Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Promoly

Promoly is an easy-to-use, affordable, and effective tool for promoting your music, podcast, and audio content.

Learn more about Promoly

Filter reviews (41)

Product Rating

Product Rating

Countries available

Countries available

Usage

Sort by

Have you used Promoly before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (41)

Tom G.
Music producer, Composer , Author , Remixer , Label Owner in UK
Music, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Promo.ly !

4 12 months ago

Comments: Very good overall until bugs been fixed

Pros:

Very efficient, very friendly people , very useful

Cons:

-Impossible in certain positions to individuate / remove / change people IN groups -Audio downloads diseappeared many times due to system bugs putting my customers in rage and my credibility in balance ( very painful )

Promo.ly Response

12 months ago

Hey Tom, thanks for the review! I wanted to let you know all audio upload bugs are fixed. Sorry for the stress caused! Also, we're building some better filtering, which will make it easier for you to remove people from email lists.

Riho I.
The Dude in Estonia
Music, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great Tool.

5 12 months ago

Comments: Great.

Pros:

Simple, neat looking, easy to go around.

Cons:

Few things did not work as intended on the beginning, also the audio file upload seems thing to sort out. One thing is to add audio preview into promo pack/mail, another thing is the files that people want to download, do you really need to present wave and mp3 separately for preview, I wouldnt do it that way personally. Maybe that is now allready different. Still tho works fine as it is.

Promo.ly Response

12 months ago

Hi Riho, Thanks for the feedback and the review. Unfortunately, we had a bug which caused some difficulties. That bug is now eliminated, and audio upload works with no issue. Thanks for the suggestions about improving Promoly. I'll pass these back to the team. We're always looking for ways to improve, so it's appreciated. Cheers, Pete

Keron Y.
Music Producer in Jamaica
Music, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Review

3 12 months ago

Comments: I only had the opportunity to use it once, I may not be able to afford it until further on

Pros:

I like the analytics features, also it had a section where you could reach out to a community of producers, radio personalities etc that you could send your music to for listening or playing

Cons:

I don’t like how people receive the email. They have to click to go in and see everything. Therefore, some people saw it and ignored because it appeared to be spam or phishing

Promo.ly Response

12 months ago

Hey Keron, Thanks for the honest review. We have to provide a link in the email to the promo, as email does not support audio streaming. Also, the more information and links embedded in the email, the higher chance of it landing in spam. We have to find a balance, and currently what we have works well for our customers. That's not to say it will always be that way. We improve and make things better all the time. Hope that makes sense, Also, watch out over the coming months. We have some great updates that are in line with your needs. Best, Pete

Tony E.
Owner in US
Music, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Worth checking out

4 12 months ago

Pros:

Promo.ly us constantly working to innovate their product and improve the work apps workflow. Whenever a question arises, they are quick to respond and solve any issues that may arise. Overall the support that the promo.ly team supplies is unmatched and they always strive to do better. Even when they do a great job already. The analytics in the app are great.

Cons:

Sometimes critical bugs are encountered (however corrected very fast). Cost per available sends in the basic tier is a bit high for an independent label, but it doesn't make sense for us to jump to the next tier give our market reach.

Promo.ly Response

12 months ago

Thanks for the great review!

Adrian B.
Dj/Record Label Owner in US
Entertainment, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great Value

4 12 months ago

Comments: Happy user, however I would love if you will support AIFF files. Most international touring DJ's are asking for high quality files for them to play in their sets. As a DJ is very important to be able to see the COVER of the music that i am playing; WAV files does not have that support. Thank you

Pros:

Easy to setup campaigns, the ability to send promos to different lists.

Cons:

lack of AIFF format support. Also the emails metadata - text & image sometimes are not being displayed properly.

Promo.ly Response

12 months ago

Hey Adrian, we'll see what we can do with respects to AIFF support. Your request is definitely in the front of our brains. Thanks for the review.

Kojo O.
Music & Education in UK
Entertainment, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Promoly

4 11 months ago

Comments: Good. Very helpful team on hand o help with any issues & queries.

Pros:

Ease of use & efficiency. I also like the fact I can use Promoly for multiple campaigns.

Cons:

Its integration with Safari as a browser

Declan G.
Label Manager in UK
Music, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

PromoLy SWR Review

5 12 months ago

Comments: Awesome

Pros:

The easy accessibility for clients to listen to the track and leave feedback and downloadability.

