Fund E Z is very user friendly and easy to set up, even mid-year.

Reviewed on 27/11/2017
Samantha A.
Finance/Budget Manager
201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The implementation process was very well thought out and thorough. There were scheduled calls and then homework assignments where information was reviewed and questions were answered. The software itself is very user friendly. There are lots of reporting functionalities, both canned and easy to make custom reports, as well as reports that export nicely into excel. Report queues can be set up to run multiple reports at once. Information is also easy to find.

Cons: When tracking multiple departments/programs/funding sources, you MUST KNOW the various date ranges required for each in order for the reports to present correctly. The budgeting module is not very flexible and can be difficult to navigate.

Outstanding Fund Based Accounting Program

Reviewed on 28/08/2015
Leonard B.
President
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: The product allows you to full customize your chart of account as well as reports. They have an advance report module which allows for additional customization. The vendor is extremely responsive in regards to queries and continues to support and improve the product with new revisions and updated versions constantly.

Cons: The switch from version 9 to 10 was drastic with a lot of improvements, but the structure changed to an SQL based software and for users who are used to enter data and scrolling with a mouse there are some drawbacks. Example, if you are in a journal entry and are looking to scroll down and use your mouse, and happen to be on a debit or credit field, it scrolls through the numbers vs. moving the screen, you have to get used to using the side arrows which after two years we still struggle with it. Not a reason to not consider but something you need to be aware of .

Good Accounting System for the Money

Reviewed on 09/11/2017
Mary O.
CFO
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: It meets our needs at a reasonable price, however lacks a lot of the customization that our previous software had.

Pros: Ease of use and familiarization of system. Meets our need for separate accounting of programs. System is very accessible and each member of fiscal staff can easily adapt tables and reports to their needs.

Cons: Customization of reports is labor intensive and time consuming. Also, budget set up is at a global level which is difficult when setting up individual budgets.
When we first got the software, were told that would have ACH payment available shortly for accounts payable. It is two years and they still are "working on it".

Beautiful and Accurate Reports

Reviewed on 08/09/2017
Tiffany R.
CFO
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Overall I think that it is the best non profit software and it is reasonably priced. I like it better than MIP because you can afford to have all of the modules which eliminates work-arounds because you have half a system.

Pros: Many levels of reporting. I can report by general ledger number, grant, program, department, etc. Reports come out beautiful, so no exporting and tweaking necessary. True non profit financial statements.

Cons: The customer service is great however they are on EST and for agencies on CST, MST or PST, it may be annoying when you can't reach customer service after 3:00pm or 4:00pm. They will respond the next morning.

Easy to learn even without accounting background.

Reviewed on 13/06/2018
Wendy R.
Payroll Accountant
Primary/Secondary Education, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I would refer any smaller non-profit to use this software.

Pros: I really liked how easily it was to learn and integrate into our business. I started from scratch... setting up general ledger numbering, accounts, payables, invoicing and receivables to setting up the layout I wanted to see on the financial statements. I didn't need to use customer service as everything was put into place and ran seamlessly.

Cons: Some information I wanted to print was not always in a pre-programmed report. I could always find the information but sometimes had to have other information print along with it.

easy to use and meets our needs

Reviewed on 27/09/2017
Louis H.
Fiscal manager
Civic & Social Organization, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: This is an excellent program if you need fund accounting. If you have outgrown quickbooks highly recommended.

Pros: Ease of use, great features. Great support via phone. Regular updates. competitively priced.Lots of options for reports. And they have been consistently enlarging them with the updates.

Cons: While customer support is great, built in help is thin. the cost is competitive but not cheap. Having used it for years I notice that some improvements while useful, are not as good as they could be because of reluctance to alter the basic structure. But that is true in all software over time.

Using FUND-EZ is easy. The setup and toolbars have made the experience very user-friendly.

Reviewed on 15/09/2017
Jennifer G.
Accountant
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: It allows us to generate financials quickly and easily and drill down on the details of our business.

Pros: The capability to drilldown within a report and pull up the underlying detail is the most significant asset. Client invoicing is also made simple.

Cons: I wish that I could see on the AP Invoice Detail record within a GL Acct Detail report drilldown a record with the accompanying check number --- knowing whether or not the item had yet been paid from one glance without having to go out and pull up another report would be extremely beneficial and helpful.

Great Software

Reviewed on 25/03/2019
Catherine R.
Billing Coordinator
Accounting, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I use this daily and it is very effective for the type of business we do.

Pros: This software has continuous updates to improve qualities

Cons: Permissions can be a total pain but it is easy to change.

Fund EZ Assessment

Reviewed on 09/01/2016
Tonia P.
President
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Great technical support. They take responsibility for every issue presented to them and don't stop until the issue is resolved. The software in the last upgrade provides almost as much functionality as MIP/Abila with a much more logical user interface. Users can easily create their own report formats. The Pro-writer provides an organization the ability to fully customize their account structure.

