E2 Shop System Reviews

by Shoptech Software

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.5 /5

About E2 Shop System

We help shops and manufacturers of all kinds and sizes work smarter for improved efficiencies, greater flexibility and bigger profits.

Learn more about E2 Shop System

Showing 666 reviews

Kate D.
General Manager
Mining & Metals
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/07/2016

"Small Business Looking for Shop Control"

Pros: Experience: We are a small family owned business that needed to get ISO certified as a requirement by our customer. We did our research and E2 was the best company to offer shop control and offer ISO certification. We have been using E2 since 2012, we have been ISO certified since 2012. We were eager and became ISO certified within 6 months (take a lot of work and dedication to get it done quickly). Overall E2 has been a great resource for us. Pros: The software is easy to use, the information that you are able to get from reports is helpful (only as good as the information put in). Easy for all employees to use with all computer skill levels. ISO documentation was extremely helpful with becoming ISO certified. Customer service is always helpful, you always get a real person to help you with your needs.

Cons: Software does not allow you to do multiple things at once, it is very simplistic which might be best. Difficult to customize it to you specific needs, it can be done but there is a cost for that. If you are a start up company this software would be great to get you going with all aspects, if you are an established company you might need to adjust how you do things. We still do all of our accounting and customer quoting from QuickBooks as that works best for our company. We do not use E2 for scheduling as we are a fast pace job shop and things change on the fly and difficult to schedule within the software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/07/2016
Vickie P.
Office Manager
Machinery, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2019

"Why E2 is the software choice for Taylor Manufacturing."

Comments: Overall E2 is great. Due to the job and cost tracking capabilities of E2, we are able to stay on top of our prices that we charge our customers. We can monitor the labor expense of our machines and setup times which allows us to find new processes to maintain our original quotes. These savings are passed on to our customers which benefits our company's growth and success rate.

Pros: The thing I like most about E2 is that it is so user friendly. The process of training new employees is very simple due to the ease of E2. E2 is very functional. It works wonderful for all our departments: AR, AP, Quoting & Estimating, Receiving & Shipping, order entry & purchasing, job tracking and all accounting and inventory reporting. The online forum, tutorials and customer service alone are reasons enough to purchase E2. Their customer services is top rated. I have always received help and been completely satisfied with the results each and every time I've contacted E2.

Cons: The thing I dislike about E2 is orphans. Orphans are little glitches that are caused when something goes wrong. E2 doesn't go backwards very well, meaning you have to be very cautious when undoing / unwinding things. Some of my fellow employees fail to unwind things the proper way so we get an orphan occasionally. Although I must say, orphans are an easy fix for E2 customer service reps.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2019
Dave R.
Owner
Mining & Metals
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 07/04/2016

"An invaluable and integral tool for our business growth and success"

Pros: We have been using E2 in our shop for over ten years, and it has proven itself worthy of the investment time and time again. It is a thorough and well rounded system which assists us in successfully tracking our work load, material inventory, customer database, etc. Utilizing the scheduling tools, such as the Whiteboard, has become essential for evaluating our WIP, providing an overview of jobs in process and tracking due dates. The time tickets and performance summaries are extremely beneficial in measuring employee efficiencies. We are in regular communication with technical support, customizing the individual modules to accommodate the evolution of our business practices and constantly growing and changing capabilities. They have helped us create custom reports and summaries which allow us to categorically track productivity and expenses across the board.

Cons: The major issue we have with the software is the cost of additional seats. Our company has maintained strong, consistent growth over the past decade and as we have expanded, it has been difficult to justify the cost of additional users. As we tend to hold out on purchasing new seats until absolutely necessary, it would be nice to see some price breaks as we continue to add users.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 07/04/2016
Vernon J.
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2011

