PostgreSQL Reviews

by PostgreSQL Global Development Group

4.5 / 5 204 reviews
PostgreSQL

It's free!

Reviewed on 31/07/2018
Nairoby D.
Consultor
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
2 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: In my very particular opinion I feel comfortable working with Postgres for more than 10 years, it is reliable and safe, the best thing is that it is free, which allows you to save on licenses, it is ideal for any type of development. I totally recommend it

Pros: - Free code database manager, which is not used for licensing.
- Easy to install and configure in any operating system.
- Ideal for relational databases.
- It has a large community in which you can share doubts.
- It is stable and reliable, scalable and secure with the correct user management.
- Can work with small and large databases.
- Handles the SQL language.
- Being free software, it is compatible with several graphic tools that help administration and database design. I particularly recommend working with PgAdmin in its latest version for postgres 9.6.6 onwards.
- Easily works as a cluster, can be configured as active-passive or active-active which improves performance
- It allows to perform maintenance, recovery of databases.
- I have tested the installation and use in Windows 7 operating system and Debian version 6 to 8 and works without problems.
- Likewise I have worked in postgres since its version 8.1 to 9.6.6 and a positive change has been noticed and performance improvements, but I insist on the point at which the databases should be fine designed.

Cons: - Many people declare it as slow in insertions and updates compared to others Managers, however, that will depend on how well designed the database is.
- For some, not having support online or with an official help center can be a big disadvantage.
- It is advisable to have command knowledge to work on consoles and terminals to perform a good configuration

PostgreSQL is powerful and robust, it fits perfectly in large projects

Reviewed on 07/07/2018
Aníbal M.
Programador
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: With PostgreSQL I have been able to perform my work satisfactorily on multiple occasions, my bosses and I are happy with the results we have obtained, saving hardware investment costs because we have focused on the database, I hope to have future benefits to the use it in projects for own clients.

Pros: I really like PostgreSQL I have used it several times for large projects in my previous works and in the current one it is used as a database for the web page of the institution, the power of PL / pgSQL is excellent, it allows me to program commercial layers in the database without any problem this improves the response times of the final applications and allows investments in hardware in the database servers instead of in the application, the management of schemes is perfect. It is important to mention that it is free software that implies having a large database without licensing costs. A feature of PostgreSQL is the multiversion concurrency control that allows transactions consistent with time, which provides great performance advantages. PgAdmin is a graphical tool with which I can manage different databases easily and intuitively, execute SQL statements, as well as create backup copies or perform maintenance tasks. Another thing that I like about PostgreSQL is that it is available for many platforms, it is possible to install it from the repositories of the Linux version that I use. It should be noted that the PostgreSQL user community is one of the most active in the market

Cons: There are some things that I do not like about PostgreSQL, permissions allowance per user can be annoying, I have had to work many times on this and it is difficult, it is also relatively slow when I insert and update small databases. The official support does not have telephone or online support, although there are official forums available where users can express their doubts to which other users of the community respond. The syntax of some of your commands or statements may not be intuitive if you do not have a medium level of knowledge in the SQL language. I have had problems migrating from a PostgreSQL version to a higher one. Compatibility is sometimes relative.

Database Manager PostgreSQL

Reviewed on 13/09/2018
Maryury P.
DBA Especialista I
Banking, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: In my experience using the software I really liked that it allows adding custom functions developed using different programming languages.
The integrity of the data and the referential integrity of the foreign key are maintained. It has allowed me, in an easy and secure way, the asynchronous replication of the databases for an alternative center in case of disasters.
I did not like it is that when I have any doubt about an error presented in the system where the database is working, I can not clarify it because there is no specific place to which, because and com solve the error.

Pros: PostgreSQL allows to control high concurrency, offering security by domain definitions, who can access the database server, the backup copies of the database can be made completely or only a table, according to the request, restorations and tasks maintenance, in addition to replicate in case of disasters.
It also allows to activate triggers to execute in tables or views in special cases or eventualities.
It has a friendly graphical interface for the administrator, through which they can be done from the creation of the database, to execute query querys and updates of the data, if necessary, you can have details with the status tool of the server referring to the queries that are executed in the DB (if there are locks, duration, etc.).
It allows the development of robust and efficient Databases

Cons: There is no online or telephone support. Only official forums are available where users expose their doubts that other users of the community respond to, ademas it consumes many resources

One of the best database managers for the world.

Reviewed on 14/11/2018
Khelvyn C.
Consultor de operaciones de tecnología de la información
Telecommunications, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: From my point of view postgreSQL I consider it one of the most powerful database managers, since I use it daily, from my role as a database administrator, as well as a web developer, since it allows to manage environments put into production easily, with an acceptable and intuitive configuration.

