15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

MasterControl Manufacturing Excellence Reviews

About MasterControl Manufacturing Excellence

The modern MES solution for high mix, low volume sites. Enable higher throughput, shorter review/release time, and real-time data.

Learn more about MasterControl Manufacturing Excellence

Pros:

It will be easy to integrate with our existing QMS system and user can easily build template.

Cons:

There are some areas that are obviously not geared toward how modern clinical laboratories do document control, but as they get more and more clinical laboratory clients I suspect that will change.

MasterControl Manufacturing Excellence ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

MasterControl Manufacturing Excellence has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 142 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used MasterControl Manufacturing Excellence before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (142)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MasterControl Manufacturing Excellence (Mx) Embedded with Quality Throughout

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Overall, we have had a great experience with MasterControl Manufacturing Excellence. The product is easy to use, easy to validate, and allows us to make our manufacturing process digital. The support from MasterControl has also been top tier.

Pros:

MasterControl's Mx solution is embedded with quality throughout the entire platform and process. Mx does not just document completion of executed steps during the manufacturing process. It allows you to easily configure defined parameters and what happens when entered values exceed these limits. The Review by Exception tool allows quality assurance reviewers to focus on specific key areas of the batch record rather than completing a line-by-line review due to these configurable controls. In addition, the product is integrated with the quality solutions of MasterControl, including documents, training, and quality events. For example, the system performs training checks to prevent users from working on a batch record if their training is not complete (there is an option for a supervisor override), and deviations can be launched and linked from the batch record with the quality event status clearly visible to batch reviewers. Lastly, we like how easy the software is to use; we are able to configure it ourselves without needing ongoing consultants.

Cons:

There are some minor software limitations, for example you cannot correct or change a lot number after a batch record is created. There are also some features, such as global elements, that cannot be used in conjunction with other features, such as product families. Once you learn these limitations, you are able to develop workarounds for them.

Mark
SVP Scientific Affairs in Canada
Biotechnology, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Manufacturing Excellence is changing the way we work -- for the better

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

MasterControl's Manufacturing Excellence is changing the way we work, asserting more control and compliance in our manufacturing workflows, simplifying data entries and corrections for people on the floor, and dramatically improving the review process. We've implemented a fraction of our Manufacturing procedures so far, but the 'pull' from the Manufacturing department is impressive. They're really positive about the system and are working fast and hard to implement all of our paper-based procedures in MasterControl as quickly as possible.I should mention that 'Manufacturing' in our case encompasses all of our Quality Control procedures as well. The QC department has been a leader in transitioning testing procedures to Mx, and as such, our testing procedures mesh seamlessly with our manufacturing procedures to create fulsome, integrated production records that can be QA-reviewed all together.

Cons:

At present our nonconformance procedures are outside of MasterControl, and therefore any nonconformances are executed on paper and are then scanned into the Mx production records. This is on us. Once we've implemented the nonconformance Advanced Forms in Qx, things will work seamlessly.

Alternatives Considered: NetSuite, Greenlight Guru and SciCord Informatics Platform

Reasons for Switching to MasterControl Manufacturing Excellence: Integration of Mx with the other MasterControl QMS modules was key. Out-of-the-box integration beats custom integration every day.

Rose
Business Process Owner in Ireland
Biotechnology, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Potential

4.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

The adaptability of the platform. Development of workflows to suite end users. Continuous improvements with quarterly upgrades.

Cons:

Cumbersome drafting of templates. Have no to configure each step

John
Applications Specialist - QMS in US
Pharmaceuticals, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Manufacturing Excellence in a Pharmaceutical Environment

3.0 9 months ago

Comments: The Mx module of MasterControl has helped mitigate many of the documentation errors that we would often see attributed to end users handwriting,

Pros:

The ability to enforce training dependancies in Production Records to ensure end users are properly trained before executing Phase Steps is critical for day to day operation here at BioSpectra. The different utilities within each different Phase Step Type gives the Template Builder a wide range of formatting options, which is essential for building a Template that is clear and concise, functional, and easy to execute once a record is issued from it.

Cons:

We have experienced quite a few issues while attempting to import or export any Master Templates between the different environments (Dev, Test, & Live Sites). Being in the Pharmaceutical environment, we have come across a few instances where we have identified defects in the system that have been critical for us but low priority on MasterControl's side as they are not a regulated company.

