GREAT PORTABLE TAKEOFF AND ESTIMATING TOOL

Reviewed on 04/07/2019
Michael C.
Quantity Surveyor head/Office Supervisor
Civil Engineering, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Quantity takeoffs/material estimates that are needed on for bidding works or current projects. The benefit of this is that you dont need to install this for each every computer. You just need to purchase the number of users at very reasonable amount.

Pros: Being a quantity surveyor, estimates and takeoffs are my main tool in doing my job. What I like about this tool is it is user friendly and can be easy to learn. Also I like the graphics resolution. The best part of this is you can access your projects anytime, anywhere you want even if you don’t bring your PC's or laptops and you can share your work with your team

Cons: Nothing. Maybe a few tweaks like if you can show the data you takeoff on the same screen like Planswift, but over all this is a great tool that you can use on all your projects

The import SoP from excel mapping tool is very helpful.

Reviewed on 01/12/2017
Richard G.
Estimator
Civil Engineering, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Best of all you can shared all projects to collaborate colleagues

Pros: The system has been a lifesaver so far, and we are only utilizing a small percentage of it. Once I master one aspect I take on another and with each new function I am so thrilled. Easy to use and amazing functionality!! The support team are amazing and extremely knowledgeable about all the features of the software.

Cons: There were some issues with the functionality that did not fit with our business model. I expressed this to the support staff and he took my concerns to his developers to work on adding these items in the future.

Its a user friendly, cost effective and remote solution to manage construction projects.

Reviewed on 10/08/2019
Atif Q.
Residential Estimator
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: able to do quick takeoff. Accessing project data on cloud from anywhere. No need to install software and carry your laptop everywhere.

Pros: It helped me uploading drawings quickly and doing take-offs. I liked user interface and and measurement tools available. It gives me option to export data in to PDF and excel formats. Resource and pricing module is best to workout labour, material and preparing rate analysis. And best thing is it is all integrated across its all features. Good to do cost control and agile management using project dashboard.

Cons: Overall it is good software. I would like to see more option for formatting takeoff measurements like line formats, colours. Also would like to see a combine dashboard for takeoff and pricing.

Earthworks and drainage pricing

Reviewed on 24/01/2019
Jason L.
Associate - Cost Management at Beca
Management Consulting, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Provides excellent information and examples for helping to determine the productivities.

Pros: Quick easy to pick up and to set up valuables in the pricing worksheets

Cons: Good report and easy to share with others

GREAT FREE ONLINE ESTIMATING AND PROJECT MANAGEMENT APPLICATION

Reviewed on 17/07/2019
Rochelle I.
Senior QS Engineer
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Overall, It has a lot of benefits! You can save money and time! Trust me.

Pros: As a Senior QS Engineer and a freelancer having free software have great help to my work. There's a lot of paid software but still the same features. The Methvin is really different - It has a lot of feature and user-friendly. It can lessen your time, money and very accurate. The features of the application are really easy to understand and it is not just for estimation but also can provide great help in project management.

Cons: Actually, I have nothing dislikes about this software. There are some features that are still under development at this moment but for the time it works, Methvin will be one of the best estimating and project management software for me.

Well-Equipped Construction Software

Reviewed on 03/07/2019
Verified Reviewer
Contracts Administrator
Construction, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I was able to utilize it properly in its platforms in project management and estimating. I realized that I can be able to effectively address my tasks using this software without the need for more elaborate or pricey applications.

Pros: What I like best is its ability to touch various stages of construction, right from tendering, up to the execution phase, and definitely even until the closeout of a construction project.

Cons: The Gantt scheduler needs to be a little more developed so that it can cater to all possible types of construction projects.

Very useful software.

Reviewed on 18/01/2019
Rajan S.
Proprietor
Civil Engineering, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Easy to operate.
Data processing system is easy and we can take out data in any form.

Cons: Little slow some times overall satisfaction.

Great Online Estimate tool

Reviewed on 30/06/2019
Kryshchu D.
VDC
Civil Engineering, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Easy to take off drawings, create pricing with any imperial and metric system. Also, all info is stored in the cloud so can be accessed from any location any time.

Pros: Great web based analog of Bluebeam or Procore, that you can access from any your device. Found a lot pros. here is some of them:
- Easy to study and switch from other similar desktop apps
- Built-in samples to check the functionality
- Import local files, ex. MS Projects
- Export to Excel, PDF, MS
- online collaboration with teammates
- Reads DWG, DXF
- Free version is enough for individuals
- Ganth project management tool

Cons: - Some features are under development right now

Detail Estimation for a project

Reviewed on 07/07/2019
Ukasha U.
client project
Architecture & Planning, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: I really appreciate the team of developers they have really work hard to made such a useful version of software. Really helpful

Cons: i don't find anything negative about this.

It's great tool

Reviewed on 01/07/2019
Verified Reviewer
Quantity Surveyor
Architecture & Planning, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: I being a Lead Quantity Surveyor of a Small Team of QS this is great for taking off. It allows me to share work with my team members. In this way I was able to work more efficiently and review the work done by the team members.

Cons: I just started using it, didn't find anything to comment about yet. Although there were some times it didn't respond properly.

Methvin Estimatinf

Reviewed on 21/01/2019
Verified Reviewer
Contract Technical Support
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: My opinion was that I have never used any estimating software as good as Methvin

Pros: The content of available items of work for estimating,including rate of work schedules. Though I used the trial version I would buy the software as soon as I have resources

Cons: Nothing in particular,it's a pity I never managed to buy the software

Excellent system

Reviewed on 30/01/2019
Spencer M.
Estimating Professional
Construction, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I do lots of takeoffs but the accuracy can be improved with this software and it gives me better backup when it comes time to review the estimate with management.

Pros: It allows me to be more accurate in my estimating with the data given

Cons: I did not find anything that I did not like. Great software

Flexible in structure your cost estimate

Reviewed on 29/10/2018
Wen T.
Senior estimator
Construction, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: It allows additional steps procedure to build into any items in the BOQ, but all or some of these steps and procedures need not be presented to the client, but all cost associated with are linked to the intended items of the BOQ. Plus it allows multiple estimators to work simultaneously on an estimate with very little limitation.

Cons: Like any other software, it takes time to get familiar with the navigation.

Easy to Go High

Reviewed on 04/03/2019
Sumit K.
Jr. QS/Estimator
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Easy to run and its simple features makes it simple to use.

Cons: Lot of details but once learned then flow would be great.

Methvin | Estimating review

Reviewed on 05/03/2019
Verified Reviewer
Junior Estimator
Civil Engineering, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We are using it as a take off software It is very easy to use and learn

Pros: Easy to use for new people in the industry

Cons: Software works online only, but overall it is good to go

Great customer service

Reviewed on 13/02/2019
Antonio E.
Estimating Manager
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Great web based software

Pros: Prebuid activities ready to modify values

Cons: takes time to get familiar with formulas

Methvin Review

Reviewed on 25/01/2019
John S.
EVP
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Creates good and accurate estimates.

Pros: Simplicity and ease of use. Accurate estimates.

Cons: Nothing, except the program is difficult to log into.