Pros: 1164/5000
-Easy installation and configuration in other environments.
- Pgadmin management interface of the databases, very intuitive and complete with the necessary to a few clicks, I recommend keeping the graphical tool for the stability it offers.
-It has a connection balancer, known as pgpool that allows to manage the cluster structure well.
-Principles of replication between active-active or active-passive servers
Variety of console-level command options for restore or backup tasks and maintenance tasks
-principal manager for developers for the scalability and stability it offers.
-Management of free access, which allows the use of it without any problem, without any cost
-Ideal manager for the management of relational databases
-Allows the management of different versions on the same server with multiple database intentions with different listening ports.

Cons: - Poor documentation
- Functional technicians commonly report a slowness at the BD level, but that depends on how the DB is structured and especially if good database practices are applied

Open source object-relational database management system for Web Developers

Reviewed on 09/01/2018
Ashish A.
Software Engineer
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: PostgreSQL or simply Postgres implements the SQL and advanced SQL standard very well. It can handle workloads ranging from small web applications to large data warehousing with many parallel users. Postgres provides a easy to use tool called pgAdmin to interact with and manipulate database. It provides support for complex data types like (multi-dimensional) Array, Json, user-defined types. PostgreSQL provides higher number of connections at cheap price. It support all types of indexing for faster retrieval of data. In my company we replaced our database server from MySQL to PostgreSQL because of PostgreSQL higher db connections connections in cheaper price as compared to MYSQL. It is also available free of cost till 10,000 rows on Heroku.

Cons: PostgreSQL query syntax for some complex queries like array, json, string functions and case operator are bit complicated to write . Installation and configuration of PostgreSQL is not as easy as MySQL. Documentation is not as good as compared to MySQL and it is bit harder to search for help regarding some complex queries and database functions on google. Replication is not yet as well implemented as in MySQL.

Object-relational open source database

Reviewed on 22/07/2019
Petr V.
Developer
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We use PostgreSQL mainly for heavy load projects because to high write performance due to its MVCC approach, it largely eliminates the need for locking, and that the database effectively meets ACID principles.

Pros: Supports functions where the results are suitable for use as with tables. We can define own aggregate and window functions on that.
Includes built-in support for B + tree, hash, GiST, GiN and custom index types.
Support access using a system known as Multi-Version Concurrency Control (MVCC).
Native support for many data types including XML support for Xpath queries or UUID.
User defined objects, posibility to create new types of almost all objects in the database.

Cons: Possible worse performance in read operation.

Best Database Management System with wide range of Features

Reviewed on 04/07/2018
Jugraj S.
Software Engineer
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: PostgreSQL is one of the best from the range of DBMS i used in my career. Features like Stored Procedures is one of the reason i prefer this tool. It helps me take off a huge amount of workload from the API server as same data need to format differently for different APIs.
Along with it the availability of builtin functions like JSON functions, Regex Functions etc helps a lot in the data processing field.
Connectors support for various languages is one of the main reason for using this tool. Connection Pooling helps me execute multiple queries without slowing the system and losing any data.

Cons: It is not suitable for beginners. Designing a efficient and effective Database workflow need a skilled DB Admin so a beginner need some time to get to familiar with the system.
Another drawback is its management tool pgAdmin 4. Its a disaster compare to pgAdmin 3.
It is a web App and lags a lot. I face problems in multitasking in version 4 that is not the case with version 3.
I Hope someday somebody provide backward compatibility of PostgreSQL 10+ with pgAdmin 3.

The most advanced open-source database management system

Reviewed on 06/08/2019
George S.
CEO
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We use PostgreSQL in most of our projects as a primary backend and our experience has been positive.

Pros: PostgreSQL is one of the most feature-rich, powerful and advanced open-source database management systems. Though this power comes at a cost. Using PostgreSQL in the best possible way takes some time. PostgreSQL is a real beast and it takes time before one becomes fully familiar with it.

Cons: Even with all the power that PostgreSQL gives, there are certain things that are missing. For example, until the latest versions there was no support for partitioning. Lack of a great graphic admin tool is a con in my opinion. Yes, it's possible to use (and we do) third party tools like DBeaver but a great database system must simply have its own admin GUI.

Best SQL for Analytics and in terms of speed.

Reviewed on 10/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
Associate Software Developer
Computer Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: By using PostgreSQL as backend database for our large applications which uses large amount of data then selling that applications to customers we are getting benefits.

Pros: PostgreSQL is the best I can say. Its performance is very fast in terms of getting data and inserting data. Means if we are inserting entries in bulk then it would do it in a good speed as compared to other databases. It is very good for Analytics and it has good tooling than other databases. It supported many other features like using of arrays which is not in MySql so I would say it is good database to use to make applications.

Cons: The big disadvantage is it takes more memory than other databases if you have many connections and replication is bit difficult in PostgreSQL which might get easy in future updates else it is a good software.

