15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

MatrixCare Home Health & Hospice Reviews

About MatrixCare Home Health & Hospice

MatrixCare, previously known as Brightree, offers award-winning, best in KLAS post-acute EHR software that works across care settings.

Learn more about MatrixCare Home Health & Hospice

Pros:

There are cost savings due to staff no longer using laptops that have to be maintained or serviced, and overall the system is fairly easy to learn and navigate.

Cons:

Why would anyone stay in a contract with someone who threatens them. We would have been fine loosing the $30,000 set up fee but now trying to sue for the full 3 years is unheard of.

MatrixCare Home Health & Hospice ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

8.1/10

MatrixCare Home Health & Hospice has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5 stars based on 267 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used MatrixCare Home Health & Hospice before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (267)

Tiffany
Business Director, RN in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

*~ Amazing ~*

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The benefits of this program are vast. The system streamlines everything into one platform without having to have multiple programs or browsers open to complete one task. Their customer service is superb! Highly recommend!

Pros:

This software is easy to use with guides that allow you helpful tips on how to complete the tasks at hand. If I ever get stuck, creating a help ticket or "case" is easy and takes just a few minutes. The turnaround from their help center staff is quick and amazing! I have always received an answer to my question and if the first help center employee didn't know, they kept my case open while they helped figure it out. The accessibility of this system is an amazing feature as well. The IE browser can be utilized from virtually anywhere, making this charting system easy to use with automatic updates being done seamlessly. The report function is AMAZING also! This feature allows you to customize reports and if needed, export to Microsoft Excel. The report feature also allows you to customize and save your report as your own. This is such a time-saving bonus! Their billing software is great also, allowing for daily billing to be completed with ease. Again, if I ever encounter a problem, the solution is just a few clicks away.

Cons:

This system did take a few weeks to get used to, but what system doesn't. This isn't really a drawback, just a learning curve. Hang in there.....it gets easier!

Pierce
Manager, IT in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Costly but fully featured and constanly developing

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very professional group that know their product well, and are eager to help find solutions to issues that come up. Software (once setup and trained) is easy to navigate.

Pros:

-ease of use for field staff (iPad App) -lots of built in reports for getting data out of the system -easy to contact support and get resolutions -constantly updating and developing enhancements to the product -constantly keeping customers up to date on reg. changes, and upcoming product changes and timelines -documentation is straight forward and easy to follow -order compliance features keep us compliant with orders when scheduling visits

Cons:

-takes lots of time and training to get used to -scheduling components lacking compared to old solution -expensive compared to our old solution (we were grandfathered into a very old rate so this was just us getting into modern licensing costs) - only guaranteed 100% comparability with their Web product by using Internet Explorer (which even MS says you shouldn't use anymore!). Only about 95% of the product works in Chrome or Firefox. - lots of time spent (months before deployment) learning and setting up the product. But they have streamlined this as much as i think they can.

Ryan
Lead in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

EHR works okay, but it's not perfect.

3.0 10 months ago

Comments: Generally their help desk staff are very helpful. Sometimes they too are limited at what can be done. It seems that at least most things that are not able to be fixed at the current moment, do end up on their future update list.It would be great, if Agencies were able to have more options and have better control of what we need to have or would like to be able to make mandatory or not. Or to be able to include different groups/types/selections of things to pick from.

Pros:

Syncing - it takes seconds to a minute to complete. Staff can sync their ipads as often as they want/need and information flows back and forth instantly. Software has it's own billing module within the same program. - You do not have to transfer files back and forth using a third party billing software. Chatting with Support - As long as they are available (they are not always available though).

Cons:

Clinical App vs Live Version - It is basically like having two different software systems. While they both contain the same info; certain things can only be done on the live version and certain things can only be done on the mobile app. - This is probably our biggest frustration. It make it harder to help out staff when they have issues because after implementation if you change your processes it's hard for office staff to stay up-to-date with new processes and updates that have happened . Charting/Scheduling/etc. - Some of the ways things need to be fixed or the only way they can be fixed is sometimes greatly time consuming. Customizable - The system is not as customizable as lead to believe. There are quite a few things that we are not able to change to customize for our agency. Speech to text - Doesn't really work for our staff. We ended up buying Bluetooth keyboards for the iPad to make charting a little easier. Admissions still take a long time.. It's not possible to be done in less then 6 hours.Medication list - importing and entering in meds is not as easy as it should be.

