Campaign Monitor Reviews

by Campaign Monitor

Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Campaign Monitor

Campaign Monitor is an email marketing tool that enables anyone to send beautiful, targeted, and effective email campaigns.

Learn more about Campaign Monitor

Showing 432 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Marketing Manager
Marketing & Advertising, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/05/2020

"Excellent Email Tool for small business"

Comments: Campaign Monitor allowed us to send our monthly newsletter with ease. This brought in an abundance of new business for the company and helped to grow revenue.

Pros: Campaign Monitor is simple to use and allows any business to run marketing campaigns to their audiences. The drag and drop builder is excellent.

Cons: Campaign Monitor doesn't have a CRM, so you'll need to import your lists for every send or integrate with a something like Zoho, HubSpot or Salesforce.

Alternatives Considered: Mailchimp

Reasons for Choosing Campaign Monitor: Ease of use

Switched From: Constant Contact

Reasons for Switching to Campaign Monitor: Price

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/05/2020
Asheton F.
Marketing Team Lead
E-Learning, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/02/2020

"Nice Email Automation Tool"

Comments: It was a good platform for email marketing, but wasn't a CRM solution.

Pros: I like how easy it was to set up email automation campaigns. We had a custom template and I thought Campaign Monitor worked pretty well with it. Organizing and segmenting our lists was also a breeze.

Cons: The main reason we left and switched to Hubspot was because Hubspot was an all-in-one CRM tool that connected to many of our other programs that we use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/02/2020
Shilpa S.
Shilpa S.
Marketing Strategist
Internet, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/05/2019

"A product well thought through"

Comments: I have been using CampaignMonitor for almost 4 years now. I love the tool more than MailChimp and Constant Contact. I

Pros: *Allows to send a test mail and check personalization using real examples from your contact list.
*You can also set up email automation with the tool.
*The HTML upload and rendering across devices is on point. Very well made product.
* Does not force users to use bulky footers that promotes itself unlike Constant Contact

Cons: I was billed extra and forced to use the plan I upgraded to for an entire month without being prompted that my list size had exceeded a certain number. While I understand it makes sense for your revenue it is not a very good customer experience.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/05/2019
Verified Reviewer
Digital Content Specialist
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/05/2019

"Great mid-level email marketing tool"

Pros: Very easy to set up triggers and actions. You can get going in Campaign Monitor very quickly. Setting up email sequences based on complex user activities is a breeze. The live reporting feature...with a globe pinpointing exactly where the recipients of your email are opening your email...is super cool and valuable from a geo-marketing point of view. Basic personalization and transactional capabilities are decent as well.

Cons: The support was not the best. Hit and miss. Sometimes they answered questions/resolved issues in almost real-time...but other times it can take them up to 48 hours to get back to you.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/05/2019
Verified Reviewer
Delivery Manager
Design, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/10/2018

"Solid, reliable emailing"

Comments: We manage multiple clients and their emailing needs from within our account, as well as sending our own emails. We use the template builder and custom html, and find that both work well.

Pros: Campaign Monitor is a safe pair of hands when it comes to emailing. I find the list management (and related tasks such as keeping on top of unsubscribes) easier and better than competing softwares. The ability to manage clients' accounts and take a cut of fees also works well for us. Reporting is also clear and simple.

Cons: The template builder, whilst still very good, could do with some extra thought to enhance it further and bring in line with modern email capabilities. I would love to see more responsiveness, more font choices etc. Also, the interface as a whole is beginning to feel a little dated, and I would be interested to see that given a refresh.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/10/2018
Adam H.
Adam H.
Digital Designer / Front end developer
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2019

"Email Campaigns made super easy"

Comments: Campaign Monitor was great up until the switch. Creating powerful email campaigns for clients has never been easier, not just for admin but also for the clients themsleves.

Pros: Recenetly Campaign Monitor has improved in terms of how easy their software is to use. In the past templates were a hassle to construct. Now there are quick presets which make things quicker and easier.

Cons: No real cons, but I have recently moved to Mailchimp. I have found Mailchimp to be a much nicer tool to use

Alternatives Considered: Mailchimp

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2019
Verified Reviewer
Owner
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/10/2017

"Campaign Monitor is by far the most simple, yet powerful, subscriber and campaign manager."

Comments: The ability to spin up new accounts for clients makes it a no-brainer.

