15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

SAP Business ByDesign Reviews

About SAP Business ByDesign

A single cloud ERP solution for fast-growing, mid-market businesses to scale and compete without the complexity and cost.

Learn more about SAP Business ByDesign

Pros:

SAP is a financial tool that integrates all aspects of a business together, it is fantastic as it enables assigning of different access levels for users.

Cons:

I consider the ERP's weakness in advanced manufacturing functions, in the management of mass purchases and in the capacity of large batches of information.

SAP Business ByDesign ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Service
3.9
Features
4.1
Value for Money
3.8

Likelihood to recommend

8.1/10

SAP Business ByDesign has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 38 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used SAP Business ByDesign before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (38)

Shashank
Shashank
Business System Analyst - Intern in US
Verified LinkedIn User
, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

All in One

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Scalable Implementations ensuring happy clients.

Pros:

1)Great Interface, Amazing Accessibility and Document Flow from one module to another. 2)Scalable to all types of small to mid-size organizations having 1-1000 employees. 3)Easy to use and learn and has provisions with Work Centers for CRM, SCM, FICO, PMO and HRM modules.

Cons:

1)Limited ability when it comes to specific module based requirements since it tends to be a generic all in one solution. 2) Has a very limited presence under the SAP Umbrella and very few people talk about it.

GORDON
SENIOR SAP BUSINESS ONE CONSULTANT in Canada
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The Ulimate SAP's solution for The Mid Market

5.0 last month New

Comments: Overall, SAP Business ByDesign is a good ERP option. A company that cannot afford S/4 HANA should definately go for SAP Business ByDesign.

Pros:

SAP Business ByDesign is the ultimate mid-level market ERP solution from SAP. SAP came up with SAP Business ByDesign to take care of the mid level companies that couldn't afford the scale of infrastructure needed to run a SAP ERP that the big fortune 1000 companies can afford. SAP Business ByDesign an affordable option for medium sized companies. The system is hosted in the cloud at SAP's servers. Companies get to buy only the modules that they need without worrying about the infrastructure costs. It's also very cost effective because you only pay for what you use and you can scale to more modules when you need them as your business changes. For me the coolest thing about SAP Business ByDesign is the fact that it runs on the best database by SAP called HANA. HANA is a powerful, fast in-memory database that allows for powerful business analytics, high level reporting with KPIs and dashboards.

Cons:

It is not a cheap system. It could be too expensive for small businesses. The fact that is is cloud based means that it cannot work without a stable internet connection.

Jane
Finance in UK
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

SAP by design - very cumbersome and confused

1.0 6 years ago

Pros:

SAP is very good in creating tasks, has many, many modules, good cloud system, document flow, personalisation.

Cons:

SAP ByDeign seems to have been programmed by people with lack of accounting. VAT returns have no date or suppliers/customer names, they only show ID ref, journal red, any kind of reference except what you need to see. You are able to view these in another report after you have done VAT return! Payment runs and customer statements are the same thing, it throughs out report which you have to accept with no view of what is in the report, assuming that everything you put in it is correct in the first place. Very cumbersome, too many processes to do simple tasks. Very confused system!

Rhys
Sales Manager in UK
Apparel & Fashion, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Extensive, all encompassing business ERP system

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Implementation of SAP Bydesign across our companies means we have one system across all companies so reporting can be on a local or global level. The gold partner support is excellent and ongoing system improvements good.

Pros:

Reliable cloud based adaptable ERP software that is ideal for multi-company, multi-country, multi-curency business management. Out teams accross the globe can access live data across warehouses, production, logistics, sales and finance. Enable as much or as little as required in implementation. Web services enable it to talk to other systems if needed.

Cons:

Occasional minor back end issues take some time to resolve if they are not business critical. The CRM module and app are not user friendly and not feature rich like some other systems avaliable. We have integrated our SAP Bydesyn with Hubspot CRM

Jérôme
CEO in France
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The best choice for mid-size companies that looks for a complete suite in the Cloud

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: This is our management system
We recommend it for every company that looks for multi-"all" ERP from 10 to 999 users

Pros:

The product is very easy to use. SAP provides mobile applications ready to be used All the functions that a midsize company needs are pre-set in the solution : project management, contract management, field service operations, manufacturing, acounting, finance, builtin analytics, AP, AR, inventory, crm, srm, supply chain. A great vision, well packaged product, scalable from 10 to 999 users. It is more than robust, stable and there from 12+ years, benefiting from 42+ years of SAP experience in ERP Suites

Cons:

A tighter integration with other SAP products but now we can use SAP CLOUD PLATFORM to connect everything and use RPA functions.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

SAP Business One for Our Organization

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Early, we didn't have a method to monitor the cost of production, the cost for repair and material movement. Also, there was no link between the transactions.

