15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About SpiraTest

A complete QA solution to help you write better requirements, manage your test cases, and track defects.

Learn more about SpiraTest

Pros:

The support team has been excellent. I really appreciate their prompt, courteous responses.

Cons:

If you don't use the software the way they expect, it can be difficult to work around it.

SpiraTest ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Service
4.4
Features
3.8
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

7.7/10

SpiraTest has an overall rating of 4.0 out of 5 stars based on 105 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used SpiraTest before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (105)

Segundo
Segundo
Google IT Support Specialist in Ecuador
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Spiratest Review

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Well besides the cost, the over all experience is great!!! The interface has nothing to be complained about.

Pros:

Excellent product!!! So easy to organize and manage your team. Creating requirements is quite simple . We can create software requirements and insert child features in an instant. Managing the priorities for your teams testing is a breeze with color coded priorities. Observing and handling your teams test steps is made easier to handle with the color coded labeling.

Cons:

The only thing that I can say is that it is expensive costing over $9k per year!! Also, you have to lie $40 a month for each concurrent user.

Inflectra Response

3 years ago

Thanks for the response, we're glad you like the product and features. On the pricing side, we are one of the few tools to price by concurrent user and we try and keep our prices to be one of the more affordable in the industry. Also the price per concurrent user decreases the more users you purchase.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Translation & Localization, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

SpiraTest, a one stop shop for Quality Management

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: As the company's SpiraTest administrator, I have been able to present the highlights to new users in 30 minute sessions, and that's how easy it is to get new users started on using the suite. The software is easy to use, but its only limitation is its lack of third-[arty integration to some popular software packages such as RemedyForce.

Pros:

SpiraTest is a little-known Quality Management suite, but it packs a lot under the hood. It is readily customizable, has an easily navigable UI, and its main modules are Planning )Requirements, Planning Board, Releases, Documents), Testing (Test Cases, Test Sets, Test Runs, Automation Hosts, and Configurations), Developing (Source Code, Commits, and Pull Requests) and Tracking (Incidents, Risks, Tasks, and Resources). The reports and graphs are intuitive and can be exported to a variety of formats for sharing and dissemination.

Cons:

The one glaring feature lacking in this software package is the limited of third-party integration it supports. Currently SpiraTest doesn't have a plug-in for Remedy Integration, although there is one for SalesForce.

Inflectra Response

2 years ago

Thanks for the review. Appreciate the feedback on 'Remedy' will pass that on.

Begonia
Senior Software QA, team lead in US
Medical Devices, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Love version 4 but we are unable to work with version 5

2.0 8 years ago

Comments: My rating above is for Spiratest version 5. We have used and loved Spiratest for the last three years but we are considering stop using after seeing version 5 features. We upgraded to version 5 months ago and we have to downgrade it because we found it unusable. I was hoping something has gone wrong with the upgrade and we started a trial version hosted by Inflecta so we could create a brand new project and work with any problems and issues with tech support. It turns out the original upgrade was working fine and what we thought were bugs turned out to be features. We can't work with projects that force our test cases to be ordered alphabetically. To upgrade to version 5 will cause us to spend a lot of time creating custom fields and assigning numbers so we can see the test cases in the order we like. In addition, we will need to write code so we can have a report that doesn't list the test cases in alphabetical order. It doesn't make sense to us to spend time and resources trying to make the new version work like the previous version. I am not opposed to software changes and I am always happy to see improvements in new versions but this is a showstopper for us. We are in the process of deciding whether we need to keep to paying our annual fee if we are not going to continue upgrading the software. Sorry, we loved your software but you lost us here.

Pros:

The colors

Cons:

See my previous comments

Inflectra Response

8 years ago

Hi Begonia Sorry that you didn't like the changes in v5.0. Unfortunately for every user that liked the way the old folders and test cases worked, a much larger number really didn't like them and found them cumbersome and confusing. That's why we did the redesign in v5.0 and most of our users are much happier. But as the old saying goes, you cannot please everyone! If you really need it to work the old way, then probably staying on v4.0 makes the most sense.

Rahul
Rahul
Test and Automation manager in Denmark
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

SpiraTest: Test and automation management tool

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: My overall experience has been good. It was one of tool which is easy to learn and get the work done.

Pros:

The way we can manage many project at a single place. The overall tracking of testing tasks. The defect management and tracking the defect from the time of raising to fixed, re tested and closure.

Cons:

The Automation capability could have been much more better. The UI can also be improved a little

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Test Management Service for Modern Ways of Working

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: It's a well-developed testing solution with a price model that beats many other product hands down. If you have testers who walk on to cover a project, then go back to their day jobs between testing cycles, give SpiraTest another look.