Cons:

The jump between tier 1-2 £15 for 750 sends and £30 for more than double more. There needs to be a tier in the middle like £20 for 1,25k sends as £30 send limit is way too much for me and will never get used. Also PromoLy sometimes ends up putting the email in the spam folder

Promo.ly Response

12 months ago

Thanks for the review Declan. Pricing is one of the most difficult aspects to get correct when building a company. What may suit you might not accommodate someone else. I don't think we'll ever find a happy medium, but I appreciate your comments. If you need more sends but don't wish to upgrade your entire account, we have an email credit addon. Head to your account and checkout /billing. You can purchase extra for a one-off fee. Thanks, Pete

Nima M.
CEO in US
Entertainment, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Amazing Product & Unparalled Customer Service

5 last year

Pros:

This simple yet powerful interface allows any member of our staff to operate within the platform with ease and navigate the many resourceful tools promoly has to offer!

Cons:

Initially, we couldn't schedule delivers on a PST time zone. However, it seems they have now updated and allowed the feature.

Promo.ly Response

last year

Thanks for the kind words Nima. You are correct. The time zones scheduling are now correct.

Roy E.
Owner in US
Music, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good Service

5 11 months ago

Pros:

An in depth promo service that allows you to customize your promos as well as giving you deep insights about how it was viewed by your contacts.

Cons:

Was a bit convoluted to get started as a symphonic client.

Andrew P.
Plumber in UK
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Feedback

4 12 months ago

Comments: Good service

Pros:

Able to use with ease on phone and daily updates

Cons:

That you started to use sends for reminder

Gil E.
Director in US
Entertainment, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

4 12 months ago

Pros:

Easy to use and clean layout

Cons:

Not enough sophisticated filters or functionalities to do analytics or review data in a multi-dimensional format. Need to have these functions to slice and view data esp when similar applications have this.

Promo.ly Response

12 months ago

Hey Gil, Thanks for reviewing Promoly! We're building some better filtering right now, but I'd love to hear your thoughts in more detail. Cheers, Pete

Jerrod B.
Ceo in US
Music, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

My Promoly Experience

5 11 months ago

Comments: My experience with promoly been great in the industry of music if used properly you will see good results

Pros:

I like it overall it’s very helpful to me and especially in the world of music because you can link with others in different geographical.

Cons:

Add more networking options maybe to direct to all walks of life could use. Other than that it’s great and for my industry field it’s perfect for me.

Niek S.
Label Owner in Netherlands
Music, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to Use

5 12 months ago

Pros:

It is very easy to set-up and keep track of the results.

Cons:

There is actually nothing that I don’t like about the software. I would like to see more response on the promo’s, but that has nothing to do with the software.

Joao B.
Dj/Producer in Portugal
Music, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

review

5 11 months ago

Comments: Overall experience with Promoly was good and will use it again.

Pros:

Favorite feature is the send scheduler.

Cons:

Missing email notifications each time someone leaves feedback. Option to download mp3 or wav

Daniel P.
Designer in Spain
Design, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good option if you want get control :)

5 12 months ago

Pros:

Easy integration and this have multiple options

Cons:

Mmm maybe need a best interface and more features

Promo.ly Response

12 months ago

Awesome! Thanks Daniel. What features are needed? Can you let us know on support.promo.ly?

Alexander B.
CEO in Russia
Music, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

INVASION

5 12 months ago

Pros:

Like a ease of sending and activity graphs.

Cons:

the service does not have its own mailing base like inflight.

Ted R.
label owner in UK
Music, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

review

5 8 months ago

Pros:

it was easy to use and effective but I'm going to try another service

Cons:

the price was a little high for me xxxxxs

Max S.
Label Manager in UK
Music, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

An Okay Alternative to Label Engine (But, with time, will be just as good)

3 12 months ago

Comments: Overall, I had a very positive but often frustrating time with Promo.ly (both as a software and the team who run it). I think it offers a great alternative to Label Engine in terms of its cost and user interface, but it certainly has a long way to go before I would recognise it as a serious competitor to LE. The team I spoke to for support were incredibly helpful and very responsive. At the time of using Promo.ly, there were a number of problems I encountered which, with the help and speedy replies of the team, were either resolved soon after the initial conversations or were on the list of things to update. It seems the team behind Promo.ly are really passionate about their product and offer a much more personal touch than, say, Label Engine. As much as my feedback may be perceived as negative, I would certainly recommend it to a friend or colleague. I can see a lot of potential for it in the future.

