15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About PrognoCIS

Electronic health records and Telemedicine software designed for medical offices of all specialties and sizes.

Learn more about PrognoCIS

Pros:

Ease of use with EMR and practice management. Integration was smooth and customer support responds in a timely fashion.

Cons:

CPT codes are not aligned with the Diagnosis. Video has been hard to get into have to use zoom as backup.

PrognoCIS ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
3.8
Features
4.0
Value for Money
3.7

Likelihood to recommend

7.9/10

PrognoCIS has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5 stars based on 289 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used PrognoCIS before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (289)

Roberto
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5.0 11 years ago

Comments: My name is Dr. Roberto E. Puente, DPM, I own and operate a small solo, but very busy, long-term care podiatry practice that has been using PrognoCIS since July 2011. All patient encounters take place at nursing homes and assisted living facilities, so when we decided to go paperless and started to shop around for an EMR system, it became very clear to us that a cloud or web-based system was the way to go. After reviewing many systems, and taking many demos, we decided to go with PrognoCIS because it seemed like a very user-friendly system, with adequate and knowledgeable support staff, and very affordable when compared with other systems in the market at that time. After over two years of using the system, let me tell you that it has been the single best decision that my practice has made! It has proven to be everything that we expected from an EMR and more!! Other colleagues opted for specialty-specific, much more expensive systems, only to find themselves abandoned after the company closed or sold, and were left without reliable tech support. The training/implementation period went very well. We were very fortunate to get such a knowledgeable implementer that was very patient with my skeptical nature, and made sure we where all ready to use the system in all its capabilities before we went live. The system is very easy to customize to any practice scenario, we are able to fully document even complex patient encounters in a matter of minutes. The progress notes produced are clear, professional, and we constantly get compliments on our accurate and timely documentation from other medical professionals and nursing staff. The electronic prescription module is extremely easy to use. The EMR/Billing interface has proven to be seamless and extremely accurate. We were able to do without our billing service and process all claims in-house after a few months. Communication with the clearinghouse has been flawless in all aspects. We actually just achieved the Gold Standard of Revenue Cycle for Medical Practices award from our clearinghouse (Gateway EDI), which means that 99% of claims submitted are error free! The system has very nice tools that allow you to achieve meaningful use with ease and confidence. PrognoCIS has allowed my practice to grow, while allowing me more time to actually do what I like; treat patients instead of getting slowed down with repetitive documenting, billing and administrative chores. I wish I could tell you more about my experiences with their tech support, but to tell you the truth, I haven't had to call them in over a year. I am very glad to see that Bizmatics has continuously grown over the last couple of years and are now consider a top EMR vendor/manufacturer. I don't want to make it seem like it was all peaches and cream, implementing and training for a new EMR is a stressful task for any practice, regardless of size and specialty. That is why is so important to make sure you have a strong, knowledgeable support team behind you. We did have our minor difficulties at the beginning, particularly with the fax application and some issues with the automated uploading of ERA's from the clearinghouse. Both these issues have been fixed long ago, and we have been able to fax in and out of the EMR without any issues for over a year. The same thing with the ERA uploading, it has worked flawlessly for almost two years. I am so glad that we chose PrognoCIS and also very thankful to Bizmatics for such a great product.

Mike
CEO in US
Medical Practice
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Fantastic Web EMR, Great Mobile EMR, Amazing Customer Training/Support

5.0 8 years ago

Pros:

WhiteCoat Medical Group has been using PrognoCIS EMR system for about a year now, since launching our healthcare services. We use both their web EMR, mobile EMR, and Revenue Cycle Management. WhiteCoat offers medical home visits via our patient web platform where patients can utilize to make appointment requests. WhiteCoat providers are always on the go, thus requiring a simple and easy-to-use mobile EMR that can be used to chart the home visit on the go. We’ve been using PrognoCIS’ mobile EMR, which served us very well. The reason why we continue to use PrognoCIS is because of the numerous customizable features that we can implement to tailor the system to our medical group’s needs. For example, we can bundle CPT codes as a custom CPT code that our providers can select, but more importantly, these CPT codes can be customized to be arrange alphabetically and to show up first when our provider get to the CPT code assessment and plan section. In addition to that, we can add various assessment and plan templates that our providers can use to quickly document things on the go. PrognoCIS also helps with the creation and implementation of such templates. We use both web EMR and the mobile application EMR. We use the web EMR for electronic prescriptions and when there needs to be more detailed charting, but the mobile application EMR, which is an iPhone app is also connected with the web EMR, is mainly used by our providers to chart while on the go on their iPhone or iPad. The mobile EMR is incredibly user friendly and intuitive. They also have a patient portal system that our patients also utilize to message the provider and also for patients to access their medical records on their phone. The patient portal is both web and mobile. PrognoCIS’ tech stack is robust and covers all the necessary platforms to efficiently and effectively chart. I highly recommend it.

