15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Autodesk Construction Cloud

Empower estimators to make fast, accurate takeoffs by combining 2D and 3D takeoffs in a single cloud-based environment.

Learn more about Autodesk Construction Cloud

Pros:

It is easy to go in and do construction takeoffs when needing dimensions or areas for pricing as we are a GC.

Cons:

The BIM 360 Document Management is very confusing to work in that I avoid it at all costs as much as possible.

Autodesk Construction Cloud ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

Autodesk Construction Cloud has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 2,173 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Autodesk Construction Cloud before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (2,173)

Mathew
Mathew
Superintendent in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Plangrid

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Great. The app is extremely intuative so the learning curve is reduced and simple. Just looks more complicated then it really is.

Pros:

Document viewing the Field is a necessity. Linking RFI's and submittals to the drawings makes things clear and reduces misses during construction.

Cons:

Sometimes sync issue while uploading photos and documents while changing from WIFI to LTE. Sometimes the sync needs to be cleared and redone.

David
Corporate Development Manager in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Autodesk Construction Cloud

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: Overall it was okay. The implementation team (3rd party vendor who sold the bundle to us) could have been better, but the product itself was overall good.

Pros:

The fact that all of the modules within Build, Cost Management, and Insight tie into each other makes it very easy to create Issues connected to RFIs to Plans, etc.

Cons:

Sometimes it can be a little clunky with how some items work on a desktop version, but not on a mobile version. In Meetings, for example, one can assign due dates and people to complete the action items on the desktop version, but you cannot assign people in the mobile version.

Alternatives Considered: Procore

Reasons for Choosing Autodesk Construction Cloud: We needed something more robust as we grew from smaller remodeling projects to large ground-up construction projects.

Switched From: GiddyUp

Reasons for Switching to Autodesk Construction Cloud: Less expensive and could do everything ProCore did.

Victor
Assistant Project Manager in US
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

All hands on deck

5.0 last month New

Pros:

I absolutely love the Compare tool. new to a project and having the ability to see what has happened, changed and catch up is an amazing perk. this all depends on the effort put into keeping things up to date. Best case scenario, its hands down the best tool to have that I have not seen in other software.

Cons:

limited access to or no access to Bim model or clash. it should be available overall because some clashes may be overlooked as it would not pertain directly to the coordinator. I personally think it should be included with no ability to edit but to help communicate overlooked clashes in the model

Alternatives Considered: Procore

Reasons for Choosing Autodesk Construction Cloud: it was a requirement with the new project that everything be on Build

Switched From: Procore

Alex
CEO in Canada
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Don't waste your time

2.0 5 years ago

Pros:

cheap to get into need to fill the space for minimum number of characters

Cons:

lack of functionality OCR is not upto par can't search text within reports

Alternatives Considered: Fieldwire

Reasons for Switching to Autodesk Construction Cloud: One of our major clients subscribed to Plangrid and we wanted to be on the same system. Over a year later they still haven't used it on any of the projects, and I doubt they ever will. Plangrid is one of the cheapest software to get into, however, once you start adding users and pages/sheets the cost becomes on par or higher than other services while the functionality is very much lacking. so the overall value is very low compared to Procore. Even the one thing they are supposed to be good - drawing management, it is far from ideal. OCR doesn't recognize a lot of the links, in some cases entire PDFs are not workable in Plangrid. Support says it has to do with how the PDF was created, but since we don't create the drawings we have no control of it and therefore have no way of using them in Plangrid. Other services like Procore have no issue reading the same files, so that tells me the problem is with Plangrid not the file. Another issue with the drawings tool is the inability to separate the drawings by areas. Tech support suggested that we create separate projects for each separate area, which defeats the entire purpose of this service.

Ryan
BIM Manager in US
Architecture & Planning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Robust Toolset for Streamlined Construction Management

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

What I like most about Autodesk Construction Cloud is its comprehensive integration of tools that enhance project management and collaboration. The platform centralizes project data, which streamlines workflows, minimizes miscommunications, and reduces errors. Having real-time access to information significantly improves tracking and coordination among team members, leading to smoother project execution and increased overall productivity.

Cons:

Although the platform’s outages are rare, they can significantly disrupt our operations due to our reliance on its central data repository. Additionally, I worry about the potential difficulty of migrating data to another platform in the future, which could pose challenges for long-term flexibility and data portability.

