15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About MEX Maintenance

MEX empowers you with a modern and user-friendly solution across all areas of maintenance from Asset Capture, Reporting & Work Orders.

Learn more about MEX Maintenance

Pros:

Very customisable, large database, web-based, quick customer support, easy to navigate with lots of training tools.

Cons:

PM categories ie fixed, triggered hierarchy etc. I would rather one only to select as it is confusing.

MEX Maintenance ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.1/10

MEX Maintenance has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 80 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used MEX Maintenance before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (80)

philip
Maintenance Manager in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Food & Beverages, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MEX Maintenance Review

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: MEX is already showing the business that we are top heavy with trades waiting around for break downs, with this information we now can plan more effectively by having trades onsite when required to carryout planned maintenance activities and not just be a breakdown team giving them more machine up-time.

Pros:

MEX is by far one of the best CMMS I've used so far in my career its functionality makes it an easy system to implement which intern gives eases of use to the end user (maintenance trades), Also regions is a great tool to setup multiple site locations across the business ensuring we have a standardised asset tree and control files,

Cons:

Mex today requires further development by giving you the ability to import rosters into your schedule which will give you better planning functionality

MEX Response

5 years ago

Hi Philip, Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review. We take pride in customer satisfaction and are committed to delivering a useful and easy to use system. It's customers like you that make our job wonderful! Thanks, once again, for your kind words.

Ross
Maintenace Manager in New Zealand
Oil & Energy, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MEX overview

4.0 last month New

Comments: Good to date, no major issues. Always room to improve with modifications and enhancements as the software evolves to meet industry needs.

Pros:

Easy to use, quite intuitive, has most of the functions we need. Cloud based.

Cons:

Planning and Scheduling functionality could be enhanced, cannot customize the reports, when asked if we could the answer was no as the std reports have to be the same for everyone. As mentioned auto generation of PM's can be looked at would save peoples time and effort going through activator once the PMs have been sanctioned.

MEX Response

last month

Thanks for sharing your experience! We're pleased that MEX meets your needs. Your feedback on areas for enhancement is valuable and we have passed it on to the relevant team.

Chloe
Administrator in Australia
Packaging & Containers, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great concept, poor execution

3.0 last month New

Comments: MEX is a great idea, but the execution is where it falls flat, plus locking everything behind a paywall is where it falls even flatter. MEX might be okay if our data was set up correctly in the initial implementation, but even just doing basic functions is a tedious process, let alone fixing 15+ years of botched and inconsistent data. It makes no sense to me why, in 2024, a system does not have a drag and drop customization interface or the ability to go into settings and click check boxes to determine access for security groups rather than having to individually locate each module, field and back door to give/remove access, or even the ability to use "quick edits" in ANY listing, or any field (including customs).

Pros:

The MEX suite means that we don't have to have multiple systems to perform the basic functions our business requires.

Cons:

The UI is about 20 years out of date, the user manual is riddled with mistakes and only provides basic information, the rest is locked behind a paywall. The support staff all have inconsistent training so they are constantly contradicting one another. MEX branding is in consistent, which combined with the user manual errors, makes the MEX team seem unpolished. I have contacted the support team regularly, with varying issues only to be told "oh that's not a bug, because I cant replicate it" or "We've known about that for a while, but there's no ETA on a fix" (Except for [sensitive content hidden], shes a wonderful help). Customizing MEX is a very clunky process, and has been vastly over complicated. Having the option to customize MEX is great on one hand, having to spend hours, or thousands of Dollars to make it happen, not so much. Especially when I have personally seen much better customization abilities with other companies just simplifying it down and making it easier for their users, rather that trying to give them the world at their fingertips and falling 20 years behind. (Look at HubSpots UI for Customisation). The contacts module needs a serious overhaul as it is extremely limited and riddled with bugs. (see HubSpots contacts/companies module)

MEX Response

last month

Thank you for your detailed response. We appreciate your candid feedback. We're committed to improving the MEX experience so we have passed on your comments to our Products Manager and CEO. Please feel free to reach out if you have any further concerns or suggestions.

