Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.9 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.3 /5

About Ahsay Cloud Backup Suite

Versatile backup solution designed for MSPs to offer managed backup service and earn recurring income.

Learn more about Ahsay Cloud Backup Suite

Showing 25 reviews of 54

William F.
Chief Operating Officer
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/08/2018

"Very reliable backup solution"

Comments: We have used Ahsay since 2003. Their product continues to get better with each new version. We are very happy with the functionality.

Pros: This covers all necessary backup points in most networks. You can perform backup jobs to your whim. Even keep files backed up in near real-time with the synchronization features. Beyond that, there are agents for Exchange, Databases, etc.

Cons: The per-agent costs is extremely high. It compares to industry standards, but for some reason the software developers feel there is more money in the retail side of operations that is really there. The reality is that companies like Backblaze are eating up the market share because their monthly fees are too low to compete with based on this model.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/08/2018
Eddie S.
Partner
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/10/2020

"Ahsay Backup"

Comments: After getting the software installed, it does not require much maintenance. The backups will fail intermittently for random reasons that are hard to identify with the reports and logs. The biggest frustration is how inflexible the company is with being able to change your licensing after the purchase. I initially purchased a bunch of workstation backup licenses with my order and then found that most of our clients go with server backups and dont need individual workstation backups running. So I wanted to remove the ACB workstation licenses from future maintenance renewals. Nope, I have to pay for maintenance on those or lose all of my maintenance. You can add more to your license, but you cannot downgrade or upgrade the workstation licenses to server licenses. Ahsay won't let you do it. So in order to keep getting future updates, they wanted me to keep paying maintenance on licenses I have never and will never use.

Pros: The back and restore process works most of the time.

Cons: The customer service staff is very inflexible on licensing changes after the purchase.
If you buy too many licenses that you are not using, they will not allow you to remove them from your maintenance for subsequent years. You have to continue paying maintenance on licenses you will never use or the option is to not pay that maintenance and never get any future upgrades.
Backup client doesn't always give much information on why a backup fails.

Vendor Response

by Ahsay on 22/10/2020

Thanks for your comment. Regarding your maintenance, can you email me the details of your unwanted license on maintenance? I'll then see what we can do for you.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/10/2020
Adriano V.
ceo
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/10/2020

"Monst reliable software with technical support for any online backup needs"

Comments: Our users are very happy with the software friendly interface. Resellers are satisfied with brandings options and we like the possibility of multi-destination to backups, replication options and the features of latest version 8. Which combines: all experience of version 6, plus stability of v7 with the unique new features like Office 365 backup, 2-factor authentication login, B2 and Wasabi support

Pros: Recoverability, Data Compression Ratio and People (Technical Support).

Cons: Backup server side could be less passive. It could have options like: stop running specific backups jobs and disconnect clients.

Vendor Response

by Ahsay on 19/10/2020

Thanks for your nice comments

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/10/2020
Niklas F.
Technician
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020

"Review"

Comments: Very Good!

Pros: The very fast Support, and the easy to use software, install it nad use it. No complicated setup.
Upgrade of the Server is very simple and then the Clients will update automaticly!
So you really have a al in one backup solution for Office 365, Windows Server, Data Backup or MySQL and so on!

Cons: A small! disatvantage is that the company ahsay is not in our timezone, but this is a pretty small problem!

Vendor Response

by Ahsay on 23/10/2020

Thanks for your comment. Glad to know you like our fast support, easiness to use, and the all in one backup for O365, Windows Server, file and MySQL. We have expanded our support team to Philippines to have more coverage on different timezone.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020
Paul W.
Operations Director
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020

"Honest Opinion from long time partner"

Comments: I have been using this software for around 15 years. I have used this and brought this every company I have worked at and now that I own my own business, it was a perfect fit. The software is an easy sell to new clients and onboarding is great too. The only negative is pricing can work out expensive and the pricing modules is a bit all over the place. the support really needs to be UK based for its customers for them to have any effect. Waiting at certain times of day for help and not being able to speak to people is actually a big put off.

Pros: The deployment / branding and quality of the product speak for itself. The varied types of backup you can perform and ease of which you can restore is quicker than other backup software I have used.

Cons: the support time difference lets this product down. A support team in the UK would make the software experience 100% better and make me push this to my clients with more confidence.

Vendor Response

by Ahsay on 19/10/2020

Hi Paul, thanks for your comment. We will continuously improve our product and support to meet your need. Currently, we have extended our support team to Philippines with our subsidiary there to extend our service hours. Will definitely put more effort on it in the near future.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020
Ian C.
IT Team Lead
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/10/2020

"Ahsay"

Pros: version 6 was a dream and worked like a charm. it was light and did exactly what it said on the tin.

Cons: version 8, restrictive application, poor user interface. Just a really poor product. support never helps or attempts to resolve the issues.

