15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Amazon EC2

Secure and resizable compute capacity in the cloud. Launch applications when needed without upfront commitments.

Learn more about Amazon EC2

Pros:

It is very easy to use for ecommerce and online marketing.

Cons:

It is an easy-to-use tool for basic use, however for something more specific it is really complex, the most difficult to learn to use is the console, it has many commands.

Amazon EC2 ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.6/10

Amazon EC2 has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 161 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Amazon EC2 before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (161)

Samuel
Samuel
Engineer in Dominican Republic
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Cloud Computing that will scale from startups to large businesses

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We are realizing the benefits of flexible cloud computing with superb reliability, scalability and uptime. As a startup, we can simply count on EC2 being sufficient on the long term.

Pros:

Amazon EC2 is an extremely flexible cloud computing service. It is modern, complete, integrates easily with all other AWS services and comes at a great price with an ever-decreasing pricing that will simply give the customer more value. If it is your first cloud computing experience, you can start with a template that will facilitate the process of getting started, however, be mindful because templates may tie you up considerably in the future. EC2 is all about standards so you can expect to integrate absolutely everything in your infrastructure with ease. EC2 is the reason why I think bare metal servers do not make a lot of sense nowadays. Speaking about features, you've got them all and EC2 proves to be a nice gateway to keep using other AWS services. At first, it may be intimidating to implement since the interface is still a bit misleading. Once you understand it, you get your money worth by every penny. We started with EC2 almost 8 years ago and I absolutely haven't thought about replacing with an alternative for many years to come.

Cons:

EC2 interface still has a lot of room for improvement. I think that since it is so expansive, fitting everything in concisely in an interface is hard. I think that it has gotten better over time but never to the likes of DigitalOcean that is a superb functional and well-designed UI. Also, documentation is not very developer friendly (have you seen Mailgun's dev docs?) but it serves you well. Something there is documentation that is referring to another version of the service you are intending to use without you having a lot of notice, that's a catch. You should also know that just like Apple's ecosystem, AWS is also playing the same game, very difficult to export things should you ever have the need, so make a commitment or find somewhere else.

Nujan
Nujan
Managing Director in Nepal
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Outstanding in terms of hosting and visual machines.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It's really responsive and there are variety of locations to choose from so, It's basically a best option among others considering the price we pay.

Pros:

AWS's EC2 service is truly excellent. We'll have thousands of applications and operating systems ready to install. It's simple to use when configuring DNS or managing ports. It's incredibly straightforward, thanks to their clean UI. When we install software from the EC2 marketplace, everything is essentially pre-configured. Backup is simple with snapshots, but it will cost you money. We can choose the operating system and get an estimate of how much we'll pay. This will avoid unexpected charges.

Cons:

When you stop and restart an instance on EC2, the IP address changes constantly, which makes setting up DNS records quite inconvenient. There is an elastic IP approach that will prevent such, but I believe they should supply it by default for the same cost of instance. Also, support is quite slow, and we must pay an additional fee for it.

Greg
Software engineer in UK
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I was forced to leave after 6 years of happy use

2.0 4 years ago

Comments: What AWS don't tell you is that on top of your EC2 cost comes a whole range of other hidden costs. Costs that only creep up after you've been using the product for a long time. Almost as if it has been designed this way. Specifically, I ran into trouble with CPU and Disk IO credits. This is not a thing on any other platform. EC2 allows you to "burst" your processing power or disk read/write speed. This is done automatically with no control from the administrator. Once the tokens run out, which is seemingly incalculable, the servers crash. The only way to keep the servers up is to keep spending more money by increasing the tokens (by raising the capacity), even though I didn't need the extra capacity. My servers are running perfectly on another provider now, on the lowest capacity instances, with no concept of "tokens" to worry about.

Pros:

EC2 is so easy to set up. It doesn't require any thought to what is happening "behind the scenes".

Cons:

It doesn't require any thought to what is happening "behind the scenes". When something breaks, you're on your own (without a minimum $2,000/mo support contract). AWS slowly increase the cost of associated tech with no way to understand why.

Arreybesong
Coder in Cameroon
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Amazon review

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Here it helps in the interactions with the machine for easy manipulation

Cons:

Since I have been using it I have not seen the difficulties about it

Saulo
Saulo
CTO in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The best PaaS

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I've been using AWS for over 10 years and I don't remember having any problems, except for the ones I caused myself. It's extremely reliable, safe and affordable.

Pros:

Elastic Bean Stalk is a very simple and reliable platform as a service. You can configure various aspects of your application like deploy, autoscaling and database. Lambda is also an extremely useful resource for small service development without having to set up a complete framework for it.

Cons:

Some functions are hard to learn like IAM for example. Also, managing costs well can be a challenge as there are many options to choose from.

