Visual LandPro 2000

Visual LandPro 2000 Reviews

by LandPro

LandPro is the best!

Reviewed on 30/11/2018
Sandy B.
President
Oil & Energy, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Our company has nothing but good things to say about LandPro. We have been with LandPro for many years after outgrowing our old software and trying a system which was very complicated and didn't achieve what we needed. We've always found it possible to process the data we need with the options available. If we have new situations, LandPro has always been able to assist us in finding the answers we need. So glad we discovered this program!

Pros: LandPro is user friendly. Tried other software programs before discovering LandPro. The features of this program are endless and allow your company to grow without constraints from the software program. We've been with LandPro for many years and still have not utilized all the features offered! The help in converting our old program's data was very time saving and worked perfectly!Support is punctual and helpful!

Cons: Because the software is so powerful, commands for information must be exact which can result in not finding the information you need if entered incorrectly. As with any software program, setting the data up properly and consistently is a must!

Vendor Response

by LandPro on 04/12/2018

Thank you Sandy for the kind words! It has been a pleasure working with you guys since September 2008! Your suggestions, feedback, and recommendations over the years have helped us improve our products a lot, and we are very grateful and honored of the opportunity to still be working with you and your team! Take care.

Luigi Ballatori
[email protected]

Landpro really works

Reviewed on 05/12/2018
Kane W.
President
Oil & Energy, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: LandPro has also been very responsive to our requests to modify reports and even create one unique to our needs and even added an Exhibit “A” with our name on it, their “Texas Crude Style Exhibit “A”!

Pros: We’ve been using LandPro software for over 20 years (since it was running on MS-DOS), and have gone through every single upgrade offered by LandPro Corp since 1988. First and foremost, their willingness to listen and enhance their system over the years has been excellent. The software grew quite a bit over time and has numerous lease management tools. It can calculate Division Orders and related reports and has a flexible and easy-to-read Lease Data Sheets. Other functions and reports include filterable Payment Obligation reports, Exhibit A’s, Acreage Inventory Reports, Prospect NRI Summary Reports, and too many others to list. LandPro Corp has listened to our as well as all their clients suggestions over the years.
LandPro has helped import legacy data and has spreadsheet style imports for multiple leases.
The one of the features we love is the ease of data entry. The program is very intuitive, the learning curve is very short and LandPro offers various training classes on a regular basis. The data-entry and mass-update wizards walk you through the various steps in order to simplify the task. Mapsuite GIS, Visual LandPro’s GIS Mapping companion app, allows us to quickly generate useful maps, driven by the live data in Visual LandPro. For example, we can generate in a matter of seconds Expiration Maps, HBP Maps, Lessor Maps, Special Provision Maps, and dozens more.

Cons: We’ve had a few issues over the years, but nothing that wasn’t resolved quickly by the support staff at LandPro. On a few occasions we’ve had to restart the program after we worked in it for several hours non-stop. Visual LandPro and Mapsuite GIS seem to be very stable systems, even though LandPro Corp is regularly adding new reports and time-saving features.

Vendor Response

by LandPro on 15/01/2019

Thank you for the kind words KC. You guys have been using LandPro for over 30 years - wow! I have no words to express our gratitude.

Our software has been a leader in the Land Management Software arena for many years now, thanks primarily to our VISUAL LANDPRO app and our MAPSUITE GIS MAPPING system. I agree, the DOI calculation system and our GIS MAPPING software is truly unique and proven-useful. Feel free to contact us at 281-363-4213 or email us at [email protected] if you guys ever have any questions! Thank you again for all your suggestions and patience over the years. We couldn't have done it without your suggestions and input!

Landpro for Lignite Mining

Reviewed on 28/11/2018
Susan W.
Contractor - Land Administration
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We had an old in-house system and were able to replace three employees with one after converting to Landpro. When we put in the tons mined, Landpro, in one step, can figure out which mining formula to use, what percentages each royalty owner has, distribute the recoup balance appropriately, compute all payments, post to each lease correctly, and we are secure knowing it is all correct. If the Land Agent walks in and wants to know, for example, every landowner-royalty owner for tracts in certain surveys, with addresses, percent ownership in surface and lignite or any other data, it's a snap to do. I've always told them, "Tell me what you need to know, and I'll use Landpro to find the answer."

