Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3.8/5
  • Customer Service
    2.9/5

About Ahsay Cloud Backup Suite

Versatile backup solution designed for MSPs to offer managed backup service and earn recurring income.

Learn more about Ahsay Cloud Backup Suite

Showing 20 reviews

William F.
Chief Operating Officer
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/08/2018

"Very reliable backup solution"

Comments: We have used Ahsay since 2003. Their product continues to get better with each new version. We are very happy with the functionality.

Pros: This covers all necessary backup points in most networks. You can perform backup jobs to your whim. Even keep files backed up in near real-time with the synchronization features. Beyond that, there are agents for Exchange, Databases, etc.

Cons: The per-agent costs is extremely high. It compares to industry standards, but for some reason the software developers feel there is more money in the retail side of operations that is really there. The reality is that companies like Backblaze are eating up the market share because their monthly fees are too low to compete with based on this model.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/08/2018
Mike H.
CIO
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020

"Excellent Backup Suite - Highly Recommended!"

Comments: This suite has been a critical component of our data stability and management protocols; we have relied on data restorations via Ahsay on a few occasions and it has always been reliable and quick to return the data to a usable state.

Pros: The ability to target backup data to a multitude of local and cloud data storage services was a key feature we were looking for, and Ahsay's ability to transport data directly (instead of pushing it through the management server first) greatly speeds up backup and restore operations. The availability of clients for every OS, application platform (MSSQL, MySQL) and cloud service we use (O365, OneDrive) make this a well-rounded system that meets all of our needs now and into the foreseeable future.

Cons: Initially the speed for backing up large volumes of O365 data, particularly 20gb+ sized online mailboxes was too slow to be stable and usable. However in the last year or so the updates to this functionality have greatly improved this and no further troubles exist for us here. The only other concern we have is with the reporting options; the reports in general are great but with the volume of servers and end users a consolidated backup report indicating last successful backup, amount of data backed up and total data retention size would be very helpful

Vendor Response

by Ahsay on 19/10/2020

Hi Mike, thanks for your comment. Better reporting is in our enhancement list, and will be releasing in future version.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020
Chris S.
CEO
  • Overall Rating
    1/5
  • Ease of Use
    2/5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/03/2016

"Ahsay??? Think again... Much better choices out there..."

Comments: I have been an Ahsay partner for the last 11 years and have seen many improvements with the product. The product is designed for use mostly in small residential and small commercial backup solutions. While the product has had its reliability issues on some versions, I have really been struggling to stay with Ahsay as a partner. Over the past few years, the quality and reliability of their software has fluctuated with their versions. And now with version 7.5 out, I have ben seeing many bugs within the software. 7.5 really makes it easy for the service provider with the easy branding, however, with issues on "missed backups" having my customers being notified that their backups were missed while it was successful isn't a pat on the back for reputation tho. While being a faithful partner with maintenance over the years, they have always said you could update to the latest version of the software. This isn't quite true and I am not happy with the management at Ahsay for misleading their partner network. You can only upgrade to version 6.x and if you want to go to version 7.x it will cost you even if you have paid for maintenance. Ahsay has changes much of its licensing and is confusing now. With the misleading of product upgrades for it's partners and the only way is to pay more for product licensing, I will shortly be looking for a replacement for Ahsay as many other partners have done in the past year due to Ahsay management philosophy change. For those considering Ahsay, I would strongly consider alternatives to this product since it will cost you more down the road in not only time and licensing, but business and service reputation. Overall, technical support is okay if you only expect 1-2 day response - critical issue support? Better have a great "developer" understanding of their product, since you will need it. Sales team - lots of turn over there. Sales managers are seasoned but I'm sure your impression of their front line sales folks will damage your impression before you get to the Sales management team. The market now has much better products to choose from due to technology changes that have happened in the past years while Ahsay has not kept current. Thanks, Chris

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/03/2016
Paul W.
Operations Director
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    2/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020

"Honest Opinion from long time partner"

Comments: I have been using this software for around 15 years. I have used this and brought this every company I have worked at and now that I own my own business, it was a perfect fit. The software is an easy sell to new clients and onboarding is great too. The only negative is pricing can work out expensive and the pricing modules is a bit all over the place. the support really needs to be UK based for its customers for them to have any effect. Waiting at certain times of day for help and not being able to speak to people is actually a big put off.