Vendor Response

by Ahsay on 23/10/2020

Thanks for your comment. Sorry to hear that you don't like the new v8 and our support. Looking at your support tickets history, seems like most of the issues were resolved successfully. Can you let me know specifically what issues that couldn't be resolved? I'll then put you thru our Support Team to further help you. Kind regards :-)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/10/2020
John D.
CEO
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/10/2020

"Ahsay ACB and OBM"

Comments: We have been using this company's sw since 2005. Earlier versions were simpler and easier to get the
installed and clients oriented to it. We don't like the current version. The company has by and large been
pretty good about support except being 16 hours or so difference which on occasion has made things difficult.

Pros: It usually works pretty well.

Cons: It's extremely complicated. Installation is sometimes tricky and the sw is picky about OS settings.
The company is located in Hong Kong and my concerns re the PRC coming in and taking over HK are
going to force me to find another vendor. Originally we had customized it with our logos etc. Now it is too complicated.

Vendor Response

by Ahsay on 23/10/2020

Thanks for your comment. Glad to know you like our support service. There's no issue on PRC to the business so far, and we can have same operation as usual. Therefore, you don't have to worry about that.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/10/2020
Han P.
CT
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/10/2020

"Reliable and easy to use"

Comments: Safed my clients a couple of times

Pros: End to end encryption and data in our own datacenter

Cons: Has a learning curve to set it al up, on your site and the clients site

Vendor Response

by Ahsay on 23/10/2020

Hi Han, thanks for your comment. Great to know our product has helped save your clients for many times :-D

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/10/2020
Harald K.
COE
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2020

"my review"

Comments: filebackups

Pros: multi tenancy branding options which is easy to use

Cons: i don´t have the full trust in the software, more easiness for backup after starts, full imagebackup for the whole windows maching

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2020
Kiya A.
Data Assurance Technician
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020

"Just needs a little more tweaking"

Comments: It's a continual work in progress.

Pros: The fluidity as far as for the most part, things seem to work when issues aren't occurring.

Cons: All of the frequent backup errors is a lot of work.

Vendor Response

by Ahsay on 19/10/2020

Hi Kiya, thanks for your comments. We will continuously improve our product to meet your needs. In case you need any help, please don't hesitate to contact our support.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020
Jamie G.
Service Desk Team Leader
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/10/2020

"Ahsay"

Pros: Ease of use, lots of functionality, The support team are fast to get back to you

Cons: Few issues like, there is no hdd space quota limits for resellers, still no usuage on the cbs for a customer

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/10/2020
Chris S.
CEO
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/03/2016

"Ahsay??? Think again... Much better choices out there..."

Comments: I have been an Ahsay partner for the last 11 years and have seen many improvements with the product. The product is designed for use mostly in small residential and small commercial backup solutions. While the product has had its reliability issues on some versions, I have really been struggling to stay with Ahsay as a partner. Over the past few years, the quality and reliability of their software has fluctuated with their versions. And now with version 7.5 out, I have ben seeing many bugs within the software. 7.5 really makes it easy for the service provider with the easy branding, however, with issues on "missed backups" having my customers being notified that their backups were missed while it was successful isn't a pat on the back for reputation tho. While being a faithful partner with maintenance over the years, they have always said you could update to the latest version of the software. This isn't quite true and I am not happy with the management at Ahsay for misleading their partner network. You can only upgrade to version 6.x and if you want to go to version 7.x it will cost you even if you have paid for maintenance. Ahsay has changes much of its licensing and is confusing now. With the misleading of product upgrades for it's partners and the only way is to pay more for product licensing, I will shortly be looking for a replacement for Ahsay as many other partners have done in the past year due to Ahsay management philosophy change. For those considering Ahsay, I would strongly consider alternatives to this product since it will cost you more down the road in not only time and licensing, but business and service reputation. Overall, technical support is okay if you only expect 1-2 day response - critical issue support? Better have a great "developer" understanding of their product, since you will need it. Sales team - lots of turn over there. Sales managers are seasoned but I'm sure your impression of their front line sales folks will damage your impression before you get to the Sales management team. The market now has much better products to choose from due to technology changes that have happened in the past years while Ahsay has not kept current. Thanks, Chris

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/03/2016
Oscar E.
Commercial Director
Information Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2020

"Functional"

Pros: The price is one of the first, easy of use, functionality

Cons: Version updates without taking into account the needs of distributors , comunication

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2020
Roland N.
Business Unit Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2020

"Long time super user"

Pros: Easy of use, fast recovery. Simple and effective interface

Cons: Had in the past some issues with indexing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2020
Raymond J.
System Administrator
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/11/2020

"OK software, bad company"

Pros: We did switch from Vembu to Ahsay and got a decent competitive upgrade program. Most of the time the software works as expected.

Cons: At some point Ahsay made a new version. We did have valid maintenance, for which it was promised that we could use future versions for free. However, not this time. For this new version we did have to pay even more then our initial investment in the software. Ahsay is completely unreliable, and I recommend not to use their software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/11/2020
Jean-francois D.
owner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/10/2020

"great software"

Comments: we've saved a lot of business with this.

