15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Adobe Commerce

Adobe powers billions in B2B ecommerce with a platform that boosts operational efficiency, customer satisfaction, and revenue growth

Learn more about Adobe Commerce

Pros:

From an entrepreneurial standpoint, once you have a team that knows the functions of the product, navigating the software and selling online is great.

Cons:

I abandoned the use almost immediately, am I wrong with my judgment. But in any case, the interface didn't create any attractions.

Adobe Commerce ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

7.7/10

Adobe Commerce has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 623 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Adobe Commerce before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (623)

Ansh
Ansh
Sr Web Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Magento Good Platform To Design And Develop Website Easily

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Magento is the oldest platform for a business website. Before Magento, we were using WordPress for website development but after getting some hacking issues in WordPress we used Magento for our client business. It is easy to use and manage user management in its admin panel. In magneto, we can work on a product catalog to manage product content, configuration. Magento provides complete sale detail about business products and analysis business growth.

Pros:

Magento is the best solution to design a website quickly. It is a secure and customization eCommerce template to set up products details, Prices, Image. We can add multiple products according to business requirements. It provides a lot of templates design to change website design and functionality. If you need to create pages and posts we can work with the admin panel and complete tasks easily. No hard coding is required for website development. Admin panel of Magento is user-friendly easily set up meta tags, robots, and other digital marketing tasks. It is good for business and we can create large websites.

Cons:

In the old Magento version, we face lots of customization issues but in the current version of Magento 2.4 we can easily set up products and SEO tasks.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Ecommerce Platform - Can be costly

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: It's a great product, from a great company. It can be expensive to develop out however, its a small investment into your business.

Pros:

Adobe Commerce has been around for a number of years. It's well thought out and its ecosystem is much more mature than other carts. I like its ability to extend it's functionality using third party extensions. It's also relatively easy to find developers seeing how so many businesses use it.

Cons:

It can be complex, seeing how customizable it is. While just about anything can be done via Adobe Commerce, be prepared for it to be costly.

Jeff
CTO in US
Veterinary, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Works but Insanely Hard To Customize

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: We ultimately have decided to make the decision to move on from Magento Commerce because the hassle in customizing the platform. Our company has specific functional needs when it comes to ecommerce, and we're constantly having to not only implement and upgrade those in Magento, but ultimately upgrade and fix each time Magento comes out with a major release.

Pros:

Out of the box, Magento promises to deliver on its core promise - to add products to a catalog, sell them online, and ship out effectively.

Cons:

Our business requires many areas where we need to customize our technology in order to do business more effectively. We tried, many many times, to customize Magento to our specific needs, and the more we went down the rabbit hole the harder it was to not only implement but maintain longterm. Eventually, it becomes pointless to effectively grow when your technology hinders your progress.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Goods, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Enterprise Level eCommerce Platform

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Magento is incredible if you have the technical team and developers that know how to work with it and make it shine.

Pros:

Magento has a lot of functionality out of the box to set up and ecommerce store. The UX for M2 is significantly better than it was on M1. You can really narrow down the scope of permissions that your provide to users.

Cons:

There have been a lot of bugs that have come up that should have been worked out before release. There is a fairly high technical barrier to entry compared to other platforms.

Fabian
Fabian
digital marketer in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

My Magento Review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Magento is the future of online shopping. You can truly customize your shop for any look, feel or functionality you need.

Pros:

I could customize my online store to look the way I want it while giving my customers the online shopping experience they deserve. The reviews extension really helps with building credibility.

Cons:

I found that starting to use Magento was extremely overwhelming. I had to spend hours just setting up a few features that I needed.

Amiel
Amiel
IT Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Tobacco, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Magento 2.0 Review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We are extremely happy about this software. We have developed a fully functional CRM system together with a beautiful website -> no link but you can search Mike's Cigars and check it out yourself.

Pros:

The biggest, most robust but most importantly Open Source e-commerce software out there. The only limitation is your imagination...