Pros: The deployment / branding and quality of the product speak for itself. The varied types of backup you can perform and ease of which you can restore is quicker than other backup software I have used.

Cons: the support time difference lets this product down. A support team in the UK would make the software experience 100% better and make me push this to my clients with more confidence.

Vendor Response

by Ahsay on 19/10/2020

Hi Paul, thanks for your comment. We will continuously improve our product and support to meet your need. Currently, we have extended our support team to Philippines with our subsidiary there to extend our service hours. Will definitely put more effort on it in the near future.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020
Gareth L.
Backup Admin
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020

"Review"

Comments: Good

Pros: Very good backup software, very easy to use

Cons: very unreliable in some cases, missed backups nighty, random error that fix themselves the next night

Vendor Response

by Ahsay on 19/10/2020

Hi Gareth, thanks for your comments :-D

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020
Craig F.
President
Telecommunications, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020

"Ahsay Backup Service"

Comments: My experience has been positive. Although creating a custom client is somewhat challenging.

Pros: The software is easy to setup and start backing up "right out of the box". The installation process is complete and gives you a working environment when done.

Cons: I wish there was further information on the optimal setup. While we have it up and functional, I'm sure that there are settings that if optimized, would increase performance.

Vendor Response

by Ahsay on 19/10/2020

Hi Craig, thanks for your comments. Regarding optimal setup, have you tried contacting our Support Team on it? I'm sure they will be able to assist you on this.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020
Vicente D.
Technical Director
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020

"Why i use this cloud backup solution?"

Comments: I like this backup solution because is a alternative for Backup Exec, ArcServer and others solutions.
How to i am a partner and use in my clients, this is solution i can have totaly control and customize.

Pros: Easy to use.
Enables multiple backup destinations.
Meets all server backup needs.
Have many agents.

Cons: Have bugs and need more atention ofr errors that happen, and you need fix de problems.
Many times frozen the routines.

Vendor Response

by Ahsay on 16/10/2020

Hi Vicente, thanks for your review. Regarding the problems you encountered, please kindly submit ticket to us thru our Partner Portal for our Support Team to help you out. Normally they will be able to solve your problem quickly~ Kind regards :-D

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020
David B.
Owner
Computer & Network Security, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020

"Sys.Net Review"

Comments: its a good product, just wish we could speak to someone when issues come up

Pros: ease of use, however I have been using it for over 13 years

Cons: Cannot call and talk to tech support, only e-mail

Vendor Response

by Ahsay on 19/10/2020

Hi David, thanks for your comment. The reason for ticket support is that we would like to gather all your logs info first to have an preliminary understand on your problem before giving you reply. Afterward, we will offer call-back if needed, but mostly on email to better convey the message.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020
Folusho O.
Blogger
Entertainment, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1/5
  • Ease of Use
    2/5
  • Features & Functionality
    1/5
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    1/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2018

"Accountability"

Comments: Like I've said, I like the fact that they are just coming up but they are making some big mistake in some aspects such as their documentations and customer service... Ease to use though, but they have to work well on those aspect have stated above...

Pros: I like the fact that they are upcoming and they are doing fine on their own basis.

Cons: Their customer services is very poor and have bad documentation. I wouldn't subscribe them to anyoner though they are just comingbup from my point of view, but thee customers service and documentation must be dealt with...

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2018
Andre F.
Director of IT
Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1/5
  • Ease of Use
    2/5
  • Features & Functionality
    2/5
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    1/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/05/2018

"Stay away from this"

Pros: I have evaluated many personal, and small business backup systems. The key for a good system is to be reliable, fast, easy to use. This is not that.

Cons: Although this system has a lot of potential. I would definitely like you to be aware before making the jump. Get the trial version and see if it works for you.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/05/2018
Adriano V.
ceo
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/10/2020

"Monst reliable software with technical support for any online backup needs"

Comments: Our users are very happy with the software friendly interface. Resellers are satisfied with brandings options and we like the possibility of multi-destination to backups, replication options and the features of latest version 8. Which combines: all experience of version 6, plus stability of v7 with the unique new features like Office 365 backup, 2-factor authentication login, B2 and Wasabi support

Pros: Recoverability, Data Compression Ratio and People (Technical Support).

Cons: Backup server side could be less passive. It could have options like: stop running specific backups jobs and disconnect clients.