Pros: Landpro very efficiently takes care of all of our data and saves us time. I retired three years ago after using Landpro for 15 years, but I am still using it as a contractor occasionally. We compared it to an IBM product, and it could not stand up to Landpro. Whatever questions come from the manager or land agent, we solve with Landpro. The mining module is fantastic. For example, if a landowner we couldn't find ten years ago suddenly appeared, Landpro could tell us in less than a minute exactly what we need to pay him. It's easy to put data in, easy to find what you need, and easy to get reports.

Cons: When a check is returned, Landpro has a great process for backing it out, but if it is an advanced payment, that same check has to be manually backed out of the recoup table. I'd like to see that an automatic process, but it's a minor fix now since we changed our process for returned checks and don't have as many.

Vendor Response

by LandPro on 04/12/2018

Hi Susan! Thank you for the kind words. AEP has been using LandPro at Hallsville and CLECO for over 18 years now, and before them Central SW Services. Initially it was taking 3 employees about 2 weeks to process the mining royalty calculations and disbursements - but after they got LandPro, this task was now able to be handled by ONE employee, in about ONE day. Amazing...

LandPro's Mining Royalty Distribution app was designed to be extremely flexible in handling just about any type of royalty obligation calculation. Its ability to take Advance Royalty Recoups under consideration was key to make sure these royalty payments were correct - no room for error!

Our "Split Report" clearly shows the royalty analyst how a payment is calculated, and our mining checks are very easy to read, and - best of all - "customizable"!

Thank you for all your feedback and recommendations over the years. Please don't hesitate to call if there is anything we can do for you and your team!

Visual LandPro 2000

Reviewed on 29/10/2019
Pam R.
Lease Records Supervisor
Oil & Energy, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: I've used this program since 1991, I find it easy to navigate, make custom reports, also has good canned reports and support has always been prompt and helpful. We use this program to run reports, keep up with land records, obligations, rentals, etc., we do not use it for Division Orders or to print checks.

Cons: I have no complaints with Landpro, I've had very few instances where it wouldn't do what I needed and when those instances arose I contacted support to figure out a different way it could be done.

Vendor Response

by LandPro on 04/11/2019

Thank you for your kind review - and - for being a loyal LandPro customer! We appreciate you taking the time to provide us your valuable feedback.

GREAT CONCEPT - NEEDS SOME WORK

Reviewed on 29/10/2019
Kristy E.
LANDMAN
Oil & Energy, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
3/5
Overall
1/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Our company is reevaluating our subscription with this program and will most likely drop it in the near future.

Pros: Once you are able to master the program, the report option is a great tool. There are almost too many reports to choose from and they have similar names, so it makes it hard to familiarize yourself with your favorites.

Cons: When we purchased this software we researched a lot of options. This program claimed to have features that ended up not being useful because they weren't compatible with the version of Microsoft Office we used. The reports aren't customizable. Basically if they don't have the report feature you need, there is no way to make the report that you want.

Vendor Response

by LandPro on 04/11/2019

Thank you so much for your time in providing your feedback. It certainly is distressing to learn that our product is not meeting your expectations. We would definitely like to learn about your specific issues to see how we can resolve. A member of our management team will reach out to further discuss with you. Thank you!

Best Land Management Software for Landmen!

Reviewed on 10/10/2018
Verified Reviewer
Landman
Oil & Energy, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: LandPro helps us to manage our lease position and ensure we are paying the right people once we obtain production. I would recommend LandPro to any company, large or small!

Pros: This software was pretty intuitive to learn and has paid for itself multiple times. With the DOI module I am able to calculate really complex Revenue decks for wells and units with a click of a button. Using LandPro, I have caught many errors in Title Opinions rendered by title attorneys. The Excel export feature makes managing the data so much easier. The LandPro HelpDesk is a huge asset that is not found at many other software companies.

Cons: It would be nice if LandPro could calculate a treating fee deck. For example if I select that no cost is to be charged to the royalty on a lease when an expense DOI is run, two options would be nice; treating expenses and WI expenses. Its hard to find a flaw in LandPro. Usually when I run across an issue, I call the HelpDesk and they have an answer.