Janell
Director of Compliance in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

EMR that truly understands both Clinical Workflow and Billing and Administrative Needs!

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I love the fact that we can use it for all our Clinical, billing, and administrative needs. It is efficient and updated with the regulations to ensure we are compliant.

Cons:

We would like more ability to customize visit note templates and not have to use a copy and paste functionality into the Narrative section.

Jennifer
Quality Manager in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Shortens visit documentation time, improved our days to RAP, great customer service

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very positive, our trainers and project manager were very knowledgeable, professional, and flexed to meet our needs. Can't say enough about the customer service there after -- support has been wonderful. Such a relief for us!

Pros:

Much more modern than our previous software -- user friendly for the clinicians, helps cut documentation time. Functions well, no down-time, and is very easy to Navigate. There are great reporting features and they are doing good preparations for PDGM. Their customer service is light-years ahead of our previous vendors -- very responsive. This is truly meant to be a point of care system -- so it means everyone has to stay current in their workflows. This has helped us decrease our days to RAP, improve order turn around time, and improved satisfaction among our field staff.

Cons:

The back-office training could have been better -- much of the training was received prior to go-live. Additional training and support after go-live to work through back-office workflows would have been helpful for us.

Rachel
Staff Educator in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Definite Upgrade!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The extensive reports that can be pulled from within the Bright system have allowed our organization to be more aware of overall process issues, such as outstanding verbal orders, certification period due dates and timely charting. Absolutely has enabled us to solidify, or change, processes and get a more smoothly running clinical team!

Pros:

One of the best things that I love about Brightree is how aware of regulatory changes they are and how responsive they are to make the necessary changes to the software to keep their clients compliant and in-the-know. I never feel like I have to beg for information of how they are going to address new regulatory requirements. They also are really aware of the impact on their consumers and are very helpful with integration of new changes.

Cons:

When certain things require more development-related help, the length of time can be quite extensive if it has a lower priority rating. However, for high-priority needs, most things are fixed within hours to days. Excellent responsiveness to requests.

Stacy
Former billing assistant in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Brightree is the best healthcare software out there

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I do not work for the company that had Brightree any longer and I truely miss it. The software I use now is awful! (Homecare Homebase)

Pros:

From my past experiences Brightree is the easiest, most user friendly healthcare software available. Each admission is separated so you are not guessing. Information you need is readily available. You don't have to search and search. I love that the cert period is at the top of every page. All physician orders are in a neat, tidy format and can be sent/resent from your PC as well as tagged as received signed by physician all in one place. Visit management is my favorite. It is easy to differentiate between a regular visit and an oasis, and if the visit is open or closed. The order frequency is shown without digging for it and the clinician responsible is clear (all very helpful for the billers). Communication notes are also neat in appearance, in one place and can be filtered. Scanning documents into the system is easy and multiple docs can be scanned at once as separate documents. The medication profile is also neat and easy to configure. Same with the diagnosis profile. The scheduling console is so easy, immediate updating, all the field staff has to do to see their visits is sync their device. New referral input is seamless. As long as you have the information to put in a referral can be complete in minutes. The support that you get with Brightree is outstanding. If there are any questions or issues the staff is helpful and polite, and will have a resolution quickly.

Cons:

The only con I ever found was opening scanned documents. I seemed to take a while to open, but I'm not too sure that wasn't due to poor internet capability. Some days it was not good and other days it was perfect.

Brenda
Hospice Administrative RN in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Matrixcare EMR Review - HH&HO

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Able to track documents required to be completed before billing can occur. Billing claims os more timely. Able to monitor clinical staff job productivity and performance in realtime and identify problem areas that need to be addressed.
Customer service has been very good. Our Customer Success Mgr. has been great to help us problem solve when we need him and keep us informed about Matrixcare!

Pros:

Flexibility, Intraoperability, Reports, and some of the Functionality

Cons:

Skilled Nursing documentation: The areas of documentation in the Visit Type - Revisit, Assessment - Hospice Follow-up Visit, Service Code - RN Routine Visit over lap with the same information in the Interventions, Care Plan, and Review of Systems sections. The Routine Visit doucmentation is TOO LENGTHY and requires TOO MUCH TIME by the nurses to complete documentation for a skilled patient visit. The note needs to be condensed so that documentation is not repeated in these sections of the visit note. I believe reformatting the flow of the visit note would be a great help. Thank you!

