15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Marketo Engage

Powerful, easy to use marketing automation software that helps generate qualified leads and translate marketing spending into revenue.

Learn more about Marketo Engage

Pros:

This task is accomplished through their easy to use user interface and dashboard which can report the necessity to upgrade target key search words and title tags.

Cons:

Some of the systems can be quite hard to understand at first.

Marketo Engage ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Service
3.9
Features
4.3
Value for Money
3.8

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Marketo Engage has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 706 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Marketo Engage before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (706)

Jana
Jana
Senior Director Of Marketing in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A top-tier marketing automation service.

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: With Adobe Marketo Engage, we can now automate our lead marketing cycle and zero in on the most likely customers. As a result, we were able to do more and see better outcomes. The quality of reports must increase. Email layout and scripting are two areas that might use a lot more work. Even though solutions like Integration LaunchPoint are great for processing campaigns and automating other tasks, they may benefit from being more easily integrated with other apps.

Pros:

Unlike with competitors like Hubspot and Pardot, users are not limited in the ways they may approach program and campaign administration. Adobe continues to put resources into improving its add-ons and compatibilities. Marketo serves as our central center for all of our marketing efforts, and we're working to integrate Adobe and other natively linked products in the near future.

Cons:

Marketo is harder to compete with because of all the moving parts it has. There is also a learning curve associated with making the most of Marketo. Marketo requires a dedicated staff member in order to function properly.

Emma
Emma
Senior Director Product Marketing in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Definitely one of the top Marketing automation tools out there.

4.0 9 months ago

Comments: Marketo Engage is our primary email management solution; we process a high amount of messages daily, and the software helps us stay on top of everything while also automating our responses to clients and providing them with a faster turnaround time and more focus. It is also used to handle promotional emails and social media platforms, where we provide all of our products and services in a dynamic and effective manner. In addition, it serves us well in the billing department since it allows us to fully automate the sending of electronic bills to our clients.

Pros:

Marketo has some of the greatest email marketing tools I've used, including an intuitive email editor and the option to try out dynamic content. It also provides thorough information on your email's deliverability. In fact, consumers may be graded and scored so that they can be researched and analyzed by different departments, making it a great choice for customer management. The software has a straightforward layout and is comfortable to use. In particular, I'd like to call attention to the reports, as we are able to provide individualized information on the job that is being carried out, and how they may be supplemented by social networks for the purpose of running marketing campaigns with a calendar option and webinars.

Cons:

Though I believe Marketo Engage to be the most comprehensive and best-suited solution for businesses today, I believe there is always potential for growth in features like connectivity with Salesforce, and I also believe that we need tutorials. The present learning curve is steep due to the complexity of the interface, which makes it difficult for those with less knowledge to use the program. The in-built reports are highly comprehensive, but they are difficult to analyze, thus we need more tools within the program.

Nzole
Junior researcher in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Pros and cons of Marketo Engage

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

i like that the tool is scalable and has a load set of comprehensive features which helps us deal with email marketing and customer engagement.

Cons:

The user interface is relatively not friendly and might be challenging for new users.

Julia
Marketing CRM Coordinator in US
Law Practice, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Marketo Mayhem

1.0 5 years ago

Comments: Our marketing team had a horrible experience after using Marketo for a year and switched to HubSpot. It was the best decision we have made and we are not using Marketo again.

Pros:

Marketo had a lot of potential in terms of its lead tracking, automated workflows and contact management capabilities. We were thrilled to be on board with using the application, but soon realized we would never get to use the extra bells and whistles it offered since the core components were a constant frustration. It's also a very expensive platform.

Cons:

Marketo provides templates for emails and landing pages that are difficult to customize, especially with our company logo and branding. We constantly were hitting road blocks and their support always very slow to respond days later after a technical issue was reported.

Ogarekpe
Implementation Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Superb tool to transform your marketing efforts

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: This tool is a game changer in elevating your marketing efforts and driving engagement.

Pros:

It has robust personalization features that are instrumental in enabling us to produce content that is relevant to our customers leading to effective marketing campaigns. Thanks to this tool we are able to save important resources and valuable time through its marketing automation features of tasks.

Cons:

Its advanced customisation features have a high learning curve and require ample training and vendor support to use them appropriately.

Whitney
Director of DG in US
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Marketo powers our entire marketing team

4.0 last year

Comments: Marketo is the platform that powers our entire marketing campaigns and performance. It allows us to understand the impact marketing is having on overall bottom line.

