15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Brightidea

With over 2 million users world wide and $15+ billion in recorded business impact, Brightidea is ranked as the #1 Idea Management Platf

Learn more about Brightidea

Pros:

Easy to use, excellent support from BrightIdea.

Cons:

Brightidea makes most tasks difficult. The backend is outdated and not intuitive.

Brightidea ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

Brightidea has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 107 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Brightidea before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (107)

Kayla
Kayla
Consumer Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I used Bright Idea to source & implement ideas from an organization of 1,200+ on an ongoing basis.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: This software made it easy to collect, sort, organize, analyze, and communicate about ideas submitted by a 1200+ person organization spanning sites across the east coast (as well as an array of home workers across the country).

Pros:

The software is intuitive and mirrors social media that most people are familiar with. It is easy to customize on the whole, and meets the objectives for our business goals.

Cons:

I wish there were more options to support an ongoing program like the one we have. At Unum, we aren't looking for ideas in small spurts of time, but rather using the site as the foundation of an ongoing engagement and continuous improvement program spanning office locations and multiple departments/skills. Although we are using the tool in a way that it isn't necessarily intended, we have seen tremendous success. It'd be great to see BrightIdea work to tailor a version of the platform to a business goal like ours.

Oliver
Corporate Innovation in US
Insurance, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Robust and highly capable idea management platform

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: The service at Brightidea stands out. Throughout the sales process and more importantly, since the sales process, Brightidea have been attentive while giving us the space to explore and use the platform. There a good transparent processes for raising requests for future enhancements. In the first few months we have set up a range of challenge in the platform with very few issues - overall, it is early days, but has been a good start.

Pros:

The platform is not that big on frills, but it feels highly dependable. The navigation is intuitive and we feel no need to issue user guides.

Cons:

Currently, the reporting is robust and fairly extensive, but the ability to create custom reports would be a great addition to the platform.

Claudia
Senior manager in Italy
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good experience but the software has some limits that can be improved

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Flexibility in terms of customized pipeline, different evaluations tools, open to external and business model canvas and business impact that allow digitalizing some activities. Customization in terms of look & feel.

Cons:

No possibility to assign an idea to a specific evaluator (some clients ask this functionality in particular when they start to use the platform). The activation of the workspace is centralized and permitted only to the admin (a high effort to innovation team). The absence of a project management tool (the functionality in the workspace is really poor). The low flexibility of the dashboard (in particular the dashboard shows the ideas in specific step and not in the stage- the step in the pipeline is typically used to make easier the activities and is not relevant in terms of process). The submission form is not effective. The development tool is assigned mainly by the submitter in a dynamic way (and specific resources defined) but if the ideas are published by a team the development tool doesn't permit to fill in the tool by all members. The absence of links to ideas and possibility to merge them if really similar or complementary. The chip can be cool but the employees are not incentivized to use them (if the employees make a good investment they gain the chips- if the employees do not invest chips have the same amount of chips)

Lindsay
New Technologies Analyst in US
Consumer Goods, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

BrightIdea Review

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We started an internal crowdsourcing approach using BrightIdea and this has resonated very well with our business members. They are pleased that their ideas are able to be heard and the process is transparent.

Pros:

The look & feel of the BrightIdea platform is very easy and engaging for users.

Cons:

Functionality is limited in areas such as socialization and financials. Though the BrightIdea team is very open to hearing product enhancements and is frequently updating the software.

Ray
Senior Buyer in Canada
Automotive, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Brightidea has been the key to organising our innovation initiatives

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: It has been a great way to get everyone involved in idea sharing. We have tried this without using Brightidea but it became too complicated to manage. This software makes managing the workflow super easy!

Pros:

Very easy to adapt the software to the needs of the initiative, as well to the colors and theme of our company

Cons:

I have not found anything negative, and I continue to try to find things that could be improved, but to date have not found any!

Melanie
Innovation Program Manager in US
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Brightidea's customer service makes the difference

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Working with the Brightidea team is always a good experience. They're client-driven, and have continuously worked to improve their product to suit our needs.

Cons:

As with many providers of this type of software, getting it set up to track the metrics we need continues to be a bit of a struggle.

Toni
Toni
Business Analyst IV in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Insurance
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

We use talent sharing functionality giving us the ability to strengthen our cross functional skills

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Brightidea gives my organization the ability to collaborate more cross functionally and strengthen skills and experiences across the board. We love the ability to post opportunities for others to volunteer for. We also leverage the functionality to be able to solve challenging questions and source for opportunities to simplify and be more efficient at what we do. We connect these opportunities to our performance and coaching sessions for our organization to measure the success that we are gaining using Brightidea. Overall, we are very satisfied with Brightidea and look forward to use it in other creative ways to support growth and experience within our organization!

