Smart Hotel Software Reviews

by Smart Hotel Software

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3.8/5
  • Customer Service
    4.8/5

About Smart Hotel Software

Full featured, fully integrated Property Management System - Reservations, check ins/outs, guest folio, internet bookings and more.

Learn more about Smart Hotel Software

Showing 20 reviews

Daniel P.
Head of Operation
Hospitality, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/03/2020

"Easy to manage the Hotel Operational Daily"

Comments: As front Office I will like to use it, Because is uder friendly and simple

Pros: East to use. even when i use it at the first time, and i able to use it in a week after training. They has feature from front office till back office.

Cons: Sometimes is freeze and i need to restart it. I don't why it happens.May be because of inthernet or something else.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/03/2020
Nancy C.
Business Manager
Hospitality, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2018

"Customization of the SmartHotel system"

Comments: I have inherited a system that was customized poorly by my predecessors. I have been working closely with one of the rep to redesign a system that both fits our unique needs and is easy to use and book online. My experience with her has been wonderful and I hugely value both her vast understanding of the system and communication style. Her determination to assist us in making the system serve us better, and effort/ skills in Crystal have made a dramatic difference to our success.

Pros: The customer service department is fantastic and can help us creating the materials, and systems we require when the standard is not workable for our needs.
I like it's adaptability. It has been reliable for reservations and has not had trouble with 'dropping' reservations that other systems I have worked with have.

Cons: Lack of Training manual or guide
It is clunky and does not look very modern. This is particularly evident in the online bookings.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2018
Kira M.
Social Media Marketing Coordinator, Reservations
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/11/2019

"SH & NMA"

Pros: I like the amount of detail we can include and customize in our reservations. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]at Smart Hotel is SO helpful and easy to communicate with. When we can't figure something out over the phone, having him be able to take control of my computer screen is so great.

Cons: Not being able to adjust a reservation once checked out. I don't like that it asks me again if i want to close a window.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/11/2019
Belinda R.
Customer Service Manager
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/12/2019

"Smart Reservations System"

Comments: The software interacts with our accounting program Adagio so that has been a big plus.

Pros: I personally like the reporting features. I am able to get reports on occupancy and reservations that enable me to see what our revenues are like

Cons: The rates set up features. We are a bit different than a hotel and have 3 areas we work with for reservations. Due to this we have an a lot of rates. Each rate has 3 components - Hidden Rate, Visible Rate and an Object to direct the funds to the correct GL account.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/12/2019
Patricia B.
Manager
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/07/2010

"Highly Recommended with 1 suggestion."

Comments: Highly Recommended with 1 suggestion.

Pros: 1. Uniresman Customer Service is excellent. In a day and age of automation it is a refreshing change to have a real person answer the support line and in a few short minutes solve your problem.
2. After the initial purchase of software we were impressed by the fact UniResman software is consistently updating and improving the performance to meet the ever changing hospitality environment.
3. I think the strongest pro regarding the software is how easy the software is to learn. We have a diverse group of people working our offices with various education, experience and training. The simplicity of the software has made new training staff member an enjoyable relaxing process.

Cons: If there is one element Uniresman must improve on is the Release Notes for service pack. The notes are written for techs in the back office that have the time to review all the pages in detail. There needs to be a FAST note version I can give to my front desk and sales staff that they can read. I dont care if they call it You asked for it you got the Top Ten FAST Notes i.e. Hotel X asked for a fast button for walk-ins-here it is. A screen shot, basic instructions and a sample all on 1-2 pages per example. If I can give each staff member 10-15 new things to learn each update they can see growth in the software as well as themselves. This is why I gave the "Feature Richness' 3 stars. The software may have new features but if you don't convey the message in a simpler format my staff and I will not be able to discover them.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/07/2010
Dede R.
General Manager
Hospitality, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/11/2019

"Smart Hotel Software"

Comments: The benefits of having a software program out weigh paper bookings by far a lot less errors and able to book rooms in advance

Pros: Easy to load this program and to make reservations

Cons: When you want to go to the day you are actually on it will take you to the previous day example if it was November 22 and I wanted to go to the date on the program I have to go to the previous day to get the correct date

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/11/2019
Russell M.
Inn Manager
Hospitality, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2019

"Best customer service"

Comments: Our online bookings have increased. Our customers enjoy the ease of the booking and the check in process.

Pros: The team at smart hotel will answer your call anytime! [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and the team are so knowledgeabve and helpful. They have always been able to solve any issues.

Cons: Not a thing. Works great! Have had little to no issues.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2019
Carly N.
General Manager
Hospitality, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2019

"Med-Inn Hotel"

Pros: User friendly & simple.
Color coded chart on control reservation screen

Cons: Would like the option of entering the zip and the city/state pops up.
Would like a dual option when entering housekeeping status (i.e. - vacant & clean/ vacant & occupied); with computer giving a flag if there is a discrepancy.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2019
Valerie B.
Operations Assistant
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/07/2010

"Mica Heliskiing"

Comments: Satisfactory to good. We are accessing it on a remote server which causes some issues. Note the licences were purchase by Island Lake Resort Group, exact date unknown.

Pros: this product meets most of our needs.

Cons: a bit cumbersome for building variable package rates. we do not use the invoicing feature as we do not like the presentation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/07/2010
John L.
General Manager
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/08/2010

"Just Beginning"

Comments: Average at best

Pros: -Reporting

Cons: -There are a number of items that have been dicussed that require further attention.
-Ease of use
-Speed of loading screens
-Cutting down the number of screens
-Changing certain reports so that we can find our information quickly and efficiently
Just to name a few

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/08/2010
Marnie G.
Operations Assistant
Hospitality, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/07/2018

"Smart Hotel for heli skiing"

Pros: It can be customized to meet our needs. Support staff are very good, have an excellent understanding of the system, and can help to determine the best way to fit our needs. We don't fit "inside the box" of a regular hotel, so we have required quite a few custom programs / reports. The system now works very well, is reliable, and fairly easy to use.

