15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Snapchat

Snapchat is a social media marketing solution that helps businesses create marketing campaingns, schedule posts & track performance.

Learn more about Snapchat

Pros:

I like how you can post stories, send money to friends and contacts, see when your messages are open and read and that you can see if a user screenshot or screen recorded your content.

Cons:

I do realize that when I lose Snapchat my phone battery die faster than normal.

Snapchat ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.6/10

Snapchat has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 1,056 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Snapchat before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (1,056)

Mihir
Mihir
Student in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Honest Review of Snapchat

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: My overall experience with Snapchat is good, I use it to send snaps to my friends and take photos with its filters.

Pros:

I like its variety of filters, its quality, and its ease of use.

Cons:

It keeps sending notifications again and again and when I turn off the notifications, as soon as I open the app, it asks me to enable notifications again and again, which irritates me.

Cody
HR Generalist in US
Warehousing, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Snapchat @ Work

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: To express my superb experience while using Snapchat at the workplace, I would like to say that it makes it very simple to stay in touch with friends, family, & colleagues.

Pros:

It's quick, fun, and so very easy to stay in touch with friends, family, or in our case, colleagues. You can use filters, multimedia, text, and even phone/video call a contact that also has Snapchat.

Cons:

I don't have any cons with Snapchat at all

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I really like using Snapchat.

3.0 12 months ago

Comments: if you want to interact with friends through photographs and videos, Snapchat is a terrific social networking tool to utilize. It includes a ton of entertaining features and filters and is easy to use. I also utilized Snapchat for a short time to promote my site. I made a another account so I could interact with fans more directly and show a more private side of myself.

Pros:

One-on-one texting, video calls, and live stories are just a few of the capabilities that Snapchat emphasizes as real-time communication. In-the-moment interaction between users and their friends and followers fosters an immediate and genuine connection.

Cons:

Like many social media platforms, Snapchat includes advertisements within the app, sometimes in the form of sponsored lenses, filters, or ads in the Discover section. While these ads support the platform, some users may find them intrusive or disruptive to their experience.

lyka angelic
customer support in US
Consumer Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Snapchat is not only for personal use, you can also used this for work with teammates

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: My overall is experience using snapchat is great it is more easier to use that the other social media app. there is no reason for me to not used this application.

Pros:

I like about snapchat is you can add a personal directly if you have their phone number and no need to search their name and also snapchat has QR code

Cons:

you cant message the person if you're not friends or added yet to your contacts

‪Younes
Younes Shopping in Algeria
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I'm really a fan of Snapchat

4.0 last month New

Comments: My experience with Snapchat is really fun. I have a lot of memories with friends on the app. I enjoyed the interactive and fun features and sharing my photos and videos and a lot of stories. It’s really fun.

Pros:

I liked many of the features in Snapchat, including sharing my daily moments in the application in an easy and quick way. I also liked the effects and filters that added creative touches to my content.

Cons:

I am dissatisfied with the temporary communication feature and the disappearance of messages after a specific time, and taking up a lot of storage space and battery

alaa
Content writer in Jordan
Information Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

. I'm thoroughly pleased with Snapchat and consider it a valuable part of my online experience."

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Snapchat offers a unique and dynamic social media experience for its users.

Pros:

Nope, I haven't switched from another product.

Cons:

one common criticism of Snapchat has been its user interface changes over time, which some users found confusing or unnecessary. Additionally, concerns about privacy and data security have been raised, although Snapchat has made efforts to address these issues.

Ahmed
Technical training in Egypt
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Social networking application

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Simply put, it is an application through which you can express your status through additions and emojis on your own photos, and you can also spend a good time with friends through it.

Pros:

I can create special edits to my photos, and I can also add emojis to my photos, and I can also communicate with my friends on it.

Cons:

It needs a lot of updates to be able to compete with Facebook, the X platform, and Instagram

Antoine
Patron in France
Wholesale, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best place to host your videos

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Overall it is an excellent application which provides a lot of useful and useless and harmful functionality and which has a very very advanced and useful management table.

Pros:

What I really liked about Snapchat is the whole video management system which is incredibly useful

Cons:

What I don't like the least is a certain useless functionality that comes out in place of other functionality that would have been useful.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Fun Application

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

I love the functionality of Snapchat, the filters are fun too.

Cons:

I wish there was an option to keep all messages in chats forever. I do not like that they are deleted after a period of time. Not everyone wants to hide messages.

Destiny
Bartender in US
Food & Beverages, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Snapping the day away

4.0 last month New

Pros:

The filters are my absolute favorite best selfies

Cons:

The loading of filters or some just won’t work

Kunal
Owner in Australia
Legal Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Lot's of promise, but a long way to go

5.0 last year

Comments: The overall experience with Snapchat has been very good. If you are looking to engage young audience, there cannot be a better medium than Snapchat.

Pros:

Snapchat is used by young audience which is the main target for my business or for that matter most businesses. I like it because it's users are highly engaging and would usually influence their peers, it has also helped me in generating new leads.

Cons:

Reporting and analytics could improve. In my opinion it will be good to have other metrics that businesses can evaluate to see where there campaign is going.

Anam
CEO of skinbeautyanna in Pakistan
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Grow your business as well as entertain yourself !

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I spend my Quality time on it. It's really easy to make new friends on Snapchat and the consistency we need to maintain is by sending a daily streak. It is a good platform for Marketing your business without investing. you can advertise your products or even make business-related products video free of cost. Overall my experience is good. snapchat is complete entertainment as well as helpful for your business marketing.

