Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3.7/5
  • Customer Service
    3.8/5

About Genius Project

Enterprise class project project management software with a built-in social collaboration platform. The smart solution for projects.

Learn more about Genius Project

Showing 78 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Construction
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 06/09/2016

"Extreemly configurable Solution"

Comments: This software we continuous configure ourselfe to fit to our business. Implementation, Configuration and Go-life you can manage within 4-6 weeks. Most colleague could identify themselfe and their daily work with this very fast.

Pros: Full configurable. Huge number of functions. You can get personal support. Negotiate an extended SLA.

Cons: Training is recommended.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 06/09/2016
Theo W.
IT Director
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2017

"Good support for complex projects"

Comments: Genius solution supports very well the process for managing complex projects. In addition, Genius gives good adequate support to users

Pros: All the project components for both activities, budget and participants

Cons: Integration of the Gant card is not optimal

Vendor Response

by Cerri.com on 16/03/2017

Thanks for the positive feedback, Theo!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2017
Sebastien I.
PMO Manager
Computer Hardware, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    2/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/11/2016

"Use it since one year now! "

Comments: It's a good product, with real powerful features regarding PPM needs. Just need to evolve regarding the ergonomy, and the accessibility, no real mobile client!

Pros: Powerful features for project management

Cons: Old fashioned, not the kind of software we can expect in 2016 regarding the ergonomy and accessibility, no real mobile application. Interface heavy when you navigate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/11/2016
Andre A.
Industrial Automation, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    2/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/11/2016

"Customer support"

Comments: ´The Support provided by developers and Consultants could get from me 5 stars. However, the Commercial part is very weak. Simple questions related to Commercial things takes sometimes over 2 months to be answered although we pay an extra value for higher Quality.

Pros: Structure to manage projects

Cons: Instability, Performance, too many bugs, functions which does not work, etc.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/11/2016
Aaron P.
Head of Project Portfolio Management
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2017

"Genius Project - PM Tool"

Comments: Evaluated Genius as an option for implementing a new PM tool enterprise wide. Spent a month using the tool to consider its fit for business need and ease of use for an organisation that has immature PM standards.

Pros: Easy to setup.
Simple to learn / quite intuitive.
Fits with an immature PM culture where people have little / poor PM experience.
Does the basics of project management well.
Company are easy to deal with.

Cons: Generally a good product . Just lacks a little on the portfolio side (requires a better interface and more reporting to sell portfolio management on accepting the tool).

Vendor Response

by Cerri.com on 16/03/2017

Hi Aaron,
Thanks for the review. I'm curious how long you used the tool for - we have very string portfolio management capabilities!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2017
Gelson H.
Project manager
Food Production, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/11/2016

"Genius in Brazil"

Comments: We are using Genius about 5years, the software is very useful and you can manage your portfolio easily. In my point of view, Genius need to find a way to turn faster to access datas in the cloud, in Brazil some regions don't have high speed internet letting people upseted because the time to update the infos.

Vendor Response

by Cerri.com on 03/11/2016

Hi Gelson,
Thanks for your positive review. I will make sure your feedback about data access in slower internet regions is sent to right person.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/11/2016
Pratik T.
project head
Machinery, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2017

"a tremendous software to use and very politely use all the level person."

Comments: it's quite easy to learn for new person to learn this software.
All the sections and sub-sections of this software have great functionality and the software is compatible with all versions of windows.
even any person can run this software easily.

Pros: all functions
edit ability of all points with given exact time period

Cons: not give proper valuation of price with actual data edited.

Vendor Response

by Cerri.com on 16/03/2017

Thank you for the feedback, Pratik!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2017
Dan S.
Dir Project Management
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/11/2016

"Dir of Project Management"

Comments: Good overall app, many feature so it makes it a little complicated to do easy stuff. Support is sometimes great and sometimes so-so. Overall if you do heavy project management this is a good system.

Vendor Response

by Cerri.com on 03/11/2016

Thanks a lot Dan! Glad it's working out for you.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/11/2016
Nick K.
Manufacturing Engineer
Consumer Electronics, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2017

"Excellent software"

Comments: Our small company found this software to be a vital tool in our daily operations. Its interface is easy to use and is perfect for small teams to collaborate. Assigning tasks to people is easy and we are getting a lot more done since we started using Genius Project software.

Pros: The interface is easy to use once you get used to it.

Cons: There's a bit of a learning curve when you first start out.