Pros:

This is the best ERP system which I used in my life. There are a lot of unique features in SAP. Among them, the Relationship Map and Query Generator are the best part I like to use. Via relationship, very much easy to get the idea of the transaction because it shows the links between the transaction. It easily gets the decision.

Cons:

In Production, there is no way to get item-wise cost for the items.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Building Materials, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SAP as a long relationship

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It's kinda like a relationship. First you are amazed on how complete it is and how it can fill your needs. Then your needs evolve and it dosen't evolve quite on par with you. Then you have to do a lot of work and money in order to be able to do have it do everything you need, Finally, you stick with it because you are dependent on it but you basically have to do everything it dosen't like on the side with excell because you don't want to spend money or time on your old girl (You should though, its healthier for the company) and may even sucumb to temptation and start spending money on other software that wont work with SAP, Then your going to be using both, becuse you are already got them, until you tier out. Basically a double life. Still love sap all & all. Couldn't live without it.

Pros:

I has absolutley everything needed and more. Its very well integrated throught all the company and enables you manage all company records at any specific times.

Cons:

Graphs are no use. If you need a dashboard or simple presentation you are eventually gona need to export data to excell.

sheetal
BSA hr systems in US
Human Resources, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simple compared to normal sap software

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: It’s good but need to improve on performance and features.

Pros:

Easy to configure,has a lot of applications.intutive user interface.this has got good finance features.

Cons:

It cannot be compared with sap on premise ,way less features and has a small scope compared to it.other cloud solutions are having better performance then this.

FATMA
Dealer Management Specialist in Türkiye
Automotive, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good solution for small and mid enterprises

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall i was very satisfied with the product, it is futuristic and offers efficiency for small businesses. But they need to offer more trainings to use this ERP system very efficiently.

Pros:

It is very good that SAP has also thought to develop ERP system for small and mid business enterprises. These enterprises has generally messy documentation and financing systems, so when you have this ERP system, it makes your job very easy. Just like Business One for big companies, they offer what is necessary for small and mid companies. You can enter your order, follow your invoices, track your budget with account receivables and payables, Also the report are very useful. The list goes on.

Cons:

The least i can say is like Business One system, you need to spend some extra time to enter manual, it is mostly challenging in the beginning. You need to fill all data for CRM system, so when you skip making these, you are not using CRM system efficiently.

Roie
Buyer in US
Military, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SAP

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: I use the system daily and after few moths I feel that I can work smoothly, but still only 70% is what I feel that I use.

Pros:

Powerful tool for the business, can bring me the information I need from the database.

Cons:

It takes few months to get use to it and learn all the function you daily uses.

Morgan
Finance analyst in US
Aviation & Aerospace, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nice but could be improved!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I enjoy using SAP I feel very confident with it

Pros:

I like that there are so many functionalities. It’s great for financial analysis SAP ERP is a very comprehensive tool that is very helpful to my companies business to achieve best financial and customer support results

Cons:

This software needs more shortcuts There also needs to be a way to pull more than. 1 invoice at the time This part is such a waste of time

Rodrigoº
Commercial Director in Mexico
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

SAP Business ByDesign the real cloud ERP

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: It is a true ERP in the cloud, with all the advantages of being 100% web, it is a solution in HTML5, with which you can manage it 100% on your tablet or mobile phone. It has BI and CRM, that surpasses the traditional ERPs and with Hana accounts with very good operating performance.

Pros:

SAP Business ByDesign is an ERP very easy to use, to implement and that allows to have 360º information of the whole company in real time. It is very easy to learn to use by the end users. It has very good integrated BI reports. It's the beautiful SAP

Cons:

SAP does not do much promotion to the product, to success stories and not much is known about its strengths in what the cloud managed by SAP itself. I consider the ERP's weakness in advanced manufacturing functions, in the management of mass purchases and in the capacity of large batches of information.

Angela
Controller in US
Logistics & Supply Chain, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Do not even think about implementing this without the proper staff, who are also trained

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: I do not like it and find it difficult to work with.

Pros:

SAP is very robust and I suspect with proper training and the correct implementation team, it would really help with the everyday functioning of the company.

Cons:

I am not a fan of SAP BYD because it is cumbersome and difficult to use without intense proper training. It is European based and not intuitive at all, so those combined make it difficult to find what you need and get it to work correctly for you. I'm not shy about trying things on my own, but I find myself giving up and reaching out to our AMS team, which results in charges for help.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Utilities, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good product when it comes to workflow processing in industry

5.0 last year

Comments: Using SAP made it easy for a company that is multi-departmental to be able to track every day activities without doing much and improves the company's efficiency.