Comments: Qualastat Electronics, Inc. has been in business since 1986, specializing in the manufacturing of electronic cable and wire harness assemblies. Included in our product line are RF assemblies, including phase-matched and time delay and fiber-optic cable assemblies. When the company reached the point where we could not adequately track inventory nor easily quote new assemblies, we decided to install an ERP system. We looked at a number of software packages that could be adapted to our organization but selected E2 due to its comprehensiveness, cost and ease of use. Prior to installing E2 we used a hodgepodge of programs including DBA, Databases and spreadsheets. We quickly found that we could stop using everything but E2. Our quotes became more complete, which prevented us from leaving out tooling, NRE charges, minimum purchase costs and helped us instantly become repetitive with our quotes. We found that with the use of job costing, using barcoding the the manufacturing area, we could review closed jobs and make quick changes to our estimated labor before quoting the same or similar items in the future. We now are able to analyze manufacturing processes by each individual operator and can determine what training needs to be done to improve efficiencies. The quality module made ISO-9001 certification much easier to obtain. Almost everything needed to become and stay compliant with ISO requirements are contained and provided inside the E2 program. Our customer satisfaction and vendor quality are now easy to measure, which helps us to continually improve our business and product. We found that the savings we realized and the ability to see our true costs enabled us to see a two year payback and now everything is just more profit or savings to our customers. We sent most of our staff and management personnel to get classroom training and have also had a local representative come into our facility for more specialized training and to provide refresher training. This has proven to be very effective and everyone was able immediately to run with the program. Shoptech has proven to be a very supportive organization. Our employees enjoy the ability to call in and immediately resolve problems or issues they face. Nobody has had an instance where the customer support person could not help, which is uncommon in our industry. There may be a better software package available for us to use. If it exists, I have not seen it and I would be very skeptical about any other software coming close to providing for us what E2 gives us on a continuous basis. I would highly recommend any job shop type organization to purchase the whole program and not leave out any modules since they all complement each other and make the whole program cost-effective and useful.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2011
Bobby H.
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2012

Comments: A.C. Horn & Co. is a custom sheet metal manufacturer (job shop). We will make almost anything from a customer's drawing. We specialize in food processing and packaging equipment. We also have our own line of popcorn and peanut processing equipment. Our owner’s grandfather in Dallas, circa 1907 as a tin shop, founded the company. Our old manufacturing software was complicated and very inflexible, plus was no longer going to be supported by the small company that wrote and developed it. This was a good opportunity for me to recommend to the owners that is was time to change. I wanted software that was more user friendly, menu driven so it would be easy to learn, and more flexible. Also, payroll and time entry had to be clean and a single entry. Before E2 Shop System, we used a company called Caelus, based in the northwest. It handled payroll also and is very detailed in the accounting area. That was acceptable, but it made our company "accounting-driven", instead of "manufacturing-driven"... we make our money in manufacturing, not accounting... We use the 7.2.14 release. I just noticed that .15 has been released and I will install it very soon. We purchased the software in the fall of 2010, and implemented it on the first workday in 2011. Implementation was a ton of work, long hours, and much trouble-shooting and phone calls to the technical help number. I know changing any software is a monumental task, so in my opinion, the implementation went well. Everyone on the help desk was helpful, and I especially leaned on the accounting team because that is an area I am not familiar with. Most of my team learned the software fairly quickly, but some who are not as computer literate struggled. I had some issues with a few who tried to "force" the software to do things it was not designed, nor capable of doing. That took some time to sort out, but it helped us learn the limits of E2. I still call the support line (although not as frequently), and it seems the first person who answers the phone is sometimes less knowledgeable than I am. Usually, if I have a real problem or question, it will get kicked up to another level. The benefits we have realized are in the organization and planning of our proprietary equipment. It has much greater flexibility than our previous software. The system is much more open in the estimating area. Our AP and AR persons like the easier processing in this area. Accounting, however, is still a challenge. I think we are still fairly new users, having 15 months under our belt. We have not even touched the scheduling feature, and only two or three of us are using the quote feature (which is great), so we still have more steps to take to fully utilize the software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2012
Al F.
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/04/2013

