Reliable software for structural designs.

Reviewed on 04/02/2019
Verified Reviewer
freelance
Civil Engineering, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Overall experience while using this software were better than using our traditional method in designing a structure it reduces our work load and can easily edit the parts that have been misplace.

Pros: I like using this software especially when I have to design a certain building. And as well as making computation of loads that I will have to apply. It's easy to use and convenient in presenting for meetings of what building or structure that you and your team were planning to build.

Cons: Maybe the least thing of this software was you have to be knowledgeable first in using this 3D software. If your not familiar or it is your first time using it, you'll encounter a lot of trial and error. and supervision is advice when using it as well.

In the line of my job, I used this software everyday. It is easy to operate and easy to navigate...

Reviewed on 10/07/2018
Verified Reviewer
Structural Steel Checker
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: This software does not require high specifications of pc and still run smoothly. The color render is like how you literally modeled on Tekla Steel modeling. Aside from the fact that it can be easily operate, bimsight can be navigate easily even you are not familiar with it.

Cons: I can't see any cons about this software. I will always choose this software than any other model viewer software.

At first, it's a little bit confusing to use but it helps me a lot in my building presentation.

Reviewed on 03/07/2018
Verified Reviewer
freelance
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: It helps you in your presentation and design and materialize your projects.

Pros: This software helps the professionals in construction industries to solve and adjust their errors that is already in its design phase. And it can collaborate in any BIM software and combine them to produce one project. This software has a automated clash detection feature that can apply to all your models and pin point conflicts to help engineers.

Cons: A training is needed when you use this as a medium in structural design. And I notice in this software that, only solid shape items are can be cut or attached to another part. And also when you split the imported items it tends to create a duplicate and it is confusing when multiple splits are created.

One of the best 3D drafting software

Reviewed on 03/07/2018
Mo sabouti, B.
Senior Estimator
Construction, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Draft the most accurate structural steel 3D model and get benefit of the reporting system.

Pros: If you want to make the most accurate 3D BIM, especifically when it comes with steel structure, this is the best want to use. You can model all the details of a structural steel building not only in a 3D format, but a comprehensive report that can be utilized as bill of quantity for and valuable for making any purchase order.

Cons: Although the software has many advantages, but in order to make an accurate draft, you need to spend time on learning the software and its tricks.

Great structural steel modeling software

Reviewed on 09/11/2017
Verified Reviewer
Project Manager / Document Control
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: For the areas of the software that i have learned to use, it benefits me greatly. The time it takes to do the same work in a 2D software such as AutoCad is unbelievable. A simple beam/column setup or handrail for a set of stairs can be done in minutes rather than hours or days. Plus, the ability to export machine files such as NC1 and DXF has increased the speed of our shop.

Pros: The community items have impressed me the most. You don't have to custom model a lot of items due to the community has usually already done it and uploaded it for your usse.

Cons: Like any software, there is a learning curve. This one seems to be a larger curve than most. There are a lot of aspects to this software and multiple layers that have to be gone through to be able to understand how a single item operates.

They understand the world of construction

Reviewed on 21/12/2018
Fabián Q.
Ingeniero residente
Civil Engineering, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: This software takes me step by step throughout the construction process helping to program each task with precision, efficiency and reliability. There can be no other result than optimal quality and significant savings of resources and time.

Pros: Even though a construction project can be seen as a whole, in reality it is a lot of processes that must be analyzed separately and Concrete Contractors do it for me, saving me a lot of headaches and money.

Cons: Actually I like to do things the old way and I would like to say that this can not replace the valuable experience of the construction worker, but the reality is that this valuable work tool has no weaknesses.

Tekla BIMsight it's an easier BIM viewer that allows to understand building's geometry.

Reviewed on 10/04/2018
Andrea F.
BIM Engineer
Civil Engineering, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: The coordination review is the best use that I can do with this software.

Pros: The power of the software are the IFC viewer and project control operations. It's very easy to program clashset between the elements and write the labels on the objects.

Cons: Clash detection report it's too complicate to governate but anyway it's clear. In my opinion, apart from this, the software has no defects.

Tekla

Reviewed on 26/11/2018
Ademiloye T.
learning on how to use basic civil engineering softwares like STAD.pro..ORION....SAP2000.....BEAMax
Civil Engineering, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I have used tekla to provide calculation sheets of many projects

Pros: The ability of it to generate a professional calculation sheets in different design codes and its flexibility , ease of use .this does not require a professional training before you can work with this software ..just have a basic understanding on Hw to design

Cons: What I like least about this software is that it doesn't provide a good detailed drawing for the members being designed

Plan and Pour

Reviewed on 13/09/2019
Verified Reviewer
Civil Engineer
Civil Engineering, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We are using Concrete Contractors in one of our projects which is a high end project. Planning learned through the software is used for other projects.

Pros: Concrete Contractors is a great tool to plan our day to day concrete pouring schedules. Calculations are highly accurate and fast. Must have this app, if working as a site engineer.

Cons: Not affordable for small scale projects.It seems Tekla has only targeted large scale projects. Customer support is less.

Great design app for Concrete Formwork

Reviewed on 06/07/2019
Verified Reviewer
Civil Engineer
Civil Engineering, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Concrete contractor is using to produce calculation reports for formwork designing.

Pros: Software is compatible with windows 10 perfectly and works smoothly without any crashes. Colour rendering is great. Best thing of the software is, it produces a comprehensive report of calculations for further use. With the perfectly clear presentations slides and a calculation report from tekla, no one can argue with you.

Cons: Default models are not the best options in the software. Customization work is a little tiring work. Updates are required for better performances.

Tekla BIM Sight is a great visual review tool

Reviewed on 07/09/2018
Kenan C.
Chief BIM Modeller
Civil Engineering, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Taking complex heavy models and allowing you to view on any lightweight machine with ease

Cons: Although the measuring tool is good, it would be great to be able to print a sectional view or have a section view with a limited far clip offset

Gets the job done!

Reviewed on 24/02/2018
Michael V.
Drafter
Design, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Tekla Bimsight is great when hardware resources are limited, and peak framerate visuals are desired.

Cons: Some of the tracking or scaling / dimensioning tools may take multiple tries to get used though, though they are very accurate

Tekla bimsight feed-back

Reviewed on 10/08/2018
Yassine,nazim B.
Ingénierie
Civil Engineering, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Easy to use , really use full if you want to link an url or documents with a part of your 3D model

Cons: Clash module isn’t as good as navisworks

Depends on how much u pay

Reviewed on 21/04/2019
Simo O.
Civil engineer
Civil Engineering, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Program speed, good model quality, connection with ifc models.

Cons: Dont like these default components, have to make them by myself