15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

SolidWorks Enterprise PDM Reviews

About SolidWorks Enterprise PDM

Cloud-based solution designed to help businesses manage product data, share design information, automate workflows & monitor progress.

Learn more about SolidWorks Enterprise PDM

Pros:

As a Project Engineer who works with Product Development, our CAD platform's ability of storage/retrieval of models and drawings is essential for the streamlining of production runs.

Cons:

Only thing probably bothers me most is the no backwards compatibility exist on the software lineup from SW.

SolidWorks Enterprise PDM ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.4
Value for Money
3.9

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

SolidWorks Enterprise PDM has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 77 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used SolidWorks Enterprise PDM before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (77)

Zeynel
Zeynel
Engineer in Türkiye
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The best asistant for a draughtsman

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Solidworks is really simple yet highly functional software. I use it for designing, analyzing machines or machines element. And time to time, I enjoy trying to implement my ideas on creating new machine design and see if it could operate as I imagine.

Pros:

+ It is easy to learn and fun to use + It satisfies almost everything a modeller need such as, drawing, assembling, disassembling, animation and analyzing. + It has really useful tools to help user make modelling fast, effective and authentic way. + Interface design leave no room for messed up workspace

Cons:

- It's very expensive and system requirements are high.. especially for those who are dealing with comparatively simpler projects. - Error messages can be far from being clear and helpful.

Mahesh
Mahesh
Sr. System Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Logistics & Supply Chain, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Software which helps to review your drawings

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall experience i can say is good, even though it is a very useful software which has lots of customization options in it, we cannot change the rules once it is setBut outer wise it is a preferable software

Pros:

The most i liked about this software is that we can customize our options and requirements as required from software user and do changes accordingly even before the setupIt is a very useful tool where you can upload your drawing and send it for review for respective cross functional team having drawing software in itRespective CFT can review the drawing and model accordingly and move the status to either next stage or move back for re-draftIt acts like a configuration management where you can keep the updated software and also have a record of previous versions of it

Cons:

The couple of cons i observed in this software is that the application will crash during producing drawing and during saving for drawing which have huge files or number of components are moreWhich in turn kill our time for just spending time to auto recoverWe cannot add all the items in drawing, example sealants which comes between assemblies and to be captured separately

Konstantinos
Konstantinos
Designer Mechanical Engineer in Greece
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Slower every year and more unreliable than ever

1.0 4 years ago

Comments: I am not satisfied with this product. It gets even slower and unreliable every year. Its UI is outdated and ugly.

Pros:

Nothing in particular is worth noting in this software

Cons:

Its user interface greatly resembles Windows 95 (very outdated graphics). It gets slower every year in terms of performance. I have been using it for three years straight (versions 2017 to 2020) and with every update it did get more unstable (even with clean installations) and slow. I highly despise the fact that the 2020 version does not refresh the folders automatically so that I always have to do a manual refresh for the newly created files to appear.

Gowtham
Gowtham
Manufacturing Engineering in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Aviation & Aerospace, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Worth for money for reviewing drawing online

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall experience i can say moderate as one good thing is that we can make customization options of review and storage before we buy the software, but only issue is that crash of drawing due to high file size resulting in wasting of time in creating the drawing if it crashes

Pros:

The most i am impressed about this software is that any department can review the drawing in PDM board and provide comments on this and change the state of work from in progress to completion of work and store the approved drawing in it which is similar to configuration management systems itself

Cons:

The only con we are facing the issue is that software is getting crashed if the assembly drawing has too many components in it, which results in delay in making drawing and releasing it on time

Rod
Rod
Senior Business Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A complete business rev control and process management system

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Rev control, file management, business process management, ease of use.

Pros:

The greatest advantage to this software is the level of customization that is possible. I have developed the workflow tool in our business to support not only Engineering-centric processes - but also Quality, Operations and even Purchasing/Accounting processes are supported.

Cons:

Some elements of the development interface take a little patience and a bit of getting used to. There are several dialog boxes in the development area that don't support copy and paste, or select all (Ctrl+A), etc. You get used to working around these elements, but I'd like to see these features added.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I use SolidWorks every day for my job as a Design Engineer and Enterprise PDM keeps everyone synched

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Collaborate and synchronized data for SolidWorks drawings and solid models.

