15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About MailCleaner

Professional anti spam and threats server protection for ISP, SME, SMI & large companies.

Learn more about MailCleaner

Pros:

Price /month/user starting price really cant be beaten. 7 customer support is super convenient.

Cons:

Sometimes it allows the sending of unwanted emails and this makes us doubt a bit about security.

MailCleaner ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

MailCleaner has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 26 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used MailCleaner before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (26)

Ahmed ali
Ahmed ali
Manager in Pakistan
Verified LinkedIn User
Apparel & Fashion, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Thanks God no more tention of spam mails

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We are getting rid of spam mail through it very easily.

Pros:

The mailcleaner is true a mail cleaner it really helps us in cleaning our email from spam mails that are very irritatiing and it is also very cheap.

Cons:

As far as i am concerned i have nothing to say about any cons of mailcleaner the only thing that is missing in mailcleaner is that it is not available in all platforms

Victor
Systems Administrator in Spain
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best open source antispam you will find these days

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall I really recommend MailCleaner to everyone who hosts their own mail server. I've been using MailCleaner for 4+ years on two different companies and it works well.

Pros:

It has a nice compilation of well-known software (plenty of features). It’s flexible, with a complete web GUI and the possibility of customizing the underlying applications. Most important: it has a user quarantine interface, where employees can release their own retained mail, add an address to his own white list, etc. It's fairly easy to setup and use it.

Cons:

The installation/configuration has a few oddities. Sometimes it's difficult to find information about settings and problems. The VMs available for distribution could get a new release (with the latest Debian version).

Alinto Response

4 years ago

Thank you very much Victor We are working on the new version based on the latest Debian distribution (huge work) but the current version will continue to be corrected and maintained on all security points until the new one is available

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Goods, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Review of MailCleaner

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: This software cleaned my mail box of spams

Pros:

After use of this software my email box is totally clean and no spams any more.

Cons:

I don´t like the price. It seems so expensive for me.

Alinto Response

5 years ago

Hi and thanks a lot for your review. The pricing of Virtual Appliance is expensive for small companies, but yo can also choose the Cloud Services that will be more adapted for a small number of users.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Freedom from email threats

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I used to have much annoying spam in my email and that made me lose crucial emails. It was embarrassing for me to miss an appointment simply because of cluttered spam.

Pros:

There is Cloud Version and Virtual Appliance Version The cloud version is very easy and quick to install. You don’t need to download anything to install the software, it all happens online and in a jiffy It really does the cleaning job as the developer says and there is no nonsense about that. I like its sensitivity in detecting spam and viruses in the mail. In case some clean mail is detected as spam or virus, there is an option for you to add the sender to your white list. This helps to allow the innocent mail in. They give you a try period of 30 days where you enjoy the paid features to decide on purchasing.

Cons:

I would honestly say that I haven't experienced any challenges so far with this software.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Best AntiSpan software I've found so far!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Since I started using MailCleaner, I seen a huge improvement in my incoming emails and my spam folder is almost empty. I also feel a lot more at ease knowing that no viruses are getting through to me through my emails.

Pros:

I have just recently started using MailCleaner because I was getting so many spam emails. Basically it will provide security against dangerous emails or any other sorts of SPAM. Simple installation , simple to use and available to all users, it also offers tools with filters that permit you to keep your inbox clean so you can find important emails faster. You can also add filters to notify you when you get important email. It is clean and simple to use.

Cons:

The only thing I have noticed so far is that the sensitivity level could be a bit more flexible. Other than that, I have no complaints.

Raul
Raul
Presidente in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Music, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent protection against spam and viruses in email

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Since I am using the program I have not been affected by any virus and this generate trust in the provider.

Pros:

It has a friendly interface, is easy to use and the installation process is fast. It really does its job detecting viruses and files with dangerous content.

Cons:

Sometimes it allows the sending of unwanted emails and this makes us doubt a bit about security.

Albernes
progamador in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

With a simple click, a user can delete or release any message retained by the filter

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: The process of detecting and filtering spam is transparent, regulated by standards and reliable.

Pros:

implements a series of complementary techniques to detect filtering and blocking unwanted mail Combines artificial intelligence algorithms and adapts constantly to identify the changing techniques of spammers

Cons:

The level of false is high, and that is why it should be used with care Spammers can break this defense with the help of smart technologies. Using softwares that generate different contents (texts, graphics, etc.) in each spam message se requieren muchas actualizaciones

Helen
Speech Language Pathologist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Primary/Secondary Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great email filter

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Excellent email protection!

Pros:

Great email filter for spam and virus detection and cleaning!

Cons:

I would like to have the option to choose my sensitivity levels.

Yaira
analista administrativo in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

It works, it does the work

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This software is used in the organization where I work and it works avoiding those unwanted emails that can be malicious and it also keeps me informed of eventually.

Cons:

We have not had any problems using this software in the organization where I work, so I have no complications with this product.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Spam Filter

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

We used this product for few years and discontinued after switching to office 365. When we used, it worked reasonably well. Open source was the plus that I noticed and self hosted is another.