Pros:

It's incredibly robust, so you're able to manage the entiretly of your marketing campaigns within Marketo: audience creation, lead scoring, emails, landing pages, content management, automation and sync to salesforce. Bizible ensures everything a prospect or customer does is tracked in Salesforce so we understand the impact marketing has on revenue.

Cons:

It's clunky because it's legacy. It's not an easy tool to navigate or manage. It requires coding to build landing pages and their templates aren't great (pro-tip: use Unbounce and connect to Marketo). Because Marketo is so robust, when you build automation and audiences and campaigns, you can get overwhelmed and lost.

Stephen
Senior researcher in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

All-in-one marketing and lead generation solution

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

I like that the tool provides a centralized and flexible solution to handle email marketing and lead generation

Cons:

The learning curve is complex especially to people new to marketing.

Winnie
Research assistant in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The best marketing solution-Marketo Engage

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

I I like the flexibility that comes with the tool which helps us to scale our marketing activities

Cons:

The tool works perfectly and we have not encountered any technicalities

Ephantus
Project Manager in US
Management Consulting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

My Experience With Marketo Engage

5.0 last month New

Pros:

It makes content management easy Has amazing content delivery features

Cons:

No issues as Marketo Engage has been amazing.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A fair platform for CRM engagement

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: A fair tool overall for all CRM needs
This helps multitasking with other tools.

Pros:

1. Easy to use and deploy 2. AI command is good 3. Mobile friendly 4. Safe to use keeping GDPR in mind

Cons:

1. UX is average 2. Hard to integrate 3. Frequent updates required

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Public Relations & Communications, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Flexible and Adaptable, Best for Technical Users

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The depth of configurability has been a huge benefit for our organization, a global enterprise company with a complex international business structure. While there are challenges in terms of getting users up to speed, much of what we accomplish we could not have done on our previous systems in terms of the complexity of scoring, routing, and lead management.

Pros:

The ability to customize and scale has been the biggest benefit of Marketo, paired with the levels of complexity that can be used to refine audiences and reporting in ways that cannot be acheived in other platforms.

Cons:

There is a significant rampup and onboarding period, the tool is designed for a more technical user, which can cause some frustrations and leads to a learning curve

Nitanshi
Nitanshi
Assistant Vice President in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

An excellent Marketing Automation tool and very easy to use

4.0 last year

Comments: Marketo is expensive but if you want enterprise automation platform and you are heavily focused on automation its the platform to go. You should have one very good marketo expert but once the implementation is done properly it runs very smoothly.

Pros:

Marketo is easy to use once implemented well. The set-up, filters, data management etc is very intuitive and caters well to automate customer journey mapping, email marketing, lifecycle management, lead scoring etc. It is easily integratable with most CRM, other analytics tools, social media platforms etc. which makes it easy to build a unified martech stack.

Cons:

Marketo's analytics section has very limited customization. Unlike SFDC which is heavy on customization, the same is not possible on Marketo. If yo want to build dashboards etc. you need another tool which is also not very easy with all platforms. Additionally, while the helpdesk is responsive, customer service in general is not as great! They also don't come up with upgrades that often or atleast dont communicate it to customers. Its more self-help system here. Last but not the least, their trainings and certifications are super expensive.

Emanuela
Digital Operations Director, Marketing in Italy
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

My experience with Marketo

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Marketo is a great marketing tool that allows automating repetitive marketing activities. I am using Marketo since 4 years. We use it to improve our lead generation process and we integrated Marketo with Salesforce. We are using Marketo Forms embedded on our website to get the personal information, track the activities done by leads and notify the sales reps. We are able to track campaigns (members are synced to Salesforce campaigns) and lead sources to measure effectiveness of marketing activities. We created a series of program templates that can be replicated to manage events, webinars, newsletters or email blastings. Cloning the templates all our marketers can start a new program easily customizing just the details, without errors and saving time. I want to mention a powerful feature that I use daily - smart lists - they allows to target a specific audience and continuously been fed with new members that match the criteria.

Cons:

- Integration with MS Dynamics: we started with MS dynamics CRM and the integration is not seamless as the integration with Salesforce. We had unresolved issues for 3 years until we decided to move our CRM to Salesforce. - Consulting Services: we started our project with direct Marketo consulting services but our project manager was not responsive and we had the impression that each PM had too many customers to manage and do not have the time to dedicate the right effort to each project. For this reason, we moved our project to an external consultant firm and the results are much better. - Support: the response time of the standard support is not quick and usually it takes some days to resolve it. - Landing pages: it is missing a validation workflow on the thank you pages (to be sure that those who will access the thank you page have successfully filled-out the form included in the landing page) - Reporting: the reports are very basics

Praveen
Software Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Marketo: An Ultimate Platform for marketing!