Cons:

Developer's cost is really high unless you can afford in-house dev team like we do but otherwise, your budget will most likely be blown way before you finish your project.

Greice
Greice
Owner in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Greater security, stability and customizations

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: My experience, with a customized products website, is the best possible, after everything installed I never had any problems with updates or conflicts.

Pros:

MAGENTO provides a system that is the most customizable, stable and secure. Integrating it with your add-ons is easy and hassle-free. Of course, to have it all, you need a robust hosting that is consistent with the system.

Cons:

Because it is more robust and requires a higher quality hosting, we also have a more exclusive product without the appearance of sites made on other systems that are all similar.

Ashwani
Project Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good Ecommerce Software with Powerful Interface

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Administrator- Features availability for admin is very good and if you are used of it then you can get each and every bit of data whatever you want to extract.

Cons:

Biggest problem with the software is its complexity. If you are beginner then it is very difficult to understand the structure of its panel. Also plugins customisation seems to be very tricky. You have to look for many options if you want to explore this.

Daniel
Daniel
Founder in Argentina
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Adobe Commerce is one of the main ecommerce platforms in the world

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Adobe Commerce it's a very detailed, very ecommerce focused piece of software. It has many features other solutions lack

Cons:

It can be too complex for small and medium business. It takes a very skilled team to work it properly. It's expensive.

Diego
Diego
Real estate agent in Peru
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Adapting Adobe Commerce to the real estate industryow

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: I am comfortable with the scalability of Adobe Commerce, I was assured of its performance as the real estate company grew.

Pros:

The best thing I think is the scalability issue, you can increase the volumes without losing quality in the web pages and it also has a wide variety of functions such as marketing.

Cons:

The time for corrections is very short, the updates can become annoying because of the recurrent updates and also require technical knowledge for the first time configuration

Karolina
Project Manager in Poland
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Advanced tool which gives you many possibilities

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

- as Magento is one of themost popolar e-commerce platform many external softwares has ready Magento plugins so integration with third party software is quite easy - can manage e-shop with different language versions, many currency, many warehouses - SEO friendly

Cons:

- be prepared to spend money - you will have to engage IT specialists for any modyfication

Stephanie
CFO in US
Sports, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Flexible and Administration Ease

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Enterprise and dealing with the development company that supported us was terrible but community and a local developer has been great. We didn't have the budget for the big version but were sold into it by the developer when the community version was more appropriate.

Pros:

We are a small family business and reliant (for many things) on our ability to manage the back end of our site. Neither of us have a background in building sites, managing integration, etc. but we have been able to get very comfortable with the back end of the site. For a novice or inexperienced person, I was surprised that I could pick it up quickly. We use the community version which has been critical to controlling costs. At that same time, we haven't sacrificed functionality in that there are some incredible plug-ins that ultimately replaced the Enterprise functionality (which we moved away from because of the annual price tag). We also work with a small development company locally who manage the set up of the plug-ins (but quite honestly it seems fairly straightforward). As the site "breaks" (for lack of a better word), we have our developer do it.

Cons:

It's possible that it is far more plug and play than I realize for plug-ins but would love to see something user friendly created. There used to be some version of Magento that I think was discontinued but you almost need something for smaller companies that gives them the sophistication of the community edition but potentially managed by Magento. In the next few years, we need to make a decision to stay on Magento or move and Shopify has a managed version that is very intriguing. Our computers are using it and Big Commerce and they look every bit as sophisticated on the front end as we do but we are reliant on a separate developer who could move on or go out of business. A stable subscription based product for larger small businesses would be great.

Chrisitan
Marketer in Romania
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easier to Interact with Customers

5.0 last year

Comments: It enabled us to provide a great customer experience and gave us the ability to manage our product catalogs efficiently. The analytics and marketing features were also very helpful in understanding our customer base and driving more sales.