Cons: It is complicated and some aspects are not very intuitive.
There is quite a steep learning curve to be able to use this software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/07/2018
Holly S.
Finance Manager
Hospitality, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/07/2018

"Its not just in the name"

Comments: Managers didn't realize how much money was being lost buy using another software that had no connection with out finance software.

Pros: Smart Hotel is very user friendly software and easy to learn. Integrated with our finance software which is a god send.

Cons: No dislikes of this software - should have got it 5 years ago

Vendor Response

by Smart Hotel Software on 31/07/2018

Thank you for your kind words Holly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/07/2018
Grant P.
Owner
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/09/2010

"As big (or small) as you need"

Comments: Highly recommended. The system can be scaled to meet size needs and is flexible enough to meet customized requirements.

Pros: After reviewing a couple dozen different systems, we implemented UniResMan for the hotel front desk processes. It matched our prior processes very closely, is intuitive, and provides the front desk staff with any reservation info they needed at any time (something we could not do prior). It has a full set of standard reports that provide essential information for operations, saving weeks of compilation time. Simply put: this software enables management to focus on growing business more, opposed to solely supporting daily operations.

Cons: The standardized reports are structured to fit what an accountant likes to see, which can obscure information from accurately or quickly being read by front-line staff (front desk or housekeeping).
While all of the information is in the system, it can be difficult to find. The user needs to understand where to find all of the information (user-specific training).

Vendor Response

by Smart Hotel Software on 13/05/2019

Thank you for your kind words. Note Grant still uses our software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/09/2010
Dane A.
Manager
  • Overall Rating
    2/5
  • Ease of Use
    2/5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/07/2010

"Bloated and very Unstable"

Comments: This program has a long way to go. When someone says "it should have..." it should not be thrown in front of everyones eyes. For such an unstable program, time should be spent on cleaning out what already exists.

Pros: Many Features Great Control Screen I like how everything opens in there own process, but should be tabbed

Cons: Reservations take too many steps and too many ways to do it, therefor very slow. Program stalls many times a day. Some reservations don't save properly when adding rooms making for a huge headache later. The user interface is cluttered with no option of eliminating features. Training is very extensive rendering the program useless for seasonal operations. Web interface creates unallocated reservations that if not checked for regularly will result in overbooking. Objects don't move with reservations, pain when adjusting dates. Payments don't always default to paying guest in the open reservation Does not show all outstanding folios. Stalls when viewing GL's Cancelled reservations print when you print daily registration cards. Waste of paper, time, and very confusing. Objects show on all reservation confirmations. Deposits include objects Agents and extra guests should not print when printing registration cards.

Vendor Response

by Smart Hotel Software on 13/05/2019

This property no longer uses our software. This was a farewell flame.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/07/2010
Annette B.
Office manager
Hospitality, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/11/2019

"Old user"

Pros: Colors are quick to see, people are great to work with.

Cons: having to click inside of empty boxes lol

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/11/2019
Meg H.
Guest Services Manager
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/08/2010

"Honeymoon Bay"

Comments: I would like to be able to manipulate reports more easily. Like pick up the numbers of bookings from a certain city address or region.
Be able to use it more as a tool for tracking specific marketing.

Pros: Uni Res is user-friendly, and I can see how it would be so very useful where many differing departments need to be all on the same page... like housekeeping, maintenance and reception.

Cons: In our situation, it is much more software than we need. This becomes a bit cumbersome as well ... in that it tries to tell us more than we need to know. Sounds like a perfect world ... and it is not a problem. It is simply more than we need.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/08/2010
Emily P.
Operations manager
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/08/2010

"Backeddy"

Comments: Great Service and Great product.

Pros: Easy to use, tonnes of features and fairly straight forward application to figure out.
Customer Support (Liz) is a pleasure to deal with and always comes up with answers/solutions quickly.

Cons: Reporting Function not particularly user friendly.
The use of Crystal reports for guest paperwork, makes fine tuning your confirmations and registrations harder than it should be.
Not URMs fault, but disappointing that the interface to allow our H&L POS to charge to rooms, still does not work correctly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/08/2010
Joanna C.
Manager
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/08/2010

"Good value"

Comments: I would recommend this product to smaller hotels looking for a budget solution. Definitely buy the additional maintenance and tech support.

Pros: Good value for money, great technical support and customer service, stable and reliable, few technical problems. Adequate online reservations system that integrates with back-end.

Cons: Not the most user-friendly system: takes a while to learn and some processes seem unnecessarily long-winded. "Out-of-the-box" online reservations solution needed some tweaking for our preferences costing us extra money in programming.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/08/2010
Frank S.
controller
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/08/2010

"quilchena"

Comments: wouldnt hesitate to recommend it to anyone

Pros: birds eye view of all the rooms
easy to use and train others on
capturing of data
awesome customer support
good prompting when taking reservations
good interface with other our restaurant software and simply accounting

Cons: diffivculty when fully booked to transfer to rooms

Vendor Response

by Smart Hotel Software on 13/05/2019

Note Quilchena is still using our software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/08/2010
Kenneth F.
Director
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/07/2010

"Fantastic"

Comments: We hope more companies sign up.

Pros: The whole system is a pro. The system is great.

Cons: We are happy with all features at Hotel Res,

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/07/2010