Vendor Response

by LandPro on 25/10/2018

Thank you for the kind words regarding our Division Orders calculation module. Visual LandPro is a tract-based land management system that was designed from the very beginning with Division Orders as the "ultimate goal".
We allow you to generate DOI's for Wells, Units, and Multi-Well Units. We display all the calculations in various sorting options (by Owner Id, by Lease, by Tract), which ultimately help Division Order Analysts review their data calculations before the DOI is saved.
Our DOI module also has capabilities to export its data to Excel, Word, and other formats, for easy import into most Accounting systems in the market.
Feel free to email us at [email protected] if you have any questions, suggestions, or recommendations on our DOI module. Glad we can help!

LandPro Works

Reviewed on 09/10/2018
Joey K.
Land Manager
Oil & Energy, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I work on 6 different land software's, my preference is LandPro. Why....because of the way LandPro connect the data in system. It is great for research. It is a quality system for the small to medium sized company, because you can do a multitude of jobs from land administration to mineral tracking, division orders, coal and even seismic operations to name a few.

Pros: I have been using this software for many years. I like the fact that it is a tract base program. The owner set up is really the best I have seen. It is easy to find and update your owners, other programs I have used it is easy to duplicate owners, which causes a mess in your system. The DO module is great. Transferring and commenting owners really is a plus. Plus there is a x-ref tab on the owners which references everything that owner is a part of. The system really connects everything together. Reports are good and you can get a lot of data out of the system. There is a lot you can do with this tool.

Cons: The cons, the properties report could be a lot better. The actual reports need more data. This is important is you tract minerals. The Well report could be better as well. If you are tracking NPRI it is not easy to get them out of the system. It takes some knowledge.

Vendor Response

by LandPro on 25/10/2018

Thank you Joey for the kind words. We started LandPro back in 1987, and over the past 30+ years we have continuously listened to feedback, suggestions and requests from countless land professionals like yourself. It has been thanks to people like you that LandPro is what is it today.
We now have a great report creation tool called Dilmad Report Writer: this allows you to create additional reports and Excel exports with exactly the data you wish to see. Also, please let us know what reports exactly you'd like to modify, what additional data you may want to see listed, and we'll work on that for you!
Thank you for being a LandPro client.

Luigi Ballatori
[email protected]
281-363-4213

Best Land Management Software on the Market

Reviewed on 11/11/2010
Dot M.
Land Manager
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
Value for Money

Comments: I researched about 12 or 13 different companies before choosing VLP and it was probably one of the best decisions I've made as a land manager. This is a great product for managing your company's land and is far superior to the products that are simply an "add-on" to an accounting system. This is a system for land people!

Pros: The program is very intuitive and has "wizards" that complete much of the data set-up automatically. There are numerous meaningful reports that are available and they can be easily modified to suit various company needs. It's also easy to make modifications to a large number of records utilizing specific tools in the system. While it is rarely needed, support is fantastic. Someone always get back to you timely (usually within minutes) and all efforts are made to find a resoluction to any problem. Another advantage is that it's not necessary to have an IT person on staff, which is great for smaller companies. This is a fantastic software system for companies ranging from small to large, with a great deal of versatility.

Cons: Although not really a "con", it does take an adjustment for some users to switch from a "lease based" system to a "tract based" system. But once the transition is made, users soon discover that the learning curve was well worth it, as a tract based system makes so much better sense in overall terms of management of the lands.

Vendor Response

by LandPro on 06/12/2018

Hi Dot! A very "late" (8 years late...) but nevertheless sincere "thank you" for all your feedback, recommendations, and especially your comments regarding our software. It is thanks to people like you that Visual LandPro has become indeed a very useful tool for anyone needing to keep track of their Oil & Gas and/or Coal Mining leases, fee minerals, and properties. Your in-house white papers (our so-called "Medallion LandPro Bible") has literally helped hundreds of lease analysts over the years to better understand our program and organize their land files and land office operations. Hope we stay in touch, come see us anytime - we are still at our building off Interstate 45 near FM-2920 in Spring.

Excellent land system

Reviewed on 05/12/2018
Dalia I.
Landman
Oil & Energy, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I've been using Visual LandPro for 11 year and i highly recommend it

Pros: - a complete land software:
- Tract based ;
- Simple to use
- Reports- wide array of useful reports available with only a few clicks
- All the Wizards for new items, such as leases and tracts which makes it extremely easy for data entry/management
- Very thorough- for a myriad of contracts needs
- superb costumer support
- always open to feedback
- Cost- It's got all the features of a more expensive software for a fraction of the price.