Pros: Their designer is easy to use, but yet provides great power features like dynamic parameters, draggable sections, and more. The ability to create and manage different templates for different uses is very handy. Their support is top-notch and always responsive within a couple of hours.

Cons: Their pricing is higher than other services, so it can sometimes be a hard sell to clients, especially as they add more subscribers. It can get expensive to do one-off campaigns to lots of subscribers.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/10/2017
Verified Reviewer
Digital Marketing Manager
Internet, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2019

"Quality Email Marketing Platform"

Pros: The email template builder is simply the best. Campaign Monitor makes it easy to build and launch campaigns quickly.

Cons: Advanced segmentation and analytics could be improved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2019
Roxanne F.
Roxanne F.
Business Owner
Arts & Crafts, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2018

"Newsletter software"

Pros: Easy to use - this is really important for time efficiency - and Campaign Monitor is perfect. Easy to import our client lists, easy to navigate and personalise our newsletters and easy to read the reports on the Statistics on our 'opens' so that we can control the 'bounces' or continued 'un-opens'.

Cons: I cant say I have anything negative to say about Campaign Monitor - it meets our needs quite well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2018
Laura B.
Email Marketing Specialist
Real Estate, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/03/2018

"Gets the job done for simple email campaigns"

Pros: Ease of use- you can set up an email campaign in minutes, and it's very user friendly. Works for basic email sends.

Cons: This is a great baseline tool for email marketing, but I wouldn't recommend it for complex nurture and lifecycle campaigns, as it is not as robust as other enterprise tools on the market.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/03/2018
Sergey P.
Project Manager
Design, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/05/2018

"We use it for designing client newsletter and managing communications"

Comments: Ideal tool for agencies managing newsletters and other communications on behalf of their clients

Pros: Perhaps we are a bit biased but this is the only tool that fits perfectly in our case - it has everything for an agency to design and send newsletter or communicate otherwise with our clients subscribers. Other tools are more oriented to somebody working insise companies.

Cons: Nothing really. It has everything other tool have and also has quite nice and clean interface, also easy to customize.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/05/2018
Paul S.
Paul S.
Consultant
Investment Management
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/04/2018

"I found the software easy to use"

Pros: I find the software easy to use. The upload of data is very easy. I like the templates as they are clear and punchy.

Cons: Limited to only to Campaign Monitors templates. Would like the option to upload other templates that I have used for other email campaigns and or website campaigns.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/04/2018
Joshua T.
Joshua T.
Digital Marketing Specialist
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/05/2019

"Great for our monthly newsletter!"

Comments: I've used Campaign Monitor for 5 years now, we've looked at other options here and there but always come back to this one. It's our go to given we don't send a lot of emails and it allows us to track what we need.

Pros: We have a variety of people on staff and not everyone is able to code at the same level. This platform allows us to get ANYONE to hop on and put an email together to get it out the door. Love love love this program. The updates and reporting on each email is also actionable and very insightful.

Cons: You have to keep your files really organized or else you can get "lost" when finding stuff. So when you first set it up make sure you have folders and files appropriately named.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/05/2019
Julie F.
Owner
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/11/2017

"Templates are easy to use and you can accomplish just about everything you need to do with them."

Pros: Templates are easy to use and you can accomplish just about everything you need to do with them. Customer support rocks. They're quick and accurate.

Cons: I wish they would allow the user to stop an A/B test or a campaign when it's in progress. Mistakes happen and this would limit damage.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/11/2017
Justin G.
Owner
Consumer Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/12/2016

"The best email marketing there is"

Comments: I LOVE campaign monitor! It's by far the cheapest, best and more features available. Many people haven't heard of them since it tends to be a MailChimp dominated market, but just give them a try! You won't regret it

Pros: Features, interface, price

Cons: There aren't as many 3rd party integrations available

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/12/2016
Verified Reviewer
Advertising Partnerships Lead
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2018

"Solid email client that competes with best."

Pros: Easy to use, straightforward interface. Allows easy import/export of email contacts, with good pricing and total reliability. Love the map view mode after a send out and data reporting is flawless.

Cons: No inline editor puts it behind mailchimp in the regard, and templates are a little messy. Would also be good to preview for different devices - not possible currently.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2018
Laura B.
Marketing Manager
Media Production
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2016

"A Great Tool for Starting Out in Email Marketing"

Pros: Campaign Monitor makes it easy to set up email campaigns- whether you're a beginner to email or have a few years of experience behind you. It's easy to set up a campaign and send to a reasonably sized list.