Cons:

The only thing I wish from PrognoCIS is an updated app with e-RX feature on the iOS application EMR, but after speaking with a PrognoCIS representative, there's a new version coming out. Looking forward to seeing it!

Anne
Practice Manager in US
Medical Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PrognoCIS EMR ok value for the money

3.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall it has been a moderately good starter EMR, and the price was right. We are looking to upgrade after using it for 11 years to get more integration with EMR, billing and quality management.

Pros:

This "free" EMR comes as a bonus for using PrognoCIS RCM. We have used it since 2013, and it has performed reasonably well. It does the job, has a patient portal, and is included with using PrognoCIS billing. When there are technical issues it is obvius that getting everyone up and running is a priority and so far, interuptions have been limited to < 1 day. Excellent customer service which is outsourced but enthusiastic.

Cons:

It seems like the programming was done over time, and there are some annoying redundancies and inconsistancies, as well as glitches that pop up from time to time. As the field of medicine has grown in complexity, things that had been included are now add ons, which would add to the cost.

Jo
Assistant
Medical Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Wonderful

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Just to note this is our 3rd EMR system and by far better then the others. After spending a large amount of money on "in office" servers, technical support contracts, maintenance. We were at wits end, and finally at the end of the contract. This system was recommended to us and within 3 months we were up and running and able to cancel the other, without missing a beat at a much lower cost. One more thing, we just moved our practice after 34 years, the convenience of only having to plug in our computers and log on was GREAT!! no IT techs or moving installers needed to bring EMR online. BEST MOVE WE EVER MADE.

Pros:

PrognoCIS is the perfect EMR/Billing system for us. The remote access from Desktop to mobile is so convenient we don’t have to worry about waiting til the next day to access a patient chart. We are a solo practice and with this system being so user friendly, we were able to tailor it to our practice. I like that it has several features, and we are able to utilize only what we need. Big shout out to the technical customer service personal are wonderful, we have only had a few format problems but were able to solve in a timely matter. Also, very easy to use with The Dragon dictation system.

Cons:

The only thing I can think of is the few times the system went down, but since we are cloud based this can be expected. It never lasted more then few minutes.

Amporn
Owner in US
Hospital & Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We keep discovering new features and ways to improve our workflows

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: We have been using PrognoCIS since 2007 and found it very easy to get up and going on. We were assigned knowledgeable staff who understood our needs and helped us to configure the system for optimum effect in our daily tasks. Support has always been very responsive and since their transition to being more US based support, the communication is even better.

Pros:

It is a very comprehensive EMR (and billing system) with just about every feature I can imagine, without slowing me down. You can activate, or hide whichever features you wish. It communicates beautifully with all my labs, physicians and other vendors. The fact that it is compatible with Windows and Apple, has a very nice IPhone app for both EMR and patient portal.

Cons:

The reporting on the clinical side does not currently allow me to create my own reports, even though there is a large library to choose from. On the billing side, I am able to customize them nicely, so I think it should not be long until that is addressed

Maryam
Physician in US
Medical Practice, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

EHR use

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

It is easy to use. Entire team including support and billing are very accessible and quick to respond to any concerns. It is easily customized and is cost-effective especially for a small medical practice. I was worried in the beginning because the training was not done on-site, but the person who trained me was wonderful and very accessible and responsive to my needs which made it much easier than I had anticipated.

Cons:

I wish I had the ability to make more minor changes on my own without having to go thru their IT support each time.

Peace
Medical director in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Dubious practice

1.0 4 months ago

Comments: Subpar!! Not client friendly but will bill for services NOT provided

Pros:

Nothing. We practical had to built our templates from billing to documentation

Cons:

Poor client service. The worse. The will bill for services not rendered and resist any effort to help you resolve the issues

Stephanie
CEO/Provider in US
Mental Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Not made for Mental Health

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: So I would say they have a programming side and a billing side. My biggest challenge was creating an encounter to model that of a behavioral health template. This was not the case in my experience. The people were very nice and was trying to provide what I needed but the time it was taking to create what most EHRs (this was my first EMR) already have in place caused a delay in me working with the RCM side to submit claims therefore I encountered a 30 day delay in claims submissions. If they fix this PrognoCIS would be an awesome product for Mental health Small Practices.