Cons: It would be nice if at the home page, it had more short-cut icons such as "reports" or "contracts". Although it is easy to click "open" and look for it, i think it would simplify it even more it if had more icons. almost like a desktop screen.

Vendor Response

by LandPro on 15/01/2019

Dalia, thank you so much for the review! Feel free to contact us if you ever have any questions or suggestions. You guys have played a big role in our development over the years - we are so thankful! The data entry wizards in LandPro truly are a time saver, I'm glad you are using them!

Our latest Dilmad Report Writer app allows you to generate additional LandPro custom reports and Excel export templates, giving you even more options as you work in LandPro. See our website or contact me and I will be glad to give you a presentation ASAP! Again, thank you for being a LandPro client.

Good software for small oil, gas or mineral management company

Reviewed on 03/12/2019
Frances B.
Land Analyst
Oil & Energy, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: This is a good software for mineral management for small companies. I have used for several different clients and it is easy to use for multiple leases - you don't have to repeatedly enter the same tract for each lease - but I wouldn't recommend for larger companies.

Pros: This tract based software is easy to use and easy to learn for beginners and people new to the industry.

Cons: I cannot save documents or links to corresponding documents inside the software and it takes a lot of clicking to get where you need to be.

Intuitive - Even for a beginner

Reviewed on 18/10/2019
Russel T.
GIS Specialist
Oil & Energy, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Visual LandPro 2000 has been great for keeping track of our properties and supporting our company's mapping. It is easy enough for a beginner (like me), and yet it is full of features that I keep discovering!

Pros: I kind of fell into the role of maintaining our lease properties using LandPro. I originally just did the mapping while another employee worked with LandPro. Thankfully, LandPro has been easy enough for me to pick up pretty quickly. As someone who is used to mapping and connecting databases to map features, the product has been really intuitive. The few times that I have had to contact support for help, the LandPro team has been quick to respond, friendly, and very helpful.

Cons: There are so many many reports that LandPro can spit out that its difficult to remember which one does what! It would be nice if there were a way to "favorite" certain ones.

Vendor Response

by LandPro on 04/11/2019

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us feedback on WolfePak LandPro! You've made a great suggestion in terms of reporting, and I will pass on to our product team. Thank you for your review!

One of the Best Land Management Software's on The Market

Reviewed on 30/10/2019
Chris P.
President
Oil & Energy, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: P&P Oil & Gas Solutions has used Landpro for over 20 years to manage many companies and individuals assets in Oil & Gas Land. Landpro allows us to capture all of the data we need and easily runs reports and exports of all data to excel for custom reports and data manipulation. If you are looking for a true tract based system you have found it.

Pros: Landpro is a very thorough tract based Oil & Gas land software that contains all aspects of capturing land records from prospect to pipeline. When you use the system with all available modules it is the most powerful. My Favorite part is calculating DOI in minutes.

Cons: The ease of input could be easier on the user. It is a very robust system that requires input of many data fields so the front end could be easier.

Vendor Response

by LandPro on 04/11/2019

Thank you Chris for the very kind words! We appreciate the feedback and appreciate you taking the time to provide. Duly noted on ease of input - I will forward to our product management team for review and consideration as we build out our product road map. Thank you for the many years of support of LandPro!

Landpro Review

Reviewed on 17/10/2019
Carrie C.
Landman
Oil & Energy, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: The software is user friendly and easy to generate a variety of reports reflecting different information

Cons: When generating reports, sometimes it doesn't capture all the info I need

Vendor Response

by LandPro on 04/11/2019

Thank you so much for providing us your feedback! We appreciate your time and glad to hear that WolfePak LandPro is easy to use! If you would like to share more information in regards to the reports, please feel free to reply this response (email will be included).

LandPro Review

Reviewed on 29/10/2019
Henson B.
Land Manager
Oil & Energy, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
4/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Good, the software interface is fairly archaic. Once everything is set up it is great to have.

Pros: The training and technical support has always been really good.

Cons: The user interface is archaic. Inputting data can be clunky at times.

Vendor Response

by LandPro on 04/11/2019

Thank you for your review - we appreciate you taking time to provide us with valuable feedback. I will make sure our training and support teams know how much you appreciate their service. Additionally, I will pass on your product input to our product management team for review and consideration for future planning. Thank you again!