15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About TimeSolv

We are the #1 web-based time billing and invoicing software for professional firms. Find out why with our 30-day free trial.

Learn more about TimeSolv

Pros:

At my prior firm we used Clio, and I was satisfied. However when I started my firm and began using TimeSolv, I was exposed to so many new features and ways to make the customer experience better.

Cons:

Worse, after we told her several times we did not want to upload all of our active clients into the system from Quickbooks, she did it anyway.

TimeSolv ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.3/10

TimeSolv has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 101 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (101)

Sort by

Have you used TimeSolv before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (101)

Adam
Adam
President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Law Practice, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Excellent Billing Software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have been extremely happy with TimeSolv.

Pros:

I really started my own law practice after being a managing department partner in a firm for many years. At my prior firm we used Clio, and I was satisfied. However when I started my firm and began using TimeSolv, I was exposed to so many new features and ways to make the customer experience better. I have had clients tell me much how they like the invoicing process and way they get invoices. Specifically the expense feature is outstanding. Where for example when I incur the expense I can import the receipt from the vendor into TimeSolv and then the client gets a copy as part of the invoice. More importantly the customer service is world class. I cannot endorse this product highly enough. I am very happy and strongly recommend!!!

Cons:

I really don't have any cons. If I am unsure about something the customer service is great and will literally get on zoom with me and do a screenshare and just walk me through it.

Jay
Owner in US
Accounting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Time & Billing Solution

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very Positive, up and running quickly

Pros:

I have designed time & billing solutions originnally for my Fathers CPA firm using a Wang computer. So I am opinioned on what a could package should look like. This is the modern version which balances simplicity and features. When I left a National CPA firm I needed a cost effective solution that made sense to me and this was the best of the best.

Cons:

I would like to see a new screen added for new client setup which had all inputs on 1 page or an excel import

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Alternatives Considered:

Support Staff was rude, argumentative, and unprofessional

1.0 5 years ago

Comments: Disappointing, unprofessional, and a complete waste of our time.

Pros:

Nothing about this software makes it stand out from its competitors.

Cons:

The support staff had difficulty handling even a simple training. We worked with representative, who informed us she reports directly to the CEO. She was rude, unprofessional, and worse appeared not to understand her own product. We were testing out the integration into Quickbooks and she couldn't answer the simplest questions. Worse, after we told her several times we did not want to upload all of our active clients into the system from Quickbooks, she did it anyway. And the last straw was when she changed an active client into a "test" client to create an invoice- AND ACTUALLY EMAILED THE TEST INVOICE TO OUR CLIENT CONTACT. She then spent the next 10 minutes trying to argue with my office manager that it was the office manager's fault.

ProfitSolv Response

5 years ago

Hello, we're very sorry for your experience during your free trial with TimeSolv. However, we feel compelled to answer some of your most pointed criticisms. As you'll see by looking at other reviews of TimeSolv, your experience was truly an exception. The rep you worked with has been singled out over and over from various customers for the exact opposite attributes you described. Many, many customers laud her for her professionalism and her exceptional product knowledge. We're confident her knowledge of legal billing and TimeSolv and our integration with QuickBooks are second to none. While demonstrating our features, she made a point of asking if the data in the system was demo data and not for real, active clients. At no time was Tiann told this TEST client housed real client information. We again apologize, but we stand behind our representative and our product and feel our 4.5/5 rating from over 289 reviews on Capterra/Get App backs that up.

Stephanie
Legal Assistant in US
Legal Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great Product & Great Service

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: From day one I was able to use this software that is how user friendly it is! The support and staff are wonderful. I work a full time job and can only talk to the support staff after hours if I need something. The rep. we have is so wonderful she is always willing to speak to me after hours if I need anything!

Pros:

This software is easy to use, all double click and choose. Easy to add/create new matters, bills and clients.

Cons:

I would like to see more fillable fields for your templates. That is one thing I like about Amicus are the templates and all the choices for fillable fields to create template letters, pleadings and more.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ease of Use and Cost Savings

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

What I like most about TimeSolv is the ease of use. Because the software is so easy to use and intuitive, we have been able to eliminate an administrative position, thereby realizing those savings in addition to the cost savings as compared to our prior time keeping solution. Also very impressed with the support and training that is offered when we have needed it.

Cons:

Believe it or not, we really don't have any complaints about this software. Whenever there has been a "missing" feature, TimeSolv support have been able to show us where the feature is and train us on how to use it.

Jeffrey D.
Jeffrey D.
Managing Attorney in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Law Practice
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Full Service Time and Billing System

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Time and Billing system is greatly simplified, predictable, and cloud based. We've cut our time keeping time down, and made the system cloud based and accessible from outside our office. Love the Iphone/Android app.

