Microsoft Dynamics GP Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.8 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.6 /5

About Microsoft Dynamics GP

Efficiently manage accounting and finances, distribution, projects, HR processes and customer relationship management.

Learn more about Microsoft Dynamics GP

Showing 119 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Buyer
Machinery, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 25/11/2020

"User friendly and versatile ERP"

Comments: I really liked using and implementing this ERP as users tends to like it and adpat very easy to it

Pros: I work for several years as a consultant implementing Microsoft Dynamics and I likes how user friendly this ERP is, is compatible with every Microsoft software, it is versatile and easy to use

Cons: It is not as strong in the manufacturing module as the most famous ERPs as it lacks on some concepts for manufacturing best practices, but for a small or medium company this ERP is more than enough

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 25/11/2020
James X.
Senior Accountant
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2017

"Senior Corporate Accountant"

Comments: I love GP. I have for years. I've been a GP consultant, and have been a user for eight years. Before making the decision to select an accounting package, ask such questions as: What types of financial statements do I want? How detailed do I want them? Do I want to create separate entities or will departments work? GP has a very simplistic, onboard report writer. But if you need the ability to customize your reports, you should consider FRx. I believe FRx may be called something different now. It has a very advanced set of allocation accounts that I highly recommend to anyone that has to allocate expenses.

Pros: t's role tailored software that's easy to implement and use
It looks and feels familiar to software your people use every day: Microsoft Office Excel, Outlook, and Word
It enables fast, relevant access to current and complete information about your business activities and operations
It goes beyond basic reporting and extends insight across your entire organization
It seamlessly integrates with your other technology platforms
It permits one to over 1,000 concurrent users
It's highly customizable with dozens of industry-specific solutions
It automates and standardizes recurring tasks
It's scalable, versatile and flexible

Cons: With respect to the allocations, once the expense is entered into the allocation account, you lose the ability to run any detail on just the total of the expense. It would be nice if you could run a trial balance on the allocation accounts the same way you can with regular accounts.
I've always thought security set up could be a bit simpler. It actually has gotten better through the years. Specifically, with eight separate entities, it would be nice to have a "master" setup where you could call up one group entity, assign the users rights, and then be finished. Currently, whenever I have a new user, I have to call up each individual entity and select all of the features I want the user to have. That means I have to do eight steps for each user.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2017
Judith F.
Accounts Receiveable Technician / Rental Credit Officer
Industrial Automation, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2016

"Microsoft Dynamics GP Manufacturing Rave"

Comments: I am a true believer in Microsoft GP products. This accounting software, although a bit cumbersome to initially learn, is well worth the education. The ease with which you can navigate from customer related transactions, to back end AR functions, and over to strictly financial entries, is incomparable. Many accounting software systems, although quick and easy, do not give you a clear overview of distribution and coding layout. GP allows you to clearly access what has been recorded, and makes it easy to reverse anything if necessary. The "Smart List" is one of it's finest features. This tool allows you to not only access reports, but to streamline, and create reports that are tailored specifically for your needs. I believe this is one of the best systems out there for processing of manufactured goods, and inventory control. I highly recommend Microsoft Dynamics GP - Manufacturing!

Pros: Report Building
Distribution and coding clarity
Easy navigation
Excellent Customer support

Cons: Product does bog down occasionally, if too many people are on it ( usually more a month end kind of issue)
Very detailed - makes for slower learning of system **However, in the end is worth the work**

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2016
Basil B.
Production Planning Engineer
Textiles, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/01/2021

"Microsoft dynamics GP is a good ERP software package."

Comments: Very good experience with this software.very easy to use and good speed

Pros: Microsoft dynamics GP has a very effective PP module.It is used for production Planning and very easily everyone can make Master production schedule & Material Requirement plans..

