15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About HeavyBid

For infrastructure contractors bidding projects ranging from $1,000 to over $1 billion.

Learn more about HeavyBid

Pros:

This software is so easy to set-up, from adding employees, job classifications, to merging employees into the job, to exporting timecards. The setup flow just make sense.

Cons:

Only 3 are allowed as compared to other competing softwares. Also the reports are limited in what is shown.

HeavyBid ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

9.3/10

HeavyBid has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 504 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used HeavyBid before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (504)

Chris
Estimator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best estimating software I’ve used

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Honestly i cant say there is anything i did not like about this software. Makes your life a whole lot easier and helps you dial in your profit on projects and you get things set up and get some history in the system.

Cons:

I can’t really think of anything i didn’t like. Great product.

Frank
US
Construction
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

The Best Estimating Software in the World!

5.0 10 years ago

Pros:

Product: This is a very fast, user-friendly, automated estimating and bidding system that is particularly effective for Unit-Price contracts. It allows quick creation of accurate estimates, accommodates variations in quantities, allows risk evaluation on an item-by-item basis, and provides the means to price individual bid items so that they reflect the bidder's assessments of quantity, value, and risk for each item. Vendor: HCSS sets the standard for customer support. There is no software company anywhere, of any type, with whom I have had contact that comes even close to the responsiveness and excellence of HCSS' technical support. It is extremely rare that a call is not answered before the third ring by a human who understands the problem (no matter how arcane) and who has the right answer, without sending me to a second- or third-level technician. The professionalism and expertise of the Technical Support team are near-perfect. I tell people whom I am training that if they get stuck on a problem for more than three minutes, they should call Tech Support. The person who answers will have the problem solved, and the estimator will be back in production nearly instantaneously.

Cons:

There is little to dislike in a system that works so well and with a technical support team that is so knowledgeable. HCSS takes suggestions from its users and implements them in new releases of the software so that the system is always cutting-edge and fulfills its users' expectations. The system seems expensive to purchase and maintain, at least to the non-using evaluator, but the confidence in the accuracy of the estimate, the outstanding technical support, and the continuous improvement of the software will provide confidence that offsets cost. One caught and corrected mistake that that would have gone unnoticed without HeavyBid's analysis tools, could pay for a dozen licenses for years.

Jeremy
Senior Estimator in US
Construction, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Only Longtime Users Can Possibly Like HeavyBid

2.0 4 years ago

Comments: HeavyBid is YEARS (perhaps decades) behind other platforms, especially InEight. HCSS needs to rewrite the entire platform in order to be relevant again.

Pros:

Customer support is good. It has to be because HeavyBid itself is archaic.

Cons:

1. Anything in bulk. Example: Cannot even “non-add” multiple activities. Rather, you must click on one at a time and then click the “non-additive” radio button on each and every activity. Such limitations are in all areas of the software. 2. Sorting and organizing is essentially non-existent. This aspect of HeavyBid is one of the most frustrating things I’ve ever encountered on any software of any kind. This is especially frustrating on bids with child and grandchild bid items requiring reorganization. In resource setup registers, there is no way to sort. Material lists can be quite large and HeavyBid offers no way to sort this data. Unbelievable that this is the case in 2020. API integrations are not even on the table because of the old architecture of HeavyBid. It seems that those giving HeavyBid good reviews have not been exposed to other platforms. HeavyBid is an outdated software that needs to be completed rewritten to stay relevant. I have been a user of the following estimating software platforms TPL, B2W, InEight Estimate, HeavyBid.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best option.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Love it. Great customer service. It can be customized to integrate with all your other software.

Pros:

HCSS's support is the best I have ever delt with. Not only do they offer custom programming to taylor the users tools and reports, but they always answer the phone right away. No machines you the first person that picks up the phone can usually help you with whatever issue or question you have.

Cons:

Clunky reporting with the mobile app. The only thing that is kind of frustrating is the reporting capabilities from and administrative side, but whatever reports you are unable to generate as a customer, they will be able to generate for you on their end.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

HCSS Review

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, HCSS is the best estimating software on the market. Reason why everyone uses it. But it is expensive, and some smaller companies have trouble justifying cost.

Pros:

HCSS is a very powerful and easy to learn estimating program. Many companies use this software which makes integrating with partnering companies very easy. Endless resources and crew construction abilities. Provides drop down or key stroke options to enter data. Gives many different ways to view costs and code costs.

Cons:

Cons are the limitations on "child" items underneath the parent. Only 3 are allowed as compared to other competing softwares. Also the reports are limited in what is shown.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Limited Fields are Biggest Negative

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: It's great for most estimating functions and it is super easy to copy files. However, the limited description is such a drawback it would probably preclude me from actully recommedning it to others in my field who would invariably run into the same issue.