Alternatives Considered: Procore , Fieldwire and zipBoard

Patrick
Project Manager in Canada
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Best Overall Solution I've seen in the Construction industry

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Communication and organization of real time information from multiple job sites
Punch list tracking
Safety issues reporting
improved record keeping
Better real time redline recording

Pros:

Easy to use and to implement. Workers found it easy to understand and use, immediate buy in Keeps your project tasks in order Assigning tasks to works and superintendents easily real time information from projects without the need for constant visits safety issues recorded and documented newly improved field reports and check list creator WAY easiler to adopt than Procore

Cons:

Terrible user based subscription system, not construction friendly for GCs with many subcontractors Would like to see built in actual budgeting and POs High price for upgraded features (submittals and RFI advanced) that is not rolled out with complete workflow tracking and multiple reviewers User based subscription may actually make this more ex[pensive than Procore with far less functionality

Alternatives Considered: Buildertrend and RAKEN

Reasons for Choosing Autodesk Construction Cloud: Price of product and complexity of implementation

Switched From: Procore

Reasons for Switching to Autodesk Construction Cloud: Builder trend seems to be better suited for Single Family Residential Builders. But more importantly did not offer a free trial period. this was a major sticking point for my technology limited boss. they do offer a trial/refund period. Raken is a good field reporting solution and could improve safety and some in field visibility but has a long way to go to get to the level that the competition is at as far as the construction industry. their pricing is realistic for what they offer, or even a little high

Jason
Project Manager in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Autodesk Construction Cloud

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

The ease of uploading sheets and files to communicate with field staff is great. The new calibration tool improved accuracy now that you can set the scale and not relay on the 2 pt configuration.

Cons:

The BIM viewing errors out often. Viewing document on a mobile device is great you can search pretty easy. On a computer its nots as convenient. Sometimes zooming in on prints takes a while to load or needs to be refreshed.

Alternatives Considered: Procore

Reasons for Switching to Autodesk Construction Cloud: We started with PLangrid so the switch was pretty simple. Procore is a little more expensive at the moment.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Know about Autodesk Construction Cloud.

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall experience with this software is good and I will recommend others to use it.

Pros:

It is easily manageable, portable, and handy software. We can easily collaborate with our teammates using it.

Cons:

We need some sort of license to view files and documents.

Alternatives Considered: Procore , Touchplan , Oracle Aconex and Buildertrend

Reasons for Switching to Autodesk Construction Cloud: It is easy to use, easy to collaborate with teams, and portable. It provides huge facilities. I did not get all these in others.

Mehran
BIM Specialist in Canada
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ACC is the way to go for collaborative work

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

EASE OF ACCESS, TEAMWORK, COLLABORATIVE WORK

Cons:

Problems related to local cache files, problems with Desktop Connector

Erica
Asst. PM in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Easy and Efficient

4.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

Helps streamline the workflow and improve collaboration and communication between the team.

Cons:

The lag time and customer support can be challenging.

Robert
Project Engineer in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Plan Grid Review

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: Plan grid has been useful for our team to be one step ahead of the game in document control. I am currently working on a larger project with multiple files, especially ASIs. As a result, the overlay capabilities makes it easier to keep up with drawings that have been superseded and have the most current jobs in the field. I like the ability to tag drawings by discipline and in my case phases. The ability to hyperlink drawings to compile an as-built set or update current drawings with referenced RFIs, ASIs or SK drawings is extremely useful. I wish that plan grid would allow users that admins share files (i.e. subcontractors) have the ability not to pay. I think the GC should be responsible for payment , management, and distribution of files. Plan grid should sell perhaps licenses to the GC company and not charge individual subs a monthly fee just to review drawings. As a result, after the trial period ended none of the subs for my job signed up to use Plan Grid. Consequently, I've been using Bluebeam Revu Studio which has similar capabilities and users download a free software through Bluebeam that allows access to all the project folder and files. What Plan Grid has over Bluebeam currently is the OCR to recognize sheet names through the plan index and this is a standard feature; however, in order for Bluebeam to mimic Plan Grids basic principle, it seems like an added cost. Overall I like the software for in-house management but as far as the sharing it with the subs and getting them to use it for a project entirety it has been a struggle. Therefore I think they should either consider lowering the rates for additional users.

Pros:

Intuitive and ergonomic functionality. It keeps files up to date and automatically supersedes old files.