Pros:

Ease of use. We switched from a desktop version of Sage TimeSlips to TimeSolv, I was used to dealing with frequent database corruptions, and strange errors. We didn't experience any in the change over, which was super easy. Billing is straight forward, and it's pay per time keeper, with no extra charges for admin staff who query the database or enter time for charged professionals. You can add or subtract time keepers at any time, and the bill is automatically updated with the next monthly charge. There is no pro-ration for partial months.

Cons:

Reports need to be generated online and then downloaded as PDF files. The core functionality to generate reports has been well thought out, but the actual user experience in reviewing those reports could definitely be improved. Frankly, we've been disappointed in the lack of online reporting which is really the standard for this type of product.

Susan
Office Manager in US
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Love TimeSolv!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with TimeSolv is very positive. I always know exactly where I am on time entry, billing, and expense entry. It's easy to use. For example, I can run a ledger entries report when I'm on the phone with a client trying to determine total hours or expenses, making it possible for me to immediately answer any questions.

Pros:

We use TimeSolv for all our time entry, legal billing and I use it daily for client expense entry. I like that I can run reports on Ledger Entries, Expense Entries, etc., at any time. I also think TimeSolv's customer support is excellent. Every time I've had to call for support, I've ended up learning a new function of TimeSolv from the rep helping me.

Cons:

Although I've been using TimeSolv for three years, I still find client invoices extremely confusing, as do most of our clients. I spend a lot of time on the phone when clients call in because they don't understand their invoice.

Julie
Attorney in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Love this billing solution

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: I've been using TimeSolv since I started my own law practice over 5 years ago. My first day in my own office, I got a free 30-day subscription to Quick Books, but I found that it was not conducive to a law practice so I went online looking for something else. I was really glad I did because I found TimeSolv and I've been very happy with it. They include a 90-minute tutorial with a live person so you feel like you get started out on the right foot, then if you have questions, they are always available to help. For about the first year or so, I had to call every month when I was doing my invoices since there was usually something I hadn't done before so needed assistance, but they are always very nice about walking me through it. There's one thing I would change if I could, and that is that a bill gets automatically generated for a client every month until there is a zero balance, even if I added no billable time that particular month. I bill on the first of every month for the previous month, and if I send a client a bill that does not get fully paid off before the next bill goes out, and I haven't done any new work for that client that month, then a new bill doesn't automatically generate. However, I like to send out a bill every month just because I won't receive any further payments unless I do so. I have to "trick" the system into generating a bill by putting an expense on and then deleting it. This is a cumbersome solution so I would rather the system do it on its own. Other than that, though, the system is very user friendly and I have no complaints. Before going on my own, I was at a firm for 8 years and we had a bookkeeper to do all our invoices. When I went solo, I was a little apprehensive about having to do it all myself. Timesolv makes it very easy though, and I tell other lawyers about it all the time. Thanks for a great product!

James
President in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

We use this to keep track of our time and expenses to bill clients of the law firm.

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: Over more than 35 years operating a law practice I have had to implement and use different methods to keep track of time spent working on the client's case and the expenses that were incurred. Out of all of the resources that have been available the most efficient, flexible, and economical has been Time Solve. Occasionally improvements will be made to the program and you may have to take a few minutes to learn them, but if you have the least problem, you can either email or phone Time Solve staff and if you do not immediately speak with a representative you will talk you through the problem, you can be certain that within a few hours or less you will have a response and the help you need. I am not tech savvy and the people who work with me are not much better, but we all have been able to learn to work with Time Solve. Most importantly, it has allowed us to increase our billing time by including time while we are doing the work or if work was not included at the time it was performed, to enter into the client's records and create a draft copy of the bill to review, check for accuracy and then send to the client. Besides, Time Solve will send out the bills for you by either email, U.S. mail, or both if you prefer. It is a great service that has made me a more relaxed attorney because I have solid computer back up if a bill is questioned and the ease of keeping track of my time and which clients demand the most of it.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Wonderful software that's lead to a huge increase in our productivity

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Firstly, TimeSolv has an amazing 30-day free trial, more than enough time to decide whether it suites your operations. Secondly, using it is very simple and fast, it's always a pleasant experience.

Cons:

Not many that we can think of. On some occasions there are delays in pulling updates online, but it's an extremely mild inconvenience that we rarely experience.

Julie
Legal Assistant in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Simple and Quick. Overall a good product.

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: I went from using Tabs software to Timesolv this year. Timesolv is more user-friendly, but lacks some of the features of other, more complicated billing tools. For example, there is no report or feature that enables the user to sort clients by their assigned identification numbers. We use a number system that is designed focus on recent clients and matters, and without the ability to sort them, it makes our billing and analyses a little tougher. In general, however, our billing process has become more simplified, as more users can access it remotely. It is easy to add clients, easy to submit time entries, and easy to create, edit and finalize invoices.