Comments: We operate a precision sheetmetal shop in NJ. We fabricate simple parts to large complex multi level assemblies and everything in between for our customers. They demand a high quality item and when we went shopping for a new software system, we knew we needed one that would be up for the challenge.
Our company was loosing control of raw inventory. We could not easily connect costs associated with a job to that job. Tracking jobs live on the floor was a chore also. Our old system was supposed to help us manage everything from order entry through the shipping, but it was just not up to the task. We spent more time working for our system than the system did working for us!
We had looked at several companies before making our decision. We chose E2 because they had a system that could do all of what we needed and more. You are told how good a system is, how capable it is, all the typical sales talk. Well, believe it when it comes to E2 software and it's people. First of all, the folks are top notch. From the salesman to the service and training folks. They walked us through the implementation preparation. We were nervous about the impementation set up. Listen to them and take the time to set it up right, it may seem daunting but the extra hours you put into the set up will make for smoother sailing after implementation. From the first phone contact to implementation we felt comfortable with the folks at E2. Secondly, the software does what it says! Not only have we gotten accurate raw inventory counts for a full year, we were pleasantly surprised with other aspects. Purchasing has become much easier and less time consuming using the Job Requirements Report. Tracking jobs and connecting costs to the job are a breeze. You can even connect a cost that was not associated with the original estimate! The ability to "drill down" for information, both historical and present time is awesome.
One area we would love to see a change in though, would be the material calculator. We need to do a little more off line calculating than we'd like to. Besure to go over that area with your sales rep. No reason not to buy E2 what with all the ease the rest of the system has to offer.
We have been operating E2 for 14 months now and are happy we made the choice to partner with them. We have seen better control of all facets of our manufacturing process: raw inventory, finished good inventory, parts lists, purchasing, real time tracking and cost analysis. The software is terrific, but the people there to help you are even better. What more could you ask for, it's a great product with great service! Thanks E2 Team!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/04/2013
Ryan P.
VP Manufacturing
Building Materials, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/10/2017

"E2 Review"

Comments: We use this system every day to manage our manufacturing, warehousing, and distribution activities.

Pros: Our company has utilized E2 for 18 years and I have been a user for 13+ years. It is a robust system. We have had virtually no downtime due to system related issues. We started with the MDB version and migrated to SQL about 7 years ago. No issues with either. The support team has always been superb - - easy to get a hold of and not in a hurry to hang up. I appreciate that. Overall just a really good software package and a great company to deal with. If you invest in this software, do yourself a favor and get Crystal Reports and write your own reports for data retrieval. System is open to allow for this functionality and will make the use of the data even better.

Cons: The ability to customize is limited in regards to functionality. The company prefers to keep the backbone "vanilla" and I do understand it. However there are times that we could get a big gain from a tweak and we are just not able to get it done.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/10/2017
Ed W.
General Manager
Consumer Goods, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/08/2016

"E2 Software User Evaluation"

Comments: I have been using this software for the past six years in a small, make-to-order machine shop. I use it for everything from the estimating process through invoicing and financial performance reporting. In general, it serves me very well. We do not have sufficient bandwidth to use it to it's full potential, but hope to grow to the level where we can. Shoptech also does a good job of support, which is key with any business control system.

Pros: Relative ease of use. I like how the modules work together as you create estimates, add them to quotes, and ultimately, convert the quotes to orders. If you spend your time doing a thorough job on the estimate, the rest of the process flows easily from there.

Cons: Some of the canned reports and screens aren't well laid out.
Lack of multiple routing capability for an item.
No part where-used, which is important when you are using multi-level bills.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/08/2016
Greg R.
Operations Manager
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/03/2020

"Good value for small manufacturing business"

Comments: Has been a good system to run business with.

Pros: Relatively simple ERP system. Has most of what you want in a system to manage and operate a business. Not necessary to add bolt-on software. As with any software, keep it clean, up to date and organized and it will provide the appropriate output.

Cons: Needs a few items for specific tasks. Should be able to zero out inventory in mass using specific parameters (for a physical inventory). Some screens don't link enough details together ie., Quick view should have invoice, receiver #, PO # all on one screen. Same for orders. Screen should have Cust PO, Job #, Pack list, Invoice #. All for quick "1 screen reference".

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/03/2020
William K.
Controller
Design, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/05/2019

"Controller"

Comments: Very, very good. I'd been aware of E2 for many years hoping to have an opportunity to use it. When I joined a company that had it in place, about 9 months ago, it met all my expectations. It covers all the vital operational and accounting / financial bases that a make-to-order business requires drawing focus to critical activities and reporting.