Pros:

So many features but will benefit a larger company (i.e., facility, hospital, medical office). Video portal within the software, e-labs, e-prescribe, EMR specialty specific content library, scheduling and access to reports, clearing house fees, secured messaging, patient protal, appointment reminders, fax services, technical support and paper claims can be apart of your package. They are good to work with you to tailor make it and if you use their RCM company the software is included!

Cons:

Patients are not getting their text/email reminders which affects appointment accountability (our numbers started to drop). EMR is really tailored to a medical office and not the behavioral health. For example they call their visits "encounters" which then you follow a table of contents tabs to enter data. That standard format has forms, terminology and templates that aide to a Medical Office (i.e., Vitals, ROS, HPI). The assessments tab you can change but when you first open you can be overwhelmed by the different assessments. Mind you those assessments you see is what your patient sees as well which can be overwhelming for them when being asked about past knee history. Can't setup reoccurences w/telehealth sessions. CPT codes are not aligned with the Diagnosis. Video has been hard to get into have to use zoom as backup.

Raees
Raees
Medical Biller in Pakistan
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Appointment booking to Payment post

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Our group of providers are using this for pain management from 2019 and happy to use of this from appointments booking to claim scrubbing is to easy update with new CPT and ICD codes most easy thing to do with prognosis is payment posting you need only few click to check doctors notes to patients accounts details also backend team is very helpful for you every time
Believe me used one you are loving it

Pros:

Use of this software is to easy to Handel every part of billing is to smooth

Cons:

Some time you are facing issue to get eligibility for a few minutes not to hours!

Faizan
Assistant Manger in Pakistan
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Pain clinic billing

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: One of our provider is using prognosis from 2013 and he was very happy with this service second thing is get a report or each CPT codes is very easy third one if you post a refund payment it’s a matter of few seconds

Pros:

As per my point of view it will b the best web based provider services for pain clinic they are always open for new things

Cons:

With prognosis you can post your ERA payment in a click- you need a number of click through claim creation to submission

Frank
Physician in US
Medical Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Inexpensive but you get what you pay

2.0 3 years ago

Comments: At this point, I would rather pay more for an established product with better back end support. It is very frustrating to waste my and my staff's time trying to get Prognocis to fix things.

Pros:

relatively low upfront cost. easy work flow.

Cons:

Poor back end support. Very expensive in the back end to add features and committing an employee to constantly remind prognosis and push them to make the requested changes.

Ali
Medical director
Medical Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Terrible Customer Service and Supprt

2.0 7 years ago

Comments: Highly disappointed! Looking for another EMR system!

Pros:

Easy to use when things are going well. Initially customer service was very responsive but as the company grew, quality went down.

Cons:

-Outage of EMR System for a few minutes a few times a week. -Significant slowing down of their Server almost every day. - Issues that are brought to the tech support’s Attention are not followed through and cases not closed efficiently. - Recent complete outage of the entire system for 24 hours on 11/21/17 (and loss of ALL data billing, encounters, prescriptions, test reports, documents scanned etc) for a period of 48 hours just because they had no recent data back up. The company made no efforts to contact us before or after the disaster.

Nina
US
Medical Practice
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Until this latest update, the system was very good. We were satisfied.

3.5 10 years ago

Pros:

At the presentation, it looked simple, straightforward, and user-friendly. Now, after updates, it is much more complicated and bulky. At the beginning, we had one technical support person, who was always available, helpful, and patient, so we really worked as a team. In general, the product is reasonably functional, satisfying our needs.

Cons:

It requires too many clicks on different pages to complete some steps (eg., the Medications Section on the Face Sheet). There are too many different pages to be completed in general; it takes too much time to finish up a file. We don't have personal tech support person anymore; the ticket system is not that quick or efficient, and sometimes tickets get closed without being solved satisfactorily for us. There are open tickets since 04/14. To get a technical support person now takes much longer, up to two days. All updates and changes change the system to the worse for users. Checkboxes are spread all over the page or even on different pages; simple and familiar symbols are switched to be more complicated. On the other hand, when we, as users, asked to change or simplify certain things, we were told that it is impossible, or our requests were sent to the engineers and died there. The latest update was not presented as a serious and complicated one. Training webinars were not recommended to take before its implementation, so the first week was a nightmare, and the first day was a total failure (with a full schedule!).