Ken
Partner (Attorney) in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Reasonably priced time keeping software

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: I have used Timesolv for several years. It is significantly less expensive than its competitors and for the most part provides all that I need as an attorney. Customer service is first rate--I have even had responses to weekend queries. The interface is not user friendly. Finding information is sometimes difficult and the index or table of contents is of limited value. It does not use enough variations on terms. One can always call and get a prompt, spot on answer, but the interface could be better.

Judith
Principal in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Excellent and Easy to Use!

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: Before switching to TimeSolv, I was using TimeSlips software--it was terrible--it never worked and it took hours and hours to get customer service to fix problems. TimeSolv works effortlessly. It is designed intuitively so that you can start using it with almost no instruction. I have only needed to call customer service one or twice, and they have always been extraordinarily nice and could always answer my question immediately. I LOVE THIS PRODUCT!!!! I highly recommend it to all lawyers.

Darci
Opertations Manager in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Small business hero

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: TimeSolv has be a great platform for our Fine Art Consulting business. Files are easy to set up and the fact that it's web based makes it very simple for our field consultants to get their time and expense entered accurately and timely no matter where they are. We have really appreciated the ability to customize all the possible entries to our specific needs. Billing our clients is quick and easy and the invoices are simple for our clients to understand.
Thank you TimeSolv!

David
Attorney in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Excellent in all ways. I highly recommend it to others.

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: Very easy to use. The resulting client invoices are accurate, complete and easy to understand. Most importantly, my time required to prepare my monthly fee invoices has been reduced and the process streamlined, and my monthly billing is not as onerous as it used to be thanks to TimeSolv, which is constantly trying to improve the software even further. Customer support has been outstanding, with live people to talk with usually immediately. Very much appreciated.

Dean
Attorney in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Outstanding in everyway.

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: TimeSolv is a wonderful solution for time and billing requirements of law offices and other types of licensed professional practices. TimeSolv provides strong security safeguards to protect confidential data and information. TimeSolv is easy to use, in many way intuitive, and supported by office staff who are always available to provide prompt friendly service. And best of all, TimeSolv is very affordable. Try it, you'll like it!

Andrew
Attorney in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Love it

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: TimeSolv helped me get my billing in order, and condensed what sometimes took me a full week into something I can finish up during morning coffee. It does a lot. So much so that it was actually daunting at first, but the customer service people did an amazing job helping me learn how it works. The more familiar I become with it, the more I like it. The desktop app (TimeSynch) is especially useful.

Patricia
Owner in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Easy-to-use billing software perfect for both small and large firms alike

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: I own a small legal consulting company and I was one of the early users of TimeSolv. From the beginning, I have had the most amazing customer experience with them. Very helpful and always responsive. They have also listened to my feedback and incorporated improvements to the software as the company grew. The product has been perfect to meet my needs!

Kari
Office Manager in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Exemplary Product and Service

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: I could not run this law office so efficiently without Timesolv. Nicole Smith has been my (Tech Coach) :) and has done an outstanding job. She helped me .... NO held my hand when it was only me switching our Houston office from Sage to Timesolv. I highly recommend Timesolv and will refer any professionals I know looking!

Risa
Principal in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Perfect for Brand-New Sole Practitioner

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: I signed up for TimeSolv at the recommendation of another attorney when I launched my new solo legal practice. I was quickly able to grasp how to use the system. Whenever I've had a question, I immediately had access to helpful customer service reps who solved my issues. Great system for solos!

Evelyn
Office Manager in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

User friendly so far

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: I've only used TimeSolv a few times. However, I do like the Expense feature. I came from a law firm setting to a PR agency setting and we utilize expense expenditures. Even though the law firm I came from had a time billing system, it didn't have an expense feature.

Bonnie
Senior IP Paralegal in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Easy to Use Software

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: This product is easy to use. I would like to see the time and expenses in one location. Switching from one to the other and having to add the c/m numbers becomes time consuming. But overall the product is a good one. East to run reports, too.

Tomasz
Landscape designer in Canada
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Generally excellent experience

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: The user interface is very intuitive and easy to use. I've never experienced any glitches or errors. Overall I've had a positive experience working with TimeSolv and I've been able to keep track of all of my work.

Mitchell
Partner in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Easy, Effective, Flexible, Professional

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: We have used TimeSolv for our billing for over 10 years. It is easy to use, there are many analytics that are very helpful, and the invoices are highly flexible and look extremely professional.

Colin
Landscape Architect in Canada
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Good Service

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: My experience with the software has been great so far, I have no complaints. It's fast, easy to use and provides our company with a time tracking system better than most.