Cons:

There were some false positives that created some issues.

Alissa
Sales in US
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best price

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: We have had an overall very positive experience

Pros:

We were looking for a product for ourselves and our clients and we have been quite satisfied with the value Mailcleaner provides

Cons:

Nothing we are unhappy who we are quite happy

Joe
Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Loyal user for 13 years

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Great. We've evaulated other options but we haven't found anything that works as well and provides as much value.

Pros:

Works very well with all of our email platforms. We love how configurable it is.

Cons:

We use the Open Source version and the community is a little slow to respond sometimes but we don't really have issues with MailCleaner so we don't need to use the community that much.

laura
dishwasher in US
Food & Beverages, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cheap and worth it

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Well worth buying if you get hundreds and hundreds of emails every day. It can get overwhelming so this mailcleaner automatically cleans out all the garbage and spam emails for me.

Cons:

The software is a little dated and I wish there were more features.

Zeljko
Marketing in Serbia
Management Consulting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MailCleaner is a complete and free email solution for you.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have a clean computer from unnecessary messages.

Pros:

MailCleaner will filter automatically all valid messages for you, once you setup a domain.

Cons:

Everything is in the best order, I have nothing wrong to say.

Info
President in Switzerland
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The best Cloud Spam Filter

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Very easy to configure in cloud edition, best value for money

Cons:

A bit old-fashioned user interface, but doing the job

Jeremy
Self employeed in US
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Review! Mail cleaner

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Love it! Super easy, simple, use it alot.
It comes in handy when you have hundreds of emails coming in daily.

Pros:

I like how I can clean my phone in just one push of a button! It gets spam and unwanted emails out. Super easy to use

Cons:

Nothing so far. Been using this for nearly 1 year and use it alot. It's nice to have because I get so many annoying emails.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

I think this software is one of the best business anti spam message that I used so far.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: It lessen unwanted emails and spammers.

Pros:

I search detected and existing viruses and threats. And it avoids unwanted emails and notify the user immediately if there's a malicious emails. And what I like about this software is it easily identify the changing techniques of spammers.

Cons:

The only thing that I notice is the level of sensitivity is not that flexible and this software is not available to other platform to install.

DIANE
Self Employed eBay Seller in US
Consumer Goods, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

The Spam Fighter!!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I observed this software and am planning to download the free trial to familiarize myself and then buy the software. It is apparent that MailCleaner is a great way to stop the huge amount of irritating Spam that is experienced every time the computer is turned on and email downloaded.

Pros:

I love when software products offer a free 30 day trial so that the benefits become well known before you commit....and this software is definitely a great product. Being active on the internet comes with the almost inevitable onslaught of Spam. This software keeps almost all of it at bay, which, along with many other features and benefits, keeps the email folders less cumbersome.

Cons:

I found nothing to dislike about this software.

ronald
ronald
JEFE DE SALA SITUACIONAL in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Sophisticated filtering technology.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: The knowledge of interesting search options.

Pros:

The best thing about this software is the way to perform the searches of the detected or existing viruses or threats.

Cons:

Despite being a free antivirus it should be more flexible to configure the level of sensitivity and be available to other platforms.

Tracey
Tracey
Digital Marketing Specialist in New Zealand
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

MailCleaner is a great tool that is easy for all levels of users to get into with a clean interface

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This is really the best business anti spam - I have tried it on a couple of clients who went on to becoming paying customers.

Cons:

Our customers are very satisfied with the quality of the product and the great support so I can not complain either.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

I have been using this software for 2 months and I am very pleased

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Spam in mail is tedious, threatening and takes time to erase. That's why I like this software so much.Installation process is easy and fast and support is great.

Cons:

Nothing to say,for me everything is ok .

Grace
Outreach Lead in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

superb

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

price /month/user starting price really cant be beaten 24/7 customer support is super convenient overall just really great

Cons:

should be used with care, sometimes does let spam emails through, but overall is quite reliable and a great product

Olivier
Mr
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

MailCleaner Anti spam Solution for Enterprise

5.0 11 years ago

Comments: This is really the best business anti spam
All our customers are really happy with this anti spam solution

Pros:

We provide MailCleaner Anti spam for our customers, small and medium compagnies. Our customers are very satisfied by the quality of the product and the great support. We provide the cloud hosted solution for customers without own mail server and the Enterprise Edition for customers with own mail server and we install it on VMware.

Cons:

Nothing to say

Tiago
Ownee in Portugal
Accounting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

MailCleaner a most need app for mail security

5.0 10 months ago

Pros:

MailCleaner software is really easy to use , even for someone with less know can make it a tool really useful for our security even the free version is really handful .

Cons:

Most of the wanted features are only available in the paid version.

David
Owner
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Staaaaaable and generous

5.0 11 years ago

Comments: That is a robuste solution (two reboot in about 10 month), many functionalities, the most generous community (free) version to start with, upgrade to commercial version to get extra (support, managed or hosted version, etc). I managed a few hundred domains wit it. I was an ESVA customer that is thrilled with MailCleaner; a must to try.