15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About DockMaster

A complete marina and marine management system for Marinas, Boatyards, and Boat Dealers.

Learn more about DockMaster

Pros:

It's very easy to use and get around from screen to screen. I also like that you can add the most used tasks to your favorites.

Cons:

Often the system clogs up and is unresponsive. Sometimes this happens at very inconvenient moments.

DockMaster ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.5
Features
3.9
Value for Money
3.9

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

DockMaster has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5 stars based on 16 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (16)

Sort by

Have you used DockMaster before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (16)

JUSTIN
Assistant General Manager in US
Maritime, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Assistant General Manager

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: My overall experience with Dockmaster is that they listen to their customers. They respond to help tickets and overall, they support you as well as you could possibly expect.

Pros:

The fully customizable reporting system. The support from industry experts when submitting a support ticket.

Cons:

I dislike having to clear an error rather type over the highlighted error. Like when you enter a bad part number during receiving.

John
Operations Manager in US
Maritime, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I have used three marina management programs and DockMaster is second to none!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: DockMaster is a collection of "best practices" that if used properly, will help grow your business and profits. We have implemented the program across our departments and it has made a tremendous difference in how well the workflow in every department as improved. We have also improved every faction of our business.

Pros:

The program is very well thought out and intuitive. We can have users up and running in short order. If we do have a glitch or we don't understand something, it is handled in a very professional and efficient manner. In addition, the group and individual training sessions are awesome! I try to join all of them because it expands my knowledge and it reminds me of items I may forgotten. This is also the only program where you feel as though your ideas and suggestions count. They have an “Ideas” portal which is excellent. You can post any idea and it it is reviewed by DockMaster programmers and other users. Feels good even when your ideas can’t go forward because you know you are being listened to. Awesome program!

Cons:

It doesn't make coffee or bring in donuts.

Aspire Software Company Response

6 years ago

Hi John, Thank you so much for the five star rating. We appreciate your support. All the best, DockMaster Software

dominic
US
Maritime, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

keep looking

2.0 7 years ago

Comments: I have been using dockmaster for almost 15 years. it seemed to be easier to use when it was command based system 15 years ago. since then we have been forced in many so -called "upgrades" I first welcomed the first g.u.i. based version but recently we have been force to go a system that could also accommodate touchscreens. Features that we took for granted have been taken away, such as the ability to credit and charge items on the same invoice. Their e-mail no longer interfaces with MS OUTLOOK so you have no history track if your vendor ever received your purchase order (for example). The technical support department is quick to respond to complaints and requests to tell they not going to fix it. I could go on and on with complaint but long story short...keep looking.

Aspire Software Company Response

7 years ago

Dominic, Thank you for your review. We value feedback from of our clients, both positive and negative. If the information is constructive, such that it will help us improve, we are always open to suggestions. It has been challenging for some of our long-time customers who have transitioned from our legacy (character-based) system to the new Windows touchscreen capability. But we have been actively working with the ownership and management at Rose¿s Oil for the last few months to help address your concerns and issues. Some of the items you mentioned have been addressed in a previous release and some are upcoming in a future release. For instance, in the next release, email links will connect to MS Outlook for emailing, and history of those emails will be tracked in the users¿ Outlook mailbox. We would be more than happy to demonstrate this to you at your convenience. Thank you, DockMaster Customer Support

Maureen
Office Manager in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We have been using DockMaster about 10 years & the overall experience & customer service is great.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I love the hosted system since we no longer have to maintain a server. It makes it easy to work from home if necessary. Some of the features I like... the ability to email work orders or payment receipts etc.. We use WO estimate's which is a great feature. In AP invoicing I like the added feature of the sublet PO - which allows me to see any discrepancy with the cost on the WO compared to the cost of the vendor invoice. I like that you can have more than one customer maintenance file or WO open at the same time. The system allows for you to easily search customers by name, phone number or rack/slip location. Overall the software is easy to use, very reliable & again customer service is excellent. Our support agreement includes training which is good option for new employees.

