15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Absorb LMS

Easily train internal or external learners with the Absorb LMS platform. Create an engaging experience and track all training process.

Learn more about Absorb LMS

Pros:

Our biggest pluses for Absorb are the integration with Salesforce and users being able to take courses directly from salesforce and the ease of use for our admins to create and manage courses.

Cons:

When assigning courses you can only assign to a whole or sub-department, you can exclude.

Absorb LMS ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

Absorb LMS has an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 282 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Absorb LMS before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (282)

Antoinette
Antoinette
Digital Coordinator in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Refreshing and innovative LMS product

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Customer service team are excellent. Project implementation team also excellent. Smooth implementation process. Overall positive and professional experience with the whole team.

Pros:

The user interface. It is easy to navigate and makes good use of accessibility.

Cons:

In the course setup section I would like to see more developer integration options alongside SCORMS, TinCan, AICC etc. OCN requested compliance integrations with the product so it would be good to see something like this added in the future.

Alternatives Considered: Docebo

Reasons for Choosing Absorb LMS: Former LMS feedback indicated non user friendly interface and a lack of usage across OCNs active centres due to this.

Switched From: Moodle

Reasons for Switching to Absorb LMS: ABSORB's price was overall the best out of all for the features and functionality contained within the whole subscription price. The customer service engineers post implementation are also extremely helpful and will always provide alternative solutions or workarounds on the platform too.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Sporting Goods, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Partnership

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: It has been my team's experience that with Absorb Learning Management System (LMS) as our partners, we have elevated what the standard for online learning had been in the past. We believe Absorb offers a user-friendly interface and robust functionality that caters to our diverse organizational needs.

Pros:

The easy navigation, customization options, and learner engagement capabilities have empowered our organization to deliver impactful training programs. Backed by a solid customer support, we consider this LMS as a trusted partner in education and training, that has helped us drive educational success and innovation globally.

Cons:

We've learned that a perfect Learning Management System is not a reality. Though most functionalities are essential to our success there are many others that don't fit our particular user case.

Alternatives Considered: Skilljar Customer Education and Docebo

Reasons for Choosing Absorb LMS: Capabilities and especially promised developments where not aligned with our program's needs.

Switched From: BlueVolt

Reasons for Switching to Absorb LMS: Navigation and easiness of use felt more modern and engaging.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Public Safety, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Absorb LMS Review

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: It has been overall well. The system is a great way of managing eLearning

Pros:

There are alot of off the shelf templates that can be used. Can customize templates for corporate use. Content can have branching for easier completing multiple items from the same sheet

Cons:

I do not find it intutive and so I spend too much time creating items that are not as easy to create from as I would like to see.

Andrea V
Support Director in US
E-Learning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A bit clunky but in the end it does the job

3.0 12 months ago

Comments: Having to deliver training content for compliance purposes has been very easy and fast to setup thanks for the integrated content library. It is not complicated to use if the project is simple. Reporting can be s bit slow but it does its job.

Pros:

It does the job. The course creation feature is good, the authoring tool doesn't disappoint, and the free content library is perfect. This is very important for companies that need to deliver training in no time. The performance is good because it's cloud-based, so it scales well in case of need. The LMS could also be a source of revenue thanks to e-commerce tool. It comes with a lot of integrations so the system can communicate with external environments.

Cons:

The look and feel appears dated, despite constant improvements, and the administration tasks need to be done according to Absorb's logic and it could be very different from how other LMSs work.

Mekhala
Sr. Director, Client Delivery in Canada
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Why would I suggest Absorb?

4.0 3 months ago

Pros:

Robust reporting and Dashboards - Implementing robust reporting and dashboard features in Absorb LMS involved configuring custom reporting tools and dashboards to track learner progress, performance, and engagement metrics effectively. Customizing reporting for license usage and billing to meet specific organizational requirements has posed complexity, data integration, and usability challenges. Close collaboration between the Absorb billing and internal delivery teams was essential to define reporting requirements and configure custom reports accurately.

Cons:

e-Commerce - Business to Customer is one of our lead profit generation initiatives, and we want to create a unique learning experience for individuals interested in shaping their DEI learning journey. Challenges were introduced in secure payment processing, and outdated knowledge-based articles were found in Absorb. Extensive collaboration was required between the finance, IT, and Absorb LMS specialists to identify the payment issues. A temporary solution was enabled to capture the payments that still pose a risk. Integrations admin authorization - While Absorb has essential integrations on a button click, it has dependencies on the admin authorization between different systems. Admin within Absorb should also have admin privileges in other systems, which is not always the case within the organization.

