15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About DreamFactory

DreamFactory Software is the fastest way to build secure, internal REST APIs.

Learn more about DreamFactory

Pros:

Quite easy to setup an API, and expand it once setup. Lots of support both from their technical team and also integration with other companies using this platform for their system.

Cons:

Nested Object filter for database tables apis is hard. More often we had to write custom code to implement.

DreamFactory ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.0
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

7.5/10

DreamFactory has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5 stars based on 12 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used DreamFactory before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (12)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great platform, well done!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall a great product that will assist you to speed up your development process!

Pros:

Great Security and very complete and user friendly documentation. Example apps get your going quick!

Cons:

I cant think of anything not to like. In the beginning it might be a little overwhelming, but once you have read the documentation and looked at the samples apps, you on your way.

DreamFactory Software Response

5 years ago

Thanks for your feedback & glad you are able to shorten your development cycles with DreamFactory! That's why we were founded in the first place. We have been working very hard to augment our security and compliance feature sets - keep your eyes out for big improvements in Q2 2019 ;)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Expose your database with an API

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We implemented Dreamfactory to integrate Salesforce with an ERP software that didn't have an API, constrained by a limited budget which didn't allow us to go for a more complex middleware. The solution allowed us to quickly send and retrieve records from the ERP, and run processes using SQL stored procedures which gave us a bit of a headache at the beginning because of lack of full support.

Pros:

Authentication and API is out-of-the-box The free version includes many features It saves a lot of time if you just want to use the basic REST API features

Cons:

Upgrading to a new version can be a massive pain Debugging problems is very difficult if not impossible sometimes Stored procedures are not fully supported The API options to query a database are not as powerful as the options a SQL language provides

DreamFactory Software Response

5 years ago

Hi, thank you for your review - DreamFactory does support stored procedures, it is just not meant for managing the stored procedures and functions themselves. For a more sophisticated project requirements we also support custom business logic via our powerful scripting engine that supports four different languages (PHP, NodeJS, Python, and V8JS).

Taj
Technical Lead in India
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Useful but hard to use

3.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I liked the concept of the product. And it is good at what it does.

Cons:

1. Nested Object filter for database tables apis is hard. more often we had to write custom code to implement. 2. Alternate authentication setup is hard. we tried adding alternate authentication and failed, Also connected with customer support and still failed to add customer authencation. 3. Installation steps do fail to setup it smoothly i got into a lot of issues even after following exact steps for installation on ubuntu16

Phil
Phil
PHP & MySQL Developer in UK
Automotive, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good at what it does, not so good at what it doesnt do.

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: It did what we needed for a time, and I cant fault it for that.
For some other software we use, that this has integrated well with, we will keep using it.
However, for current development, and anything we expect to be high load, we have moved away in favor of developing our own API.

Pros:

The software is relatively comprehensive, with very granular access and control to many different parts of your system. Quite easy to setup an API, and expand it once setup. Lots of support both from their technical team and also integration with other companies using this platform for their system.

Cons:

It is very CPU intensive, I have built a bespoke API to run side by side this one, using the same DB, SPs, Server infrastructure but different technology for the API. The difference in the resources required is substantial, which means we are moving our more intensive systems away from this. It is also a quirky system, having to reset the cache when you alter the DB, with a learning curve to get your way around the system.

Phil
Phil
PHP and MySQL Developer in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Dreamfactory API Use

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: It allowed us to quickly develop a API for use for one of our sites, giving us better visibility of everything going on, and at different levels of operation.

Pros:

Was easy to setup, and is quick to increase the functionality of the API. Has a very understandable Roles and services, which allows for great control on what people can do. Also had a few sessions with some of the team, and they are very knowledgeable and supportive.

Cons:

It was easy to expand the system with clones (for example, a dev, stage, production, client specific access). Once you setup all the roles and services for one account, you couldn't easily clone this but pointing to different credentials. Only work around I found was doing it all the DB, but you would have to figure out what means what, as everything is stored as IDs, so not easy to understand.

DreamFactory Software Response

5 years ago

Thank you for this detailed review. With regards to replicating your DreamFactory environment across multiple instances we have an Import/Export feature. This feature allows you to package up everything from your Services, Roles, and much more to be imported into a fresh instance without frustration.

Dan
Architect in UK
Gambling & Casinos, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Does the job, easy to use

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use Straightforward integration to SQL backends Simple UI Post / Pre Processing Features

Cons:

Limitations on SQL features via API (e.g; multiple filters)

anjumol
Senior Systems Engineer in India
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

My view on dreamfactory

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Making my work simple and user friendly.
good customer support

Pros:

I'm using dreamfactory for past 6 months, actually its one of the most simple and user friendly software package i have used so far. If I got some doubt will contact customer care and they will respond immediately. Re-usability of API services makes my work much simple.

Cons:

I'm using latest version of dreamfactory, I tried creating services on Python, its not supporting. So I'm using node to create my services.

Pallavi
Developer in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very helpful tool for Project Management

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Building the documents and sharing them with Team and Business is very easy. Able to track the Project status.

Cons:

Compulsory training needed in order to use the tool. Especially for Business and also for the teams to get used with the tool

DreamFactory Software Response

5 years ago

Hi Pallavi, thank you for your review - I would like to point out that this review is for a product no longer run by DreamFactory. DreamFactory is now an API Management service featuring API frameworks with automated generation & advanced orchestration features, without the need for a dedicated team to run an enterprise bus.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

DreamFactory is like Ruby on Rails for APIs

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Their support team is excellent! We had some difficulties connecting less common databases and they helped us navigate a solution in an amazing time. Thank you!

Pros:

DreamFactory is the definition of convention over configuration! It has a great user format that allows us to build and streamline our APIs in a simple and rapid method without coding. I honestly couldn't imagine building APIs without DreamFactory in the future.

Cons:

When we first started using DreamFactory, I was frustrated with its short time to live, but we were quickly able to change a setting that extended the session time - I think we'll be using DreamFactory for many years to come.

Christopher
Christopher
Administrative Coordinator in US
Higher Education, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great API Management Software

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: This was the first free software for API Management that I loved. It met my needs as a App Developer. Keep up the good work!

Pros:

Very easy to link to your database and to setup your API endpoints. Software does a good job explaining what each endpoint can receive and information shown.

Cons:

Free version doesn't include e-mail, phone or chat support.

Pallavi
US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent Snapshot feature

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: Creating Snapshot for migrating the components easily to all environments. Components can be exported easily through the package.

DreamFactory Software Response

5 years ago

Hi Pallavi, thank you for your review - I would like to point out that this review is for a product no longer run by DreamFactory. DreamFactory is now an API Management service featuring API frameworks with automated generation & advanced orchestration features, without the need for a dedicated team to run an enterprise bus.

Lankika
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

DreamTeam Project Management

4.0 12 years ago

Comments: good one