Cons: It requires more updates and developments

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/01/2021
Shane P.
Consultant
Accounting
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 04/03/2015

"ERP with a familiar MS Office feel"

Pros: Microsoft Dynamics GP does a great job of integrating into the other mainstream Microsoft productivity applications many organizations implement, and it offers some great familiarity that helps someone new to the software feel more comfortable with using the application. Because it is a Microsoft product, there is also healthy mainstream/community support via online forums. And, of course, logical access is simplified thanks to integration with Microsoft's Active Directory but you may also opt for SQL Server database logical access as well.

Cons: Microsoft Dynamics GP is very light on Customer Relationship Management (CRM) features. Customer accounts and details can be stored in the software for invoicing and other accounting functions, but much is left to be desired. Microsoft instead points you to buying additional software, such as their Dynamics CRM product which integrates nicely with Dynamics GP but adds on additional licensing costs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 04/03/2015
Linda R.
Procedure Control Manager
Banking, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/05/2018

"Microsoft Dynamics GP"

Pros: This system is laid out like a folder on your PC, making it intuitive for most users to learn. The import/export functionality is robust and allowed my organization to seamlessly integrate external website sales into the order processing/accounting module. This was possible because the solution is sequel based.

Cons: In order to share reports, the solution requires SharePoint, and there are times when the system processes slowly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/05/2018
Lauren S.
Accounting Supervisor
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/02/2018

"Great software with great reporting functionality"

Pros: - ease of use once you know what you're doing
- ability to build smart lists, which is super helpful
- multi entity functionality

Cons: - no direct integration with tax software
- need to pair with reporting software to get accurate financial reporting
- need to log out to switch entities

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/02/2018
Heather K.
Financial Analyst
Primary/Secondary Education
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/06/2015

"Microsoft Dynamics GP"

Pros: Microsoft Dynamics GP is user friendly. It is easy to print trial balances and perform inquiries. Creating new accounts and entering journal entries are very straight forward. Management Reporter - the reporting package with Microsoft Dynamics GP is a step up from FRx.

Cons: One thing I find a bit confusing is creating smart lists. I'm sure with additional training, it would be much easier but this is the one area that I find not quite intuitive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/06/2015
Sean A.
Controller
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/06/2015

"Moved from QuickBooks to GP!"

Pros: Express Information Systems out of San Antonio, Texas worked REALLY hard with me and had me up and running in no time! I didn't miss the cut over and was even able to process my first payroll ON TIME!

Cons: A bit difficult to set up the way I needed it, but works great now!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/06/2015
Madubuchi O.
Operations Analysis
Food & Beverages, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2017

"Microsoft Gp"

Comments: This software is decent for accounting but becomes difficult to use when it comes with the distribution.

Pros: The customer service.

Cons: Difficult to use

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2017
Laura L.
Head of marketing
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/04/2019

"easy and organized overview"

Pros: I really enjoy using this ERP, since i work in retail it offers me dashboards that gives me an overview of the finances. I can access into the real-time information anytime and from anywhere. It has an AI that keeps a record of the information you put in so It also helps in cutting down on entering information manually by automating daily tasks and include tracking abilities

Cons: at th beggining it requires a lot of money, so for an startup or a small company its a big investment though it will be compesanted in the use of the ERP

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/04/2019
Tina Y.
Accounting Specialis
Accounting, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/05/2018

"Good accounting software"

Pros: The reports export to excel format nicely and are easy to customized the columns to meet your needs.

Cons: The GL account description does not show up when entering the account codes in any module so you wouldn't really notice if you keyed in the wrong account.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/05/2018
Jennifer B.
Consultant
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2015

"I've used Dynamics GP to manage our business for a couple years."

Pros: I like the automation tools and the reporting. We can effectively and efficiently run our business and accommodate for growth without adding people to the accounting department. We also get real time financial reports for management.

Cons: Microsoft is always coming out with updated versions. I wish we didn't have to upgrade as often.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2015
Joshua E.
Controller
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/10/2020

"Not Ideal for Me"

Comments: Overall, I had difficulty with any customization(s) of this product. It was not very user-friendly.