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The reason why I referred the application as an ultimate platform is that it gathers all information about your digital marketing campaigns emails, online forms, marketing material etc. at a single place. It is a user-friendly interface which is easily understandable by you and it has a very brilliant capability of automating almost everything. In this, one can build a variety of things like email templates, landing pages, etc. It supports multi-touch campaigns and multichannel. It is broad and very useful for CRM Integration and most importantly Analytics. It increases efficiency in a variety of ways (like the ability to create a tokenized template) as well as its Lead management process is also brilliant!! Its capabilities are very vast, Comprehensive campaigns capabilities are one of them.

Cons:

Here are a few cons which shouldn’t be ignored. Reporting of Analytics of Marketo is very bad and in addiction smart list designs are not flexible and it is very difficult to design them. Most importantly it is not within the range of all types of people, as its rates are little bit higher. Its interface should be improved for new users as well as some software bugs should also be fixed regarding auto-saving. It loads the previewing list very slowly. Its Spam Identification feature also very poor as well as email and landing page analytics are also not enough. But at last, I want to say that the major issue with it, is regarding its speed of loading the application which needs a lot of improvement

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The best marketing automation system but becoming dated

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Marketo is a robust platform built to scale. It is highly flexible and packed with integrations and features to helps you orchestrate your marketing strategy and automate the execution and tracking of many campaigns.

Cons:

Other competitors are fast becoming more innovative solutions, with Marketo every new feature is an add-on that costs yet more money.

Ana
Ana
Security Architecture Discipline leader in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

I think it's a tool that has enough features to power marketing activities.

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: It's a deep tool, so it can be a bit difficult to use it perfectly, but with a lot of manual knowledge and an external community, we have an environment where you can easily leverage Marketo's performance. Also, for content such as emails and LPs that are used for marketing measures, once a template is created, all that's left is to combine each part like a jigsaw puzzle, so the speed of content creation has increased dramatically. not having coding skills like HTML can create high-quality content.

Pros:

Marketo Engage can intuitively set the focus for leads and customers, so it was easy to use even for me, who has little marketing experience. The integration with Salesforce is well developed, so both implementations will create synergies. In addition, it is possible to connect to other systems via Webhook, and this can also be sufficiently configured by reading the manual published by Adobe.

Cons:

When searching for content on Marketo, the search capability is low and it can be difficult to find the desired content, so it would be helpful if you could improve that as well.

Emanuela
Director of Marketing
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

My experience with Marketo

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: We are using Marketo across the whole organization to improve and automate our marketing activities. We are using it at corporate level as well as in each operation (US, UK, DACH, France, Italy, APAC, etc). We improved ability to attract new leads and the engagement of visitors on our website.

Pros:

- Workflow: the logic behind the workflows allows to automate manual activities - Lead gen: we improved the engagement of the visitors on our website and we manage the entire lead generation process on Marketo integrated with our CRM. - Programs: it is easy to create and manage emailing and nurture programs with the ability to set rules when the email should be sent. - Forms: we are using Marketo forms and we embedded them on our website.

Cons:

- Integration with Dynamics: after 3 years we still have some issues on the integration with MS Dynamics... the 2 systems are not well integrated. - Support: sometimes we had some issues with getting quick replies from support. - Landing pages: it is missing a validation workflow on the thank you pages (to be sure that those who will access the thank you page have successfully filled-out the form included in the landing page).

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Electronics, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Marketo - great marketing automation for larger marketing teams.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: When going through the demos & getting pricing from the Sales team make sure to fully understand their pricing. They've changed their pricing model in the past 18 months to be more a la carte so some features you may really like are additional costs. Depending on the size of your database this can start to really add up.
Marketo is not suitable for small marketing teams as it requires a ton of set up time & ongoing work to fully leverage its capabilities.

Pros:

Easy to track different engagement programs at every stage across multiple steps. Robust criteria for building lead nurturing. Like their lead scoring feature - great way to segment leads based on how they interact with you. Their real-time personalization feature is impressive. Great feature once it's configured correctly.

Cons:

The email builder is pretty basic. Leveraging the full capabilities requires a full-time internal resource. Steep learning curve. We needed to invest in a Marketo specialist to help with integration. Marketo is super expensive & that's before taking the extra cost of hiring a Marketo Specialist to help with implementation.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Comprehensive Marketing Automation

4.0 last year

Pros:

Marketo Engage offers lead management, email marketing, lead nurturing, campaign management, analytics, and more. It provides a robust set of tools to streamline and automate marketing processes.