Vendor Response

by Ahsay on 19/10/2020

Thanks for your nice comments

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/10/2020
Ørjan A.
Ceo
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2020

"Easy to use"

Comments: Perfect software made by an awesome group of People.

Pros: Easy to use, always UP to date. Realy good support

Cons: Office365 is backup to slow. Using a lot of cpu/memory

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2020
Niklas F.
Technician
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020

"Review"

Comments: Very Good!

Pros: The very fast Support, and the easy to use software, install it nad use it. No complicated setup.
Upgrade of the Server is very simple and then the Clients will update automaticly!
So you really have a al in one backup solution for Office 365, Windows Server, Data Backup or MySQL and so on!

Cons: A small! disatvantage is that the company ahsay is not in our timezone, but this is a pretty small problem!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020
Massimo L.
Engineering
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    2/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020

"Change your interface!!!! Please, please and please..."

Comments: Good until it work. If something fail, we prefer to begin from scratch instead investigate in a sea of disorganized information presented in the worst way via admin interface.

Pros: The best product if you ignore (letterally: ignore) the interface (admin and client).

Cons: User interface. All aspect of admin and guest interface.
Unusable, hard to manage, unfriendly.
After years of usage, most of the time, we give up investigating and get lost in useless information and necessary but impossible to find information

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020
Uttam H.
Director
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020

"Data is the new Oil"

Comments: Backend is great, good reporting structure

Pros: Ease of use
All features inclusive
Bank Grade Encryption
Encryption at Source
Retention Policies
etc

Cons: Unlike V6 where we could use OBM with multiple backup sets for many devices, with V8 it is per device billing makes it very hard to sell. When white labelled the name Ahsay appears in error reports this actually revels the name of Ahsay to our competitors and our white labelling value is lost

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020
Giuliano M.
CEO
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    2/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/10/2020

"Automation"

Comments: good but as i said not automation option plugins for WHMCS

Pros: backup

Cons: NO automation options for WHMCS.......really bad so we are switching backup software this year.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/10/2020
Kiya A.
Data Assurance Technician
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020

"Just needs a little more tweaking"

Comments: It's a continual work in progress.

Pros: The fluidity as far as for the most part, things seem to work when issues aren't occurring.

Cons: All of the frequent backup errors is a lot of work.

Vendor Response

by Ahsay on 19/10/2020

Hi Kiya, thanks for your comments. We will continuously improve our product to meet your needs. In case you need any help, please don't hesitate to contact our support.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020
Sergio B.
Support engineer
Computer & Network Security, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2018

"Opinion Ahsay"

Pros: All about this software are good, the setup, the creation of set´s, the backup and restore, the reports, all the fatures are good.

Cons: In the time that I have been using this software I have not found anything wrong or that it does not work correctly.

Vendor Response

by Ahsay on 19/10/2020

Hi Sergio, thanks for your nice comment. We'll keep enhancement our product and service to meet and exceed your needs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2018
Keith B.
Technical Director
Computer Hardware, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020

"Cloud Backup"

Comments: Used it for many many years

Pros: Fully featured, easy to use multi-platform backup software

Cons: Needs to support backup of Google Workspace (G-Suite)

Vendor Response

by Ahsay on 19/10/2020

Hi Keith, thanks for your comments. G-Suite is in our enhancement list and we will be releasing it hopefully next year.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020
Benjamin F.
Director of Small Business Services
  • Overall Rating
    1/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2016

"Dishonest and Unreliable"

Comments: A dishonorable company. I specifically requested a written guarantee of what my software maintenance and renewal fees would be. Unfortunately, Ahsay is charging just shy of double the agreed upon rate. Multiple attempts to resolve amicably are flatly refused. Stay away! A quick search finds many others experiencing very serious issues with this software as well: From "Dexter" on Jan 26, 2016 -
"... I am not going to talk about the restrictions on the product and the extra costs involved in the licenses, I am going to talk about the lack of support and the lack of documentation...I am disappointed in this change of software from something that was amazing to something that is buggy, undocumented for troubleshooting and basically unreliable for backing up data. My advice to anyone considering using the software is to tread extremely carefully!"
Another customer posted regarding Ahsay support's lack of responsiveness:
"...We're now in day 7 and Ahsay is not contacting us. It may be because of the holidays but we don't know, we're completely in the dark and out of business until they finally respond to us..."

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2016