Pros:

I like the fact that a cloud-hosted version of the software is available.

Cons:

It can be a bit too rigid in the way it expects testing to be performed, which can be a barrier to getting things done. If you don't use the software the way they expect, it can be difficult to work around it.

Alejandra
Quality Assurance Lead
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Spira Test Version v2.1 has many functionalities of a Robust Testing Tool.

3.0 15 years ago

Comments: Spira Test Version v2.1 has many functionalities of a Robust Testing Tool, it is complex and has what a project needs to start testing, but it is difficult to implement and I can see project monitoring a little bit weak if the test execution was not correctly followed from the start. It would be good to see a few more features and clean up the UI to be able to have a better feeling of the projects you are currently working on. A concern is the security when using Jira integration, I don't think we need to personalize and configure every bit of the tool specially in installation files adding sensitive information should be left optional (like in other project settings). New features in the configuration management would also help to identify the items we are working on. Thanks for all your continuous support. Alejandra Gonzalez

Pros:

- Defects will open new ticket in Jira ( with new ID ) email notification will be set to Spira Test ID - Integration with documents from MS Office available in HTML, XML, Word and Excel formats. - Integrated with third party software: Available Jira Integration - Available to Import test cases from excel with provided SpiraTestImporterTemplate.xls - Highlights changes to requirements and test cases in History - Changes can trigger e-mail alerts or notification of users set up. - Updates are available for download in the website. - Monitor Environment and Resource Usage: Available in Application event logs from server to administrator - Can add attachments to requirements and test cases, but need to click on it to open it and the description is an alt tag to the name of file. - DB Backup options available to db administrator. - Tool support resources: Comprehensive on-line help, email, and examples supplied in demo trial.

Cons:

- Would like the User interface to be a little more friendly and easy to use. - Spira Test implementation needs to configure too many sensitive user information in the configuration file, would like to see another version that does not need this - Was not clear if the history of execution status is saved after many executions just saw some saved. - Email sent from Incidents created from Spira test makes tracking difficult, the subject of project. is not in the title of email, only the id, that is the next ID available for all projects. - Server performance issues, Spira Test requires too many resources. - Record and play not available in this Software version. - Need to update installation files (*.config) for each user that is using the tool. User setup and access process is too long.

Tejaswi
Test Engineer in Singapore
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Probably the best test management software available!

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Creating and and reusing test case is very simple. It helps teams communicate regarding test cases while performing QA duties. Integration are great and also you can undo deleting.

Cons:

UI can be imporved. The customization is not that great. Tracking modules can be improved, all these can be improved to make this good tool a great tool.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Very simple tool that works well within our organisation

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: The major benefit was the introduction of formalised test management processes that inherently increase the capability maturity of our organisation.

Pros:

Very easy to use and setup. The requirement management is suitable and integrates well with test management and incident management (defects). By far the best part of the software is that we get all this are a very reasonable price.

Cons:

Some inconsistencies with editing such as placing of 'save' button and the wording for those buttons that are moderately unintuitive. Custom Reporting would be nice and the reports in general need work; as does the exporting of graphs (which are all black).

Inflectra Response

6 years ago

Hello, Thank you for reviewing SpiraTest. We wanted you to know that we have released a new version of SpiraTest which includes a new Custom Graphing feature. We hope you will find it useful for your reporting needs.

Xavier
Quality and Test Architect Lead in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

You don't need to spend a lot of money in a Test Management Tool - Use SpiraTest

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Great usability. It has a lot of features, easy to configure and customize. We need to migrate our projects from HP QC/ALM to SpiraTest and it has a great tool to migrate everything (releases, traceability, requirements, test cases, executions, ...). We've tested in some projects and works great.

Cons:

It needs only more BI or reporting customization, but I think is enough now for most projects. Some other integrations will be great, like some tools for exploratory or acceptance testing (Microfocus Sprinter, ...).

Liberal
Liberal
Testing analyst in Tarjeta Naranja
Verified LinkedIn User
, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Very good test tool and the support is excellent

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: We have testing our health systems with trial Spira Test and Spira Team amd tjese `products meet all our nees, and We found will be a very good balance of cost and functionality and the support team of Inflectra Sales is excelent.They replied all my questions and issues with the Spira Team instalation.

Pros:

Spira Team is flexible and ease to use in destop or web system, in dot net technologies and IIS 7.5 We hope my companies will buy these producs The customers support is very good. The cost is very low alongside other products and very good benefits

Cons:

Have not found any yet

Guy
Senior QA Analyst in UK
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Varied feature set yet unintuitive to use

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Finding a suitable test management system isn't an easy thing to do and various of the features offered by SpiraTest in theory come off sounding like a good thing, in practice however it feels more like a battle when it comes to using it on a regular basis and sometimes leaves the user desiring simpler solutions, which may not offer this almost object-oriented like approach to reusable content, but are at least easier to learn and use.