Cons:

Marketo Engage can be complex, especially for new users or organizations without prior experience with marketing automation platforms.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Powerful and Effective

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I loved how granular I could dig into lead sources, seeing exactly where a lead came from by tracing the URL. I also liked how easy it was to tweak landing page or email template code.

Cons:

The price makes it unaffordable for many companies. We had great support and then they transferred support overseas and support quality went down.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Religious Institutions, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Big Boy of Marketing Autumation

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall - Marketo was killer! Onboarding was great and support with issues was helpful. My biggest advice would be to maximize their time on site by building funnels you actually can use!

Pros:

Marketo allows you to automate anything. Whatever action you want to trigger from - you can. We were a large publishing group sending millions of emails each month. We needed ways to segment and identify the exact user we wanted. Marketo gave us those tools to do that quickly and easily!

Cons:

Some of our team struggled to understand some of the terms and systems. It came very quick to some of the team and slower with others. I mention this because it seemed more like a mental block than ignorance. I also felt like we needed a developer to help make the dreams happen. It was just outside of our skillset so we needed some extra hands in the early days making all the connections perfect.

Miao
Marketing Director in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Very Powerful Leads Capture Tools

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Clone and use personalization templates at the program level is very useful. It's allowed us to develop best practice templates that we use and clone for all of the Marketo programs and campaigns that we build. This has allowed my team to achieve a significant time savings and more efficient.
Markteto is the center of all communications to our prospects and customers, it has been a very beneficial platform for our company due to its characteristics.

Pros:

I've used Marketo for more than 3 years. Marketo is a powerful tool that gives me the ability to market and track my marketing campaigns in a meaningful and scalable way. The integration with other platforms such as Salesforce and SDL Tridion is out-of-box and very helpful for us. It has a slight learning curve, but the training is pretty decent. The community is very useful and the user groups have been very welcoming.

Cons:

The classic user-interface is outdated, and the drag-and-drop function is not good as mentioned. Maybe cause I am in China, so the connection speed is very slow sometimes.

Janelle
Customer Relations Manager in UK
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Awesome solution for managing marketing campaigns all form one place

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Marketo's made it so much easier to run, monitor, and report on our marketing efforts. We have it synced with our social channels, ad channels, and email and SMS platforms. It's main benefit has definitey been the time we've saved with it. Without it, we'd have to design and run our campaigns all by hand, whereas now, you can just whip up a campaign and run it across several platforms with one click. Other than that, it performs relatively well, has a lot of integrations, and isn't too overly priced. Would definitely recommend overall.

Pros:

1. We didn't have to set up a single API connection to integrate Marketo with our marketing platforms. We were able to connect our tools with it very very quickly thanks to the native integrations. 2. The campaign monitoring works great and has a lot of customization options. We can easily navigate between campaign types and we were able to add a lot of additional metrics onto the reports that weren't available out of the box.

Cons:

There's the odd issue with reports syncing late or not workng properly, but other than that, we haven't had anything that caused much trouble so far.

Steve
Marketing Automation Manager in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Best MA Tool On The Market -- By FAR

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Marketo is by far the best MA tool on the market. I have used many. If you are looking at bringing an MA platform in house, do yourself a favor and go with Marketo.

Pros:

I have been in the MA space for over 5 years. This is the BEST tool on the market. The best thing about is its relative ease of use. Yes, mastering it and making the most of it takes time. But the bottom line is anyone can learn Marketo, and all it takes is time. Other tools require technical knowledge outside of the platform (such as coding, scripting, SQL). But to use Marketo, you don't need any outside technical skill -- just a commitment to learning Marketo. It has an incredible user-friendly interface, integrates easily with other tools, and really adds to internal marketing's tool set.

Shahid
Business Developer- Sales Ops in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Marketo beats every platform in the peer space.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We just love this platform, it has improved our Sales-Marketing initiatives and we are able to achieve best results.

Pros:

Lead Management- Marekto has helped us improve our lead management with better lead scoring parameters and tracking the movement of each lead help us drive sales. Marketing campaigns- We are able to successfully deliver our email marketing campaigns and achieve high results, With Marketo we justify the ROI on marketing spend. The email templates, the email scheduler, analytics, different dashboards are great feature and can boost your productivity.

Cons:

This is the best platform, having said that it needs training to use more efficiently. So a training is required for new user to make optimal use of it.