Pros: Well targeted and designed product specific to the custom, make-to-order manufacturing setting. Software that helps "show the way" rather than "get in the way" (with complexity). Relatively simple, yet powerful. Solid fundamentals. Well conceived and well developed - everything is there. Very intuitive interface, short learning curve. We've used the web product for the past year and the speed is outstanding along with great convenience. Screen driven help and training information are extensive and well done.

Cons: A statement of cash flows report should be added to the income statement and balance sheet financial statements.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/05/2019
Ben S.
Operating Manager
Sporting Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019

"Using E3 in a small mfg business"

Comments: Overall E2 has been a huge improvement for us that has allowed us to increased our profitability, improve quality control metrics, and improve our customer satisfaction.

Pros: Before we purchased E2 our outdated database software lacked functionality and flexibility and therefore limited our ability to see what jobs we had running on the shop floor and track their costs up to the minute. E2 has allowed us to set job costs during the estimating phase and then track those costs through the life of the order from start to finish. This has made us more profitable by showing us which jobs we made money on and which ones we didn't.

Cons: The scheduling application is far to complex and we have not attempted to use it in the five years or so since we installed E2. I believe if it was setup more like an app on an IPAD that I can click on jobs and move them around on a schedule with my mouse or finger it would make things much easier.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019
Michelle J.
Technical Sales & Engineering Manager
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2012

"Rickard Metals' E2 Review"

Comments: Although we struggled with implementation and initial system setup, overall E2 is a great system and a huge value for dollars spent! Again, as the quality system administrator, the E2 quality module affords the ease of giving auditors a quick view of the effectiveness of the QMS and does the document organization for me. Charts and graphs are quickly generated with clear data points. The quality section does not give the appearance of an "afterthought" as many, many systems' quality modules exhibit. The CFO here is still very partial to Quickbooks but I believe that we could function very well using E2's Accounting module alone.
This system was clearly built by people who understand manufacturing processes and challenges and that has clearly made all the difference!

Pros: Ease of use
Windows type appearance
Consistent menu appearance
Very user friendly, most functions are very intuitive
Great variety of reports and queries available
Quality module (auditors love it!)
Accounting module is very easy to use
Great graphics in Executive Overview
Easy to use copy functions
Job traveler layout is very clear
Very good order/part documentation capability
Very easy to flow from part generation to quote to order to billing
Document attachment function for engineering

Cons: Too user lenient, only on/off menu functionality
Audit trail does not reflect what was edited.
Text-based description box allows editing without unprocessing.
Report style is very bland and altering appearance is not optional.
Triggers and customized queries are not easy to generate and results are not consistent.
Job cost analysis does not calculate invoiced amounts when PO amounts differ.
Restricted editing of purchase order when partial quantity has been received. Suggest moving demand to 2nd line item so that PO can be altered for next release instead of moving quantity to new PO. Would also like to see document attachment in Receiver so that certs and inspection documents could be attached by user.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2012
Ian F.
Director of Operations
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/02/2019

"Serious Bang for your Buck"

Comments: Top Notch. The support is really terrific. It was super smooth in the set up (I mean it was real work to switch, but it was smooth) and even today the tech support is really terrific.

Pros: Its the right scale and fit for my company. There's more than enough functionality, without everything being layered and burdened with too many features, options, process. It fits. It works. Its sophisticated enough for a power users, but easy enough for non technical people to get up and running quickly and smoothly.

Cons: Honestly, most of the things I didn't like are gone. That's the advantage of web based software. I point out an issue, its gone in week. I complain about a function, it gets fixed. I'm not waiting on a fix next year in a product release that I have to buy, and I'm not stuck with clunky software that never improves. Web based is the way to go.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/02/2019
Alan A.
Operations Manager
Paper & Forest Products, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2019

"E2 Shop System!"

Comments: Very good experience! It has made day to day activities a little more streamline

Pros: Software was very easy to implement after being on regular E2. The new inventory app works great for us and we use it to keep a "live" bin location for our material that gets update daily as we move items around the shop. I like the flexibility due to be able to log in from home and see who is working on what job and who is punched in or out. Overall it is user friendly

Cons: There are some bugs we had when using a regular desktop for data collection were operators punch in and out. We were using internet explorer and were constantly having issues. We have switched to google chrome and problems have become a lot fewer. Having updates on Friday during the day, become a pain and we have issues with employees punch in & out. Inventory app could be a little more user friendly for our new operators, because you have to put in exact "name" of material to find it, there is not a partial search.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2019
John S.
President
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/08/2019

"E2 SHOP SYSTEMS HELPED US ADVANCE"

Comments: Overall we are very happy with the way E2 has modernized our shop and helped us grow and advance our operation.