Pros: Great features in overall. i like the dashboard.

Cons: baremetal backup not there. we can't do a baremetal backup and restore like acronis or Datto.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/10/2020
Cyril D.
CEO
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/10/2020

"Ahsay CBS"

Pros: That you can deploy on mutiple platforms Windows- MacOS

Cons: Interface of v8 cumbersome - multiple OK button to press

Vendor Response

by Ahsay on 21/10/2020

Hi Cyril, thanks for your valuable comment. Hope to fix those cumbersome issue in future releases.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/10/2020
Gareth L.
Backup Admin
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020

"Review"

Comments: Good

Pros: Very good backup software, very easy to use

Cons: very unreliable in some cases, missed backups nighty, random error that fix themselves the next night

Vendor Response

by Ahsay on 19/10/2020

Hi Gareth, thanks for your comments :-D

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020
Massimo L.
Engineering
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020

"Change your interface!!!! Please, please and please..."

Comments: Good until it work. If something fail, we prefer to begin from scratch instead investigate in a sea of disorganized information presented in the worst way via admin interface.

Pros: The best product if you ignore (letterally: ignore) the interface (admin and client).

Cons: User interface. All aspect of admin and guest interface.
Unusable, hard to manage, unfriendly.
After years of usage, most of the time, we give up investigating and get lost in useless information and necessary but impossible to find information

Vendor Response

by Ahsay on 23/10/2020

Thanks for your review and continuous support. Regarding our UI, your opinions have been reflected to our development for future improvement.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020
Scott P.
Technical Consultant
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/10/2020

"MSP reselling to support customers"

Pros: Whitelabelling
Ease of updates
Next to no maintenance
Great compatibility with cloud storage
Easy to migrate between servers

Cons: Default option to upload encryption keys is enabled - this is a bit dangerous in that if the CBS is compromised, all data and encryption keys are potentially available, we have to manually disable this on each new user account

Vendor Response

by Ahsay on 21/10/2020

Hi Scott, thanks for your comment. For the upload encryption key option, the keys uploaded to CBS are encrypted. And you don't have to manually disable this feature for each user, you can just turn it off in Group Policy. Email us if you need help on Group Policy setting.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/10/2020
Paul N.
IT Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/10/2020

"Ahsay from an Reseller's Point of View"

Comments: We've been reselling backups using Ahsay for years and it has always been a pretty stable way of backing up our customers' data.

Pros: I like how easy it is to set backups up and all of the different types of backup sets you can have. I also think the way in compresses the backups and does the delta changes is very clever.

Cons: The issues we have with Ahsay seem to be whenever it is updated. We get fixes for current issues but we always seem to have new problems crop up afterwards.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/10/2020
Gabor F.
Admin
Information Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/10/2020

"All in one backup solution"

Pros: All in one backup solution with good support.

Cons: Still missing delta merge for large database backups.

Vendor Response

by Ahsay on 23/10/2020

Thanks for your review. Glad to know you like our support service. Regarding delta merge, our development team is working on it :-D

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/10/2020
Keivan K.
Senior IT Admin
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/10/2020

"Just so so"

Comments: used it several years ago - but with rise of Hyper-V and Azure backup there is no use for them

Pros: - cost Effective
- can have many clients in one server

Cons: - old fashioned backup only
- Restore processes can tak days

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/10/2020
Benjamin F.
Director of Small Business Services
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2016

"Dishonest and Unreliable"

Comments: A dishonorable company. I specifically requested a written guarantee of what my software maintenance and renewal fees would be. Unfortunately, Ahsay is charging just shy of double the agreed upon rate. Multiple attempts to resolve amicably are flatly refused. Stay away! A quick search finds many others experiencing very serious issues with this software as well: From "Dexter" on Jan 26, 2016 -
"... I am not going to talk about the restrictions on the product and the extra costs involved in the licenses, I am going to talk about the lack of support and the lack of documentation...I am disappointed in this change of software from something that was amazing to something that is buggy, undocumented for troubleshooting and basically unreliable for backing up data. My advice to anyone considering using the software is to tread extremely carefully!"
Another customer posted regarding Ahsay support's lack of responsiveness:
"...We're now in day 7 and Ahsay is not contacting us. It may be because of the holidays but we don't know, we're completely in the dark and out of business until they finally respond to us..."

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2016
Verified Reviewer
Innovation Manager
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/10/2020

"Reliable online backup but unreliable commercial support"

Comments: The suite is a very good product and satisfied our company as msp and our customers for 7 years

Pros: The software is reliable and full of options. Was our choice after TSM. Server side wasn't amazing and technical support average.
New version looks like they improved server side but upgrade cost was huge so we still use the old V6

Cons: A proper sales policy, and and maybe a little effort to be nice with overseas customer also if they are small.

Vendor Response

by Ahsay on 22/10/2020

Thanks for the comment. Regarding the huge upgrade cost, can you email me your info so that we can make some good offer to you?

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/10/2020