Cons:

I don't like to create reports, but generally I can work with one of the system reports to get the data I need.

Aspire Software Company Response

6 years ago

Maureen, Thank you for posting a review of DockMaster and highlighting the features of our hosted solution. DockMaster Software, Inc.

Michele
GM in US
Maritime, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We have been a user for many years, there are good and bad things we have experienced over the yeas

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: It covers all the different areas of business that our company deals with in one software solution

Pros:

Use of the different sections is relatively easy for new people to pick up on which cuts down on the training needed in some departments

Cons:

since we went to the cloud and after and update we constantly experience very slow movement within the system. Some time the help is a struggle, get new people there at MyTaskit or Dockmaster

Aspire Software Company Response

6 years ago

Hi Michele, Thank you for your continued business over the many years. The ease of use is certainly one of the benefits of DockMaster, glad to hear your users find it easy to pick up. Our Cloud product has helped to reduce operating costs vs the on promise solutions and the tool continues to get better and quicker with updates. We always recommend checking the type of internet connections your ISP is providing as well. We are pleased DockMaster covers all the different areas of your business in one software solution, we¿ll keep making improvements to support your needs.

Janet
Controller in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Since 2003, Dockmaster has met our needs

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

It is easy to use and new employees can catch on quickly. Customer support is timely. As the company grows, the Hosted system has made adding locations a breeze.

Cons:

Over the last two years, it appears that with each update, features and processes that have worked in the past are "broken". We have been using DM since 2003 and it is much improved but it is very frustrating to go to a feature that we have always utilized to find that it no longer works or gives the wrong information. It is bad accounting practice to find that prior period numbers change after an update.

Aspire Software Company Response

6 years ago

Thank you for being a part of our user community for over a decade. We are glad to hear that you are pleased with our cloud services and support teams. Each day we work to improve our processes and software to deliver a product that is better than the day before. We are working to focus our efforts with each new release to maximize features and functionality for our entire user base while also eliminating the occasional problems. There are times with all software applications when a deployment in the field delivers undesirable results in the specific way in which it is being used for a particular customer. It is our goal to minimize the frequency of those instances for DockMaster, and to architect the system in such a way that allows us to correct them quickly and accurately. Our energies are focused on serving each of our customers, and we appreciate your honesty and the opportunity to make the next decade+ better.

Jeff
Managing Director in Sint Maarten
Maritime, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Docmaster

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: From using a few previous accounting packages that were not Marine specific to using this one is like Chalk and Cheese

Pros:

It is very intuitive and having had a few years using it we are very happy with it . in addition the backup we receive is fantastic .

Cons:

It takes time to understand that it is rigid in the fact one must follow the process step by step however this is also a benefit as cash and invoices are well controlled

Aspire Software Company Response

5 years ago

Jeff, Thank you so much for the great review. There are a number of different step by step processes to help control cash and invoices. Have you tried using the workflows on the home screen? Once you set them up, you can click one button to automate the flow. Thanks, Team DockMaster

Rick
General Manager in US
Maritime, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sunnyside Marina

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Excellent.

Pros:

We use Dockmaster for every aspect of our Marina Operation including our Service Department, Gas Dock, Ship Store, accounts payable, accounts receivable and in the creation of our Financial Statements. We have been using Dockmaster since 2001 and the history we have created over that time is invaluable.

Cons:

Since we are an association of slip owners, some refer to this as a "Dockominium", we had to create some of our own internal ways to make the system work for us. Once we created these "Work Arounds" the system has performed beautifully.

Aspire Software Company Response

5 years ago

Rick, Thank you so much for your review. All the best, Team DockMaster

Dayna
Controller in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The best, most reliable software for our company! This was our fourth and last software transition.

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

It is reliable. The support and training is amazing. As a gold member, we are well taken care of. We don't have to worry about excessive support costs above our monthly subscription. I like that DM listens to what customers have to say and sometimes makes enhancement requests. I also love that DM rolls out software updates frequently. They are continuously making improvements to their software. It shows they really care about their customers.

