As a user of Splunk, we generally used to monitor the log provided by the server clusters belonging to a tool called API Connect. As the logs are stored in Splunk, we tally the transaction count from API Connect tool and filter the log search in Splunk with a particular search query. We can download the logs of particular time and date of API Connect servers in case of transaction count issues. We create a dashboard for all the individual API's transaction count in terms of total transaction count of all API's. In this way, it makes our work easier to find out which API has the highest transaction count. We even use Splunk to know the state of the machine. Reports generated by the Splunk helps us to find out the API with the highest response time. In this way, Splunk makes our work a lot easier as it is very fast and highly secure.

Pros:

1) Accepts multiple data formats like CSV, JSON, XML 2) Does the hard work for us i.e converting machine data to a human-readable format. 3) Can create customized alerts to serve our business purpose. 4) Searching on the based on queries is pretty simple. 5) We can create dashboards to analyze and visualize our search results. 6) Can export the log content to our Personal computers. 7) Setting up plugins and integrating with any tool that needs monitoring is pretty easy. 8) Technical support for the Splunk is very quick as they have a dedicated staff for that.

Cons:

I did not find any flaws with this software.

Verified Reviewer
IT Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Software is fantastic once you get it fed the data. Setup can be a bear.

5 3 years ago

Comments: Software saves a great deal of time tracking down errors and issues in the network. Was able to spot a security issue using the software we might never have even noticed otherwise.

Pros:

Fast consolidation of disparate logs in an easy to search way for troubleshooting. I can find problems within my organization very quickly. Sales team was very responsive in getting me a trial license to estimate my needs.

Cons:

Set up takes some time and planning. The Licensing scheme can be pretty expensive and until you've got it up and running it can be hard to estimate how much license you need.

Biswajit M.
Production Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

This is the tool every devops should have expertise on!

4 4 years ago

Comments: Made life easier for all SRE/DevOps oncall.

Pros:

First of all you don't need to login to your servers. Just configure splunk forwarder on all of your server and have peace of mind. During outages you dont have to panic and just rely on Splunk and be sure that you will have your root cause visible in splunk.

Cons:

Kernel huge page issues, Search head clustering, Index clusetering. These features are as good as costly too. For SHC and IC it does need all same config hosts.

Shaik A.
Shaik A.
Associate Software Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One of the best place to check large amount of the logs information.Every companies best tool.

5 4 years ago

Comments: make our business life easy

Pros:

The best thing about this software is i love its UI part and its dashboard where it provides the logs of all the enterprise application every business which has large amount of the transactions being held are required to maintain this tool and its logging and search frequency are very much loved and dash board has very colourful UI and easily understandable

Cons:

There is no least about this software but we are looking for some more enhanced featured like optimisation and all

Shalinee S.
Shalinee S.
Web UI Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best thing for monitoring application

5 3 years ago

Comments: good log monitoring tool

Pros:

We are using this tool for monitoring our services log. It is easy to monitor the data using this. For each service, you can configure which log file should be shown on the UI(web). On UI, it provides lot of features like finding pattern in logs, doing analysis and generating reports and much more.

Cons:

Learning is slow. Initially, it takes time to understand the reports and pattern it finds out of the log. But it's worth learning it.

Satish C.
Satish C.
Assistant Consultant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent tool for logs & data anlaysis

5 2 years ago

Comments: As a developer/operations team member i felt this tool is excellent to analyse any logs or texts

Pros:

log analysis, text patterns, statistics and graphing

Cons:

Too much of programming, not easy for laymans to write queries.

Chris L.
Chris L.
Sr. UNIX Systems Admin in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Splunk, gold standard in log collection

5 3 years ago

Pros:

Many prebuilt log analysis modules. Competitive advantage over DIY solutions. Easy to setup and administer.

Cons:

Your costs can be high in larger installs.

Joe E.
Engineer in US
Defense & Space, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Splunk Enterprise

5 2 years ago

Comments: I'm continuously impressed by the quality of the software, and the depth of what it can accomplish. Worth every penny!

Pros:

After going through the free online training I was able to get this product up and running to consume Linux audit logs. Writing SPL wasn't too difficult, at least for basic scenarios. The regular expression generator is especially helpful!

Cons:

The configuration resides across many different levels (default, local, and then again within the apps). Having levels of configuration is a bit of a nightmare to manage.