Cons:

The cost to share with other team members. If I have a project that has multiple subs that have a Project Manager, Asst Project Manager, Field Superintendent and Foreman who need to have the most updated drawings and each has to pay the fee then it gets pricey on their end. So I think Plan Grid should sell package/licenses s to subcontractor teams so they can distribute to their team in-house which you screen through their email address.

Lance
Quality Lead in US
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I like the general structure of BIM 360 Field, but I have problems with specific functions.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: It is great to track your punchlist and rolling completion issues. We did not use it for commissioning, but I would have liked to try it so we could link it to our 360 Glue Revit models. This looks like a very helpful option.

Pros:

1). In the field, the iPad app is very easy to use, with the exceptions of a few small things. 2). It is especially easy for contractors to walk their Issues, take pictures, make comments, etc. 3). The print reports and schedule reports module is really helpful. There are many different report types and layout options, which is repeatedly useful. 4). It is easy to see any pertinent info in Issue list view, and print quickly from that page. 5). Customizing the different types of drop down Issue Filters for different users is very handy, and necessary. And it is very easy to sort and search for Issues using the filter module in Issue List view. 6). After I figured out how to contact tech support, it was certain that I would get a diligent response. I would say response time was always within 24 hours, unless I said it was urgent, and very through.

Cons:

Here are common Problems our large team and I run into often: 1). The website commonly has a huge latency when loading new pages. And I mean typically 3-10 seconds, and occasionally 10-20 seconds to load a page. 2). More often than I would like, the Issue List column sorting feature at the top of each column on the website version just will not work. 3). Pinning an issue from the website version is not very intuitive, and takes you a completely different pathway to find the maps. This should be something that is easy to get to from the window of an open issue, just like the iPad app version. 4). Sometimes the syncing function has an error and you need to re-sync. 5). Not frequently, but few times more than I would have liked, the site would just not let people do things like change statuses, or on a couple of occasions even just open the site. 6). After walking in the field adding issues for a while, the iPad app will stop letting you load photos. You have to close and restart the app and you're good to go again.

JOHN
Senior VDC Engineer in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

BIM 360: A good idea, but misses the mark as a whole.

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: I've used BIM-360 as part of the BIM coordination process on 2 separate projects. The idea is that you store your CAD files in the cloud, and the BIM administrator for the project creates composite ("merged") models, combining all of the trade models. These merged models are stored in the cloud and are accessible from computers and ipads. The ability to view current and updated models on an ipad in the field is really the main benefit to using BIM 360, in my opinion.
Having said that, the only way that particular feature (and all of the others, for that matter) works properly, is if the project BIM manager does all of the necessary "housekeeping" so that you have good model hygiene - like using proper model origin and orientations, eliminating "space junk" from the model files. If you have any of those things, the default model view is zoomed way out, and makes it almost impossible to zoom into the model. Every time you hit the "top view" or "home view" buttons, it resets back to being zoomed way out. The BIM 360 model viewer actually works better on the ipad that it's PC application.
Other features that leave a bit to be desired are:

*Navigating the model (PC app). Saving and recalling viewpoints, and running clash detection. Navisworks Manage is far superior in all of those areas.

*If you use BIM 360 to view your model, as opposed to using Navisworks or Revit, you have to upload your CAD file every time you want to see a model update. The upload takes some time and becomes somewhat tedious. There is BIM 360 plugin for Navis Manage that allows you to log into the BIM 360 server through Navis, and view any of the merged models that have been created. So you're essentially using Navis to navigate, take viewpoints, make annotations, run clashes. But you still have to upload your own CAD file to the cloud if you want to see the changes take place in current Navis session. You can save a local copy of the model as an NWD file.
*Navigating the file/folder structure is tedious. When you download a file (another trade's CAD, for example) from Bim 360, it NEVER remembers the previous save location. Very annoying.
FINAL THOUGHTS: We scrapped BIM 360 and use only Navis and Dropbox for coordination currently. If our foremen could view an accurate and current model on an ipad in the field the product would be worth consideration. Proper BIM management makes all the difference. There are glitches, and a learning curve.

Pros:

The ability for the field to call up the model on an ipad.

Cons:

Everything else is inferior to currently existing market products.