Matthew
Matthew
Technical Lead in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

EC2 Leads the Industry for a Reason

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We've hosted with them for many years. Despite some little drawbacks, we wouldn't consider switching to another cloud provider. A technical project can thrive in the AWS ecosystem, with EC2 as the foundation for server capacity.

Pros:

Superb pricing. Very reliable. Lots of choices. Great dashboard tools. When connected with CloudWatch, monitoring is great. Tools for networking and security are very flexible. Perfect tool to pull out of the technical toolbox when you need a server.

Cons:

The variety of choices and configuration options increases the level of complexity. Ideally you know what you're doing before you get started. Windows pricing is a bit steep, but one is better off not running servers on Windows anyways. For paying customers with a certain volume, they need to include a free support level that at least allows bug reporting. We pay them more than $10K/month, and it's crazy we can't even send them a support email or do a chat without paying hundreds more per month.

Carlos Alberto
Carlos Alberto
Socio in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Experience to grow

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I have been able to solve many types of problems, from simple hostings, to applications that have grown and needed to scale. The configurations are simple for the most part, and you can really grow without the need for large expenses or investments of time in implementing astronomical solutions.

Pros:

I think the whole EC2 environment is impressive, the set of tools allows for implementations of all kinds and on the scale that is necessary. Currently there are many configuration options, the user interfaces have improved making the use fluid and very easy to understand. All the implementations that I have had to carry out have been fast and the integrations with the existing resources have not been a problem.

Cons:

In my case, I would like to have some extra tool available to manage the operating system of the instances.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Publishing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

EC2 - the computing in cloud computing

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I think EC2 was the first service we signed up for when we moved to AWS years ago. It was an eye-opening experience: we used to own hardware, and now we can just click buttons and make hardware appear? Insane. And yet, it worked. And still does. We have around 100 instances of varying sorts running at all times, most of them running either individual applications or (more recently) hosting a whole bunch of Docker containers via ECS. (This is the more powerful and better way to do things these days.) The other huge boon for us was when AWS announced their Application Load Balancer. What this allows you to do is inspect every request and route it to specific targets if the request meets certain criteria. Got a staging server at staging.example.com? Just add that route to your ALB, and send it to your staging machine. Done. It's so simple, but so powerful. Like much of AWS, the UI on EC2 has not quite kept up with the times. The almighty ALB, for instance, is hidden under a single small item in the left-nav, called "Load Balancers." Which is accurate, but doesn't exactly give them their due. Lots of other issues like that -- not always easy to find what you want to find, especially if you don't know exactly what you are looking for. But overall it's better than many other parts of AWS, so not complaining too much. If you're on AWS at all, you're likely using EC2 already. Definitely don't forget to integrate CloudWatch so you can easily get logging!

Pros:

* ALB is a game-changer for managing multiple websites * Instant scaling up if needed * Spawn as many servers or instances as you like, in whatever categories you like * Tag your instances to keep track of them

Cons:

* Spawning instances is so much fun -- but it gets expensive * The UI on huge services (like the ALB) is kind of crazy. Why is it hidden in the small left nav? * Navigating to the right instance is not always easy

sagar
sagar
System Administrator in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Get ready your instance with few clicks

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Easy configuration
Easy to access with go performance
Easy to customized
Easy to suspend and terminate
Preferable to go with EC-2 anytime.

Pros:

AWS EC2 allows you to create an instance i.e Elastic compute within a few clicks. For AWS EC2 you do not need to be worried about the installation and partitions and etc configurations. Instead of selecting the things you just choose your requirement and get it configured with fully installed Everything within few clicks. Here you get save your time Here you get to save you money as you have to pay only as you required. You have to option as well for free tier to the testing purpose of EC2. Even you have to option to choose a flavor as per your requirement you can have an option to choose the categories wise instance You can just say that: easy simple deployment with EC2

Cons:

If you have to configure the instance-EC2 you have to pay as per the billing criteria. You are not allowed to configured or customized your free tier instance-EC2. If you are not paying for your instance-EC2 your instance will be suspended.

Nir
Nir
VP R&D, DevOps, and Product in Israel
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Alternatives Considered:

Top level elastic virtual machines

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Overall I am, over the years, very happy with both the cost and quality of the EC2 platform specifically and the AWS services generally. It is my first choice for cloud infrastructure.

Pros:

Easy to set up both manually and scripted, with a very wide variety of machine types so you can select the most cost-effective machines for your different needs. It's hosted on one of the most popular cloud platforms there are so expect to get high-quality infrastructure for a fair cost.

Cons:

Permissions are complicated to set up, and load balancing is rather costly. Also, changing instance type requires a restart which is less than optimal.

