Ascender Payroll and HCM Reviews

Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Ascender Payroll and HCM

Unlock the full potential of your workforce with an award-winning end-to-end integrated Payroll and Human Capital Management Solution.

Learn more about Ascender Payroll and HCM

Showing 38 reviews

Laura E.
Laura E.
People and Culture
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/02/2018

"Professional, supportive,"

Comments: Staff engagement and management of performance and development.

Pros: It's intuitive, adds value to the employee life cycle and engaging. The performance management module is streamlined and encourages ongoing conversations between the manager and employee. The software also promotes individuals managing their own performance management and development in a transparent approach. Reporting is extremely easy to use and read with the back end having the ability to push workflows and emails to outstanding items. PeopleStreme are extremely responsive to our queries and issues.

Cons: That you can't be logged in more then once because as an administrator it would be useful to have several screens open at a time. Would also prefer the software not to time out and require relogin.

Vendor Response

by PeopleStreme on 01/03/2018

Thanks Laura for your review and compliment. The success could only be achieved because of your guide and help.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/02/2018
Verified Reviewer
Group Fitness Instructor
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2017

"I used PeopleStreme software in a previous role for over 9 years"

Pros: * Easy to use
* First class customer service
* The complete employee lifecycle is available in this system with add in modules as required which provides flexibility dependent on requirements.
* Regular updates and amendments to keep the system agile.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2017
Lianne L.
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/12/2016

"Peoplestreme makes a difference"

Comments: We are a small NZ business with approx 70 staff, we have implemented the Performance Management, Employee Self Service kiosk and Learning and Development modules. The business has already started seeing some great outcomes and cost savings as a result of having the Peoplestreme software in place.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/12/2016
Dana M.
Recruiting Manager
Staffing & Recruiting, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/01/2017

"Pretty good"

Comments: I have worked with this in the past and we ended up upgrading for more options.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/01/2017
Felicity M.
Former HR Manager
Defense & Space, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2018

"PeopleStreme eRecruitment Module"

Comments: Excellent.

Pros: PeopleStreme's recruitment module enabled CEA to move away from manual recruitment processes and manage a very high recruitment workload for the last few years. The support we received from representative and the Helpdesk was excellent.

Cons: The version we used meant that at times, it seemed there were too many tabs to click through to get to the information we wanted, however, it was not something that seriously impeded the way we worked.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2018
Verified Reviewer
Senior HR Advisor
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/01/2018

"Great cloud based application that manages the whole employee life-cycle for us."

Comments: Streamlined employee on-boarding and administration, greater understanding of employee performance and a platform to manage learning & development, as well as remuneration reviews more effectively

Pros: Whilst the application is module based, all data is interconnected so that you can build a full view of your employees as individuals as well as a collective.

Cons: A few more system configuration options as the system administrator would be useful, particularly when trying to build or customise reports.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/01/2018
Helen C.
Talent Aquisition Specialist
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/01/2018

"Great value for money, easy to use system - with the option to add modules over time.."

Pros: - Easy to use as both an administrator & end user
- Simplifies the recruitment process end to end. For us it has improved compliance & cost cost management significantly
- Online onboarding - esignature approval is great feature!

Cons: - It can be costly to make custom changes to the platform post implementation
- At some points the process the system could be more intuitive, we have overcome this with training and support

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/01/2018
Marion F.
HR Business Partner
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/10/2017

"We have recently upgraded and added the Learning & Development module."

Pros: New version has improved ease of use & reporting capability. Mobile option is a great enhancement. Learning & development module integrated with the performance management module is fantastic.

Cons: The setup is critical and it is challenging to work through in terms of implications of decisions made in that setup process.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/10/2017
Jamil H.
Teacher
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2019

"Efficient Recruitment System"

Comments: This software has taken our organization from a paper-based performance system to a streamlined, accountable and precise policy that is easily accessible by me. It removes the manual paperwork and results in improving outcomes, engagement, and alignments. I can review the progress and take necessary steps to make sure we as a team are gaining our principle objectives.

Pros: This software is affordable and easy to use as compared to others in the market. While using the search function, it allows us to find a candidate easily, and it saves our organization thousands through efficient recruitment. It saves a lot of my time and support for the products is excellent.

Cons: The control panel is difficult for us to navigate and to get an idea where particular fields or areas can be customized. When we utilized, the back end reporting is messy. We also suffered some of the initial difficulties with Single Sign-On and logins.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2019
Liz L.
Office/Payroll Manager
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/02/2018

"This is a good product and has moved us away from a paper-based reviews."

Comments: This software has moved us from a paper-based review system that was onerous on our people to a streamlined software application that makes the performance review system easy.

Pros: This software is easy to use; intuitive...I love the visibility into how everyone is going via the Progress tab on the Dashboard. So easy to follow people up.

Cons: The only thing I can think of is when requesting third party feedback, only the objective is sent through not the expectations.