Steve
Assets and Maintenance Support Officer in Australia
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

MEX is a step in the right direction

4.0 last month New

Comments: It's early days for our organisation and staff discipline has been an issue. i.e. Having trouble getting consistent quality data entry.

Pros:

Pleasant User Interface, able to set-up and implement with some ERP experience and minimal IT skills, Mobile application (can use on Phone/Tablet as well as Desktop). Possibility of catching costs (labour/materials/contractors) and can hopefully implement Stores/Purchasing module in the future.

Cons:

Reports don't have "Sort" function in filters (to re-arrange output), could be better if it had options for prompts and/or pop-up msg as well as colour-coding for different status etc.

MEX Response

last month

Thanks for your review! We're glad to hear MEX is a step in the right direction for your needs. If you need any assistance or further guidance, feel free to reach out to our support team at [email protected] or call 07 3392 4777

Daniel
Operational Excellence Systems Specialist in Australia
Food & Beverages, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MEX Review

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall we have found MEX easy to use and customisable to meet our needs.

Pros:

MEX is great for customisation - we can do most of the customisation ourselves, and for more complicated changes, the MEX team are helpful and responsive. This means we can adjust the system to meet our processes, not the other way around.

Cons:

MEX can be a bit hard to use on mobile devices. Some features are not usable, and the layouts can be hard to see.

MEX Response

3 years ago

Hi Daniel, Thank you for your great review - we really appreciate it! We are super pleased to hear that you find the customisation features beneficial and that MEX is so easy to use. Also thank you for your constructive feedback on the Mobile App, we always like to hear suggestions from our customers to help improve our products.

Debbie
Maintenance Coordinator in New Zealand
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Whakapapa Ski Area

5.0 last month New

Comments: Very good, it does everything I need it to. There features I dont use that I intend to learn about. My job is very busy so finding the time to spend upskilling myself is difficult.

Pros:

I like pretty much everything about Mex. I've been using it since 2014. Today there's no way I could manage the huge volume of work thats involved in executing the preventative and repair work that keeps our assets compliant and in good working condition. We can keep an eye on everything and are able to recognise when we need to replace an asset before current fails entirely. Your support team are awesome.

Cons:

I would like to be better educated about report writing or modifying reports. Its not something I do very often and always need support if I need something changed or modified. One suggestion I do have is when I'm working in the Work Order Listing, which is often, if I close a work order I lose my place because there is no highlighted (in blue) line of where I was last at like it does when you print a work order from the list. I understand that when you close a work order it disappears from the list but it would be helpful if a way could be found to perhaps highlight the work order line preceding the one that was just closed.

MEX Response

last month

Thanks for your feedback! We're so glad MEX has been such a valuable tool for you since 2014! We do offer a Report Writing course that may be helpful to you. To book in contact our Training team at [email protected] or call 07 3392 4777

Grace
Property Administration Officer in Australia
Facilities Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Use of MEX in Aged Care Facility

5.0 last month New

Pros:

MEX enables to building a broad and robust Asset Register for all sites. It makes high number of routine maintenance jobs handle with ease, enables to send Work Orders that have customizable and editable fields. It builds data into various reports assisting with compliance, organizational requirements. Preventative maintenance scheduler details the schedule for a year. Contractor portal easily navigate WOs, helps to track WOs for contractors. Having MEX user guide and help videos are super helpful to navigate or trouble shooting.

Cons:

1. MEX is not compatible with new outlook so unable to send WOs through new outlook. All MEX users employees have to revert back to old outlook version. 2. In MEX Ops, the Add request page does not have exit icon on the top left or right corner. The employees have to close the browser as there is no option. 3. In Contractor's portal, Contractors cannot see WOs that have been closed off. So, they ask for a report on closed jobs to double check on our end. They do have record of completed jobs but when it's closed off from our side, they can't view it.