Pros:

The cost was definitely something I liked. It's a good software with a good price point. Each update seemed to make the cost more impressive, but, alas, updates and few and far between. The software's interface, although often buggy, was easy to use and allowed for a somewhat visually appealing product.

Cons:

The software, for what the service is (a promotions software), is very buggy. When I joined Promo.ly, the internal clock of the software was wrong and often lead to my promo's being sent out at the wrong time. Uploading tracks to the software regularly resulted in the software crashing. More generally, I feel like the accessibility of the interface was overshadowed by the buggy software. Even at the relatively low price point that Promo.ly is offering, the problems I encountered at the time of using Promo.ly sometimes made it not worth it.

Harrison D.
Record Label Co-Owner in UK
Music, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Can't fault promoly

5 12 months ago

Comments: Amazing support, fantastic softwaree, would definitely recommend to other similar businesses if they weren't already using it.

Pros:

All the features on promo.ly are easy to use and their customer service has been on point whenever we've needed to contact them. This website is such a useful tool for our business, allowing us to interact with a select audience of artists that we choose to send our pre-release music too. Really can't fault this fantastic service.

Cons:

Nothing I can really mention, there used to be a few issues with dates etc but those got fixed in a recent update a couple of months ago, since then we've had no issues.

Promo.ly Response

12 months ago

Thanks, Harrison! We listen to our customers and adapt where needed :)

Matej C.
artist, Label Manager in Slovenia
Entertainment, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

I'm satsified

5 12 months ago

Comments: nice really like it something different from the others, you can arrange whatever you like.

Pros:

very good communication with the clients!

Cons:

good transfering and image mails!, colors changing

Promo.ly Response

12 months ago

Thanks, Matej! Appreciate it.

Ben A.
Label owner in UK
Music, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great music promotion platform

4 12 months ago

Comments: Good

Pros:

Easy to set up and use Good pricing platform

Cons:

Not many other labels have adopted this platform over others - which made it difficult to access better response rates No easy and separate way of making both mp3 and wav downloads available to receivers

Promo.ly Response

12 months ago

Thanks for the review, Ben. We're continuously growing and your review helps shape Promoly.

Kirill G.
Music Label Owner in Russia
Music, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

8\10 Promoly

5 12 months ago

Comments: Overall, I like the service.

Pros:

1. Cost. I'm sure you can do it a little cheaper. Or, come up with different promotions and discounts much more often.

Cons:

Track names on the release page. There are underscores between words. "_"

Jack P.
Label Manager in UK
Music, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Promoly Review

5 11 months ago

Comments: Before I'd even signed up, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] (one of the [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]) was incredibly helpful and provided a whole plethora of details for me think over and decide if I wanted to switch. There was never any pressure and even since I have signed up, any queries I've had have been answered in a very timely and professional manner.

Pros:

The software is incredibly professional looking compared to previous software I used to promo mailouts. Clean-cut design is far more likely to attract people to leave feedback on our music. It's also super simple to use - no nonsense, just the tools you need.

Cons:

Nothing has been lacking so far, perhaps something that my particular label could benefit from is a tool to upload different file types other than just the music and art. For example it would be helpful to be able to attach a .pdf press release.

Andrew B.
Andrew B.
Artist (music) in Finland
Verified LinkedIn User
Music, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

In Your Dreams (music) marketing

5 12 months ago

Comments: With marketing music, there are many moving parts. Promoly has helped me beat a path through the noise and line up all my necessary ducks to be able to email market effectively.

Pros:

There's a friendly responsive person on the other end! That and there's a weekly tip on how to do exactly what I need to do...market my music, a complicated business.

Cons:

Nothing so far. ....................................

Angel R.
Label Manager in Romania
Music, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A must have for any music label

5 10 months ago

Comments: Using Promoly helped me have a professional look to my label's mailout to DJs and publishers, which is very important since they are the first to see one's upcoming music releases. I strongly recommend it to anyone running a music label.

Pros:

The layout of the promo emails looks amazing, I also like the fact that the recipients must leave a feedback in order to download the tracks. The stats and feedback for the campaigns are very detailed and well structured, you can see at any time who opened, played or downloaded your stuff and that is very useful. Also, the Groups created by genre are really a good option.

Cons:

I didn't find things to complain about, works perfect for me!