Bente
BIM Manager in Germany
Industrial Automation, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It's allready good, but it has to get better

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Great tools. Some are very usefull (BIM360Team) and in the perfekt pricing. Some should get more funktions to be helpfull (BIM360Docs) or only should learn from the other BIM Tools. So it's not possible to view Office-Files on BIM Docs and it allready works in BIM360Team. Allso I miss the upload and update funktion of complet folders. This was possible in the old version of Team. In BIMDocs there is only the oppotunity to upload files (no folder!). So it's hard to keep the lokal and cloud area on the same database.
To share files between different Cloud Tools isn't working. Therefore the BIM Docs area is made for. I know it, but at this time it's hard to handle it.
In the end I will thank you for all the help I get from support team. You do a great job. Also, you should know, that I like the cloud-products. It's the only way to work in future and your products, with all of their mistakes, bugs and missing funktions, are the the top 5 in the world. Thanks for your innovations!

Pros:

Many, but the most importants are: View all Data online without download them, communication, easy to use

Cons:

Still too much missing features!!! Data lokal are not automaticly compare to the cloud and the pricing is not attraktiv for start working with the cloud. The first step should be cheap. When you place your data in the cloud, found out, that it's working fine, you mostly will not exit the system. But meanwhile you start use the system and try to invite some more, a high pricing will avoide to get the first step in the cloud. It will be helpfull that a small admin-team should be allowed to use it for free. Comercial users like worker, industrie, snd so on have to pay for it, after the admins arranged everything.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Time Saving & Easy to Use

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, our experience with PlanGrid has been positive and we have more users on the tool than we originally anticipated because of the value it brings. The support and partnership both from our account reps and customer service is great - getting answers to our questions quickly. We also appreciate that they are open to product recommendations and ask us to participate in testing of the new functionality.

Pros:

PlanGrid is simple and easy to use. Even our non-tech savvy people have easily transitioned to using the tool. The ability to pull up drawings and mark them up in the field saves our team time, and being able to submit field reports has increased report submission and speed (everything from dailies, safety reports, to cut sheets and more). The field report functionality was a game changer for us and adoption of the tool. Our field team likes that they can do all of these things in one place without the hassle of using multiple platforms or tools. On average, our team is saving two hours a week in time, some as many as 10-15 hours per week.

Cons:

As a subcontractor, there is some functionality that we'd like to see changed or added to make the tool even more helpful that doesn't quite work for us right now. The RFI functionality doesn't let us use our own templates, but is in the process of being overhauled, which may help. Our field team would love to be able to make edits to documents and re-save them as documents rather than downloading, saving, and re-uploading them. Some of our team would also like better markup tools that match Bluebeam's functionality. PlanGrid isn't necessarily a project management tool, and they've shared it won't be. At some point we may look into a PM software integration to make managing projects more streamlined. For now, we're not able to complete all activities in the tool and have work arounds from the PM side.

James
Company Director in UK
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An Evaluation of Autodesk Construction Cloud

4.0 last year

Comments: All in all, my experience with Autodesk Construction Cloud has been optimistic. Although there were some obstacles to overcome when learning the software, the benefits of the platform made it well worth the investment of my time. By simplifying my project management process, I was able to finish projects more efficiently and successfully. For any construction industry professional who is willing to put in the effort to learn, Autodesk Construction Cloud is a valuable asset.

Pros:

As a construction industry professional, I was intrigued to test out Autodesk Construction Cloud. One of the major benefits I found was the platform's ability to provide a centralized location to manage all aspects of my projects. The software offered strong features for project management, document control, and collaboration, which made it easier to oversee multiple projects simultaneously.

Cons:

While there were certain limitations to using Autodesk Construction Cloud, I did encounter some disadvantages while using the platform. I found the software interface to be quite complex, and the navigation was sometimes confusing, which impacted my ability to fully leverage the software features. Additionally, the software relies heavily on a stable internet connection, and I faced challenges with slow loading times when my connection was poor.

Charlie
Project Engineer in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PlanGrid Review-

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Overall the software is an amazing tool for Construction projects. The ability to manage one project in one space is unmatched.