Marsha
Sr Mgr Learning and Development in US
Consumer Goods, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Strong LMS

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Overall we're most pleased with the admin functionality. The learner view displays nicely and is intuitive. We've had great customer service and always get immediate responses to questions and issues. The technical experts are true experts and have been able to help explain and resolve our issues.

Pros:

Absorb has 3 very strong features: 1. Reporting is fast and can be done across different areas of the platform. 2. Email management allows easy updates or maintenance of default and custom emails. 3. Auto-assignment functionality works very well with key fields.

Cons:

We're using Analyze dashboards which are very difficult to troubleshoot with various filter issues. For example, we have a dashboard with 5 filters and if there are no users that fall within the first filter, then the dashboard ignores that filter. This then allows incorrect data to appear for admins.

Ami
Learning and Development Specialist in Canada
Construction, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Absorb LMS review

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: I found it to be a valuable tool for managing our organization's L&D initiatives. The platform offered a user-friendly interface that facilitated navigation for all sets of users enhancing overall usability especially since it was our first LMS.

Pros:

One of the aspects I appreciated the most about the Absorb LMS is its user-friendly interface. Navigating through the system was intuitive, which made it easy for both adminis and learners to access courses, track progress, and engage with content seamlessly. Additionally, I found the customizable reporting tools to be exceptionally useful. The ability to generate detailed reports on learner progress, course effectiveness, and other metrics allowed us to make informed decisions and tailor our training programs effectively. Overall, the combination of usability and robust reporting capabilities made Absorb LMS a valuable asset for our organization's learning and development initiatives.

Cons:

While the LMS offers many valuable features, one area tat could be improved is its performance on mobile app. Addressing it could enhance the platform's versatility and make it even more adaptable to diverse organizational requirements. Also, if they had full integration with Opensesame my content management would have been smooth.

Alternatives Considered: 360Learning, Oracle PeopleSoft, CrossKnowledge Learning Suite, Cornerstone LMS, Docebo and Litmos

Reasons for Switching to Absorb LMS: Cost, performance, customer support and user-friendliness.

Arleen
Learning and Development Administrator in US
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Cotton Holdings Review

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: I would rate it 10/10 after implementation once we received help from [sensitive content hidden]. Absorb LMS addressed a critical challenge within our organization by consolidating multiple learning management systems (LMS) and training accounts into a single platform. This consolidation streamlines the management of training resources and records, eliminating the need to navigate through numerous systems. Furthermore, Absorb LMS enhances our reporting capabilities by centralizing data collection and analysis. Instead of pulling information from disparate sources, we now access comprehensive training data from one centralized location, enabling more efficient and insightful reporting processes. [sensitive content hidden] have been prompt in responding to, assisting with and resolving our concerns. [sensitive content hidden] is a wealth of knowledge, I am so thankful to have his expertise to assist me as I learn the ins and outs of the administration side of Absorb.

Pros:

What I appreciate most about Absorb LMS is the invaluable support provided by resources such as [sensitive content hidden]. Their guidance has been instrumental in our journey with the platform, particularly during the initial stages when onboarding took longer than anticipated. Their expertise has enabled us to overcome challenges efficiently and make significant progress, ensuring that we maximize the benefits of our Absorb LMS account.

Cons:

While Absorb LMS's customizability is undoubtedly a strength, it also presents a unique challenge: starting with a clean slate. Unlike more rigid systems with predefined templates, Absorb LMS offers a blank canvas, requiring organizations to invest time and effort into tailoring the platform to their specific needs. However, this process, while initially demanding, ultimately ensures that the learning experience is precisely aligned with the organization's goals and values, resulting in a more effective and engaging training program in the long run.

Clinton
Human Resource Manager in US
Machinery, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Absorb LMS: A Great Learning Management Solution for Everyone

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Everyone should adopt Absorb LMS because it is a reliable learning management system. I like simplicity of the features of Absorb LMS.

Cons:

Absorb LMS meets our needs. No flaws about Absorb LMS.

Arif
HRBP Learning in Canada
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent LMS for integration and data management

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Extracting data and records for dashboarding is extremely easy with top notch customer service.