Pros:

It offers lots of options for how to enter bid items. The modules talk to each other well so information does not have to be entered numerous times.

Cons:

The character limit in the description field is the most aggravating quality. I enter descriptions that are sometimes three lines long and they don't fit. I have to make up absurd abbreviations because my estimators don't like the Alternate Description feature as they have to toggel between them.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Heavy Bid - Expensive but worth it

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: HeavyBid works well for us and we have no plans of changing. We like the concurrent licensing vs a per user model. It isnt cheap, but it is at least manageable.

Pros:

HeavyBid software makes quoting large construction jobs manageable. with the import function we are able to get accurate costs and estimates for projects that we bid.

Cons:

System works good even though it looks like it was developed 10 years ago and hasn't gotten a facelift...but it works.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Works Good but Could Use Some Improvements

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: our bids seem to be tighter and its a good tool to be able to track price escalations throughout the years.

Pros:

Setting up a bid is intuitive and I like that the different components 'talk' to each other. Copying estimates and deleting information are also easy.

Cons:

some of the character limitations are ridiculous and entering bid prices for comparison is not as intuitive as it could be.

J Mickey
J Mickey
Project Controls Coordinator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Civil Engineering, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Used daily, Powerful tool

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: This is an absolute gift of a service provided by HCSS. Overall, I've yet to see a product that equates to HeavyBid.

Pros:

The ability to organize your bid into as much detail as your can support. The software allows you to update a cost / historic cost database to be used in future bids.

Cons:

Much like my complaints about HeavyJob, the software itself has a pretty poor user interface. If you spend enough time knowing where to look you'll understand the software but I do with it was easier to navigate and customizable.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

HeavyBid

5.0 last year

Pros:

Features and specifications and functionalities too are the best part

Cons:

Customer service or support should get improved

David
Project Manager in US
Construction
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

The Best Estimating Software I've Ever Used

4.5 8 years ago

Pros:

I love how you can preload your labor and equipment cost into the system and only allow certain people to adjust them as union wages go up or inflation hits. This adds to the accuracy of your estimates. I also like how you can pull in quotes from subcontractors and these are stored on the system. The integration to HeavyJob is seamless. This makes bidding the job and managing the budget simple and efficient. The customer support line is extremely useful.

Cons:

It's very expensive and it takes a little while to get set up and can be a little frustrating at first. Once you get the hang of it, it becomes a lot easier and much more efficient and accurate than an Excel sheet.

Josh
Project Manager in US
Construction
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great product for tracking time, materials, subs, costs!

4.5 8 years ago

Pros:

The ease of use for the tablet users like my foreman or superintendents. This product is a great way to track my crews time, costs of labor and equipment, materials deliveries, subcontractors costs, and progress of the project. With this product I can quickly review my job cost to date on a whole or by an activity level. In addition there is always tech support available for any an all questions.

Cons:

This product doesn't have many flaws. They have really worked hard on getting this system down for the construction industry. The only complaint I have is the integration between the office to cloud and cloud to tablet is sometimes sluggish.

John
System Administrator in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

This software gets the job done. With good planning you can have a smooth rollout!!

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Dispatcher is invaluable for us. Heavyjobs also does a great job of tracking hours. Both save us time and money!

Cons:

We wish it would work seamlessly with our financial management program. Right now, we are manually entering the information.

Richard
Senior Estimator in US
Civil Engineering, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Missing helpful additional feature

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Estimating Projects

Pros:

Sub Total Feature, Equipment Set Up, Merge Set UpItems

Cons:

Not able to highlight or color headings; Equipment , Local Materials

Dan
Director of Rail Preconstruction in US
Construction
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Building America

4.5 8 years ago

Pros:

HCSS allows me to keep all my estimates and bid data in one database. It has the power to expedite and simplify the estimate process so that proper if not advanced analysis can occur.

Cons:

The subcontractor evaluation is limited. I want the ability to see scope items along with pricing information real time on the screen. The additional lines need to have the ability to take text input or additive cost input. Without this ability I have no way of knowing if the $40,000 bid of one contractor includese the same scope as the contractor that bid the same line at $35,000. Attaching a spreadsheet or printing a report is only a partial solution to this issue. I need to see it on the screen. Also, the kiosk stand I filled this out on is too short and not ergonimic...

Erik
Senior Estimator in US
Utilities, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

I have not had an opportunity to find this much detail in any estimating platform in over 20 years of estimating.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I would highly recommend this to any business that is into production estimating. Once you are set up, and ready to go you can estimate a lot of work using the stored information quickly.