Pros: E2 Shop Systems is intuitive software. It is very user friendly.

Cons: I wish the graphics were a little better and you could open multiple windows at the same time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/08/2019
Julie S.
Owner/Operator
Logistics & Supply Chain, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/03/2020

"E2 Petrel Review"

Comments: Customer Service has always been very helpful. I get very frustrated with so many companies customer service these days but not with E2. Always great about getting back to me if they need to research a problem.

Pros: For the most part, the software is easy to use once you learn it. There are a few things that take a little research to figure out how they work like the pricing of material and the markup feature and how the price carries over into the quote.

Cons: It would be nice to have the tab feature take you from one field to the next (in order). Also, after entering a field, now you have to move off of that field for that figure to factor into the quote. If I move from the routing tab to the general tab, the amount does not get factored in.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/03/2020
Brad S.
General Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2019

"Long time user"

Pros: The software flowed in a very similar fashion to how we processed our work right out of the box making it very easy to implement.

Cons: I wish the custom reporting was easier to set up at times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2019
Chad M.
CEO
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2019

"Not Pleased with E2 shoptech"

Pros: Being its cloud based that's great because it keeps you virtual anywhere anytime. The system randomly glitches and shuts down and when it does if you haven't saved your 3-5 quotes or orders all those hours of work is all lost.

Cons: The system isn't streamline. There aren't many good things to say. It's been a horrible experience.
Sales team over sold us on the product. When we launched with their cloud based system it was still in BETA which we where ok with at the time because they made us a deal to work with them while their in BETA and they wont charge for user maintenance thoughout the duration. Next thing i know problems still arent resolved and its out of BETA. That was 8 months ago when we found out, guess what problems still arent solved and they dont expect them to be for quite a while. Nor could they promised it would be solved.
Here is some ex's: You cannot download any CAD/CAM documents/drawings on their cloud based system. It has to be a image such as: PNG.. NOTE i said PNG and not PDF, DWG, DXF, STEP, etc. That really hinders our flow of operations from the office to the floor.
OVER WORKING YOURSELF: Every step takes 2-5 steps to complete. Such as: Making a simple print, whether printing piece of paper or emailing or viewing a document.
There accounting software is a joke. You cannot take Ccard transactions. We use SYnc option for QB's pro, That doesn't work at all. When it did work it wouldn't close out the invoice on shop side once its been transferred. Believe me when i say this ppl stay away there are MANY more problems than what was listed. I was warned before we bought it and should've listened.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2019
Ala P.
Data Manager
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/08/2017

"We've had this for 7 years and the more we utilize it the more problems it has"

Pros: This program is very basic so if you learn how to use one part of the system you can learn how to use the other parts of the system because they all look the same

Cons: This software does not allow for any changes to be made, and if you want to make a change you have to pay hundreds of dollars to do so. It is very set in the way it was build and you cannot change anything to make it easier for your company. First the shop floor doesnt account for scraps, they assume you will remake them so if you have any scraps and want to throw them out and move on to the next step of production then it wont count that step as being done. Then the accounting is put into many steps and the system gets easily overcrowded. the general ledger is done in too many steps to be accurate. The system will not work for orders of more than one line because if you want to unprocess an order in a second line after the first one was shipped, you cannot. Youre stuck with this floating error in your system that you cannot get rid of.
I personally do not recommend this to anyone. The system isnt very helpful, i feel like you could organize your data much better even on excel sheets than this program does. Finally their customer support do not know anything, as an experienced user of this i call them and ask for help with some easier things and they cannot provide me with an adequate answer, then through trial and error on my own part I find what i was looking to accomplish. Overll I am very dissatisfied with this system;the way its run, the way its reports are made, and how easy it is to create errors but its nearly impossible and in some cases impossible to correct them.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/08/2017
Thomas M.
Operations Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/12/2018

"An easy way of keeping track of what is going on with your projects and in production"

Comments: Regardless of the Accounting module issue (maybe it is updated by now): E2 is our most important tool for estimating and keeping track of our projects, progress and extra work that was done. We also use it to track our invoicing on all our projects. E2 is very easy to maintain and to keep up to date. If well maintained E2 becomes a 'Treasure Box' for the company. We are glad we made the step and bought this system, we would do it again.