Pros:

SolidWorks is easily the most used software by engineers at my company. Because so much of our work is collaborative or builds off of previous models having Enterprise PDM is essential. Everything is easy to find and everyone can access the same base parts to make sure that all of our products are uniform. It's quick, it's easy, and it helps me make sure my projects are made correctly.

Cons:

It can be complicated, like much of SolidWorks everything is not intuitive at first glance, but this dissipates over time and constant use.

Jesus
Jesus
Controls Designer in Costa Rica
Verified LinkedIn User
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Wonderful vault management system

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Has ensure the security of important documents and allow us to track the documents.

Pros:

It is easy to use after a minimum training. You can control the documents that are important for the organization, you get a file history, who modified it and when. You can stablish rules to be able to modify any document, in that way you can minimize errors and not desire modifications.

Cons:

It is not possible to access to the files from any device, you have to get installed the desktop app to be able to access to the files.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Gambling & Casinos, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Solidworks ePDM Basic tool of modern company

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Basic tool of modern company

Pros:

best way to track and menage documentation, reviews, version and modifications on 3d models. very complex setup process, but in the end it worth it. smart way of name coding

Cons:

very complex setup process, but in the end it worth it. too complex process of creating cards, custom design properties, check in/out

Ada
Ada
Docente en Mecánica - Jefa de Almacén Central de la UPT Aragua FBF in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Software is excellent when making corrective reviews of the designs presented

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Another indisputable benefit is the availability of the list of materials, it is excellent when manufacturing is necessary to modify the design due to lack of specific material.

Pros:

What I like most about this software is that it synchronizes the design data and saves it to me securely. In addition to the time, the great time that allows me to save by reusing parts or elements designed in advance and that I can redesign because it is stored in the files, the main advantage being the visualization by the windows explorer which avoids having to open each file to know what it is.

Cons:

In reference to this software, there are no negative aspects that stand out according to the functionalities offered. That is to say, the control of revision of the designs is an excellent option at the same time that I can share the designs in a more efficient way, to elevate the level of the design and to dedicate more time to innovate in them and not to remake mechanical elements that already I had done one once.

Aníbal
Aníbal
Especialista De Soporte Datos Inalámbricos | Wireless Data Support Specialist in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

software for engineers

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I have used this software for engineers to design mechanical parts such as a camshaft. with my experience on this program I would say that it is much easier and can be modeled by guaranteeing the quality and operation of your designs before committing to manufacture them. This software is made up of three modules: piece, assembly and drawing.

Pros:

there are multiple programs to design in engineering but this is one of the software used in mechanical engineering, aeronautics and industrial, is a program for these students of these related careers develop, model parts and assemblies and extract from them both technical and other types of information necessary for production.

Cons:

What I like least about this software is that users must have a 64bit computer to be able to use solidwork from 2015 to the current year

Taylor
Project Engineer in US
Defense & Space, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Still Figuring Everything Out

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall though, the PDM I can already tell, once we get the hang of things, will be much more robust in capabilities and will prove easier from a file management standpoint. I look forward to playing around more, better understanding its nuances, and taking advantage of this advanced software CAD package.

Pros:

As a Project Engineer who works with Product Development, our CAD platform's ability of storage/retrieval of models and drawings is essential for the streamlining of production runs. We recently updated to SolidWorks 2019 and updated our PDM/File Vault. As our team continues the transition and is working out the kinks of the data transfer, I can already tell that SW Enterprise PDM has the capabilities we need to succeed.

Cons:

As I mentioned, we are still in a somewhate introductory phase, but one thing that is different that I am still getting used to is the fact that our files are accessible only trough our PC's File Explorer rather than directly through the CAD interface. So, there is some disjoint there.

Michael
Senior Industrial Designer in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Industrial Designer with over 15years experience. My current company uses PDM.

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

I like that each part is automatically given a new rev without having to do it manually. Updating parts in assemblies with a newer version is easy.

Cons:

When searching for files I have to start at the beginning each time. Once I exit a folder and try to access another folder that folder doesn't show its contents. The folder is empty. I have to start at the beginning of EPDM and then the files will show up.

Jesalkumar
Manufacturing Engineer in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Works flawlessly with minimal issues

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall experience has been very good. It works very smoothly for a medium scaled manufacturing facility like ours.