Mona
US
Medical Practice
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Podiatry Billing Company Meets with Success with PrognoCIS

4.0 10 years ago

Pros:

The software offers a systematic approach to billing with easy access to all the various components of the process. It is easy to maneuver from screen to screen to input the data or to review and analyze a patient's account. The reports are comprehensive to give a full analysis of the practice and enable you to evaluate all aspects. Support will develop specialized reports to meet your individual needs so it is customized for you and your practice, which is a wonderful feature. When I speak to patients on the phone, I can easily discuss their entire account with them with a clear picture of what has been billed, what has been paid by insurance, and what a patient's responsibility is.

Cons:

I would like the program to have the capability of making all the claims ready to send with just a click of a button. I understand the logic of having to review each claim for accuracy before sending to the insurance carrier, yet, once reviewed, it would be nice not to have to individually check off each claim to be ready to send. With the transition to ICD-10, the new updated version of PrognoCIS has changed the way you input the diagnosis. The change is a bit more time-consuming. I am hopeful that with the next update, this will be addressed to enable one to quickly enter or select the diagnosis.

dan
Clinic Administrator
Medical Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Good EMR

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: We have a great relationship with this company

Pros:

This EMR is a good value for the money; the support is good, and functionality is easy to use. We have been with them 7 years, and enjoy the support

Cons:

Sometimes the system appears to revert for no reason, and data has been lost; we have to start over.

Annette
US
Medical Practice
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Not user friendly--Reports are huge problem

1.5 10 years ago

Pros:

They are definitely up to date/current with certifications and Meaningful Use criteria. So far, we have gotten all of our Meaningful Use payments, and many other practices I know have not even gotten through Stage 1 because of their software.

Cons:

Support is the biggest issue. I have issues that are still not resolved from 6 months ago. I'm told issue is fixed only to find it is not. It gets sent to "the back," who fixes one thing, and then three other things that were fine get messed up. They said we could customize reports, but we can't. They don't work. They told us they are accurate, but then I have to prove they are not. It's a huge problem when dealing with accounting and financial needs. We should be able to do more on our own and not have to wait for them to design a report. We need more stock reports that are basic so we can customize them for ourselves. You can not apply the copay, deductible, etc. until after you hear from the insurance company, so if you have multiple patient payments, it is a lot of work to see what DOS they are waiting for.

Mary
Administrator in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Smooth and Tailor made workflow for your specialty

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: After researching many EHR companies, I found that the team at PrognoCIS was the most attentive to my clinic needs. My training rep was patient and understanding. Thank you

Pros:

Workflow, customization of my needs. The EHR is designed specifically towards me (seemingly anyway). The people work hard to keep me pleased.

Cons:

Will respond to this question later. So far, so good. I have used EHRs in my career, and PrognoCIS works best for me.

jason
Doctor in US
Hospital & Health Care
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Medical Director. NY Urgent Care

5.0 8 years ago

Pros:

It is very user-friendly. Despite other EMR's that claim that they "...think like a doctor..." they actually do not. They all start with Chief Complain, which is a standard documentation pathway, exactly how the Computer Scientist would think. Most doctors, however document the chart while already having Differential Diagnosis partially materialized in their minds. This EMR allows you to do that. I have used more than 5-7 different EMR's and can attest that this one is the best I have ever used.

Cons:

I do not like when the billing modules have to be purchased separately. I should be able to do my own billing with or without the company. It has to be my choice. I understand that it is a current trend for nearly all of the EHR Companies to try to also sell doctors their billing services, but still I disagree with it. Doctors who wish to do their own billing should be able to have at least the option of having their own user-friendly revenue cycle management via EHR itself and not being forced to purchase an additional module, regardless how cheap it is.

Pavan
US
Medical Practice
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Good product. Excellent support.

4.5 10 years ago

Pros:

PrognoCIS is a good system that is very customizable to your needs. The most important part is their service. Their support has been excellent with explaining their features. They have also been instrumental in ensuring that everything went smoothly and that we were able to get everything setup an running within a month. We use the signature pad and fax out feature very well to create a paperless office. They are very knowledgeable and professional. The EMR, PM, and billing features work well. My biller seems happy as well. They have excellent support. I have been using it for almost 10 months new. I started using Dragon for the HPI and PLAN since January. Overall, we are very happy with the product and service. I would definitely recommend.