Cons:

Sometimes it can be confusing to navigate the admin interface

Celia
Manager, Volunteer Partnerships & Engagement in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Finally, an LMS that is Simple and Customizable

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We use Absorb for an external audience - volunteers - and they have no complaints. They find it simple to use and don't require an official onboarding process.

Pros:

I love that this product is customizable according to your organization's needs. The business model is to teach you how to fish so that you own the system and can make branding updates, page templates, email templates, etc. You can customize the Learner Home to your preferences. You're not stuck with an LMS in a box where you have to rely on customer support for everything. In addition, the system is simple to learn administratively. I'm most impressed with its reporting function which has been very complicated in my experience with many other learning systems. Also, the Global Resources field is awesome so you don't have to pretend documents always belong with a course.

Cons:

The ILC course feature could use more flexibility. Would be great to have users be able to register for more than one ILC session within a course. I end up duplicating a lot of courses just to add the ability to register for more sessions.

Alex
Content and Student Experience Manager in Australia
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Intuitive, Adaptable System

5.0 last year

Comments: We have not had the option to easily view student logins, update courses, create courses and manage our student experience to date, and Absorb has solved all of these problems immediately. The system has been very easy to set-up, easy to navigate within - from a student and admin experience - and the Absorb Create function is invaluable.

Pros:

The simplicity of the system - back end and front end - have made the implementation and launch of our Absorb LMS very straightforward. My company has some unique use cases and my implementation manager, [sensitive content hidden], workshopped a number of issues with me and together we came up with effective solutions. The ease of uploading content has meant that I have had the opportunity to test various course set-ups very quickly.

Cons:

Our courses require individualised feedback for assessments and currently Absorb is not set-up to allow for this in a comprehensive manner.

Alternatives Considered: Simplify LMS and Docebo

Reasons for Choosing Absorb LMS: Our previous LMS did not have any of the functionality we needed. It was set-up without planning or assessment of our requirements.

Reasons for Switching to Absorb LMS: The features available in Absorb LMS were similar to these other products, but Absorb Create and the pricepoint were what set Absorb apart.

Justina
Enterprise Learning and Development D Director in US
Consumer Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

We Love Absorb

5.0 5 months ago

Pros:

Absorb has made it so easy to design custom content and roll-out training courses necessary for our organization. Absorb is easy for our learners to use, and the system has made integrations simple and straight-forward.

Cons:

We've had zero issues with Absorb implementation & use.

Alternatives Considered: Cornerstone LMS

Reasons for Choosing Absorb LMS: NAVEX did not allow for custom content creation.

Switched From: NAVEX  One

Christian
Training and Development Manager in US
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The Standard in Learning Management Systems

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: In searching for the right LMS for our organization, Absorb was the perfect fit. We have a diverse group of learners and need to provide reporting to auditors multiple times of year. With a small T&D department, Absorb proved to be just the software needed to meet the high expectations of our organization.

Pros:

Absorb provides ease of use for all learners regardless of technological skills. Absorb provides the data and reporting that our organization needs.

Cons:

Absorb is not as attractive/visually appealing as some of the other systems on the market.

Allison
Allison
VP of L&D Solutions in US
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Unexpected Limitations

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall it's ok. Again we were really disappointed about the department/sub-department functionality. So if you are using Absorb for multiple clients not just internally then beware. It is definitely easier to see how many users we have in the system, who has taken what courses, our popular courses, and course evaluation scores which for us are all important KPI's. overall great value for the price.

Pros:

Absorb is really easy to use and navigate. We purchased it for the ability to have "department" or sub-companies. We provide training materials and the platform to our clients so having a multi-tenant LMS was critical. I love the ability to customize colors and layout for various clients. The onboarding process was pretty smooth and the staff is attentive.

Cons:

My biggest disappointment was that that the multi-tenancy or segregating by departments did not function as we expected causing us to have to adjust our offering and prices for clients. When assigning courses you can only assign to a whole or sub-department, you can exclude. So if 99 customers get the library and one doesn't, you have to allow 99 clients instead of just restricting one. When restricting departments they can manage only the users and courses within their department. However, this does not apply to the mercury module, Global Resources, Competencies, Categories, Message Templates, Ecommerce, and Public Catalogs. So we had to disable access to department admins for these features otherwise they would see other departments (clients) information which is terrible!!!! So instead we have to manage all of these features for our clients. So every time they want a billboard changed we have to do it for example. It puts a lot more management on our behalf that we weren't expecting. other little things we don't like are: -no course number field -can't control the order modules are consumed ina chapter only the order of the chapters. -can't change the reports on the dashboard or re-order it -resources don't have a thumbnail- makes them look empty/incomplete -no place for text on the home dashboard. -roles are not department-specific -can't change password expiry beyond 7 days -task functionality is way too basic -no ability to integrate tasks or due dates with calendars

Chris
I run all technical training in US
Computer Networking, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The easiest and most attractive LMS I have used in the last ten years!