Vendor Response

by Cerri.com on 16/03/2017

Thanks, Nick!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2017
Abhishek A.
Product Manager
Consumer Electronics, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 17/04/2018
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 17/04/2018
Paul A.
System Analyst
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2017

"Very intuitive "

Comments: I have seen many Project Management tools. Genius Project surpasses most. I have used Jira and they are excellent but it is extremely expensive. Genius Project is excellent for small to medium company. The product it self descriptive and easy to learn.

Pros: excellent product. Very intuitive

Cons: None

Vendor Response

by Cerri.com on 16/03/2017

Thanks for the great feedback, Paul! We're so glad you enjoy using our solution.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2017
Franck C.
Manager
Civil Engineering, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2017

"Interresting tool"

Comments: Using this for PPM processes. Including some gantts fonctions. Everything was quite ok so far.
Upgrade was done in our test environment.

Vendor Response

by Cerri.com on 16/03/2017

Thanks, Franck!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2017
Guy C.
  • Overall Rating
    1/5
  • Ease of Use
    1/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    2/5
  • Value for Money
    2/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2017

"Experience with GeniusProject"

Comments: My company wanted an easy to use project management application for supporting Prince2. The demonstration made by the genius team convinced us that this software could support our company business. Unfortunately, the experience we have done shown tap GeniusProject is very complex to configure, not user friendly at all and complex to use. Therefore we decided to stop using GeniusProject and come back to excel document.

Pros: The amount of functionalities

Cons: The complexity of configuration, the user interface that is not user fondly, the amount of small bugs that annoy the user and the lack of integration between the configuration menus.

Vendor Response

by Cerri.com on 24/01/2017

Dear Mr. Corbaz,

Thank you for your comments and review.

Since you purchased the product only a few weeks ago, we aren't finished with the implementation and your staff has not yet been trained to use Genius Project, it¿s not possible to provide the feedback that you¿ve given here. It seems there¿s a gap between the maturity of your processes and that which you presented to us. Prince2, Risk Management, and the other mature PM requirements that you mentioned are exactly the kind of needs that our solution addresses. Configuration is an initial process and not a daily effort. Subsequent minor modifications can be carried out without difficulty, since the parameterization does not require any particular computer knowledge and is documented in the Administrator manual. The issue seems to be one of change management. Your users may be more accustomed to managing projects in Excel. We are here to assist you with training and a prioritization of the functions to be implemented.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2017
Horace M.
Project Manager
Medical Practice, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/12/2016

"Genius PM review"

Comments: I used the product for the 1st time because it was in use at a new company I joined. I had previously used MS Project. I liked that the Genius product was a SAAS solution, but it missed the integration I was used to in MS Project.

Pros: SAAS with access for team members

Cons: Lack of integration with SharePoint

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/12/2016
Claudia A.
Project Manager
Financial Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    2/5
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    2/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2017

"Genius project in Canada"

Comments: Reporting feature and working with aggregated project data is a challenge in Genius Project. Reports need customization above the iff-the-shelf features along with an in-house Genius admin resource to develop/customize reporting.

Pros: User interface

Cons: Not robust to capture detailed project data.

Vendor Response

by Cerri.com on 16/03/2017

Hi Claudia,
Thanks for your review. I would like to assure you that Genius Project is highly customizable. If you have any questions about how to do this, please contact your sales rep who will be happy to assist you with this!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2017
Stephanie E.
Assistant Director of Marketing
Marketing & Advertising, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2017

"Robust project management software "

Comments: Provides a robust way to keep track of project, ideas, and manage resources; however, working in higher ed, we were looking for more of a ticketing solution. For an independent marketing/advertising firm, this would be a great tool to utilize with access to reports and dashboards to gain insight to projects and their statuses.

Pros: Reporting, dashboard, project outlook

Cons: We wanted a ticketing solution that would integrate and can then assign projects to an employee.

Vendor Response

by Cerri.com on 16/03/2017

Thanks for your feedback, Stephanie! We do have quite the strong reporting capabilities and dashboards!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2017
Kaushal A.
Business Analyst
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2017

"The layout and presentation of the projects are very fine, easy to find require information"

Comments: Its very easy for me get current status of project and also I can find the past report of a task and project.

Pros: The features I like the most are gantt charts and projects portfolio management and invoicing is also a vital part of an organization.

Cons: As for now, there is no such feature Iike least in this project management system. However, the help desk section by displaying important things on the top

Vendor Response

by Cerri.com on 24/07/2017

Thanks a lot for your positive review Kaushal! We're so glad to hear you're enjoying your experience using Genius Project.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2017
Alex D.
Business Development Manager
Textiles, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    2/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/11/2016

"Trialed this software: Impressed but overpriced"

Comments: I trialed Genius Project to see if it could meet my company's needs for project management for our new product development. Overall I was impressed with what the software could do, how helpful the CS was and how it could integrate with other software we already have. That said, as a small business with somewhat limited needs on the project management front this was too expensive for us to move forward with. Bottom Line: If all you do it Project Management it is probably worth the money no matter your company size, if it is a part-time thing, look for cheaper alternatives.