Best RDBMS

Reviewed on 06/12/2018
Trey C.
Software Developer
Program Development, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: PostgreSQL is my favorite database management system by a long shot. I've professionally used MySQL, Maria DB, MS SQL Server, SQLite, MS Access, and several NoSQL options and Postgres is the best by far. It has a great community around a great product. The official docs are very approachable and I learn new things every time I use it. They built a strong core around consistency and reliability and ever since 9.0 they've made the system really really fast. I can't recommend this software enough!

Pros: Very strong consistency and reliability
Feature set is growing rapidly
Very fast and efficient
Very developer friendly
Very extensible

Cons: There are lots and lots of configuration options and the defaults aren't right for modern hardware

The best SQL and open source database.

Reviewed on 07/06/2018
Samantha N.
IT Project Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Because range queries are integrated, it is much less effort to query compared to MySQL.

Pros:  It is fast and reliable, manages inserts and updates of tens of thousands of lines impeccably. PostgreSQL implements SQL standards very well and supports advanced SQL stuff, the PostSQL database works very well with hibernation HPA and we have been using it extensively together with the Spring framework, the consistency is also very good, you will never lose data or lose data. JSON support in the latest version has made things easier for us now, since we do not need to migrate the schema as always before.  Finally, the backup methods through pg_dump are easy to use and ensure that you can always back up before any major changes.

Cons: It is not very intuitive, in my opinion, and I think those problems must be solved before I can get the kind of traction that MySQL has, also more open sources admit mysql but not postgres. These are some of the problems with postgres.

Rock-solid and high performance database engine

Reviewed on 13/03/2019
Jorge M.
Telecommunications Engineer
Telecommunications, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We've been relying in PostgreSQL as the main relational database for many of our projects, and it has never let us down. Besides, it just keeps getting better version after version.

Pros: High availability through streaming replication;
High levels of parallel query execution introduced in latest release (v11);
Lots of data types supported, including JSON;
Transactions support in Stored Procedures;
Very stable and reliable;
Great community plugins available (like Timescale for TSDB and GIS for geo data)

Cons: Native tooling has room for improvement, but there's lots of 3rd party alternatives available;
Documentation has room for improvement;

postgres review

Reviewed on 09/06/2019
Debasis M.
dba
Telecommunications, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: I like it is very easy to install and very light weight

Cons: It does not scale horizontally so it is difficult to handle large DBMS system

Best database for RoR apps

Reviewed on 22/06/2018
Alvaro I.
Director of Web Development
Internet, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: - Scalability is a key factor in a database and PosgreSQL handle this large amounts of data without breaking a sweat.
- Rich text queries runs smoothly as well.
- The integration with ActiveRector is awesome!!
- I think is the most famous free database in the market right now, so that means that when an error happen you will have a good community that will have your back.

Cons: - There isn't many thing to say about PosgreSQL, I will say that the most traumatic part is the installation but once you have it up and running this should be a walk in the park for a developer to use.

Wanted to use an open source object-relational database for our project and postgres worked well

Reviewed on 30/06/2018
Ritesh T.
Senior Software Engineer
201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: 1)Easy installation with good user guide
2)Scales pretty well for big applications
3)Support for high availability can be easily implemented by going through the documentation
4)Have yet to find any database related issues in our application since the time application was launched
5)Good Java-sql mapping of data types
6)Works wonders with JPA implementations
7)Postgresql's query optimiser is one of the best i have seen so far

Cons: Again since the software has so much to offer it can be sometime hard to learn all the features.Other than that there is no cons as such

Very simple yet powerful

Reviewed on 24/12/2018
Ravi R.
Associate Software Developer
Computer Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: It has helped us to remove unnecessary distractions and focus on the main task of reducing time taken for queries. It is very fast and reliable with it's transactions. It helped us with high volumes of data. Postgres FDW was used to connect our existing SQL server databases.

Pros: It has a clean interface and does not tries to get an attractive UI for you. It has very less query time. It provides a good architecture for code first approach projects. We set it up on Linux and it does behaves pretty nice on it. We get to see what what we need to see while querying. It is quiet easy to edit the datatypes and design your schema. Also it provides some nice mining tools which can operate on our data. And the best thing about it is source code availability. We can do whatever we want.

Cons: It is slow for small database sizes but the issue erodes with database size increase. Also it has different syntax which might look complex to some.

Very good open source database

Reviewed on 23/08/2018
Srikanth V.
Sr MTS
Information Technology & Services, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: One of the best open source RDBMS database.
Easy to integrate with services and works in high read/writes env.
Advanced features like master slave replication are easy to implement and doesn't take too long for training or implementation.
Used across the software industry, so it has good forums and blogs to support any issues.