Pros:

It makes it easier for the company to perform its day-to-day activities with SAP's workflow processing and also when it comes to allocating bills to their respective source.

Cons:

For users, I wish it was possible for a person who loaded a workflow notification to delete it as well if they feel the need to.

Emre Utku
Software Engineer in Türkiye
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Cloud based accounts payable software

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

As a software developer for me SAP Business ByDesign is the most easy to use and straightforward to integrate accounts payable software in the market.

Cons:

SAP Business ByDesign is quite fine in terms of the features they offer however they need to increase the quaility of their technical documentation.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Food Production, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Inventory managing, production planning, there's nothing SAP won't do.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: SAP Business has allowed us to take production planning and inventory management to a whole new level. Logging entries and checking on data has been made easier with SAP. For us analysts checking on production process information to determine potential flaws is key, and SAP allows us to do just that with the help of our operator friends and their diligent logging.

Pros:

SAP is an extremely powerful software that allows you to do just about anything that a company needs to operate smoothly. I particularly enjoy production planning and management from this software.

Cons:

I cannot stress how difficult SAP is to use compared to, for example, Excel which we occasionally still use. SAP experts had to come in to the company and explain everyone how to use it.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Reasource Management Soluction

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have been working with SAP resource management tool more than 3 years and this is one of the best employee performance managing tool I ever seen.

Pros:

Each employee can simply input their tasks according to there JD and describe their performance during the year. Also individual can be rated to each task and more visible in line manager review. System can access from any ware and easy to implement.

Cons:

When comes to year end review process, most employees are engaging with SAP system and some times we experiencing delay response. This may be connectivity issue (bandwidth). Other than that, System is very user friendly and easy to access.

Christopher
Global Systems Administrator in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Junk By Design

1.0 6 years ago

Comments: I have used and configured many ERP systems and with out a doubt this is the worst system money could buy. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere.

Pros:

The only pro would be it is cloud based. Beyond that there is no reason to use this in your business unless you would like to lose customers and employee's

Cons:

Slow performance, terrible interface, not intuitive, not configurable. Crashes constantly. Poor online support, poor training guides. Ten steps to do one task. The service, HR , Marketing section are worthless. Good luck finding the correct design studio tools Absolute junk.

Patrick
National Sales Manager
Plastics, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

SAP Business ByDesign

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Overall, a very robust and insightful ERP system that connects all departments and ensures workflows and processes are being done correctly.

Pros:

The fact that it's cloud-based is great for getting insights from any device, anywhere. Also, the extensive reports you're able to generate gives you great real-time data of your KPIs.

Cons:

The customer support could use a little improvement in terms of data migration and system implementation.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

One of the best ERP system for small and medium companies.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with Business ByDesign has been really great. The platform lives up to its expectations and has the greatest features to manager a growing company that might outgrow other systems they use.

Pros:

What I love about this product is that you can customize the platform to your company and industry specifications and have cloud benefits.

Cons:

There is not really much I do not like about the system. Sometimes support can be slow depending on the vendor and support team/system you use.

SUCCESS
SUCCESS
Freelancer in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

SAP is still the best Enterprise resource planning tool

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: SAP is great as it unifies a business process into one application. I will recommend it any day.

Pros:

SAP is a financial tool that integrates all aspects of a business together, it is fantastic as it enables assigning of different access levels for users.

Cons:

SAP modules are very expensive as the cost of a total data migration can cost millions of dollars.

Simona
Financial Analyst in UK
Chemicals, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

It is easy to use, good quality , many training support available.

Cons:

A bit too expensive, but it is a good product.

gwen
Supply Chain Project Lead
Telecommunications, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Good system - hard to use

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: good system if you know how to use it

Pros:

Good functionality logical system good documentation for support good best practice standard processes

Cons:

difficult to use lack of expertise on how to use this system in the market rigid - difficult to do customization

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Accounting tool for you

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I was able to automate certain processes in the business thanks to SAP.

Pros:

Able to customize the software as per the business requirements was something I needed and there you go I found SAP Business.

Cons:

Took me little time to get familiar with the product. But overall I love it because of the report creation and it is cloud based.

Vitor
Vitor
Senior Financial Analyst in Brazil
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerful tool for decision making

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: A powerful tool for decision making and business insights.

Pros:

The tool does not require IT investment to be implemented.

Cons:

The tool is not accessible if you are not familiar with SAP products.