Pros:

Can share and re-use test content Can create instances of a test that allow for snapshots relevant to the time of execution

Cons:

Tricky to learn / Not intuitive Interface doesn't make the re-use of test content as straight forward as it could be Attachment system can result in a messy collection of files stored within repository (and can then make selecting attachments tricky too)

Inflectra Response

5 years ago

I'm sorry that you found it harder to use SpiraTest than anticipated. We put significant effort into the UX to make it work for teams and projects of different sizes, and we will certainly listen to your feedback to see how we can do even better.

Arpit
Team Lead in India
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

It provide a good repository for Test Docs. Execution w.r.t. each release is very easy

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: very good test case repository
easy test execution
amazing reporting

Pros:

The Ui and Test Case structure is amazing, it has got folder structure so that users can setup the modules per folder per release. It has wonderful export and import feature where user can easily import the test cases from excel sheets

Cons:

It has very poor response time when user copies and paste the test cases. Sometimes there are no updates on screen initially and after two mins user see multiple copies of tests

Andrew
Freelance
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Great product at the price and brilliant support

4.0 15 years ago

Comments: I'd still go with the de-facto standard QC only if a) I had the budget AND b) I knew that we would make use of the additional features and would use it on a scale that justified the additional cost. To anyone looking to buy this type of tool, I'd suggest giving SpiraTest serious consideration, and being honest with yourself about whether you really are going to use all the features of a higher-priced tool. I'll certainly remember SpiraTest and consider it the next time I find myself going into a team that doesn't have a test management tool in place.

Pros:

- Agree with other reviews that Adam is incredibly helpful, and he responded brilliantly to our enquiries - Great tool for the price. It does everything we need it to. - Good integration with other tools provided by add-ons and the web service. - Very fair approach to license upgrades, as user base grows. (SpiraTest started off in one QA team and is now being used by three teams within the company.)

Cons:

- As a TD/QC user for 10 years I do miss some features, and the UI isn't as 'polished'. But at this price I really can't complain.

Graham
Managing Director
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Great Test Management Tool

4.0 11 years ago

Comments: If looking for a test management tool that integrates with other tools well and provides the basic tools required for test planning then I can highly recommend SpiraTest.

Pros:

Great at test management. Especially useful to use is the automation client and integration with unit testing. We use NUnit (also support MsUnit) for our unit testing and having the results reflected straight back into SpiraTest is amazingly useful. We also have TestComplete on a testing machine and can schedule Tests within Spira Test to run on the machine under Test Complete. Makes regression testing much easier. Also integrates with a wide range of bug trackers.

Cons:

Installation/ Uninstall of 3.2 was problematic these problems seem to be fixed in the latest installers and the upgrade from 3.2 to 4 was simple. Great customer support with a commitment to getting things working.

Peter
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Working synchronisation with JIRA

4.0 11 years ago

Comments: Spiratest is a complete test management software that works well together with JIRA.
We were looking for a test management software that can be used together with our locally hosted JIRA system and for a specific project. We couldn't install a test management plugin and a local installation of a test management solution was either too expensive or to complex.
Spiratest Hosted Service offers the possibility to synchronize with a local JIRA via a desktop tool.
With the help of Inflectra support we got it running.

Pros:

- Have a complete test management solution for the time needed - Working synchronisation with JIRA - Easy-to-install desktop utility for synchronisation - low setup and operating costs.

Cons:

- The synchronisation runs only with a desktop utility - You cannot selectively synchronise JIRA-issues, e.g. certain issue types or issues from a defined start date. - Usability. The user interface needs improvement.

Celeste
QA Manager in UK
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Easy and intuitive to learn with helpful documentation and exceptionally prompt support

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: Quite different from Test Director that we had been using so obviously need to get used to it, but as it is so easy and intuitive to learn, and not too difficult to soon remember how to do things without having to refer to any documentation, it is hopefully going to be quite straightforward to use. All the documentation provided has been very useful and easy to follow and I have found the support to be exceptional, with all of my queries being automatically logged pretty instantly and answers provided within 24 hours without exception, I believe. I even found it easy to follow the instructions to install the Import/Export Excel add-on and successfully exported a test and test steps into SpiraTest on the first attempt! No issues at all so far that I can think of! :-)

Kristiaan Davies
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

SpiraTest Review.

5.0 11 years ago

Comments: I'll keep this short as i don't think i need to write paragraphs. This is a fantastic piece of software, it was easy to put in place on our own server, has run faultlessly since its initial setup and any problems we encountered were taken care of by Inflectra's support very quickly.