Madison
Quality Assurance Lead in Canada
Alternative Medicine, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

User Friendly System

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Overall I would recommend master control, I love how the system is layed out and how it makes document filing easy for our business and eliminating paper.

Pros:

I like the overeall interface of master control and the ease of use for my staff.

Cons:

Master control is more costly than other eQMS systems and it is a bit difficult to obtain 1:1 technical help when issues require troubleshooting

Alternatives Considered: Veeva Vault

Reasons for Choosing MasterControl Manufacturing Excellence: ZenQMS did not have the capacity to perform quality events or change controls to documentation. Missing many features.

Switched From: ZenQMS

Reasons for Switching to MasterControl Manufacturing Excellence: Master control is a more developed software.

Kirsten
QA Technology II in US
Biotechnology, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MasterControl is Easy to Use!

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall I believe MasterControl is a 9 out of 10, I have seen and used worse eQMS. Yes there are some problems but I overall really like the product.

Pros:

I love the form builder and the JR Reports/Insights. More of the form builder so we can build our our quality and system access forms.

Cons:

Even though I love the form builder, the template is really hard to use and there is so much limit to what can be added to the forms. And with a longer eForm being made and continuously updating, the JR Report for it keeps breaking.

William
Manufacturing Quality Engineer in US
Medical Devices, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mx Review

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I love the ease of building production records and the integration between Mx and Qx.

Cons:

I think the flexibility of data entry corrections after a record is launched can be improved.

Alternatives Considered: SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence

Reasons for Choosing MasterControl Manufacturing Excellence: The old one was not supported.

Reasons for Switching to MasterControl Manufacturing Excellence: Better functionality and ease of use as well as integration with Qx.

Sebastien
IS domain manager in France
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Users experience

4.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

Easy to use, no code, schelable, and nice road map orientation

Cons:

Too much release per year, user experience with big template

Alla
Manager in US
Food Production, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

MasterControl Review

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

I liked organization of documents the most.

Cons:

I like the least is the lack of connectivity between records.

Willeke
Quality Assurance Project Manager in Ireland
Biotechnology, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent Manufacturing

4.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Our builders are enjoying writing the Master Templates, the settings in the options are intuitive.

Pros:

ability to link controlled documents , prevent an untrained user to complete a step in Production records Review by exception

Cons:

quest user access Builder licenses are really expensive running VoD creates a report using MT number which is only visible in pilot vault. looks like discontinuation of numbering in the Production Vault

Lillian
QA/RA Director in US
Medical Devices, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The 'Adobe' of eQMS: Extremely powerful functionality with a learning curve well worth the effort.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Increased productivity, compliance, visibility, and capability.

Pros:

1) One-stop shopping for Document Control, Training, CAPA, Complaints, Change Control, Supplier Management, Bill of Materials, etc. All processes are electronically linked, adding both ease and traceability to my interrelated QMS processes (I can launch a CAPA from my Complaint form!) (I can launch an Engineering Change Order from my CAPA form!) 2) Configuration can be as simple or as complex as you make it. The more complex configurations are more work up front, but bullet-proof the processes for the end-user so the processes pretty much drive themselves. 3) Makes audits so much easier to facilitate and eliminates the low-hanging fruit that is so easy for auditors to find; no missed signatures, no GDP issues, no data integrity concerns, etc. 4) Technical Support has my questions answered almost immediately whether I call directly or issue a web-ticket. More complex questions are escalated directly to the engineers who are also incredibly responsive. 5) My product feedback is solicited and responded to. MasterControl isn't an unreachable entity; they care what the end user has to say and are constantly soliciting feedback. 6) Form Builder! The eForm Builder and Process module are addictive. I can build an HTML for for any time-wasting paper-based process that I have. They go through the electronic workflow and can link to any other MasterControl module, form, etc.

Cons:

1) The cost is understandably high (it does the work of 2-3 people in my 80 person company) but it can be difficult to get management past the sticker shock when they're thinking of traditional plug-and-play software (and asking management to spend money on Quality is already tough). 2) As mentioned in the opening line, the learning curve is a bit steep. This is not a drag-and-drop, push-to-install software. You need a trained System Administrator to navigate not just how to do the basics, but how to really harness the full, powerful potential of the software. Buying the software, attending one intro courses and then calling it good is like buying an espresso machine only for the hot water. You need to learn what all the buttons do to make it a real, worth-while investment. Luckily MasterControl has an Online University with really helpful tutorials, plus a great online help menu. And Tech Support for everything else.