Jason
CEO in US
Hospital & Health Care
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Brightree Hospice software is well worth the investment.

5.0 9 years ago

Pros:

As the Chief Executive Officer of a hospice program, one of my priorities is to select and utilize a software vendor which stands behind their product, proactively researches and implements enhancements ahead of ever changing regulatory requirements, as well as provides exceptional customer service support to our team. Brightree Hospice software not only meets these requirements, they exceed them. The reporting features is one of my favorite components Brightree Hospice offers. It has been a vital instrument in efficiently managing our multifaceted hospice program, which consists of home hospice services, general inpatient and respite care in our freestanding hospice house, medical equipment management, our transitions program, as well as our palliative care program. The Dashboard feature is helpful as it allows me to quickly identify trends in our average daily census, length of stay, etc. Implementation of the software was not nearly as complicated and chaotic as I expected. Each person assigned to our implementation team from the project manager to the Dawn, our on-site trainer, were very knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. The entire Brightree Hospice team worked together to insure our implementation was a success. I highly recommend Brightree Hospice software to any hospice program which is not just looking software but a dedicated partner in the successful execution of the clinical, back office, billing, and administrative complexity of hospice care.

Cons:

The Care Communicate function could be enhanced to allow more flexibility with who messages are sent to. Example, groups, teams, etc. and more than 10 people per message. Also wish there was a way for the I-Phone to notify you when a message has been communicated to your i-phone app verses having to check every so often. Otherwise, very satisfied with Brightree Hospice software.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

AR Manager

1.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Good for sales order processing. Technical Support is excellent. All very knowledgeable about the deficiencies with this software. You will get to know all of them well because you will call them often!

Cons:

Worst system for AR that I have used in 30 years experience in AR Management. Cannot track patient statements for early out agencies. Lengthy pick up and exchange process if you need to change insurance. No recalculation of claims when price table is updated. Each claim would have to be manually pick up and exchange. Revenue Cycle Worklist does not act like workqueue's in that a person must manually assign account each day. No productivity reporting with Revenue Cycle Worklists. On and on and on. If you want to hire several more FTE's, take on multiple manual processes and collections is not important to your company, this software is for you!

Alyssa
Billing Specialist/Business Office Admin Assistant in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great Concept, Horrible Execution

2.0 5 years ago

Comments: In our demo we were ensured a lot about the program that when it came to implementation was not realized. We have had problems with OASIS acceptance and fatal errors for skip traces that the system does not automatically follow. We have had problems with claim submissions also based on what the system does/doesn't allow. We most recently have implemented eFax and have had nothing but problems with it, mostly based on the implementation team and how they configured the project. We switched to Brightree because we weren't satisfied with what our old software had to offer and we have encounter nothing but problems since we switched.

Pros:

Our clinicians love this software because it is easier for them to complete their documentation. The distinction between billed and unbilled AR. I also like that we can track our OASIS acceptance in the software

Cons:

The reports don't allow page breaks. We have also had several configuration errors that have impacted business and the ability to see patients. The reports are very slow to customize and are limited in what information they can provide. We have also had several problems with BT understanding how parents and branches work and have had to develop several work arounds to make up for their deficits.

Stacy
Billing Assistant/Scheduling Coordinator
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Brightree software is easy to learn and navigate.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I personally love the Brightree program. I also believe the support team does a great job when I have opened tickets. Fast and accurate!

Pros:

I am a biller and scheduler, which makes both jobs easier to understand in the program. Scheduling with Brightree ensures frequency's are entered correctly and in turn makes checking visits at billing time go smoothly. There is no fear that regulations are met with this program. The task hot list notifies us of any upcoming regulated tasks needing attention. It is not hard to find any info in this system. everything is where is should be.

Cons:

Internet access in the field is needed to use the communicate feature. Sometimes updates are too drastic

William
Document Management in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Document Management Program is AWFUL

2.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Nothing...The program might be good for billing, and other things but in this day and age your program is only as good as it's weakest link. And their document management program is extremely weak.