Cons: It is very difficult to install postgres on production servers that doesnt have access to internet.
Earlier versions of postgres doesn't support upsert functionality.
Doesn't have a good database client.
Doesn't have a good monitoring mechanism

Runs a 150GB DB containing a quarter million records without breaking a sweat

Reviewed on 07/06/2017
Phil S.
Sr. Developer
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Pretty much everything, although there are a few features from commercial databases that I'm hoping will make it in. After having used it for several years, and a certain "M" competitor for several years prior, I can confidently say that it's really hard to go wrong in recommending PostgreSQL to anyone with even a small amount of technical knowledge.

Cons: - Setting up replication can be a bit tricky
- There isn't really a good repository for an up-to-date (or per-version) list of common tips, tricks and queries. Often can be some googling to track down what you're looking for

A solid and reliable relational database

Reviewed on 12/03/2019
Gedson S.
Senior Production Engineer
Telecommunications, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We've used PostgreSQL as a RDS in several projects, with great results. Its very reliable and robust, which are the best facets you look for in a database.

Pros: PostgreSQL has great support for many data types, including JSON. This makes it a very flexible RDB, because you can integrate schema-free documents in your tables, query on the and select their properties. PG 11 also brought a high performance parallel query engine, which greatly boost it's performance.

Cons: Security and encryptions features have room for improvement, but you can count on some 3rd party plug-ins to fill the gap.

PG is the future

Reviewed on 23/02/2019
Jordan V.
Developer
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: PG is about as good as it gets. It's a fantastic database solution with every and any feature you could need. It's extensible and very reliable. PG is extremely fast and predictable. If you can get PG offered as a service while hosting your app in the cloud it's a no brainer.

Cons: I don't really have any complaints about PG. It can be difficult to upgrade between versions as it's quite strict with how it handles versioning and data, but this can be seen as a pro and not necessarily a con in tight infrastructure scenarios since it is so strict.

Very reliable database

Reviewed on 18/10/2018
Cristiano D.
sistemista / programmatore
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: PostgreSQL is a very reliable, stable and quick RDBMS. In my experience it has no problems managing hundreds of millions of records.
From a DBA point of view, has a very low TCO since once configured it seldomly needs further intervention by the DBA.
It comes with PostGIS plugin, so it is very easy to manage geographical data types

Pros: A very powerful RDBMS at the best price point: free
Integrated with spatial extension PostGIS
Very quick and stable, it manages flawlessly hundreds of millions of records

Cons: Table partitioning is limited
Multimaster replicas are available only through a third party distribution

Easy to setup and configure...

Reviewed on 17/12/2018
Verified Reviewer
Systems Engineer
Computer Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Very positive. It's a lightweight DB suite that has a ton of power and flexibility.

Pros: I really love how easy it is to setup PostgreSQL without having a ton of knowledge about the product. Setting it up on Windows is a breeze (even easier than Microsoft SQL), and you're up and running within 10 minutes. There are also some graphical tools that you can install that allow you to easily manage your PostgreSQL instances via a GUI if you prefer that over a command line interface.

Cons: Sometimes it can be tough due to version differences to get the proper ODBC connector installed on your Windows box. You end up with multiple connectors that all have slightly different versions, and your application must be sure to specify the exact correct version otherwise it could throw errors. It would be nice if the connectors just stuck with major versions that supported all of the minor releases in that branch.

Post-Postgres

Reviewed on 15/04/2019
Matt M.
IT Support Specialist
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We have issues with data corruption on our postgres machines that requires full re-installation of the software. I have not experienced this issue with other platforms, luckily this is more "blue moon" type of consistency, and isn't a problem that we need to deal with very often.

Pros: PostgresSQL is a fine database manager, and has come as part of an application that we are using every day. As far as configuration on our end, it's literally as simple as installing it - the rest of it basically took care of itself.

Cons: Not very intuitive, and it runs a little slow compared to other offerings.

JSON+RDBMS = Perfect Database

Reviewed on 12/09/2018
Priyansh S.
Database Manager
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: PostgreSQL is a very special kind of database, it lets you store data in tables in rows and columns form, while giving you flexibility to JSON data types to make your application flexible. It provides support for a large number of complex data types say JSON, JSONb, Text Array, Integer Array, thus giving you a very powerful database tool.

Cons: It gives very good performance for the first few million record in database, but after that you will need to write your SQL queries very carefully as performance is not that good.

De facto RDBMS for the Internet

Reviewed on 17/08/2018
Morgan C.
CIO
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We have run many sites on PostgreSQL with Django at high performance. We use NoSQL where appropriate, but in every case we have still used Postgres for the main data store, and used the key value stores for caching and queueing.

Pros: PostgreSQL is open source. We use it for pretty much every site or system we build. It scales well and needs a minimum of tuning. We only fall back to MySQL when absolutely necessary.

Cons: We still encounter software which can only run on MySQL, especially PHP applications. For those we'll tolerate MySQL but otherwise we would prefer PostgreSQL support.