MEX Response

last month

Thanks for the detailed review! We're thrilled MEX has been so helpful for your maintenance needs. If you are still experiencing the issues mentioned above please reach out to our support team by calling 07 3392 4777 or email on [email protected]

Max
Reliability Engineer in New Zealand
Food & Beverages, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very effective and easy CMMS

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Very positive. they provided a very good support for the training and the development of our infrastructure. They have a set of skilled people that are aware of the reality of what is an industrial site

Pros:

Very intuitive user interface. while some icons could be confusing (ex: Details/Search) it is very easy to find your marks and being autonomous in navigating. We appreciate the possibility to tune the interface, having access to control files that allow us to gain and of course the possibility to have a mobile access

Cons:

There is still improvement as the system has a "Logic" approach. You have to quite the page you are one to fetch an info somewhere else. It will be useful to be able to navigate through the top tabs without quitting/saving the work. Finally While there are plenty of very useful fields, it would have been interesting to included in the commisionning time a schedule to tune Front end/back End to facilitate report creation.

Jan
Asset Manager in New Zealand
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ease of use

5.0 last month New

Pros:

It's an easy-to-use system that is not overly complicated and can easily follow a process with minimum steps. We do have young and old school guys and across the board, all are happy with use of system.

Cons:

There is not much to say here, only have pros on MEX.

MEX Response

last month

Thank you for your review! We're so glad to hear the system has been easy to implement and use for your business.

Paul
Head of Property and Business Development in Australia
Facilities Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Edge Review

4.0 last month New

Comments: It is a good piece of software but really needs an overhaul on its user interface

Pros:

Many functions and will be able to address most needs of the client.

Cons:

Overly complicated user interface, far too many intricacies in the setup that can lead to problems

John
National Realiability and Efficiency Manager in Australia
Furniture, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MEX Review

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have implemented a national structure for Asset Management and are using MEX as the tool for this system across a large number of sites Australia wide that have varying processes. The team at MEX has been 100% supportive to all our requests and the time this regionalised system has taken for us to roll out. The flexibility to our requirements has been extremely helpful with everyone from the receptionist, technical support and managers always more then happy to assist.

Pros:

Ease of use, Function ability, ease of data capture and quick recall.

Cons:

Some bugs have presented - However MEX has always supported us and provided the fix. The I ability to group parts in stores catalogue.

MEX Response

5 years ago

Hey John, We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to leave us such a nice review! It is so good to hear that you have had an smooth experience with the system and our team have always enjoyed helping you out. Thanks again for being a MEX advocate, we really appreciate it!

Brad
Senior Plant Engineer APAC in Australia
Civil Engineering, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mex adaptability

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We not only have used Mex to record work completed, we have started to and will continue to develop reliability and analysis of equipment and product production to identify where the company can improve.

Pros:

The equipment we use to produce our products are of a wide variety with a fair bit of difference to account for. Mex as a CMMS product was adaptable to meet our requirements. Reporting and data entry design can be customized to easily get the information required without much preparation.

Cons:

Would like to be able to use Minor Job Codes in reporting

MEX Response

5 years ago

Hi Brad, Thank you very much for such a great review! We work hard to meet requirements like yours, and we are really pleased to hear that MEX has been adapatable to your needs. We hope your experience continues to run smoothly. Thanks again for sharing your feedback!

Sylvie
Systems Support Super User in New Zealand
Oil & Energy, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great potential but latest products need a bit of work

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It is very quick & easy to write jobs and link them to assets, and then copy and adjust them for similar jobs. The different portals interact really well and you can navigate through different areas with ease. The overall workflow is logical and the ability to cross-link multiple assets into the same job (via MEX inspections) allows you alot of flexibility in the way you write up your work.

Cons:

The latest products - MEX Inspections and the iOS app - don't work that well together, so when the user is walking around with the app on a mobile device you cannot get an intergrated list of checks and the ability to add comments and photos on the one screen (you have to switch to the desktop view). The app is also not available on android (apple only). The format of work orders (the main tool you use in your daily operation) changes as it goes through the workflow (pre-generated, active, then archived in history) which is a bit annoying.

MEX Response

5 years ago

Hi Sylvie, Thank you for leaving a review of MEX, we really appreciate your honest feedback. It is good to hear that you find the portals easy to use with logical workflows in-built. The problems you highlighted about Inspections and the iOS App is something we will definitely take on board whilst we are developing a new App Version for both iOS and Android. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further to help resolve any issues. A support team member will be in touch shortly.