Crystal
Quality Analyst in US
Telecommunications, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Possibilities are Endless!

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

There are so many opportunities to use this software to help manage aspects of your business or quality system that would be impossible in a paper based or manual process. While the modules are defined and designed around a specific function, you have the flexibility to create custom configurations and shape the product to fit your needs. The customer support from the entire MasterControl group is amazing!The level of service is very high from everyone you interface with, the sales team, the install team, the front-line support team, etc. We also use the TAM support service in addition to front-line support and we have greatly benefited from building a relationship with our TAM and troubleshooting system issues. Overall, this investment will help support rapid growth in your business and help facilitate the creation and management of a truly robust quality organization.

Cons:

There is definitely a learning curve with this software for users, and with the size of our organization and the constant influx of new personnel the establishment of an ongoing support team is key to the success of the product. Some of the components are not the best out of the options available on the market, but bringing them all together in one package is what makes this product sustainable.

Kim
Doc Control Admin in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Solves many issues, but has a big learning curve

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Many issues that happened in our paper system were solved like keeping track of revisions and having a centralized place for comments and collaboration. The automation also helps a lot with compliance and the v11.6 reporting features are great. The training module finally forced us to define which department should be trained on which documents and really improved our training system. As someone who went to a MasterControl Summit, the people who work there are really down to earth and personable.

Cons:

It requires a big learning curve and your users will make a lot of mistakes in the process. Switching to MC can require a complete overhaul of your numbering system, which makes the transition much harder. The UI has room for improvement, especially because they use the same symbol to mean different things in different contexts. I also wish there was more control over user rights, like editing InfoCards and replacing the main files. We've run into issues with users not understanding that process and it has created audit findings. The inconsistent knowledge of tech support. I'll ask one person a question and get one answer, then ask another person and get the opposite answer. Finally, I find that the UserVoice feature is a joke.

Ryan
Quality Systems Administrator in US
Medical Devices, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We have compared MC to other document controls tools and MC have always been our choice.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

We have been a Master Control customer since 2007. The system has streamlined our document control process. The ability of the system to connect all the different modules makes it easier for us as a Medical Device regulated to comply to regulations. Our users complement how user friendly the system is and how customizable it is in terms of searching for document based on metadata or by drag and drop. The use of the form builder tool allowed us to moved several paper based process to electronic. The forms are easy to build and lets you customize it as needed. Their tech support staff is friendly and very knowledgeable and if they don't know the answer to something they get back to you in a timely manner.

Cons:

There is room for improvement in reporting. Master Control has already identified this gap and planned to include in future releases.

Patrick
Application Administrator Lead in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MasterControl Excels as an eQMS

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: ITxM purchased the MasterControl eQMS suite in 2004 and has been using the platform for Document Control, Training and Nonconformance Management. The software is very user friendly, and the Customer Support from Sales through Technical Account Management is exemplary. Upgrading the software has become easier and easier over the years, and we have never had any questions about the installation or validation of the system from any of our regulatory inspections; and we have lots of inspections, assessments and accreditations. The annual User Summit allows customers from all industries to come together and discuss best practices and share experiences. I would recommend MasterControl for any size company, both regulated and non-regulated. And if you don't have the internal resources to install the software, MasterControl can assist by hosting the software for you.

Pros:

Easy to use and great customer support

Cons:

Top dollar, but you get what you pay for.

Betsy
Manager and SysAdmin of MasterControl in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Productive tool in a heavily regulated environment; nothing gets lost; intuitive interface.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use and seamless module integration all provided by one vendor. By having one vendor, one system, we always know where items are located and nothing gets lost.

Cons:

Our View-Only users cannot sign/approve an inprocess document. It was recommended to us by a regulatory agency to have our individual user's CV and job description available and controlled online. These documents are to be reviewed yearly and signed by the user, the user's manager, and the training coordinator. However, there is a problem when the CV/JD belongs to a VO user. A lot of manual manipulation with the user's account has to occur to get this to work.