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We have saved a very significant amount of time and money switching from Cornerstone to Absorb. And we have gained features, ease of use, faster time to market. As a company that puts customer service above all else, Absorb is our learning engine helping us deliver on that promise to our customers. We have grown our eLearning use by 300% since switching to Absorb mainly because it is very easy for our customers and we can get more content to market faster.

Pros:

In no particular order, but all equally important: - Social media and marketing integration is easy to setup and use - Dashboards and reports are the fastest and easiest I have seen; reporting highly customizable with just a few mouse clicks - Rapid deployment and migration; thousands of users, tens of thousands of records were migrated off of Cornerstone and fully functional in less than 60 days - a record! - Customized look and feel matching our corporate site was ready in one week! - Super easy for end users to get to training quickly - Saved over 50% in costs from Cornerstone and saving more everyday in reduced administration costs - Sales and support friendly and quick to help - Wide range of content support and did not have to rebuild a single training report - Flexible API offering unmatched integrations - SSO and Shopping cart easy to implement and works right the first time AbsorbLMS does one thing only, and does it right - manage my training. It's not bloated with features and functions I don't need. The administration is easy to learn and quite intuitive/flexible. It just works...and works great.

Cons:

After six months of use, I have not come across a "least" like for Absorb. I would like to see more customization options for lower layer pages, but I cannot say this is an "issue" as I am still exploring the many possibilities offered by Absorb. For once, I have an LMS that I have not outgrown, I am still playing catch-up!

Michaela
Director of Instructional Design in US
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Effortless Success

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We have had an absolutely wonderful experience with Absorb thus far. There were a few temporary hiccups along the way with our account manager. This has all been fixed since. The absolute best part of the experience besides the software is our Client Success Manager, Taylor. I do not know if we could have stayed with Absorb as long as we have without him. He is the ultimate reason we have chosen to stay so long.

Pros:

There are so many great things I can say about Absorb. The absolute best feature of the software itself is the individuality it allows us to create for users. We have some standard courses that clients are interested in, however, the biggest pull is allowing us to make the experience feel custom to them. Our customers can easily navigate their own portals effortlessly. Customizing the templates and organization of courses is the personal touch that makes this software so great.

Cons:

There are a few key features that I have noticed are not a part of Absorb software that could really be useful. The templates and options on how it is set up are pretty standard, however, certain options such as the calendar for example. Our clients love the calendar. However, you cannot really edit the calendar for full customization. I think if all of the template options had more range in customization it would be a bit better.

Danielle
Senior Corporate Trainer in US
Insurance, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

No Regrets

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Absorb has allowed us to provide customized learning experiences for our employees, and we were also able to incorporate additional professional development course libraries to expand learning opportunities.

Pros:

We chose Absorb as our first Learning Management System. The design isn’t too complex, which made it easier to transition previously manual instruction to online learning. It is intuitive enough that we can allow non-trainers to create content without needing to be system experts. While we were not initially satisfied with Absorb’s customer service, within the last year (2022), they have become extremely responsive to all requests for assistance and also invite feedback and recommendations for improvement.

Cons:

Sometimes the system design has what seems like obvious gaps or things that don’t work as smoothly as we would prefer for learning management. We would also like to see much more effort in the user experience to allow better filtering and course organization.

Anthony
Anthony
Business Development Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Goods, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Robust and easy-to-use learning platform

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It offers a very pleasant experience when browsing its interface and viewing the content of the learning programs. Its search tool is very precise to quickly find the required courses. It provides a lot of versatility with its mobile app, which allows you to log in from anywhere and at any time. The evaluation process is very intuitive and simple to carry out.

Cons:

So far, the only thing I think it can add is a better level of personalization of the learning processes, however, this is a versatile and very complete platform.