Malcolm
Reliability Manager in Australia
Food Production, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good, fit for purpose CMMS

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: We use Mex in 14 sites across the group and have found it to be an excellent tool to help manage our maintenance processes. I would recommend this software to anyone that wants a simple to use but customisable CMMS.

Pros:

Straightforward ease of use, can customise to a relatively high level, and on phone support is superb.

Cons:

It rarely does have a glitch. I think it is mainly our internet connection. A quick restart though and all is good

MEX Response

7 years ago

Hi Malcom, Thanks very much for taking the time to review MEX Maintenance Software. We¿re stoked to hear Mauri finds MEX to be so user friendly and simple across all 14 of your sites. We hope your MEX experiences continue to be smooth! If you do have any concerns our support staff are always happy to help. Thanks again for the review. Kind regards The MEX Team.

Daryl
Maintenance Planner in Fiji
Consumer Goods, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

MEX Review

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: So far it has been very pleasant as the support chat team have gone above and beyond to assist me and to help me out. amazing

Pros:

While been a new user of the software compared to what i have used in my previous workplace, the support chat is beyond amazing and helpful and has helped so much in picking up new uses and understanding the software.

Cons:

It is part of my current companies problem but customisation of the software to current work practices was not done. this has held us back. minor logic linking between filled sections is missing

MEX Response

3 years ago

Hi Daryl, It is awesome to hear about your MEX experience. Support and customer service is part of our culture at MEX, so it is really good to hear that you have received a high level of support. Regarding your comment about customisations, our Support Team will contact you to look into this further.

Quentin
Senior Business Analyst in Australia
Mining & Metals, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

All experiences have been v positive from initial sales, installation technical and product support

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Control of stock and job planning. Good quality job data for financial and parts usage analysis to assist with optimisation.

Pros:

Simple, flexible and on the web. Support is excellent. Stores and preventative worke seemlessly together.

Cons:

Listings can only be sorted on a single column, also in listing locating row after viewing data.

MEX Response

7 years ago

Hi Quentin, Thanks so much for taking the time to review MEX Maintenance Software. we are thrilled to hear you've had nothing but good experiences with our staff throughout the whole process. Thanks for your feedback regarding sort functionality i have passed this onto our development team. If you ever need a hand don't hesitate to contact our support department on +61 7 3392 4777

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Dairy, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Useful tool to have

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Cleaning up a clunky system the team at MEX is very helpful and friendly

Pros:

MEX is a very simple system to use and is easy to navigate around.

Cons:

The bulk of the system seems to be aimed towards vehicles not fixed equipment. Taking over a system that is not set up correctly from the start makes it hard to use to its full potential

MEX Response

5 years ago

Hi There, Thank you for the feedback. Initial implementation of any CMMS really does dictate the results you get from it. Happy to hear that our team have been helpful in working with you get around the clunky setup, if you need more help you know where to find us. Thanks

Paul
Manager Tug Services Bunbury in Australia
Maritime, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Custom Module

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The software itself is quite easy to use when creating a custom module, it has allowed our business to start to combine our Preventative Maintenance with our Quality system enabling our crews easier access to all the information and tools they require to complete their roles.

Cons:

Custom Modules have limited space to populate Custom Modules limitations - unable to have an item inserted into the module such as a Matrix or picture.

MEX Response

5 years ago

Hi Paul, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the MEX system. It is wonderful to hear that you have found the system easy to use and that MEX has helped your crews complete their maintenance jobs. Our goal is to have a high level of customer satisfaction and it sounds like we achieved that goal with you. Your comments on the custom modules have been passed onto our friendly Support Team who will be in contact shortly to assist.

Steph
Project Administrator in Australia
Machinery, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great Solution

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

This software has streamlined a lot of our current processes and has greatly assisted with our parts and stocktake. We have seen great improvement in repair times due to the parts being located thanks to cataloguing the items. The service history and APLs are all in one place which makes preparation for repairs and preventative maintenance a breeze.