Pros:

The best things about the software are: 1) The ability to have unlimited sheets 2) The easy upload of new sheets and the accessibility of Revs 1/ 2/ 3, etc. with a simple swipe 3) Support team always fast and helpful 4) The ability to create issues and tag multiple linked accounts to the same issue 5) The ability to create reports from RFIs, Issues, logo upload etc. to PDF, Excel documents and how immersive the reports are, from the organization of the issues and photos (very professional) 6) The ability to upload documents and attach them where needed for example RFI's 7) All the editing tools for Mark-ups within sheets. 8) How easy to publish and unpublish content as Admin

Cons:

The least favorite things about the software are: 1) All though the cross platform from Web/Mac/ Windows/ Mobile options are great, the experience of cross platforms are not consistent throughout. Some features are available on some platforms and not in others 2) Constant out of sync updating on Mobile/ Desktop versions 3) Different software bugs across platforms (but its understandable)

Simon
Project coordinator in Canada
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Plangrid is your next new best friend

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: One of our best discovery over the time. We have try and tested some but without a doubt that’s the best in his category

Pros:

Before knowing Plangrid we were comparing and managing file single handily and we have to create multiple packages for onsite use ... which often end up outdated. With plangrid, you have all you architectural drawing located a one single place and can be accessible without internet connection. You can easily compare the various version and finally, you can easily connect the team onsite with the office. This software have changed our way of working thru the time and we are now using it on a daily basic. Ohhh yes, you have to try the customer service, probably the best one that I have ever add. Always available and always knowledgeable and give up real follow up when needed. You can also provide feedback which sometime result in newest features which is awesome!

Cons:

Each user have to possess a different account to work properly. See that like an additional fee just like a cellphone line. It’s about the same price and also as much useful.

Paul
Architect in US
Architecture & Planning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Architecture's Gold Standard for Collaboration

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: The most important aspect of the program, collaborating models between far-flung users, works solidly. You'd expect a higher quality user interface from a company as established as Autodesk, but that's a minor complaint. Autodesk's customer service is responsive and they support their programs well.

Pros:

This program is the default collaboration software for the architectural industry. As such, it is almost impossible to work on a large project and not need it. Sharing models between architects and consultants is a breeze, and even allows live linking (but still allows incremental updates as well). However, Autodesk doesn't just sit on their monopoly; they push updates consistently and listen to users' requests.

Cons:

While it is improving with each update from Autodesk, the web interface still has much to be desired. It doesn't have the most intuitive layout (for example: I'm still unsure why the global "Account Admin" settings are found in a project-specific tab) and can be laggy when switching between tabs. I would like a desktop client as well since my browser typically has many tabs open at once and the BIM 360 tab can get lost.

Errol
Errol
BIM Lead in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Civil Engineering, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

BIM 360 DOCS - Is it worth it

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Overall, i love it. It can take your whole office filing and model drawing to the cloud allowing you to work remotely. To me cloud based modelling is perfect, and I don't even pick up hassles working on a 350mb model from home with only a 5mb line. It handles it effortlessly.

Pros:

There is a definite ease of use in comparison to BIM 360 Team that we may be familiar with for those who started working in a cloud based environment with the interface having more of a "Windows Explorer"feel that is fully customisable and with it running off Autodesks Skyscraper Server I find it faster than when running off BIM 360 Team, prbably explains why from Revit v 2019 Team is no longer avaialble. The added benefit of Autodesk constantly improving and adapting the software based on end users feedback and criticisms will keep you constantly impressed with what they are doing.

Cons:

This can also bring it to a Con....because Autodesk is always finely tuning the software i wouldn't recommend activating a new addon that they provide immediately after it comes out of "Preview"phase. I have found it to still be buggy and has caused me embarrassment when the end-user takes it as my fault it is not doing what it was supposed to do. 6 months later and now it appears to be working well.

Jared
BIM Manager in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good Stuff

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Pros: Easy to use for those that don't use BIM Software everyday.
Cross Platform Use
Easy for upload/download across many machines/users (Vs regular cloud)
Can use many filetypes.
Same data is there across all platforms.
Cons:
UI for those of us that use Navis on the regular.
Won't let you glue out of AutoCAD always. Causes crashes.
Must have the AutoCAD file closed if you are trying to glue off the desktop app.
Navigation on iPads is a bit hard to learn at first for field staff.
iPad model updates are spotty. I field many phone calls from field staff in regards to models not being available.
Overall Great Product though! Has greatly improved our workflow over the past 2/3 years.

Pros:

Cross Platform Use, Easy to use for non computer users. Same data across platforms. We use as a cloud storage for files across offices and detailers.