Daniel
Professional Education Program Manager in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Thank you to Absorb and our CSM

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Overall, it has been great working in Absorb, especially compared to my experience with other LMSs. The new releases enable us to incorporate more active learning and engagement into our courses, and our relationship with our CSM is critically helpful in building our offering of educational courses for healthcare professionals.

Pros:

The customer support- our Client Success Manager [sensitive content hidden] is always available to help answer questions, resolve issues, and suggest things we can do with our LMS. It is a load off of my mind to know that no matter the issue, we have our CSM to help us out.

Cons:

I'd like to be able to build more custom reports myself (e.g. pulling enrollment numbers and evaluation responses for certain courses automatically) but our CSM has still helped figure out workarounds to pull the information we need.

Dave
HR Manager in US
Medical Practice, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Absorb LMS - Great Product and Customer Service

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Overall I would highly recommend the Absorb LMS software to any company who is looking for a customized and affordable solution. They have an excellent implementation team that will work with you every step of the way until you are satisfied with the finished product. They also have a great customer service team that is always responsive to our needs and are willing to work with us to incorporate new updates to our system.

Pros:

While working with the Absorb team we were able to fully customize an Learning Management System to fit the needs of our small company within the clinical trials space. We initially worked with a great implementation team who were very supportive in meeting with us each step of the way to gather the proper requirements for our final product. Once we were satisfied with our finished product we were able to easily introduce the software to our employees to use with minimal training required. We continue to be very pleased with the level of customer service Absorb provides when we have a new inquiry or suggestion for improving our employees' experiences.

Cons:

The only con to Absorb's software was that they did not have a full suite of course content that met our needs in terms of internal training. We were able to work around this feature by uploading course content through another provider which was easily imported into our current system.

Kelly
Sales Enablement in US
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great LMS & Great Account Manager

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We had to combine 3 LMS's into 1 and choose Absorb and it's going really well. We are adding new business units within our organization all the time and the admins are finding the system easy to use and are really pleased with Absorb.

Pros:

Integrating to Absorb was pretty straightforward. The software is easy to use and the on-boarding we received was exceptional. We have been using the platform for about 2 years now and we are adding new administrators and courses on a daily basis. Our account manager [SENSITIVE CONTENT] is outstanding!

Cons:

There are obviously features that are not offered in Absorb that frustrate our admins and we have just signed up for Absorb Analyze to make reporting easier and more robust. It's hard to make enhancements or changes for our organization only on the platform as changes usually go across their entire platform and are system wide.

Shandora
LMS Admin in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Unbeatable

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, love my user experience with Absorb. We are able to train internally and externally, compliance, and instructor led trainings. It offers everything our company needs.

Pros:

Overall, I love the ease of use of Absorb. The platform is very user friendly, integrates with everything we need, and has a great user experience. I also appreciate the customer service/tech support team, as well as our CSM and account manager. The company has 24/7 support. I always know someone is there to help when I need it and in a timely manner.

Cons:

Really, I have no cons. It would be nice to have a "bulk" edit feature. Something that would allow me to make the same change to multiple courses at one time.

Elsie
Learning and Development Systems Admin in US
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Absorb more with Absorb

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: Mostly positive. I especially appreciate how supportive our CSM is to our team. Very responsive when we have questions.

Pros:

Versatile. Great support. Leader in the industry. Lots of content available, as well as the ability to add our own content.

Cons:

Learner AI assist would be great as navigation is not always intuitive to some learners. THis is on the roadmap, so that will solve that.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Mental Health Care, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Core LMS functionality does not function...

1.0 4 years ago

Comments: Unfortunately it's been a really bad experience. As noted, we didn't select this product and have been placed in a situation where we have to make it work as best we can. Our migration team has been good in communicating with us, but while the support team is "working" on our issues, most issues have been ongoing/unresolved for months or since migration.

Pros:

It's hard to say what I like most at this point. As a new customer experiencing a high volume of issues, I haven't gotten to find what I like yet!

Cons:

We became an Absorb customer after an acquisition of our previous vendor. The migration didn't go very smooth, but having been through implementations before though, I recognize some problems are to be expected. That said, we are still experiencing VERY significant issues with what should be core functionality of any LMS that is damaging our business and resulting in terrible user experiences for our learners and administrators. And due to the acquisition, we unfortunately had no choice. We have experienced a number of serious downgrades in functionality from our previous system that have presented significant additional time and labor to accommodate, and in some cases we just needed to accept completely losing functionality we once possessed.