Kayla
Product Development Manager in US
Medical Devices, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MX is a Wondeful Tool

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: I very much enjoy MX. Mx holds our production team to a new level of quality and excellence.

Pros:

TraceabilityQualityLinking trainingInstructions right at n operators fingertipsQuick containment when issues arise

Cons:

Lag loading times. Glitches during first few weeks of updates. Technical support takes a while to fix issues.

Tim
Director of Operations in US
Food Production, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Overall Positive

4.0 9 months ago

Comments: Positive. This was a big project, but it has been worth it.

Pros:

Batch records, some features more customizable than others. The basic stuff is good once you get the hang of it. I love this and the company has been quick to adapt, demonstrates the ease of use.

Cons:

Customized reports are difficult. There is opportunity for some awesome reports, but very difficult. Integration with our ERP has been more difficult. Understanding of what the roles mean and how they are used lead to confusion and now have to pay more later b/c we did not fully understand what we needed.

clark
QMS MANAGER in US
Tobacco, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mx Review

4.0 8 months ago

Pros:

Ease of conffiguration and use of product

Cons:

Lack of integration which is key in reducing the number of templates

Talenn
Quality Supervisor in Canada
Consumer Goods, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Mastercontrol Review

4.0 9 months ago

Pros:

The change control process is great, so is the search function. E batch records are very useful for the one process we used

Cons:

Our instance was set up by an internal team that should not have been in charge of that task. As a result our instance ended up feeling clunky and unintuitive.

Adrienne
Project and Quality Manager in US
Pharmaceuticals, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

17 Feb. 17 MasterControl Review

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: MasterControl customer support has been very responsive in helping us get our instance of MasterControl up and running. I feel safe knowing our quality documents are in a secure, validated system that I can access almost anywhere, and that they sit in a system the FDA themselves use! As a pharma/device company, the FDA's seal of approval on an electronic QMS system means a lot to us! I'm glad our company chose the gold standard eQMS to implement.

Pros:

It is secure - very validated and I feel safe using a system the FDA themselves use.

Cons:

Both Java and Adobe must be up to date at all times and you can't use Chrome, and even then, we still have PDF publishing and opening errors.

Ben
Lead Production Technologist in UK
Pharmaceuticals, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

MX Review

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall I feel using MX has been a substantial improvement on how we product documentation in my department.

Pros:

I like the adaptability of the system, it's undergoing additional functionality additions which are a big help.

Cons:

I miss a change all shortcut feature in the builder environment.

Patrick
eQMS Administrator in US
Medical Devices, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MasterControl User for over 12 years

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

The ease of use for the end user, the customizability of the software you are not limited to what they allow you to do, you have a good free range of features you can manipulate.

Cons:

As a longtime customer, I would like a little let us say freedom within the system to allow me to do a little in-depth customization and access to a different level of technical support, I'm not a noob here.

Phil
Quality Software Engineer in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Albemarle implementation of Documents, Training, PM, Calibration and Custom Forms.

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: Because it is solving a complex set of problems, MasterControl software is naturally complex. Once the initial learning curve is past (which is helped by the training and installation folks from MasterControl), the design of the software is understandable. Initial installation of the software allows for mass uploads of existing documents and data. When there are issues, caused by the software or by the customer, the support is second to none. Knowledgeable technicians are always available to help out, and with the help of WebEx and a telephone, it is like they are standing next to you. Support will generally solve a problem on the spot, and if that is not possible they will continue to follow up until a satisfactory solution is found. Documentation is good, with tools like checklists you can used when implementing a new module. A negative is the reporting tool. While I understand it is written so that a general non-programmer type can use it, more advanced options are not available. We have solved this issue by using Crystal Reports for the more complex issues. MasterControl does a good job of keeping track of what the current best practices are and integrating them into their software. If there are changes to the forms desired, they can be made by an experienced programmer, or can be contracted through MasterControl. The new forms design tool can make a non-programmer look like a professional for simple paper forms the user desires to turn electronic with routing, e-signatures and tracking completely available.

Donnell
Solution Architect in US
Tobacco, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Manufacturing Excellence Module

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Excellent suite of tools for your manufacturing needs

Pros:

Ease of building Master Template to completely capture our process/EBR

Cons:

API/Integration need to capture all the necessary data points of auxiliary systems.