Cons:

Too many clicks. But I guess that all EMRs are that way to some extent.

Bina
US
Medical Practice
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

I wouldn't buy an EHR that cost and arm and leg when I have PrognoCIS

4.5 10 years ago

Pros:

They customize all of our templates and diagrams. We were looking for a vendor that could build an interface with our practice management system. We are a dermatology office, so we don't need all the bells and whistles as some of the other vendors out there. I honestly have to say from sales to programmers to everyone in support, this is the best software out there for everything from single doctors to a big group practice. We've had opportunities to change to vendors who are dermatology-specific, but we won't because we like this product and its functionality.

Cons:

From my experience with other software IT experience, tech support tends to take to long to fix issues. But I have to say we've been with them for the past three years, the support has improved significantly, and all my questions are addressed when they do call me.

Wendy
US
Medical Practice
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

EMR and Billing

4.0 10 years ago

Pros:

It is customizable once I was trained. I spent weeks getting it just right for us, and it worked well. I also like our installation consultant. She has been great to work with. I also love the ARRA dashboard and feedback when closing an encounter. It makes it easy for the providers to know they have done everything they are supposed to do.

Cons:

The programmers are hard to get to. They tend to fix things based on a brief description of the need. Often, the communication breaks down, and it doesn't get fixed like we need it. Then we have to start over. I would love it if I could talk to them before they make a fix or change so that I can make sure we are on the same page. Also, the fax capability gives us a lot of trouble. It's hard to know if a fax went through or failed and why.

Heather
US
Medical Practice
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Very dissatisfied as far as the Encounter and report outlay.

1.5 10 years ago

Pros:

The access to forms about exercises and medical procedures is nice.

Cons:

The report layout is sloppy. I have to call for help on every question or change that is needed on the report, and sometimes I don't hear back from anyone for another day or have to spend time on online meetings. I don't feel it is ideal for use on workers' comp patients. There are extra periods in some sentences, and others have incorrect outcomes. I do not like it for use of Operative Reports. I feel Operative Reports should have their own report page, because we do not do office visits on the same day as surgeries, yet it generates two documents, which is confusing to the front office when they need to forward reports. The print is too small on the screen, and on a laptop is even smaller.

Ashley
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice
4.5 12 years ago

Comments: We have been using PrognoCIS since our center opened on March 1, 2011. The contracting process was very easy, implementation went smoothly, and our ongoing IT support has been incredible. IT needs specific to our center have been addressed in a timely manner and with good outcomes. It's always nice when a friendly voice answers the phone to assist with any questions we have. PrognoCIS was extremely prepared for the Medicare EHR Incentive Program, which made obtaining our incentive payment much easier than expected. We are very glad we chose to use both the EMR and Billing Module of this system. It only takes moments to file insurance claims electronically. The available billing reports are great for keeping on top of aging claims. The best feature of ProgoCIS is that we can access the system from our laptops anywhere in the world. The convenience of being able to send a secure fax/email or even order a prescription from home or on the road is great.

Frank
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice
4.5 12 years ago

Comments: In early 2010, we opened our practice with an EMR/PM system that we believed would work for well dermatology. After several months effort, we found that the system didn't work as advertised. We researched about a dozen new systems, and selected BizMatic's ProcnoCIS system because it was found to be intuitive, feature rich, and provided an interface that made it possible to migrate patient data into PrognoCIS. In addition to that, the PrognoCIS project manager assigned to help us get started made adoption a pleasure. We began using the system in August of 2010 and haven't looked back. We were one of the first practices in Central Florida to receive our CMS Meaningful Use incentive in 2011. I have given numerous testimonials for PrognoCIS because I feel strongly about the product. Their support team has taken care of every request for enhancement or bug fix that we have told them about in a timely fashion.

Shari
US
Medical Practice
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Converting from paper to electronic records

4.0 10 years ago

Pros:

I really like the customization of the templates/progress notes and procedure notes. It allows for consistency with notes and less room for error versus using a transcription service. It is comforting to know that my assigned client support representative is always available when we need her, but she also lets us know if she is going to be out and who to contact directly in her place. She understand our needs and urgency regarding issue resolution.

Cons:

I do not like the billing product as much as I do the electronic record portion. Although it's easier for me to evaluate my billing personnel, the system seems a little to cumbersome.