Pros:

I liked the ability to provide excellent customer service to our customers. With Adobe Commerce, we were able to quickly respond to customer inquiries and provide product information. We also enjoyed being able to customize our product catalogs to meet the needs of our customers. Additionally, with Adobe Commerce, we were able to easily analyze customer behavior and purchasing trends to better understand our customers and target them with more relevant offers.

Cons:

I liked least about Adobe Commerce was that it had a steep learning curve and required a lot of time and effort to understand and use all of its features.

Charlie
Account Manager in UK
Consumer Goods, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

An In-depth eCommerce platform if you know how to use it to its potential.

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great platform if you have the development team and budget behind you!

Pros:

I've been using Magento for over 2 years as the main eCommerce platform for an internet based company and is a great bit of kit if you know what your doing. Magento offer a couple of versions to choose from, giving you the ability to select the right platform for your level of expertise. The platform itself offers an indepth eCommerce system with the ability to pull reports, manage products, promotions, sales and much more, easily and effectively while offering a whole load of other back ground features to really help take your business to another level. In terms of support there is a whole world of this available via reading Q&A or by contacting them directly. They have a whole help centre dedicated to their platform and offering reasonable support when needed.

Cons:

If you're a beginner into the world of eCommerce platforms then Magento isn't the platform for you. The interface is complex and can come across as a bit overwhelming if you don't know where you're looking for something. While it is a great platform, it is aimed at developers who have the experience to know what they are doing with it. Its not a platform for small businesses looking to set up shop for the first time. While not a direct reflection on Magento, we suffered lots of attacks from spam bots, some reports where not filtering correctly and we eventually changed to Wordpress when we rebranded. The move was a welcome one as unless you really get to depths with Magento, it can have a draw back effect.

Steve
Steve
Team Member in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Magento Among the Best for eCommerce

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, I have been very satisfied with Magento Commerce. It did take some getting use to, and now that there are some other competitors in the market, I'd say that Magento has passed my expectations and I would consider Magento as a top competitor for eCommerce. Definitely watch a few tutorials to get an idea about the initial setup, and give Magento Commerce a try.

Pros:

Magento is incredibly flexible, it allows you to start with a framework that has the function to develop an eCommerce platform / store just how you'd want it. There are numerous add-ons that intergrate effectively making it somewhat of an easy plug and play. Considering that I was working on one platform to run several micro-niche stores, it works extremelly well. There's a lot to learn, but it's a superb platform for eCommerce.

Cons:

Just like any business, there will be some investments to make in order to get the eCommerce platform to perform the way you want it to, however, there's a steep learning curve at least from my experience. I had to read and watch a lot of tutorials to get the websites where I wanted them to be but it was also educational since this was the first time I was setting up multi-stores. It was a rather complex procedure, and I had to rely on Magento experts at times to help with the development of the site.

Kavindu Githsara
Kavindu Githsara
System Specialist in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Is Adobe Commerce the Right E-Commerce Solution for Your Business?

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, Adobe Commerce is a solid choice for businesses looking to create and manage an online store. Its user-friendly interface and wide range of features make it easy to set up and manage an online store, while its integrations with popular payment gateways and advanced security measures provide a secure and reliable platform for conducting e-commerce transactions.

Pros:

One of the main pros of Adobe Commerce is its user-friendly interface, which makes it easy for us to set up and manage our online store. The platform also offers a wide range of customizable templates and design options, allowing businesses to create a visually appealing and professional-looking store.Another pro is the platform's integrations with popular payment gateways, such as PayPal and Stripe, which make it easy to accept payments from customers. Adobe Commerce also offers advanced security measures to protect customer data and ensure secure transactions.

Cons:

One of the cons of Adobe Commerce is that it can be expensive, especially for businesses that require a lot of customizations or advanced features. Additionally, the platform may not be suitable for businesses with very large product catalogs, as it can be resource-intensive and may require additional server resources to handle the load.