Pros: Functionality and ease of use

Cons: Price and sometimes too many options/functions for relatively inexperienced project managers.

Vendor Response

by Cerri.com on 03/11/2016

Hi Alex,

Thanks for your honest review. Our product is definitely suited for mid to large sized enterprises. For a smaller company, we would probably recommend a lighter product with less features and functionality. Genius Project really is a complete solution for project-oriented companies!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/11/2016
Leon I.
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 18/11/2011

"A good way to maintain communication with your team members"

Comments: With Genius Project it is so easy to find the perfect person for a specific function because you can filter your search by factors such as experience, skills and availability. You will receive a reduced list of candidates and you can make the final selection. Genius Project is also a good way to maintain communication with your team members. Since we use Genius Project everyone is involved in the project and is able to stay in touch from any computer or mobile device. Most of this web based online project management system is intuitive but a little bit difficult to navigate. But once you are familiarized with all the features and tools it is a well-rounded application.

Pros: Genius Project gives you the possibility to set automatic email updates to notify users regarding any changes

Cons: It took me some time to understand the navigation toolbar

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 18/11/2011
Kunal M.
Technical Analyst (Premier)
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    2/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/11/2016

"Had a chance to run with this in previous job at panasonic"

Comments: I had certainly expected it to be buggy as with most notes backend, It did prove me wrong. I found the CRM portion quite useful and would have appreciated more homogeneity with other notes based PM software but given an opportunity I would roll it the red carpet in my current organization as well. Hope and wish that it stands up to big players like Salesforce and Peregrine.

Vendor Response

by Cerri.com on 03/11/2016

Hi Kunal,
Thanks for your positive feedback. We do not compete with Salesforce or Peregine as our business is not in CRM but more in Enterprise Project Management.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/11/2016
Diane M.
IT PMO Consulting
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2017

"Diane's take"

Comments: I was impressed from the first time I used this application. I am an avid user of all project management software as I've managed PMOs throughout my 25 year professional career. The application is end-user friendly and the navigation is not complex so easy to learn.

Pros: ease of use, affordable, simple infrastructure to understand

Cons: perhaps develop the next layer of bells and whistles to further enhance this product.

Vendor Response

by Cerri.com on 16/03/2017

Thanks for the great feedback, Diane!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2017
Otis Q.
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/11/2016

"Genius Project on Capterra "

Comments: Accomplished IT leader with more than 18-year experience in leading technology teams, meeting business objectives through IT strategy and execution, developing innovation solutions and implementing and operation complex systems. Delivers standards improvement and procedures creation in the following key areas: RFP/RFQ requirements definition and responses, systems and software evaluation, cost determination and tracking, procurement, asset tracking and finance management. Specialties: Enterprise software, project management, process improvement, infrastructure, business intelligence, reporting and ITIL.

Vendor Response

by Cerri.com on 03/11/2016

Hi Otis,
Thank you for the positive review.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/11/2016
Maggie C.
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    1/5
  • Features & Functionality
    2/5
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2017

"Works Well, But Not For Me"

Comments: This application works well for what it is. It just wasn't what our team was looking for. We needed more of a task management tool (less project management), that allowed for flexibility in custom fields and linking tasks across projects.

Vendor Response

by Cerri.com on 16/03/2017

Thanks for the review, Maggie. Our solution is quite flexible and adaptable to different industries, languages etc. That being said, you are right that Genius Project is much more of a project management software than task management! You may find our newest solution, Cerri Enterprise Apps much more suitable for your task management needs (www.cerri.com)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2017
Claudia A.
project manager
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    2/5
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    2/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2017

"Very simple interface with limited reporting capabilities "

Pros: User Interface has a good design and the steps to update project plans make sense in the workflow. It is not difficult to learn.

Cons: Not easy to update project plans, system response time is a bit slow. It is not intuitive to understand how projects are linked together, or find out which resources are working on what project.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2017
Jeff D.
Manager
Media Production, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/11/2016

"Loving this handy piece of software"

Comments: I have been using Genius Project for the last couple of months and it has been really useful and helpful in my day to day hectic life.

Pros: Easy to use, nice design

Cons: none

Vendor Response

by Cerri.com on 03/11/2016

Hi Jeff,
Thanks for this awesomely positive review!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/11/2016