Cons:

UI for those of us that use Navis on the regular. Won't let you glue out of AutoCAD always. Causes crashes. Must have the AutoCAD file closed if you are trying to glue off the desktop app. Navigation on iPads is a bit hard to learn at first for field staff. iPad model updates are spotty. I field many phone calls from field staff in regards to models not being available.

Aaron
Document Controller in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great for keeping track of project quality and snags

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: good in aiding the recalling closed or in progress issues for resolution is very easy, especially compaired to trawling through paper docments

Pros:

easy to recall checklists, issues (snags clean up notices etc.) and using barcodes for relating those issues and checklists to a specific area keeps everything a lot more relevant. We have over 7000 rooms on our project and using the QR codes has let us relate issues very accurately so that anyone can follow up on issues. Being able to compartmentalise the information by using the user profiles is also very useful as it means our subcontractors can focus on their own issues and it eally helps decltter the information that is presented to them while we can still keep track of the bigger picture.

Cons:

the larger the project the setup seems to exponentially increase (allocating locations, equipment, checklists and qr codes) the use of the excel spreadsheets to import information definitely reduces this somewhat but adding locations for a larger construction project will take a lot of time (on the project I am working on there are over 7700 individual rooms) and then associating those locations with a piece of equipment in order to create a scannable QR code doubles the time with something that is largely replicated work but you have to do so in order to assign a relevant checksheet template to a location.

Sanjay
structural design engineer in India
Civil Engineering, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

autodesk construction cloud- construction management

4.0 last year

Comments: I've been using Autodesk construction cloud for the past year for managing my projects in real time and make quick decisions, share project information store project data. it has helped me in meeting deadlines and also helped in reducing delays , reduced errors. the mobile access has been been a lifechanging on and made the process much simpler. if there are connectivity issues or outages it sometimes can disrupt access to project data and affect productivity

Pros:

it is the best app which enables teams to share documents , manage workflow and easily track progress offering features like storing documents , editing and sharing models in real-time. Easy access to project information and necessary data .

Cons:

although the software offers a wide range of features and functions, the level with which it is customizable is maybe limited as sometimes we require more tailored solutions to fit the specific need. Timely and effective customer support is vital to address any issues or concerns

Gary
Project Manager in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Civil Engineering, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best site software I've used in 30 years

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Great product which just keeps getting better I would recommend the product and support to anyone. It will improve workflow and efficiency on any multi-disciplinary project. As a freelance consultant the first thing I recommend on any new project is PlanGrid.

Pros:

It covers pretty much all aspects of what you want to use reports, data and drawings on site. It's also been extremely useful in the design process as well as helping close out on snagging issues.

Cons:

It's not a document management system in it's trueset form though the document handling is very useful especially through the RFI process. I think the access approval system could still do with a tweak but we have found a workaround for AFC production drawings. Also if you are looking for mass rollout then the price can be on the high side. I honestly think a reduction in price would see a massive uptake in licences. I'd love every supervisor on my site to have a licence but the cost is just too much. We've purchased ten licences where I'd really would have purchased 40-50.

Ben
Structural Engineer in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

BIM Field and BIM Glue, okay if you have to use

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: Both BIM Field and BIM Glue were selected by the construction manager to manage documents. BIM Glue was quirky but overall it did an okay job of updating versions so you could always find the latest. Unless the architect or CM decided to move things into new folders.
BIM Field is adequate. The "search" function doesn't always make logical sense. For example searching for "issues by my company" or "open issues" doesn't always result in a complete report of outstanding items. Their RFI system doesn't permit enough characters in the response. The best you can do is fit "see attached" if your response is of any length. And attachments on Field are too flexible. For both submittals and RFI there is too much opportunity for everyone to post file attachments with different names it becomes difficult to find the latest. A little more structure the files system wouldn't be bad.

Pros:

The website always seems to work.

Cons:

It is too flexible. Without some amount of structure it is difficult to reign in architects and contractor co-ops who give submittals ridiculous names. Once a sumbittal is rejected and resubmitted 2 or 3 times it becomes difficult to find anything. And asking the CM to produce a 16 month-old submittal on a large project becomes impossible as they cannot navigate their own naming conventions. If a CM or architect had a plan and stuck with it then Field would work better. But when they make up the organization as they go along it all becomes difficult to navigate on larger projects that go on for 3 or 4 years.