Cons:

The only thing that challenges us is the pricing and limited Admin seats we have. This makes us have to rely on our IT partners for support and administration.

Giorgi
Giorgi
Lead Customer Care in Lithuania
Verified LinkedIn User
Tobacco, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Perfect realization of idea crowd-sourcing in a platform

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: It helped us to save lots of time by automation of the certain tasks and also what's more important, it certainly brought a way more organized way of working for the team

Pros:

The main advantage of the platform is the high flexibility and customization which allows us to adapt the platform to our needs not vice versa to adapt to the platform. Sometimes it might get overwhelming due to this, though overall I'd say this is a big asset of this platform. Furthermore, the constant improvements are made from the Brightidea team and communicated in a clear understandable way. We totally love the platform from its idea to the interface and usage. It helps us break down the projects into the categories/silos and supports us work in a way more organized way than before within the team.

Cons:

I cannot really name anything big that we dislike. Though, the reporting could be slightly better as it doesn't fully shows the essence when exported, thus, makes it a bit harder to present to the third-party persons. Also, the pricing could be slightly lower.

Brad
Brad
Head of Innovation & Technology in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Civil Engineering
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Market leading innovation management platform

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Improved safety, increase quality, cost reduction initiatives.

Pros:

The ability to create multiple environments, to customise workflows, to duplicate workflows (for rapid deployment), the dedicated mobile app and customer success support.

Cons:

Lack of mobile app development, slow development of product enhancements, lack of local (i.e. outside of USA) hosting options to reduce latency.

Kyton
Kyton
Senior Manager, Innovation Pipeline in US
Verified LinkedIn User
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

This tool is a life saver for innovation teams.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

I love the pipeline management tool and back-end reporting. I think that the user interface is also incredible. They also update with cool new features often. The support team is very quick.

Cons:

The cost is very high for a nonprofit. The tool can get pretty technical at some times and a little difficult but the Support team is very quick to help.

Chris
GM Performance & Innovation in Australia
Oil & Energy, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Extremely intuitive and user friendly interface to capture creative solutions

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Introduction of the software was a catalysts to changing the behaviours and culture of the business whereby challenging each other, sharing problems and solutions and constantly looking for opportunities for improvement are becoming the norm.

Pros:

Ease of use and flexibility. The breadth of scope of the platform from initial challenge submission, to idea generation, screening and review through to tracking of results makes it an invaluable tool for generating and managing large numbers of quality ideas and innovations.

Cons:

Back end statistical representation could be more effective, the ability to slice and dice data and determine which areas of the business are heavily engaged and also to track commercial benefit of specific challenges, ideas or groups of ideas.

Serafettin Cemil
Corporate Innovation Specialist in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It is very flexible and has a lot of great apps for your specific challenge needs.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: A lot of profit' cost saving and innovative thinking.

Pros:

This Platform has and easy to use interface and customizability just great for tweaking it for your specific needs.

Cons:

It would be great to give out some minor admin permissions like dashboard view access and reporting to ordinary users for limited times. This would allow the people learn more about the system and get involved even more while making life a little bit easier for the system and web storm admins.

Brightidea Response

7 years ago

Thanks for the review, Serafettin! Many customers leverage our Moderator role to assign light administrative permissions to users. This role is restricted to viewing reporting and light submission management. I hope this will be helpful to you!

lisa
Innovation Program Specialist in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Bright idea allowed us to launch a program with confidence.

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

User friendly, easy to navigate, visually appealing, great customer service, variety of applications

Cons:

some things don't make sense to us and are not customizable.

Brightidea Response

7 years ago

Thank you for your review, Lisa! We do believe that the Brightidea innovation platform is the most customizable solution available on the market. Please do share with us on IdeaSpace if there a particular area where you are getting stuck, or if there is an area that does not seem intuitive to you. https://bi.brightidea.com/ideas

Avi
Innovatgion program manager in US
Printing, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

great easy to use program

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

the challenges app is one of my favorites , we can use it to describe our top challenges and to easily expose it to all of our employees

Cons:

to many applications can confusing the end user , i think that bright idea can help their admins with suggestions to internal communication (it will help us to extend our program and it is a share interest for us)

Brightidea Response

7 years ago

Thanks for the review, Avi! We were so excited that you travelled all the way to SF for our user conference! We've worked to categorize our Apps to help you understand which Apps to use for which use cases - please check out our newly released Apps Pillar page. Also, take a look at the Knowledge Base for sample content you can leverage for internal communications, for example the Solve App Challenge Sponsors Guide.

Michael
Enterprise Architecture in US
Financial Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

great software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: their onboarding team was great in explaining how everything worked. plus the ability to save the webexes for future use helped a lot.

Pros:

bright idea is extremely intuitive and easy to setup. We use it for multiple use cases.