Oshan
Oshan
Mobile Apllication Developer in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Magento : Perfect eCommerce platform

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: More than just an ordinary eCommerce platform which is efficient and effective .

Pros:

Magento is suitable for any business group whether it is a small or large business and its admin dashboard will provide a perfect overview of the business.We can use free and paid plugins as our requirements.It is a Responsive eCommerce platform which can runs on any mobile or computer devices and also Highly customizable and developer friendly CMS platform.Enriched with important features and functionalities to provide everything in a one platform. Magento is capable for integrations such as payment gateways and able to set up currency and languages depend on the location.

Cons:

I'm using magento 2.2 . The main con according to me is, when i need to edit the content of a page it will give us only a small size text area(text box) which is difficult to work with using mouse scroll and also If we are having large number of products website may slow with its performance. Developer skills are required if we want to customize the platform.

Stella
Website Developer and Commercial Assistant in UK
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Magento a Good Starting Place for an Online Store

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Initially Magento was implemented by a website design company to create a website to sell a bespoke service and products for us. Set up as a website that we can maintain and develop in house, which we have done for the past 4 years. We do not use the shop and buy basket element of Magento. But I can see it would be a beneficial website use for companies selling off the shelf products. It is fairly easy to use but basic HTML5 knowledge is beneficial. Multiple users is helpful, that has required training in house. Magento role out security patches that need to be applied; we have these applied by an external company. As a B2C company, we do not actually use payments online so I unable to comment on that element of Magento. For the version of Magento that we use, we do not have access to their customer support however on the occasion I contacted them and they informed me this; they were helpful and at least put me in the right direction. The entire set up is good for a ecommerce; it is especially good for maintaining SEO well and updating it regularly.

Pros:

Multiple users and ease to update website data and information.

Cons:

Some elements can not be updated in house and require a developer/programmer.

Anna
Operations Manager in US
Sports, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Though it is too complex for our needs, the more I learn the more useful I realize it can be.

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: It is a big, clunky, complex tool that takes a lot to learn and even more to remember. However, the more familiar I get with it the more useful it is. I just think it is way more complex than necessary for a small company like ours that sells guided trips.

Pros:

Once you figure out how to use different functions in Magento, it is fast and easy to use for most things. I can go in and change dates and click "save," then go to our website and click "refresh" and the change is instant. I do not think this is unique to Magento at all but it is pretty nice! There are so many nuances to it that take time to learn and more time to remember how to do each time, but every time I master a new skill in Magento I definitely feel a feeling of success and I like its capabilities.

Cons:

There are parts of Magento that are overly complicated, and the general feeling is that is was created by software developers without the end-user in mind. You almost have to learn a new language as some of the terminology for some of the features and functions are not logical terms used by the average person. You have to switch back and forth between different parts of the software multiple times in order to create one product that is linked to another product. We use it to sell trips that have dates, and the software is more geared toward something like hard goods that have attributes such as size or color. Therefore it is not the best product for the job for us. You have to create a drop-down menu for people to pick dates, but after they pick the date and click on book they have to pick the date again. Not very professional looking.

Rob
Rob
IT Consultant in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Brick & Mortar and eCommerce store made easy

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The fact that you’ve got Desktop, Mobile and Brick and Mortar all handled in one place, your shop will be up and running within a ridiculously short amount of time. The power of Magento takes the hard work out, leaving you with the easy work of offering your customers a great experience from arriving, to leaving with what they were looking for...

Pros:

Magento makes it quick and easy to add and manage your inventory. From importing your old (archaic) spreadsheets and adding photos, to grouping your products in coherent sections, Magento Commerce quickly brings your brick and mortar stock into an ePos system, and simplifies the process in getting your online store out to the world swiftly. The templates allow you to put your company branding into a strong online offering, with both desktop and mobile support cleanly and crisply delivered. The fact that Magento is built to manage stock sold both in store and online in one simple central content management system ensures that all orders will be processed quickly and efficiently. Even organising the reordering process can be automated through multiple vendors, and stock taking will be at the click of the mouse (or the touch of the screen) Payment processing is out of the box, with payment merchants easily added and many offered.