Cons:

From an accounting perspective, the financial reports need some work, but I think DM is currently in the process of making improvements. The initial setup was difficult.

Aspire Software Company Response

7 years ago

Thanks Dayna for your kind words and review! We are in the process of rolling out an SQL reporting service. DockMaster Customer Support

Kathy
bookkeeper in US
Maritime, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mostly this has been a good experience.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: This system makes my job far easier than it would be without it. It is a good accounting system and has a number of valuable reports that make analyses possible and fruitful.

Pros:

The software is specifically geared to the business for which we are using it. There is good customer support.

Cons:

There still seem to be some system issues. Often the system clogs up and is unresponsive. Sometimes this happens at very inconvenient moments.

Aspire Software Company Response

6 years ago

Kathy, Thank you for posting a review about DockMaster. It was good to work with you to help get some of the network issues you described resolved. DockMaster Software, Inc.

Justin
Network Administrator in US
Maritime, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the best out there!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The company I work for has been using this software for over 20 years now. I myself have been closely involved as the company liaison with Dockmaster support and have found them very professional and down to earth.

Pros:

Customer service and support is right there when you need it.

Cons:

As with any software there are some hiccups and bugs that come up. Development seems to be addressing them much quicker than in years past.

Aspire Software Company Response

5 years ago

Justin, Thank you so much for the great review. We continuously strive to improve our processes to deliver the highest quality product possible. All the best, Team DockMaster

Lisa
Accounting Manager in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

DockMaster has it's issues and bugs, but I have received excellent customer service.

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The detail of the different modules. Hoping to get the reservation up and running. I think with proper training this would be an excellent tool.

Cons:

The unexplained bugs and issues. I receive excellent customer support in solving them, but less out of the ordinary issues would be greatly appreciated.

Aspire Software Company Response

6 years ago

Hi Lisa, Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate your honesty. We will have to agree with you on DockMaster being an excellent tool ¿ . Like any software, whether it be DockMaster, Apple, Microsoft or the thousands of software products out there¿.every product has a bug or two. We value and need your input to help us improve our tools, and being part of the collective community of users is what has made DockMaster the leading product it is today.

Tony
CGO in US
Management Consulting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I have been using Dockmaster since 2006 and there is no comparable operating and accounting system.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

The ability to combine all in one from parts and boat inventories, service and marina capabilities to accounting applications. Very complete system.

Cons:

Needs to be able to download bank information to ease in the manual process of reconciling bank accounts.

Aspire Software Company Response

7 years ago

Thank you for your kind words. Your experience in the industry adds a lot of credence to this review and we are very appreciative. DockMaster Customer Support

Kathy
Marina Office Manager in Costa Rica
Maritime, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I'm very comfortable using this software and have used it for 16 years.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: It makes my work easy!

Pros:

This software is very friendly, pleasant, easy to update and learn. And very important to note that the support team is available 24/7/365.

Cons:

Because, we are in Costa Rica, it does not have the option for two currencies and this is not in accordance with the costarican's law.

Aspire Software Company Response

7 years ago

Thank you for your kind words and for being such a valuable customer since 2001!

Candice
Accounting clerk in US
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good system for a marina

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: This system makes it very easy to run a marina. I'm in accounting and feel that the ease of Dockmaster helps immensely. Any issues that we have are immediately answered by a support specialist

Pros:

It's very easy to use and get around from screen to screen. I also like that you can add the most used tasks to your favorites.

Cons:

Unable to delete items that were keyed in, everything requires a reversal and a re key. When there is an update, there is always an issue the next day

Heriberto
Accountant in US
Maritime, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Reporting Trash

1.0 3 years ago

Comments: There is little I can say, I just wish they would have opted for a cloud based software.

Pros:

Full accounting features................

Cons:

Very manual processes and redundant application