Cons: It does not yet have a Spanish language version even though it has robust multi-currency functionality.

Really enjoyed using FUND EZ

Reviewed on 22/02/2017
Matthew B.
Equipping and Discipleship Director
Religious Institutions, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Unfortunately, we were forced to switch away from this software in our first 6 months because the larger organization adopted different software. However, we used implemented this software ourselves and really enjoyed using it. The best thing for us was the ease of use. Training time was significantly lower than the software we used before. This saved us so much time and money. Highly recommend!

Simple, Low Cost and Easy to Use

Reviewed on 02/09/2015
Jinhong Z.
Consultant
Nonprofit Organization Management
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4.5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Fund E-Z is very simple and easy to use. It has all the functions needed to do the job and no more extras to confuse you. It is very affordable.

Cons: The product is still desktop. In today's world, we need cloud based applications. I will they will make it cloud based soon.

Just right

Reviewed on 22/02/2017
Praise A.
Director of finance and administration
13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: This is one of the best products for small nonprofit organizations. It's also cost effective.

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: A bit more features

Great NPO accounting software for small-mid size NPOs

Reviewed on 20/10/2014
Sabrina C.
Higher Education
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
Overall
3.5 / 5
Ease of Use
4.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3.5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: We love that we have many options to be able to filter different data and the ability to export in a variety of formats. Technical support has been useful so far on any questions we have had.

Cons: It would be great if more filter options and fields were available to be included in reports, as would the ability to compare budget vs actuals each quarter with reprojections.

EZ Fund my review

Reviewed on 27/02/2015
Allison T.
Civic & Social Organization
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: The after market support. My department has confidence in the company that in the event of issues we can immediately contact someone in support to work with us on the technical problems. We are also very happy with the fast turnaround response time either for employees to return our communication or complete work.

Cons: Critical information from some workers may differ sometimes. Steep learning curve on product. Expensive.

Good Product

Reviewed on 14/09/2016
Lexie K.
Receptionist
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Both were very helpful. The best part is they give an amazon gift card just for reviewing there product.

Cons: It could be easier to use. Was a little confusing the first few times around. This product fits my needs as of now. I haven't come across anything that I didn't like yet besides the fact it could be a little more user friendly the first time around.

Good Product

Reviewed on 08/09/2016
Stephanie C.
Accountant
Civic & Social Organization
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: It works seamlessly with what I need. Does exactly what I want it to and more. I don't know I've gotten by in the past with out using this product for the business.

Cons: I have not found anything I don't like about it. Both the product and the vendor are and were very helpful in fulling my needs. Definitely the best place to get accounting software. Would recommend to a friend.

Good system

Reviewed on 05/02/2015
Linda W.
Philanthropy
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
3/5
Overall
3.5 / 5
Ease of Use
2.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Fund E-Z offers an account structure that allows for entering transactions by fund (unrestricted, temporarily restricted, or permanently restricted revenue), by account number (eg. cash, accounts payable, individual donations, salary expense, etc), then drilldown by cost center 1 (programs), cost center 2 (activity within a program) and cost center 3 (funder) - or variations of this setup.

Cons: When Fund E-Z updated to version 10, a lot of keystrokes were no longer applicable, making data entry much more time-consuming. Also, it is not easy to update to subsequent versions.

Would recommend

Reviewed on 08/11/2016
Darlene L.
Manager
2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Would recommend to others. Very very user friendly. My employees were able to learn it very fast.

Pros: User friendly

Helpful Program for Fundraising Events

Reviewed on 01/11/2016
Haley M.
PR/Marketing Intern
Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I used this program as an intern at a small nonprofit. It was easy to understand, and if I had any questions, customer service was extremely helpful. I love having this sort of help for doing fundraising for important events that primarily funded our organization. The program was clear and concise with great functionality.

Cons: It was a little pricey for our small organization.

New user to fund EZ

Reviewed on 24/08/2016
Linda S.
CFO
Civic & Social Organization
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
3/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
3.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
2.5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Very customizable. Love the indirect allocation features

Cons: Not enough set up in the way of select pre made /formated options. not enough sort optons flexability.

Not for profit accounting

Reviewed on 15/12/2016
Brittney W.
Accountant
Civic & Social Organization, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I really like this software because it is easy to use. It's easy to learn and has many features.

Cons: The cost could be cheaper.

EZ way to track your budgets!

Reviewed on 01/02/2017
Ryan W.
Accountant
Civic & Social Organization, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: This is a very basic software that takes no time to figure out how to use. It's a great place to access all your data. This is good weather it's for a profit or nonprofit growth.

Pros: The many features the software offers are great and it's no extra cost!

FUND E-Z Fund Accounting

Reviewed on 07/12/2016
Sarah B.
Vice President
Higher Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
2 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Seems to operate on a stable platform without constant computer maintenance.

Pros: Very easy to use
Excellent Customer service
Excellent Technical Support