Cons: It doesn't scale for larger businesses; additionally, tier pricing can be tricky if you plan on adding subscribers to your account over time. You really have to be mindful of what you're loading in to the tool.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2016
Verified Reviewer
Business Analyst
Computer Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/01/2018

"Easy to use and an affordable application."

Comments: Product is easy to use in affordable pricing but have limited coustmization.

Pros: Product is Affordable.
Easy to use.
Can use for multitasking.
Can mail in groups.
Had wide variety of template.

Cons: Have limited features to integrate with other applications.
Have Limited customization and flexibility.
Limited email segmentation features.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/01/2018
Verified Reviewer
Co-Founder
Design
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/02/2018

"Another solid email marketing solution"

Pros: The worldview it's fun right? Now, for things that matter more: it has nice templates and relatively easy to implement. Customization could be improved. In the end if you get the job done, coming in than all it's left for you to do is watch those people opening your emails on worldview while siping your favorite drink, eh? ;)

Cons: There is room to improve the template customization and email segmentation. The way contacts are calculated for billing purposes is not ideal.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/02/2018
Thomas N.
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/02/2017

"We love it!"

Comments: We switched in 2014 and have been working with Campaign Monitor (CM) ever since. We started several times to connect it to our CRM, but never finished it. We also almost switch to Mail Chimp because there is one specific feature that would help us save time and money considerably: TimeWarp.
Rumor has it that CM is working on a similar feature. The customer service is more than excellent and the addition of new apps make some of the connectivity so much easier.
This year we will also start implementing the new automation features.
The most valuable feature of CM is that anybody in the team can edit content and send it out to review. Saves us a lot of time and man power and removed our web designers from the message creation process as a bottle neck. Keep up the good work and lets timewarp soon!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/02/2017
Verified Reviewer
Senior Developer
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/09/2019

"With Campaign Monitor testing and sending"

Comments: CampaignMonitor helped me especially when I needed to test my email templates across a variety of email clients.

Pros: - It features a mail testing services which saved me more than once
- It's feature plenty and developer friendly
- It can be used for various purposes other than "just" sending emails

Cons: - Some parts of the UI are cumbersome and feel stuck in another internet era
- Some services can be very pricey if you don't have a subscription

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/09/2019
Nick S.
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2016

"The best (and best looking) EDM software"

Comments: I have been using Campaign Monitor for about 6-8 years. It's beautifully designed, for the design-minded. In recent years, other players have made up some ground, but no other email software allows for well-designed, professional looking emails that work seamlessly on multiple devices and clients. Campaign Monitor is aimed at design and creative agencies who send on behalf of clients, but savvy clients (like us) can cut out the middle-man, and use Campaign Monitor directly. Finally, CM is an Australian success story. Started out by two Sydneysiders in a garage, it's now a global company raking in the customers (and the dough). It also has a reputation for being an amazing place to work. Campaign Monitor isn't quite the biggest player in the EDM marketplace, but I reckon it might be the best.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2016
Timothy T.
Timothy T.
Designer / Front-end Developer
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/04/2019

"More features than MailChimp"

Comments: I've used campaign monitor for a few years. It worked great for what I was doing, and they have spam prevention built into the setup process which I respect.

Pros: - Template customization is really easy
- Import email data from almost any source
- Easily to build campaigns
- Professional company that keeps spammers out
- Journey designer

Cons: - Image hosting can be messy. I usually host my images on a separate AWS server.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/04/2019
Scott O.
Director of Marketing
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/03/2016

"Recommended ESP. Nice interface and frequent feature upgrades."

Pros: Nice interface and frequent feature upgrades. Can import lists without having to do opt-in again like Mailchimp making migrating easier.

Cons: Sometimes edits are not saved making test emails required.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/03/2016
Verified Reviewer
Head of Digital Content & Social Media
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/03/2018

"Simple, reliable, and a great email marketing tool"

Comments: Was able to send out mass marketing emails and got terrific responses from my customers. Little did they know that my secret weapon was this here software.

Pros: Very nice interface, easy to learn and use, and you can easily customize lists based on your customer profiles.

Cons: Functionality is a tad limited and I would have liked more customization options or templates in the designs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/03/2018