Wassim
Associate Professor in Lebanon
Computer Networking, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Amazon EC2: What Made Cloud Infrastructure-as-a-Service an Affordable Cloud Paradigm.

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: Great experience. Deploying various types of servers on EC2 virtual machines makes the realization of enterprise applications very simplified.

Pros:

I can't imagine not having Amazon EC2 for managing my development projects, server deployments, and research implementations. Amazon EC2 was the leader in IaaS since the cloud computing inception and it kept proliferating to support more and more cloud services from software services, to IoT, to machine learning, to databases, among many other. After initially setting the registration and authentication with a private/public key pair, creating and managing virtual machines is extremely simple with a streamlined web console. A mainly run my application and database servers on Linux VMs. Thanks to the free-tier in Amazon EC2 even my students can have the chance to inspect with cloud functionality and services using Amazon EC2. Very cost effective even with the paid tiers.

Cons:

Better support of secure data processing in the cloud could be an enhancement that Amazon can invest in. Homomorphic encryption techniques for secure processing of encrypted data is improving and Amazon can be leading the research efforts on this front. Moreover, hardware-based data privacy mechanisms such as those employing cryptographic coprocessors in the cloud can be also a track to invest in.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It gives you exactly what it should

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: After I figured out the complicated interface, I was being able to use my virtual machine and it was working 100% of the time and I had an amazing experience with it. Definitely suggest to anyone. The price is still high but much cheaper than Google or Microsft

Pros:

My virtual machine was always up, like I've never seen it ran out or restart or anything. It was always running which is what I was looking for in a server, Consistency.

Cons:

The Amazon AWS platform is too confusing, like they think you have to be an Amazon employee to understand the interface, too many buttons, too much information that I (as a marketing professional) don't need to know or I won't ever use. They really need to work on a simple platform for people who are not an engineer and let us just choose a simple plan and go with it.

Sophia
Software Development Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

The most elastic platform available.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I never had problems with this platform, it is really very complete and useful, it has an extremely high level of security, it also integrates very easily and natively with other aws tools, it is a wonderful multipurpose tool, which can be used with or without the other tools of aws.

Pros:

This tool is extremely versatile, serves as a vps, and as a base instance for many other aws tools, it allows me to connect to external aws platforms simply, it has a high level of configuration, customization and security. I can specifically choose each hardware component that is needed according to the needs of the projects, and the platform is ready to use in a few minutes, in addition to having a very extensive configuration panel, with many configurations, in addition to a console, which allows Work through commands directly, without opening the instance, its download and upload speed is very high and quite stable.

Cons:

It is difficult for me to think of a negative aspect on this platform, however, what must be taken into account is that it is a fairly complete and complex tool to use, so the learning curve is quite steep.

Eric
Chief Product Officer in US
Research, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Amazon EC2 is the best option available for those needing massive compute power and great uptime

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: For many years, we took in enormous amounts of data from social media networks and we'd run our APIs against them to understand personality, sentiment and emotions expressed in the content. EC2 was a huge part of our processing power and it was reliable, secure, and helped us deliver on our goals.

Pros:

The ability to scale up and down our use of the platform is the best feature. We consume thousands of channels of content for ETL and regardless of our ask, EC2 has handled our loads extremely well.

Cons:

Setup in the AWS environment can be unintuitive at times, and byzantine at the worst. AWS could definitely do better with some easier means for casually technological teams to make use of the powerhouse toolset.

Nathan
Nathan
Digital Marketing Manager in Zambia
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Cloud Computing at its best with a catch

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Server Deployment is easy - We use Amazon EC2 for deploying cloud servers for our applications. We have been able to easily deploy multiple configurations from the panel at the click of a button. Y Built on Linux - EC2 is built on Linux so if you have an understanding of Linux, it makes using EC2 easier. Cost effective. You really can't beat the cost here, being able to scale at a fraction of the cost of hosting an actual server is worth investing in EC2. You can easily turn off instances of EC2 servers when not in use to save money. Reliability - Amazon servers have extremely good uptimes which means they are working most of the time, in fact, we have not experienced any downtime since we switched from a fixed host provider.

Cons:

As with any platform, learning to use Amazon EC2 can take some time. We had to have our team re-trained to start using it. So it is not ideal if you just want to deploy right away. Also AWS services are complicated to use in general so you may find it confusing use. For example, the billing panel can be confusing to use if you have multiple instances of servers running. Because of the complicated nature of the Admin panel, it is easy to get lost in features and tools available, so you are better off staying within the areas of the admin area you know.

David Felipe
David Felipe
VP of Engineering in Colombia
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Computing on the cloud (just if you need more AWS products)

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: It's a powerful tool when used for a good use case , for example a couple years ago the only way to run a prometheus database on Amazon was via EC2 , and since it was deployed on my infrastructure I applied the same security groups and networking configurations that I had for other services.