Vendor Response

by PeopleStreme on 01/03/2018

Thanks Liz for the kind words and valuable comments about the 3rd party feedback. We hope that PeopleStreme keeps adding value to your organisation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/02/2018
Anne T.
HR Manager
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2019

"eRecruitment - Effective, streamlined recruitment process, Peoplestreme supportive, responsive"

Comments: Highly positive relationship developed with Peoplestreme. Useful tool in the management of high volume recruitment. Database functions highly useful and efficient for management reporting. Intuitive software, easy to follow and matches our company processes well. This is one of the reasons why we selected this module for our company. We have been impressed with the level of customer service and promptness in delivery of troubleshooting.

Pros: Easy to use, intuitive software that enables recruitment to work in line with our internal company processes. Highly responsive troubleshooting. Punctual support when needed.

Cons: System inability to identify same candidate twice. Candidates that apply for multiple roles within company cannot be easily identified under search. Candidates within system are not easily identifiable as they are assigned by number not name.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2019
Sean C.
HR Business Partner
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/06/2018

"Great product and wonderful service support."

Comments: The software has allowed us to centrally manage our decentralised recruitment process and has significantly reduced our recruitment timeframes. Additionally, the performance module provides an easy and intuitive platform for our staff to capture and record ongoing performance conversations. The reporting functionality also provides easy to access and build reports to demonstrate compliance of all of our staff.

Pros: A really intuitive system that allows end users a central location to manage their performance conversations, learning and development activities and recruitment all in one place. Staff in our organisation often comment on how easy the processes are to follow and how simple it is to capture and record ongoing performance discussions.

Cons: The only part of the system that sometimes causes us issues is that the hierarchy in PeopleStreme has a person to person relationship whereas our other hierarchy based systems are position to position.

Vendor Response

by PeopleStreme on 26/06/2018

Thanks for the awesome review, Sean! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we¿re happy when we hear we hit the mark for you. Cheers!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/06/2018
Steve C.
Senior Advisor
Higher Education, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/10/2020

"HES Review"

Comments: Excellent working relationship wirh many people inside of Ascender at all levels.

Pros: Very suited to a university environment and has been for many decades. HES has had a relationship with Ascender and it's predecesor companies since 1997. We continue to strengthen the relationship through collaborative software development and broader services to the universities we serve.

Cons: It is (understandably) difficut to configure since it is a complex payroll.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/10/2020
Stephanie C.
Senior HR BP
Wine & Spirits, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/08/2018

"New to system, but very happy"

Comments: Greater buy in to the review process.

Pros: The software is very straightforward to use and has successfully been rolled out to our business with great buy in from staff who previously have not worked with an online system.

Cons: Back end reporting can be messy when utilised.

Vendor Response

by PeopleStreme on 03/09/2018

Hi Stephanie.

Thanks for your review. We're glad to hear that you're overjoyed with your system.

Please don't hesitate to reach out if you need any help.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/08/2018
Erika B.
HR Consultant
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2017

"Meets our needs"

Pros: Easy functionality. Does what want it to do. The support team is fantastic. and offer a lot of support when needed.

Cons: We could do with better reporting functionality (however this is available and is a matter of us upgrading).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2017
Ali S.
Group Performance Manager
Hospitality, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 02/02/2017

"A Good Option"

Comments: I have used PeopleStreme in one of my companies and was impressed with their dashboards and system functions. A good option to explore!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 02/02/2017
Sheralyn S.
Senior Consultant
Higher Education, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/09/2020

"Ascender Payroll - sound and proven payroll for complex configuration and requirements"

Pros: Our current Account Executive is great, always ready to help and is easily at hand whenever we have any queries or issues. She is very professional and provides a level of assurance over working with Ascender. We have used Ascender Pay for around 30 years since it was first released and find it suits our complex enterprise agreement requirements. There is an abundance of new functionality being released for review and implementation. Ascender is a big part of my life and I am very attached since my connection goes back some 23 years. I almost feel part of their family working with some of the long-term staff for such a time – they are just wonderful people.

Cons: With all the new functionality being released it is hard to keep up.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/09/2020
Danielle R.
HRBP
Construction, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/12/2020

"System lacks basic Functionality & Oversold Product"

Comments: Overall, my recommendation is to avoid this product, it is not worth the increased administrative burden that the modules come with. The product is expensive for the lack of functionality and the presentation of the modules.

Pros: Performance Management Module is only Module I would recommend purchasing.

Cons: Customer Service:
-Disconnect from the sales team and product delivery team
-Sales team over sale PeopleSteme Modules that doesn't save time but increases administrative tasks
-Product team provides workarounds to compensate for the lack of the system functionality once you have purchased the modules
- PeopleStreme can't commit to timeframes for the companies 'road map' on new features
System:
-There is minimal automation provided by the purchased modules
-System is extremely slow
-Inability to bulk upload all historical data (e.g. Job Ads, Position Descriptions, Resumes)
-Purchased modules don’t communicate to one another, requiring a increased workload for the HR team
-There is no Employee Landing page that displays basic employee data (hire date, department, job title), which is collected from the Onboarding process. Sales team now tells us that this is only available to them because of their access permissions and not part of the package sold
-Onboarding Module does not allow for cross-boarding to be captured in PeopleStreme

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/12/2020
Verified Reviewer
Human Resources Manager
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2017

"Great affordable product"

Comments: Saving on time and money!