Pros:

allows multiple ways to setup tests to match different workflows. provides a very good reporting overview to help clarify what is going on with testing.

Cons:

integration with bug tracking systems could be easier to get working and provide a better feature set, but this is not the end of the world as for what we want it works fine.

Mark
Lead EE in US
Computer Hardware, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

i don't want your software

1.0 5 years ago

Comments: hard sales pushing without regards towards user experience on trial signup. cannot cancel trial. cannot be removed from emails, which is illegal. this is a form of harassment which is unwelcome in the current technology climate. change your ways !!

Pros:

nothing about it interests me and i do not want your trial.

Cons:

forced signup. no way to cancel trial. no way to opt-out of emails, which is illegal in the U.S.

Inflectra Response

5 years ago

I am sorry that you were unhappy with the trial of SpiraTest and your experience overall. We send the emails upon signup unless indicated otherwise to assist with the onboarding experience. Many customers find them helpful, I am sorry that you did not. We are always happy to unsubscribe you after the fact and/or cancel a trial, just reply to our email with Unsubscribe. Happy to assist further.

Steven
Quality Assurance
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Too many requirements

1.0 12 years ago

Comments: i can't make a recommendation as this was never installed. .NET 4.0 was installed and then it showed me the other requirements so the install was cancelled.

Pros:

Unkown - Never installed

Cons:

There were way too many software requirements to install this software: .Net, MS Visual Studio, and IIS. The QA machines here are not development environments, and certainly not web servers. There should be no need to require all of those to install testing software.

Inflectra Response

12 years ago

We're sorry that the user didn't contact us first. There is actually a SaaS hosted demo option as well which is provisioned within minutes and only requires a web browser.

Shitalkumar
Head QA and Operations in India
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Manage your tests with Spira test

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Spira test is good test management tool. This gives good flexibility to manage your whole STLC at a place. You can link your defects to your tests. One can run test set multiple time for regression.

Pros:

-Ease of use, easy to understand -Manages whole STLC together -Can be linked with requirements -Managing of test suites is very easy -Test run within tool

Cons:

-Less possibilities of customization -Support for upgrades can be improved

Anna Lucovsky
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Great test and requirement management tool

5.0 10 years ago

Comments: Our company uses SpiraTest for over 5 years already and it helps us to keep our tests in order and track status and progress of the QA tasks

Pros:

Wide range of functionality, comparable with industry leaders in this field (e.g. HP QC) Simple and reliable installation and configuration Good value for money Excellent support Many integration capabilities with other tools

Cons:

There are few UI issues here and there Reports are OK, but could still be improved

Kwaku
QA Manager
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

It is pitched at a good price. Everybody at various levels of literacy/technicality can learn ot us

4.0 16 years ago

Comments: It is pitched at a good price. Everybody at various levels of literacy/technicality can learn ot use iteasily and quickly and get on with it, therefore no need for expensive training or support. When support is required, response is quick, concise and clear. Excellent

Pros:

Fantastic tool - I hate complicated tools, there's no cleverness in that. A tool needs to be sensible and practical, SpiraTest definitely is. Can be used for different development methods. Its quite cool.

Cons:

There will always be a few but cant think of any right now.

Joanna
Test Lead
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Nice and user frliendly

4.0 12 years ago

Comments: I would reccomend everyone to use it - its easy and powerful. just a very perfect price/functionality approach

Pros:

Very flexible in customisation, Easy requirement and test creation and execution, possibility to different level of test status set up. I realy love the scope of addins that make testers life easier

Cons:

No component testing approach but comparing to HP QC this looks like and only one disadvantage

Evelyn
Evelyn
Business Analyst
Verified LinkedIn User
Food Production, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

SPIRA

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: I have used several testing softwares, and SPIRA works very well at organizing test cases and test steps. Love the Excel tie-in for easy import/export of test cases. Allows a great deal of functionality at a decent price point. Ev

Pros:

Excel Add-In allows authoring and exporting test cases/steps in Excel. Provides a great deal of metrics. We're using it for requirements and the requirements to components to test case structure is highly flexible.

Cons:

Test Case Execution doesn't show pictures in full for the expected result, but works awesomely for the actual result.

Ramiro
Software Architect
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Space for improvements but very good product

4.0 13 years ago

Comments: We really like the product and is our standard for Testing Control. It is very easy to use and promotes to keep simple and organized the Testing tasks. It's very useful to see the coverage of Testing against the Requirements.

Pros:

A very simple approach for linking Requirements -> Test Cases -> Incidents Import/Export to Excel for advanced analysis Customizable fields

Cons:

Only one: It lacks of a field for Incident categorization.