Cons:

The inability for Boolean logic in the rules engine is somewhat annoying but manageable.

Chase
Innovation Platform Lead in US
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Enjoyable, though having to learn tips and tricks to operate w/out error.

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Fundamental function of the software and ease of use for the end use. Easy to set up challenges and import users.

Cons:

Multiple options/settings menus, and multiple areas to extract participation data:Pipeline, webstorm, enterprise, etc.. It can be challenging to remember which setup menu specific items reside, ex: scorecard is in the pipeline setup, and newsletters in the enterprise setup. There's a few different ways to do common tasks, and the end result isn't always the same, such as importing users (pillar v enterprise), reporting, extending step timelines.

Brightidea Response

7 years ago

Thanks for the review Chase! Many customers leverage our extensive support portal to discover how to best take advantage of all of the configuration settings and functionality that Brightidea has to offer. I hope this can be helpful to you. At the same time, we are committed to continuing to simplify and streamline the software, to make it easier for users to perform key tasks. If you have other product suggestions, feel free to submit them in IdeaSpace - https://bi.brightidea.com/ideas

Rebekah
Community Business Solutions Manager in US
Real Estate, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The best software

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Our overall experience with Bright Idea has been excellent. We have been able to name programs through associate engagement. We have also been able to manage our large pipeline of pilots that we are testing all over our portfolio.

Pros:

I love how easy it is to use and administer. This tool is highly customizable, which allows us to cater to our brand and make the tool work for us. It provides us with an organized platform to crowd source answers to some of our challenges by engaging our associates! We have been using BI for two years and the number of enhancements and improvements they continue to make is impressive.

Cons:

The system has so many applications and I struggle to figure out a way to use them all! I wish that there were some better real world examples of each.

Mathieu
Innovation Manager in Switzerland
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best innovation mangement software

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Intuitive, easy to customize and lots of ready to use apps

Cons:

The onboarding process is really good but maybe too slow when you have already technical knowledge. Should be adapted to the skills of the administrator

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use with great customer support

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I would like to say that I like the Flexibility and easy to customization. Rules of engine and automated email notification is my favorite for our organization.

Cons:

feature for collaboration is not fully built into the platform. In current dynamic business environment, we need more collaboration with thinking of Agile mode.

Laura
Growth Accelerator in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The Brightidea platform enables innovation at our company, connecting us to global professionals.

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

I appreciate the flexibility and ease of customization. We have been able to use the platform for a variety of use cases; some of these are pre-programmed by the Brightidea team but often we are customizing our own challenges and pipelines to fit our needs.

Cons:

Often, I have to export to Excel rather than analyzing within the platform. It would be preferable to have more analysis within the platform.

Brightidea Response

7 years ago

Thanks, Laura! We recently released a new dashboard that allows you to visualize the business impact captured from your innovation activities. We plan to add more dashboard functionality in the future. Please let us know on Ideaspace if you have any specific requests. https://bi.brightidea.com/ideas

Ahmad
Ahmad
Senior Innovation Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Lots of great features, solid UX, curious what a more curated platform might look like.

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

It works! Right now.

Cons:

So many features and multiple ways to turn on and turn off those features that it is difficult to know if you did it right or wrong. For example the software sent 60 emails to my company's Executive Vice President and I thought I had emails turned off but turns out that was only at the challenge level not enterprise level. Not great.

Brightidea Response

7 years ago

Thanks for the review Ahmad, I'm sorry to hear about all of the emails that went to the Executive Vice President. Let's chat soon so we can figure out how to prevent that from happening to you again, and to other customers. -Daniel

Cutler
Director of Strategy and Technology Investment in US
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Bright Idea - selected idea management platform

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Good experience, easy and quick setup with minimal friction.

Pros:

Ease of implementation, support, single sign on (SSO) integration.

Cons:

Mobile application needs enhancements and ability for easier customization/configuration on the back end.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Overall a good tool for capturing ideas

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Nice user interface and features. Ability to copy campaigns and ideas is easy. Pretty decent knowledge base site.

Cons:

Setup is a little confusing for some users. Some widgets are not easy to configure, nor allow the option to customize.

Fatih
Specialist in Türkiye
Airlines/Aviation, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Continuously Improving Cool Idea Management Software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall experience is satisfying

Pros:

What i like most is, release of new tools and features every year

Cons:

Website design flexibility is least likable feature of this software

Becky
Content Strategist in US
Financial Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Innovation Tool

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I love that our organization uses this software as a tool for us to submit innovative ideas to improve our experiences and processes. We've had BIG ideas come from a team member's Bright Idea submission that has turned into sister companies! It worth having for sure! It also makes team members feel engaged and empowered! There's also options to brand your own Bright Idea "portal" specific to your organization.

Cons:

I have zero complaints or "cons" about this software. It's amazing!