Pros:

The ability of creating workflows within organization.

Cons:

The back end is not as user friendly as it could be.

Radhika
Electrical Engineer in US
Automotive, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great PLM system

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Easy user interface. Recommend their enterprise change order feature

Cons:

Adding BOM is time consuming. Can save lot of time.

Jeremy
Student in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, efficient

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

I enjoy the fact that there is a simple to use part management addition to solidworks for companies to use to keep track of parts

Cons:

After using the software for a little while, I am finally getting used to it. It has taken some time to set up, but we are operating more efficiently with this software

Jon
PDM Manager in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

If you are using SOLIDWORKS there is only one choice for PDM... SOLIDWORKS PDM

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: SOLIDWORKS PDM (PDM) is a full-featured data management solution for organizations large and small. It lets you find and repurpose files, parts and drawings, share design information, automate workflows, and ensure manufacturing always has the right version. Don't let its name fool you: SOLIDWORKS PDM (PDM) is the premier data management choice for SOLIDWORKS Users regardless of your size. With the incredible advantage of being based on Microsoft SQL Server, PDM has enormous flexibility in how it can be configured. From simple revision management and search all the way to full blown engineering change control and companywide document management, PDM can be what you want it to be. Conventional wisdom dictates that a system with this much flexibility would be incredibly difficult to configure and integrate into your company, however the exact opposite is true with PDM. Hawk Ridge Systems can have PDM installed, configured and running at your site in as little as 1 day.

Alejandro
Mechanical engineering student in Venezuela
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I love solidworks for design and simulation in 3D, its ease of use is the best.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Development in the CAD area. Quality in engineering designs.

Pros:

What I like about solidworks are the simulations and the different materials that can be used, all their options and very useful tools when designing in engineering.

Cons:

what I like the least is the rendering time, if the user does not have a team of good features can tadar more than expected.

Vishal
Vishal
Quality Control Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

My Reviews about solidworks

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Overall It was good experience.. i learn alot about solid works & designing. That's gives good experience in designing.

Pros:

I like the most in this application is basically it's a 3d designing software it is used to design the machines nd other solid body nd designing or die's and frames..

Cons:

Least i like in this application is every year updation and new features in application & its not easy to learn and use that's i like least

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Worked for us but sometimes a hassle

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Kept files safe and monitored revision and release errors

Pros:

This powerful software is very useful for revision and release control and limiting access where necessary.

Cons:

It can be a bit confusing and complicated and time consuming which is often the case with powerful systems that have so many functions

Moises
Moises
Analista de planificación de mantenimiento in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

it is a excellent 3D CAD design software for modeling parts and assemblies in 3D and 2D drawings !!

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The software offers a range of solutions for edit or make all design what you want to do . this is so nice

Cons:

SolidWorks must improve a important thing that consists in organize all the tools in a better way that help you with your work

Jonny
Engineering Documentation Administrator in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Powerfule CAD software, great for our engineers

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I've been using it for almost 3 years. While I still have more to learn, it has been easy to pick up and fun to work with.

Pros:

The SolidWorks interface is user friendly when compared to many alternatives. It supports VisualBasic, which we rely on heavily. It handles large parts assemblies with ease.

Cons:

Some error messages are difficult to understand.

John
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Great product but could use better user guide

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: I used this package to develop the mechanical drawings for a payload for a project. I had had no formal training in Solidworks so I had to teach myself. While I expected it to be a long process, I wish there was a better getting started guide to walk me through the first steps and getting acquainted better with the program. Once I got accustomed to it, things went smoothly.

Pros:

The renderings.

Cons:

Usability

Peter
Director in UK
Construction, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Solidworks

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Component design, testing, visualisation

Pros:

Range of possibilities, The ability to run simulations to test the viability and the ability to produce 2D drawings easily

Cons:

Difficulty in transition from 2D to 3D CAD, with training being an essential as impossible to learn by doing.

vincent
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Very powerful, but steep learning curve

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Lots of functionality but does require quite a bit of learning to make it work within the constraints of your documentation system.

javier
engineer in Venezuela
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

one of the best simulator software it has a really great color and graphic design it so useful in wk

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

the most i like is that is has so many useful tool so you have so many option to edit all your work and do it the best you can

Cons:

you need to organize better the tool because sometime it can be complicated to use and it make slow your work