Cons:

Document Management Program is TERRIBLE - If you're a company that generates paperwork on a daily basis and you're forced to use this program, you're screwed! I have as close to a business line T1 internet connection as you can get and it's still the absolute slowest program I've ever had to use. I literally have to work EVERY DAY to stay on top of the paperwork generated here.

Marcy
Clinical Director
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Brightree For Hospice

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I started out in the field using Brightrree on an ipad then I moved to an office position. From the very beginning, i found it to be user friendly. I did not grow up with technology - all of our phones had cords coming out of the walls and TV's ran on tubes and were black and white! The implementation and training from Brightree was smooth andnow, over 2 years later I am continuing to use it and learning each day as the updates are always timely, fascinating and VERY useful. Both the office side and AFO have continued to help us be more efficient and compliant.

Pros:

Updates come with an explanation and are always a welcome addition, making Brightree a better product for me and our company.

ron
ceo in US
Medical Practice, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Brightree is worth what you pay for and then some...

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Brightree is a good program and the customer service is good if you have a good backround in billing. The program is a bit overwhelming if you haven't done this type of work before.

Pros:

Easy to operate platform that makes sure the claims submitted go in right the first time. The reporting system is good and fast to alert you if the id# is bad or a DOB is not right. It saves time and money.

Cons:

The price is a bit high for smaller providers but you get what you pay for. The investment is high but over the long haul it pays for itself.

Charlene
RN, clinical team leader
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

It did take away my fear of computers

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: Needs more updates
someone needs to develop the inpatient unit section and make it more user friendly.
In some areas of our agency it has made the work double or triple and more time consuming. When time management is an important part of your job, this added work does not help.

Pros:

The Ipad is easy to use, light weight and we are able to carry these to our patients rooms. Not all tasks can be done at the bedside but doing an inpatient entry works well. having the communication piece is nice to be able to send important messages to other disciplines and our billing departments.

Cons:

Needs to be tailored to the buyers needs. The inpatient section I did not feel was developed well at all. Most of what we have learned has been trial and error. It is a bit disheartening when you call for help on a matter and nobody seems to know what to do, what happened, etc. The inpatient initial assessment is too long. The section about the insurance and income which the liaisons review and have the pt/HCPOA sign falls on the admitting RN. These are areas that the admitting RN did not do, which in school we were taught, don't sign it if you didn't do it. But this is what we are having to do. and if we put down the exact time we started and ended the initial assessment, along with all the other pieces of the admission it would most likely be 4-5 hours. This is with symptom managing 5 other patients and the new one, answering phones, call lights, talking to family and any other issues that come up. Please, if you do read this, make this area easier, quicker- pull pieces together or something.

Patricia
Nurse in US
Hospital & Health Care
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Clinician's view of Brightree

4.5 9 years ago

Pros:

The software is easy to use and intuitive. It is easy to navigate around in a patient's record. This is especially important during an intake visit because patient's don't always answer questions in any specific order and it's certainly helpful to be able to document the information as they provide it. I also love how quickly I can access the record of any active patient-sync times are very short! Brightree has been very responsive to all inquiries and issues and it's helpful that they keep our agency up to date on the status of any issues we've had.

Cons:

What I like least about the Brightree product is that currently the clinicians are not able to pull together and preview their 485s. It's my understanding that Brightree is currently working on this and that at some point this feature will be available on the Ipad.

Sherry
Administrative Assistant
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Brightree AFO

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Brightree is very functional and easy to use. As the only biller in the office, I sometimes have questions and Brightree University usually has the answers and a step by step guide that I use.

Pros:

When I have an issue, I can call or email Brightree and usually always get a response within 24 hours. That's very important to me. The folks who respond to the questions are always courteous and helpful.

Cons:

We are having some problems with our private duty business unit. But, I'm sure a lot of that is because it is not a common unit for most agencies. However, I have no doubt that the problems will be solved in time.