Cons:

I think printed Work Orders could use some minor changes.

MEX Response

5 years ago

Hi Steph, Thank you for taking the time to write about your MEX experience. Your recommendation means a lot to us and it is so great to hear that the system has been so helpful. Thanks also for your suggestion for the Printed Work Orders, we will be in touch shortly to discuss this further. Kind Regards, The MEX Team

Shaun
Maintenance co ordinator in Australia
Machinery, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Mex

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We are using mex to create a work history in the event of an audit.
It has also made our end of month process a lot simpler and faster

Pros:

Easy to use and navigate. It has made my job easier

Cons:

I have no negative comments to make regarding mex software

MEX Response

5 years ago

Hi Shaun, Thanks so much for the glowing review, we are so pleased to hear about your positive MEX experience. It is great to hear that you find MEX easy to use and we love that MEX has made your job a lot simpler and faster. Kind Regards, The MEX Team

Duncan
Project Manager in Australia
Farming, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Feedback

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very positive

Pros:

Ease of use, access, licensing model

Cons:

No, not on the software itself but stronger guidance from the consulting team in areas like set up of naming conventions and asset hierarchy would be great.

MEX Response

3 years ago

Hi Duncan, Thank you for taking the time to leave a MEX Review. It is great to hear that you find the system easy to use and access. Regarding your comments about naming conventions and asset hierarchy, our support team is always readily available to give you advice - someone will be in touch shortly to assist with this. Thanks again!

Edward
Service Desk Officer in Australia
Facilities Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

MEX Review

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall a very positive experience and am very happy with the software so far

Pros:

Ease of use Ability to customise almost anything Customer service

Cons:

Unable to remove unwanted tabs in 'Asset Details' (may be user fault on our end) Asset register listing resets order after selecting 'Details' button and returning to Asset Register screen Unable to alter details included or not included on Work Order form (may be user fault on our end)

MEX Response

5 years ago

Hi Edward, Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us and leaving a review of the system. It is really great to hear that you find the system easy to use and easily customisable. With your point on removing tabs & altering details, our support team will be in contact with you shortly to help you with this - there is a simple solution to this. Thanks again for the feedback!

Brendan
Production Engineering Manager in Australia
Renewables & Environment, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

CMMS Implementation with no maintenance experience.

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall MEX is the designed and supported the way all software should be.

Pros:

Logical format, easy to use, useful help index and accessible on call support.

Cons:

The thing a like the least is the User Security set-up

MEX Response

last year

Hi Brendan, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback for MEX. It's really good to hear that you found the system easy to implement due to the logical format of MEX. If you ever need any assistance you can always phone and speak to our support staff who will be more than happy to help. Thanks again for your review.

Lauren
Maintenance & Reliability Coordinator in Australia
Mining & Metals, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

MEX Review

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It is easy to both set up a new Asset and then manage the work associated with this Asset

Cons:

Would be more efficient to have hyperlinks to the Work Orders To be able to see both live and Historical Work Orders simultaneously would be helpful

MEX Response

2 years ago

Hi Lauren, Thank you for your great review, we're happy to hear that you find the system easy to setup and thank you for your feedback regarding hyperlinks. If you ever need any assistance you can always phone in and speak to our support team. Thanks again.

Peter
Systems Manager in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

MEX Review

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Assigning and documenting a Preventative Maintenance Programme that is audit friendly has changed us fundamentally.
The more we use it the better the system becomes.

Pros:

Very well designed and captures all of the functionality we require to validate our Preventative Maintenance Program.

Cons:

So comprehensive. You absolutely need an appropriate level of training to use it properly. You can't wing it.

MEX Response

5 years ago

Hi Peter, Thanks very much for giving us such a positive review! We are stoked to hear that you think the system is well designed and that MEX has helped improved your Preventative Maintenance Programme. Feedback like this helps us constantly improve our customer experiences by knowing what we are doing right and what we can work on. So, I appreciate you taking the time to send us this helpful response. Don't hesitate to reach out if you have any more questions, comments, or concerns.