Pros:

Once you have an infrastructure created on AWS creating instances on EC2 is easy , networking capabilities are very powerful and give you a lot of flexibility for different use cases. You also have a wide variety of options to choose from.

Cons:

It's too heavy for very simple use cases, for example if you want to deploy a wordpress server or a simple django application you will need to understand and take into account a lot of networking settings. It's not cheaper than other services like DigitalOcean or Linode, and the heavy-lifting is real

Antonio
Tech Support in Croatia
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best solution for all your computational needs

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We used it to host the web app we were developing, together with all other websites we were making for that business. We even hosted our newspaper website WordPress setup with Amazon. The developers were extremely happy with Amazon services and were in touch with people from Amazon who were amazingly nice whenever I interacted with them.

Pros:

Whatever we needed, Amazon supported. They even had a Wordpress hosting environment that we could transfer our newspaper website to.

Cons:

The price was not low as we had a need for a large number of machines and the amounts quickly added up, but it was still manageable.

Bhavesh
Sr. IOS Developer in India
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

AWS cloud computing for Virtualization

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, EC2 is a best cloud computing for virtualization. It's user friendly UI so user can easily understand and manager console. Amazon is provided instance support via chat and phone for any issue. We can easily monitor our EC2 instance and set the email alert notification.

Pros:

- Easy to use and simple configuration- Amazon provide one year free tier for new user account- Good customer support- Easy to install any OS in EC2 - Provide role base permission to user- Easily manager scaling, load balance and auto scale- Easily share snapshot backup from one account to another account

Cons:

- Sometime not able to find an old version OS in new UI- charges for data transfer

vaibhav
AI engineer in India
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Amazon EC2: Best VM out there!

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I love how we can easily customize the virtual machine and how good amazon's customer service is. Our company uses it as a VM and we also run our products on it. It is very good and also has specific compliance with respect to micro industry such as ours.(medical)

Cons:

Little complex to use at first, but you eventually get the hang of it. I also feel the payment dashboard should be more simpler.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Alternatives Considered:

Simple cloud virtual machine hosting

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: EC2 has provided me with excellent, low-cost VM hosting in the cloud for many years

Pros:

EC2 is a game-changing technology that enables you to rapidly spin up a virtual machine in the cloud at very low cost

Cons:

Compared to newer on-demand hosting options, the EC2 model is less flexible

Harshul
Software Developer in India
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great cloud platform for virtualization

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, EC2 is very good cloud platform. It's simple setup and easy to deploy OS on server. EC2 is popular cloud service and reduce the infrastructure costs.

Pros:

- Easy to use and deployment- Easily install any OS in EC2 - Create budget alert- Amazon provide 1 year free tier for new year- EC2 provide good featue like auto scaling, load balancer and data backup- Transfer snapshot backup from one account to another account- Good customer support

Cons:

- EC2 is charges for data transfer- It's little bit complex to manager for new user

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

One of the best IaaS

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I use it for my personal projects. I host all my websites on it.
We also use it at work. All of our company's servers are on AWS.

Pros:

1. The ease of use. With in few clicks and configurations, you get a server up and running. 2. Stability. I have never seen a down time/failure of any of my EC2 instances. 3. Saving of money. You only pay what you need and you can easily configure what you need. Saves ton of money.

Cons:

There is nothing I can say I do not like. Everything of EC2 has been working great.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Great scalability and less maintenance costs

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Amazon EC2 provides full control of virtual servers to you and it is very suitable if your application process very large amount of data. EC2 provides great scalability which does not cause any connection problems while scaling. It has great documentation and API. I have never faced any instance failure and efforts of maintenance is very less against dedicated servers.

Cons:

I think Amazon should add console access directly.

Atish
Freelancer in India
Banking, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The ideal cloud Virtual machine that i have used as beginner

5.0 last year

Comments: I have great experience overall using Amazon EC2 and will advise learners or beginners to try Amazon EC2. It works well with the other AWS products. This can definately save your money and valuable time so you can switch to this platform on positve note.

Pros:

I have used free trial option and it was really helpful to me. It is cost effective. Server deployment is very simple. Scalability is one of the feature i like most. When your virtual machine not in use you can turn it off this feature is benificial for beginners

Cons:

Amazon EC2 is works good so there is no drawback i found.

Edward
CTO in Ghana
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Cost-effective Virtual Machines

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The free trial option was really helpful in testing some of their features.

Pros:

The virtual machines' configurations are very simple and straightforward. The offered quotas are moderate as well.

Cons:

DNS configuration is a bit difficult. I had to spend more hours getting around them. You need to be technically inclined to work with their service.