Susan
CCO
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Some issues but getting better

3.0 8 years ago

Comments: Our facility had many issues with BT when we switched over from using laptops and desktops to iPads. It seemed that what we were promised, as far as functionality and ease of use of the iPad, was misrepresented. Our BT representative has worked very hard over the past several months to make sure that our numerous needs, frustrations and questions were addressed. We have gone from having daily contact with BT to only a few times a month for issues that we find. The iPad software/ BT app. has worked fairly well for our field team staff , because it is tailored for field patients, but we still do not have the functionality that we need for our inpatient units. Some inpatient documentation still needs to be done on the "AFO" side ,which is on a desk top, because the function is still not on the iPad. Overall, BT has worked hard to keep us as a customer, when we were ready to no longer contract their services, and at this time we are satisfied with the services they offer. In 2017 BT has informed us that the AFO side of the program will be discontinued and everything will be strictly on the iPad. They have many changes they need to do in order for this to happen and we are waiting it out to see what happens.

Pros:

Our customer service representative.

Cons:

Not having full functionality on the iPad especially for inpatient documentation.

Kristen
Clinical Admin
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Review

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: I use Brightree throughout every day of my work week. It is my go-to program for scheduling. It helps me a great deal with keeping the patients, nurses and therapists schedules organized and managed.

Pros:

It offers different options of how to schedule patients/staff depending on your style of scheduling. I love how I can use the global calendar to get an idea of the overall number of patients the nurses are seeing on one day but can also search under one specific nurse to see the details of her schedule that day. A nice new tool that has come out of the updates is the ability to schedule an entire order out by clicking on individual dates on a calendar. This saves time and the frustration of the tedious effort of having to schedule a 10 m 2m one day at a time. Another feature that is enjoyable is that when you use the print the calendar option for a staff you can see what towns they will be visiting that day. This makes it easier to make the best effort in putting together a schedule for a nurse with time spent less on traveling and more on patient care.

Starla
Billing Coordinator
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Billing is fast and efficient.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

As the billing coordinator I can say that almost all of my monthly billing is completed and billed on the 1st day of the month. There are so many checks and balances that the software does on its own, it really helps you to stay complaint and ensure you meet regulations.

Cons:

Biggest con for me is no discontinue effective date in the authorization screen and this is minimal.

Lesley
RN
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Hospice software

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: The use of IPads has made bedside charting easier. Operating program is user friendly. Screens are easy to navigate. Varying degrees of customer support, depending on the day.

Pros:

Optimal system for IPads et opening charts during patient visits. Screens are easy to navigate. Orders at careplans are easily updated.

Cons:

Glitches at frequent updates affect program function. Although these do not happen all of the time, they can significantly impact efficiency. Should offer education with significant changes/updates. We need to be able to pin more than 50 patients at a time.

Amy
RN
Hospital & Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Brightree Ipad/Office Review Home health

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: I am a Home Health RN that uses both sides of brightree office and ipad.

Pros:

Scheduling is very easy on office side. Ipad is very easy to use for OASIS and note documentation. It has a lot of built in teaching and intervention things to tie to your note. On office side it has capability to copy a note before erroring it out which allows for corrections to be made without having to re enter all of the note. The communication notes are a great tool. The flow of the note is very good.

Cons:

The ipad is set up to only see a 3 month on a calendar period (for example right now you can see December, January, February) which does not allow any addendums to notes before December if needed. Length of time support gets back to you on correcting a problem is slow however that seems to be improving lately. When you heal a wound if that note you healed it on is not closed before the next note that wound stays active and it causes problems in documentation. You have to sync a lot to schedule a visit and add a note.

Jana
Registered Nurse in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Brightree Home Health

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: BRightree is the best company I have used in my home health experience, it is our third or fourth system

Pros:

Allows sufficient charting, doesn’t require internet in the homes, Customer support is quick to responc

Cons:

Sometimes the syncing processes can be lengthy, it appears that each time an update is completed something else then has to be fixed

Lori
Program Director
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

The ease and functionality of Brightree has been an exceptional tool for our clinicians.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Having reports for productivity, business volumes, and adverse events at my finger tips, has been a true blessing for the managers in our rural agencies.

Pros:

The ability to have our patient records accessible while in the home, has improved our coordination of care, including medication reconciliation to superb levels. The ease of program prompts helps guide even the new staff to function at a much higher level of accuracy for OASIS interpretation and adequate documentation.

Cons:

While the internet is still required to review clinical documents, the clinicians are happy to be able to complete their patient notes, no matter their location.