Cons:

I guess the only real issue is how well you’ve organised your stock before starting with Magento, but this will apply to any eCommerce platform. I was using several CSV/excel spreadsheets, but once you’ve cleansed (corrected duplicates, ensured product IDs etc were correct), Magento will do all the heavy lifting for you on import. I wouldn’t really say that this is a negative, as it’s a standard housekeeping that you would do on any eCommerce platform.

Elena
Marketing Manager in Israel
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great and Efficient platform

5.0 last year

Comments: Great platform for ecommerce.

Pros:

This platform is very easy to use. The integration is ok. There are many additional optional modules to add.

Cons:

I like this software in general, I wish I could do more bulk changes for the products

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Public Safety, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

It was easy to transition from WordPress to Magento for a large e-commerce site

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Ability to successfully handle business with various types of customers for a business that does both b2c and b2b.

Pros:

I used to think that WordPress was the best CMS available. However, once I started working for a company with complex e-commerce needs, I soon realized that WordPress just wouldn't do the job. What I enjoy about Magento is its ability to handle complex systems, and it's ability to integrate with various systems and plugins. Our business is both b2c and b2b, and I'm amazed at Magento's ability to handle our different types of customers.

Cons:

At first I felt like the interface was a little clunky. It was not as clean of an interface as I was used to with WordPress. At first it can be a little overwhelming to navigate, but it doesn't take too long for the interface to become second nature. Also, there are a few work arounds that are needed here-and-there. For example, it's easier to copy and paste html code into a text editor instead of editing it within Magento. And sometimes there is a "save and continue" button that doesn't make much sense, as it redirects you to another page as soon as you save your work. But you get used to all of this pretty quickly.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Perfect enterprise level eCommerce platform

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: There are definitely (cheaper) alternatives to Magento, but not many with so many features, plugins, and customizations available. The price tag can be high, but with a large budget, it will definitely pay off to go this route.

Pros:

There are two offerings for Magento, a free open source version, and a paid enterprise version that builds on the same open source framework with additional features. This can be incredibly helpful for a smaller company that wants an enterprise-level eCommerce platform, but has a smaller budget. The application has many builtin features with even more available via third party extensions.

Cons:

New versions tend to be rather large, code-breaking upgrades. When upgrading, it is necessary to retest lots of features and can require several code updates.

Rob
Technology Manager in US
Biotechnology, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

By FAR the best platform our company has used for E-Commerce

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Great E-Commerce platform that any small business owner should turn to when hosting their own website platform.

Pros:

Magento can do almost everything and anything and there are so many plugins and addon's from the Magento community that pushes it far beyond just a website platform into something else that can really be tailored to fit your websites needs. Our Company came from the Yahoo platform and that was just a 4 wall padded cell compared to Magento which is beyond anything we can fully utilize to its maximum potential for our E-Commerce business.

Cons:

There is some learning curve to Magento; however, with a little time it is easy enough to master and ends up having much more functionality and versatility in the long run.

Lindsey
Assistant Operations Manager in US
Apparel & Fashion, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Magento makes our website look great! There are a LOT of layers to the software.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: We are able to manage our website in house without having to hire too many outside contractors. We can personalize and update as things come up. It's nice to be able to have this control at our finger tips.

Pros:

There are SO many options for personalizing the look of our website. Also, creating associated SKUs from a configurable SKU speed the process along, especially considering we are multiple clothing lines that we produce and release each year.

Cons:

A lot of things that seem "normal" on website we visit cost extra to add to our platform. There is no simple way to bulk price change or discontinue products. We use simple SKUs and configurable SKUs and would think that the information would trickle down from the configurable to the simple SKUs that are associated to it, but they don't. So for price changing, we have to go into every single simple SKU (all sizes within all colors) to make any updates.