Pros: The software is easy to use and more affordable than others on the market. The system allows you to easily find a candidate using the search function and has saved our company thousands in recruiter fees as a result. As adverts are directly uploaded to SEEK and our website the software has saved me time. In addition, the ability to mass (personalised) respond to candidates has saved me time and ensured a better candidate experience with our organisation.

Cons: The software does not imped itself into our website to suit our style guide. It clearly looks like it has been added, rather than matching the rest of our webpage.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2017
Laure S.
Senior HR Advisor
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2018

"Great HRIS for SME"

Pros: The modules are user friendly and intuitive.

Cons: The control panel was a little harder to navigate and to understand where and how certain areas/fields could be customised. Upgrades could also be improved with some customisation getting reset.

Vendor Response

by PeopleStreme on 15/10/2018

Hi Laure,

Thanks very much for your great review! We work hard to offer the best HRIS and services and I'm happy to see that reflected in reviews such as yours. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you need any help.

Thanks.

Jean-Paul

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2018
Steve K.
Group HR Manager
Automotive, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/04/2018

"Peoplestream staff have been a pleasure to deal with, outstanding professionalism, great product."

Comments: Implementing this software as a tool in our performance management process has lead to improvements in alignment, engagement and outcomes. We are able to easily review progress and take appropriate steps in a timely manner to ensure we are achieving our key objectives.

Pros: At Emmetts we are pleased with our choice after reviewing many options. Employees have adjusted quickly to the system following initial training and change management support from the PeopleStream staff. The design of the software makes it very easy to use, following processes is intuitive and flows well. Reporting functionality has given us a more timely line of site to progress on strategic and key objectives across 12 locations.
We love that we no longer have a paper chase on reviews, with this tool we have confidently increased increased the frequency of 1:1's.

Cons: That we did not find it sooner, we have found that implementing this software has improved our performance management process.

Vendor Response

by PeopleStreme on 26/04/2018

Hi Steve. Thanks for leaving such a glowing review. The team here at PeopleStreme is thrilled to hear such good feedback and we're proud to be helping Emmetts on this journey.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/04/2018
Karen R.
HR Manager
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/11/2017

"An efficient package which enables managers to conduct structured one-on-one's with their staff."

Comments: It has introduced structured one-on-ones within the organisation.

Pros: The software is easy to use and is also flexible with different roles. It ensures that staff and managers are accountable for the responsibilities within there role and allows for detailed notes to provide evidence for the ratings.

Cons: The only negative is that the staff within the administration area have found it difficult to create tangible objectives but we are working on this.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/11/2017
Mohamed H.
HR/OD Advisor
Environmental Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2018

"Great Experience"

Comments: Fantastic. Very highly recommended and would willingly advocate for the software in most organisations.

Pros: Feature Rich - excellent customer service - ability to customise as the organisation sees fit. Incredible functionality in terms of end-to-end HR

Cons: Can be aesthetically more appealing, but could be due to being on an older version

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2018
Christine W.
Sr. Consultant
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/12/2017

"Our experience has been great, training was excellent and we love the application suite."

Pros: User Friendly/Intuitive and easy to use. Many modules to choose from going forward that we can grow with that enables us to have access to the entire Human Capital Management ecosystem in one place.

Cons: Nothing, other than we wish they had more US based support. Initially we thought we had a lot of bugs, but as it turned out it was more just administrative user error. Orchestrating feedback from technical support 12 hours apart was sometimes difficult to answer things quickly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/12/2017
Natasha B.
Natasha B.
Executive Manager, Sales & Marketing
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/10/2018

"Easy Performance Management"

Comments: Our Customer Success Manager has been a fantastic support for us along this journey. He is very knowledgeable and happy to help in any way. It took us some time to implement due to the project being managed by only one person - but this goes to show that it is a truly scalable solution for large and smaller businesses.
We will soon implement the Learning & Development Module across our teams and know it will lift our training and personal development to a new level with this professional and well-structured solution.

Pros: Peoplestreme is customisable and is very 'follow your nose' in terms of employee and manager use.
Dashboards are great to easy report on individuals, teams and also for compliance requirements.
For a business which did not have anything in place previously it has helped is to implement a performance management program which is best of breed and best practice.

Cons: There were a couple of items with our version which meant we needed some manual workarounds but with our upgraded version ready to go live next month everything will be resolved.

Vendor Response

by PeopleStreme on 15/10/2018

Hi Natasha,

Thanks for your kind words and the trust you put in us. This is the reason we come to work every day and hope the team can continue to add value to Northern Inland Credit Union and the team.

Jean-Paul

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/10/2018