Pros: I like the reliability of the system. Being able to view "batches" and edit them before posting was helpful.

Cons: The software was too complex for my needs. I was looking for a basic Accounts Payable, Accounts Receivable, and GL transaction software. This software would be a better fit for a large corporation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/10/2020
Scott D.
IT Director
Accounting
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3.5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2016

"Dynamics GP Finance and Manufacturing"

Pros: Sits on the MS stack and works well for the smaller growing business.

Cons: The amount of Add-on's required to meet all our functional needs and keeping them aligned.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2016
Russell M.
International Buyer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/10/2016

"Good for ERP, Bad for MRP"

Comments: When using great plains, I have found the software to be easily navigable, but fairly poor for being a robust ERP system. I work on the supply chain when I use ERP systems, and I wished it had better planning and MRP features. I ended up using spreadsheets as an MRP and planning tool!!

Pros: Easily navigable

Cons: Planning and MRP

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/10/2016
Colte K.
Banking
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/02/2014

"Like with most software, everything depends on the implementation"

Pros: Microsoft is continuously putting R&D into this product and there are a lot of add-on functionalities in the marketplace.

Cons: Microsoft didn't offer much in the way of recommending a good implementation partner.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/02/2014
Ed J.
Director of Sales
Chemicals, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 15/09/2015
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 15/09/2015
Tela B.
sales represenative
Management Consulting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2016

"microsoft"

Comments: love the product. makes it easy to get my work done and organized.

Pros: easy to organize.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2016
Radu I.
SENIOR ELECTRICAL ENGINEER
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/02/2017

"Good"

Comments: Good - it is reliable and easy to use but I do have limited exposure

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/02/2017
Verified Reviewer
Systems Consultant
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 29/09/2020

"Not quite caught up to newer software"

Comments: I have used Microsoft Dynamics GP for over 20 years for various companies. The distribution modules are pretty strong and I have used those in many industries. There are a lot of options available now for automation and workflows which save time as well as missed opportunities. I have also been able to connect Dynamics GP to many external industry specific programs, saving data entry and errors.

Pros: It has a very strong financial backbone. Users are forced to view and verify accounting data during transactions in many areas. Since the software has been around for many years, there are a lot of ISVs offering add-on products for various needs. The backend is strong in that it is MS SQL Server.

Cons: There are some features that do not automatically come as part of the main package. Reporting, operational and financial, has been all over the place and is still not where it needs to be. There is not a lot of remote capabilities.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 29/09/2020
Thanh t. N.
Senior Accountant - Full Cycle Accounting
Philanthropy, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 01/05/2018

"GP is a functional product, but the user experience is not the best"

Pros: The software is relatively easy to use. The biggest advantage of GP is probably it is a Microsoft product, meaning GP works well with other Microsoft products, such as the Office suite. The learning curve is also not that steep if users are willing to learn through various blogs, videos (especially YouTube), and through Microsoft web site. The price is very competitive, comparing to leading-edge solution such as Intacct or NetSuite.

Cons: I am a big fan of anything on the Cloud. Our controller spends lots of time to upgrade GP through different version over the years (GP is hosted either on premise or through third-party vendor's server. Of course the upgrade or any troubleshooting is not that bad with the right support from a third vendor. However, this is not value-added function in accounting/finance. If I have a choice nowadays, I will go with Intacct or NetSuite. With a Cloud solution, users will have very little downtime. With an on-premise solution, at least in our experiences, we have lots of downtimes. Also for some reasons the software requires us to reboot the backend server from time to time due to software bugs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 01/05/2018
Wassim R.
Consulting Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/08/2020

"Reliable software"

Comments: Good experience

Pros: It's very reliable, scalable, has deep functionality and is well served by a large number of add-on vertical and other solutions

Cons: The user interface is quite old and does not resemble what modern day users would expect

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/08/2020