Pros:

The ability for me to create an estimate that can be handed off to a project manager that doesn't have him asking me 100 questions. It is all there for them and helps them get the project started off right.

Cons:

There is a fair amount of learning that goes into it, and if you are not careful about the set up you can really have problems that multiply through the estimate.

Jonathan
Project Manager
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

HCSS Heavy Bid - Top of the Line Bidding Software

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: HCSS Heavy Bid has numerous essential features that other bidding software just do not have. They improve the ease of use and efficiency of almost every part of the process. They also allow for easy integration into their HCSS Heavy Job software, if you win the bid. After having used multiple bidding software, this one stands out as the best.

Pros:

- Ease of use for adding custom items and making changes after the fact - Well laid out and easy to navigate menus - Ability to have multiple tabs open

Cons:

- None

Mike
US
Construction
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

IT Manager - Review

5.0 10 years ago

Pros:

As a product, HeavyBid makes estimating quick and accurate. Our estimators' success rate is quite impressive, and I'm sure they're very thankful to have the assistance of a powerful tool. As a vendor, HCSS has the best support and customer relations around, hands down. Their support is one of the best because they are willing to take on any issue and spend as much time as possible to resolve it. Unlike many other vendors I have worked with, they don’t require additional costs for remote support or training during a support session. Their answer rate is very quick, usually only taking 10 minutes to get someone on the phone. Their support staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Their after-hours support is equally impressive. I would highly recommend them based on their support alone.

Cons:

They have always resolved any gripes or dislikes I may have had in the past by listening to customer feedback, improving with updates, or through support calls.

Scott
US
Construction
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

HCSS HeavyBid is Powerful and Effective

5.0 10 years ago

Pros:

There is no end to the amount of detail you can get simply into a bid with HeavyBid. Once you figure one part of a project, you never have to do it again on future bids. Once you build an activity, it can be used as a starting point for future work and modified quickly. Once you set up labor, equipment, material, crews, etc. in the system, it is quick, simple, and precise. On the fly changes are easy to make, and I can be sure that my costs are covered. Being on the lower end as far as size contractors who use HeavyBid, i have never felt that i am treated as less important to HCSS than their largest user. HCSS has always been a delight to deal with and I consider them to be an important partner in our business. And they make us feel important to them.

Cons:

The only thing that would make me like it better would be if it were free. But the constant improvements and excellent support make ownership costs easy to justify.

Wes
Estimator in US
Design
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Probably the industry standard for construction estimating software

4.5 8 years ago

Pros:

HCSS offers very good 24 hour support. The program is very adaptable to all levels of construction estimating/bidding and can speak to most well known accounting software. Several levels of the software provide more or less detailed options, depending on your requirements

Cons:

Extremely structured and difficult to set up database initially. Upkeep is fairly easy, if your initial setup was performed with some aforethought.

Eric
Estimator in US
Construction
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

My experience with this product is for Heavy Civil estimating

4.5 8 years ago

Pros:

What I like best about this product is the many ways that you can get the same result. I also like that you can customize almost every report to give you what you are looking for.

Cons:

What I do not like about this product is that it can be time consuming and confusing on how certain things are supposed to be entered. sometimes it is not clear what report it is you need to run in order to get the report you want

Matt
Estimator in US
Construction
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

HeavyBid for Civil Construction

5.0 8 years ago

Pros:

What I like best about heavy bid are the automatic features. For example, once we set up quote class with material resource codes it has made are bidding process very efficient. HCSS has the best customer support, if you are a DOT contractor like us and have an issue at midnight they will answer.

Cons:

Some of the reports could be better. They have been making some improvements in the later released.

George
Project Engineer
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great time at the Seattle Heavy Bid 101

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

The functionality is superb and lets you save time by utilizing labor rates, crews, bid items etc. from common taks/jobs as templates. Powerful tool

Cons:

Steep learning curve and non-intuitive interface. It could be much more clear and have a better dashboard. Other than that, pretty stellar.

sam
Owner in US
Construction
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

great product suite

4.5 8 years ago

Pros:

great way to submit electronic time cards and production quantities / materials used. the new mobile app release with it's job analysis is great - you can quickly see how jobs are doing in the field instantly

Cons:

there's not much not to like... I wish the export of production quantities to timberline worked - it's causing us to manually enter quantities into accounting software

Scott
Estimator in US
Construction
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Worthwhile and successful!

4.5 8 years ago

Pros:

Structure and organization to prevent error or doubling up of costs. Useful for both public and private bidding. Review and if/then analysis is very powerful and timely on bid day.

Cons:

Career learning opportunity when using this complex and detailed estimating program. Demands on Head Estimator to manage the program reduce the estimating capacity of that individual.