Pros: Easy to use, operates flawless since system installation almost 5 years ago. Creating reports is very easy for everything that is important in a business environment.

Cons: The Accounting module does not work for the Canadian market and is useless for a Canadian company. We bought it without knowing that we cannot use it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/12/2018
Lisa B.
Owner & President
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/06/2019

"Been a user for 15 years"

Comments: E2 has great customer service. The response time is quick and they are open for part of the day on Saturday which is excellent.

Pros: Fairly easy to use once you get used to it. I appreciate how easy it is to change permissions for users when needed. Quickview is extremely helpful for quick referencing.

Cons: Scheduling is not an easy module to learn. I would like to be able to see a schedule view of work orders as opposed to line items. I’m sure i can figure something out to get me close to this but i have not had the downtime to actually do this. We may have 100 open orders but over a thousand line items.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/06/2019
Paula H.
General Manager
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/05/2019

"Webversion is costly and cumbersome. Sorry we upgraded"

Comments: I'm sorry we ever upgraded to the webversion

Pros: When we originally purchased the access version of the software that ran on our server. We were pretty happy customers. It preformed up to our expectations and we used the entire suite of modules. We used that version from 2011 through 2017 after which we upgraded to the webversion. The original version was easy to use and very comprehensive. The only pro for the webversion is that you can access it from any device that is connected to the internet.

Cons: Wait time while tabbing between fields is often delayed which significantly increases the amount of time it takes to complete any task. Most tasks require approximately 20% more time to complete. There are problems with lost work due to connectivity. We are told most of this is a result of our internet connection speeds but when we test internally, the speeds exceed the requirements. There are also many issues related to browser cache files. Each new update fixes one set of problems but rolls out a new set of problems. The time it takes to estimate and quote jobs has increased 20-35% depending on the complexity of the job. We are not able to downgrade to the version we had before without losing data and we are not able to put the new version back on our server without making a major upgrade ($20k est) to our server hardware and software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/05/2019
Lorraine A.
Office Manager
2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/06/2018

"Shoptech E2 is very easy to use, great support call in, and friendly staff to work with."

Comments: All shop activities and Accounting activities are in one software package.

Pros: Software is very easy to use. There are various modules to meet a variety of needs. Updates are available as downloads so I can schedule them at our convenience. Support has always been immediately available and their staff follows up to make sure things are resolved. They also have Online tutorials and webinars that are helpful.

Cons: The customization of reports can be difficult to do on my own using the Crystal Report Writer software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/06/2018
Eddie P.
COO
Mining & Metals
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/07/2015

"E2 - A good product with great customer support."

Pros: Our firm is a fabrication company making custom products for customers; we typically make many of the same products each month but everything is made to order and we don't carry inventory because everything is shipped upon completion. E2 works well with our every changing fabrication needs. When you purchase the software E2 assigns a Technical Support Specialist that is available via the phone or webex and this group is very responsive and helpful. The E2 training and support staff are outstanding, the product is easy to use; I highly recommend the software.

Cons: No negative issues with the vendor at all. Printing reports within the software is based on Crystal Reports; customizing the E2 Reports can be done but it is not easy. I wish we could customize the Job Traveler and other reports without having to rely on an outside vendor with knowledge of Crystal Reports.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/07/2015
Mark A.
Quality Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/06/2018

"Reliably used for the past 10 years"

Pros: Broad support for all aspect of manufacturing, including inventory tracking, quoting, orders, shipping, and accounting; responsive customer support; and flexible SQL database design. Excellent means to ISO 9001 certification.

Cons: Some aspects of use are counter-intuitive and rely heavily on keyboard shortcuts; needs more end-user tools for individual customization.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/06/2018