Verified Reviewer
system administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

splunk usage

4 2 years ago

Pros:

troubleshooting IT problems made it easier and faster

Cons:

search speed can be slow sometimes based on your query

Gaurav Y.
Gaurav Y.
Software Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

amazing tool to look at your application behaviour

5 3 years ago

Comments: best tool to monitor logs of your application

Pros:

Main purpose of this tool for us is to monitor the logs of our application. And I can say, it is very good at this. Finding the stats, pattern out of log is very easy. You can run multiple queries job on a single application log. You can monitor job running on your logs like you can kill them, can stop particular job. It's support of sql like queries on logs is just amazing.

Cons:

This is a great tool, there is no disadvantage of this product but just mention you need a bit of learning to use it's all the functionality.

Verified Reviewer
information security analyst in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

splunk enterprise security

4 2 years ago

Comments: overall splunk is the best tool it provides lt of system information, we have installed splunk on all the servers accross our environment

Pros:

Integrating spunk with other tools it is one of the best feature which splunk has. we can pull logs by integrating with other tools.

Cons:

Writing a query in splunk is difficult. it should customize the query for users.

Verified Reviewer
Director, Lead Generation & Database Mgmt in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Many Featured Tool

4 4 years ago

Pros:

We first started using Splunk as a log analysis tool like many companies do but we're not getting into a number of other use cases based on how powerful and robust the tool can be for our business. They have a lot of good apps on their marketplace and the visualizations make information for less tech savvy users readily available.

Cons:

Starting this tool up and really getting it working takes some time, research and resources just based on the vast number of solutions it can provide. Like other tools that we use, it requires us to have good focus during planning to make sure we're not trying to do too much and instead focus on a few use cases to start.

Pratik C.
Technology lead in India
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

User friendly

4 4 years ago

Comments: Issue resolution

Pros:

Best tool for application event trend analysis, Effective report of logs, Useful for new users , support analyst

Cons:

To generate report need some automation. Has to write query using parameters, For end users it is difficult to configure.

James W.
IS Security Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use once set up

5 2 years ago

Pros:

The ability to set up alerts and reports based on logs that come in from almost anywhere and anything in our network.

Cons:

In can be a bit of a bear to get set up but that is the case with almost any enterprise level software like this.

Verified Reviewer
Threat and Vulnerability Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Insurance, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Splunk is a fantastic SIEM

5 3 years ago

Comments: Splunk has helped us see much deeper in to our data and find reoccurring patterns very easily

Pros:

GREAT ability to scale Good price Easy to set up

Cons:

Can give more information than you know what to do with Learning curve

Rashmi ..
Rashmi ..
UI Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A must have tool for managing logs and monitoring the app behaviour

5 3 years ago

Comments: Just amazing tool to manage your logs

Pros:

I think it's great tool to see the logs of your application with advance query search. Splunk support lots stat mechanism, also you can start multiple stats jobs on your location. It is just fabulous thing.

Cons:

I have been using this for last one and half year but can say a single negative point of this too.

Bill C.
Consultant in US
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

If you want SIEM, it's splunk and only splunk

4 last year

Comments: Great company, great company, amazing high price tag....

Pros:

It dominates the industry in SIEM.... People would love to hate it... it's critical in terms of looking at your logs and seeing if something is not right and you have hackers or unwanted people on your system. It's the industry leader and has all the cool features.

Cons:

The price.. it's expensive and you have vendor lock-in... All my clients hate it for the price, but love it for its features and leading R&D.

Charlie G.
SE Mgr. in US
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerful search tool, steep learning curve

4 3 years ago

Pros:

It's ability to query massive data sets.

Cons:

Fairly steep learning curve in regards to query syntax and options.

Dominic R.
Systems Architect in US
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best log/data aggregation tool on the market, but it comes at a price

5 4 years ago

Pros:

- Hugh library of add-ons that have been pre-built by others saves you significant time - Large community (and events like Splunk Live) to help and keep you engaged - Refined interface compared to some of the free competitors

Cons:

- You'll like the tool so much that you'll want to throw all kinds of data into it and the cost will grow substantially! - Only pricing is by data volume, no options to pay by host, source, etc.

Shahab V.
Cybersecurity in US
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Reliable Application for Cybersecurity

4 2 years ago

Pros:

Splunk is an easy to navigate, search and monitor data.

Cons:

Bad customer service. Was once locked out of my account and never got back in.

Verified Reviewer
SR Technology Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Splunk is a wealth of information.

5 4 years ago

Pros:

Splunk gathers a ton of information. It detects just about anything you want to know when it is configured.

Cons:

Creating reports that will display the information you need is challenging and the output format could be improved upon.

Alex L.
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Splunk Review

3 5 years ago

Comments: We used Splunk as part of our compliance and delivery for email marketing. The tool itself requires some industry knowledge and a day or two of hands-on training, however, once you get the hang of it's pretty easy and very useful in order to dig into consumer/user data.