Pros:

The most like feature in Snapchat is sending notifications of someone who is secretly safe videos or taking a screenshot without permission, posting stories, a huge collection of snap filters, and the streak feature which makes every snap friend connect.

Cons:

I can't able to send pictures or videos to my all group at one time. It makes it difficult and time-consuming to capture pictures every time and send them to all groups. Snapchat introduces a feature to add at least 1500 people in one group which makes it easy for us.

Eric
Owner in US
Apparel & Fashion, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

How snapchat help out my business out

4.0 last year

Comments: We I do like it can come it handy for more way get brand out there and so on it can be a lifesaver at time they do need some updates is all

Pros:

I like I can share pic of my product and up date and sales aswell get me more out there since use theam

Cons:

Need more features to help get your info out more better with side help and updates and so on to improv much better for us user

Megan
Writer in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

More than just a social media platform

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I mainly use Snapchat to communicate with friends and family, especially ones that live out of state. I feel like it's a lot more private than other social media platforms like Instagram or Facebook. I also used Snapchat briefly for my blog business. I created a separate account to communicate with followers in a more personal way and to show a more private side of myself. I prefer Instagram to accomplish this same goal but I have friends who are influencers that have a lot of success on Snapchat.

Pros:

Wonderful social media platform for business as well as keeping up with friends and family. Snapchat is simple to use so it's great for every age group. Some Snapchat features that I enjoy: You can permanently save all your photos taken on Snapchat to your Snapchat camera roll. It's the same as storing photos on a cloud service except it's totally free on Snapchat. I have hundreds of photos and videos I've taken over the years saved to my Snapchat camera roll. I also like the Discover section of Snapchat. You can see stories, episodes, articles, and photos from celebs, news outlets, and different channels. You can even subscribe to your favorite channels and scroll through the Discover section to find new channels that interest you. Something else that I like is how customizable Snapchat photos and videos have become. There are tons of filters and effects you can add to your photos and videos. You can add text, change the speed of videos, tag locations, add music to your videos and so much more. You can use the Snapchat camera or upload a photo you took on your regular phone camera to the Snapchat app and edit it there.

Cons:

A problem I recently encountered was with the Discover section. I made my younger sister a Snapchat account so that she could send pics and videos to her parents and siblings. I wanted to completely block the Discover section so that nothing showed up on there that could potentially be inappropriate for her. After an hour of trying to figure it out, I found out it's impossible to turn off the Discover section. You can choose your preferences for what genre of material you want suggested to you, but you can't completely turn it off. That was disappointing. My sister is young and I don't want her exposed to any media outlets. I just wanted to give her access to the camera and feature of sending and receiving pics and videos. I hope they change this in the future, especially considering so many young kids like playing with the Snapchat camera and filters.

Crystal
Patient Care Coordinator in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Snap it like it's hot! Best marketing tool around the sun

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall Snapchat has created a closer bond and relationship with our patients. It is a fun and unique way to interact and communicate with patients as well. Due to the unlimited filters and fun additions, Snapchat is an easy, fun way to market and advertise our practice to help bring in more patients!

Pros:

I like how easy and convenient this software is. I was able to train my older teammates very easily. My favorite thing about Snapchat is how it can help make your content unique and creative with all the filters, stickers, and different style fonts. I am also able to market to a specific category, for example if I have an Invisalign special I can send that campaign to my "Invisalign" group only. Another great feature is creating and posting a story for our office. I found out I can use Snapchat to help fill my schedule by posting the available appointment on our story. Patients see what we posted and call in if they would like to schedule that appointment. That saves me time because I don't have to call patient after patient to fill that open spot. It allows me to track how many views we get and if someone screenshotted an offer, so we can then follow up with those patients to see if they are interested in the campaign we posted about.

Cons:

This software updates pretty frequently. They seem to always make their software better and better each time. The filters keep getting more realistic and the additional stickers, GIPHS, emojis, and even music are limitless. This is one of my absolute favorite software and I honestly have nothing bad to say about it.

youssef
Freelancer in Italy
Computer Networking, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Snap and Share also is famous amongst teenagers"

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I love snapchat for sharing content material with my particular buddies and to speak gossips because it do now no longer permit snapshots and car delete memories and messages

Pros:

SnapChat is one of the maximum famous social media app particularly many of the youth. You can percentage your image and video memories on it together along with your pals both from gallery or shot in app which vehiclemobile disappers after 24 hours. It has a big style of filters via which you may regulate your snap shots and videos. Apart from pals memories, it additionally host public channels with exciting content material below find out tab. You can join a channel which you want to get normal updates in their memories. You also can see memories of those who made their memories public, and that too with the aid of using deciding on place on map to view public memories from a selected region. Its messenger gives a excessive diploma of privateness in your messages and the messages vehiclemobile disappears after being seen. Also you get notification if a person takes a screenshot of your memories ir messages.

Cons:

Though its very famous amongst youth, nonetheless you do not discover numerous your contacts on it to attach with. Also aleven though it indicators in case of a screenshot being taken, it fails to inform if a person begin display recording after which open it.

mohamed
nurse in Tunisia
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Snapchat: Captivating Moments, Endless Fun!

4.0 last year

Comments: Snapchat is a popular social media platform that offers a unique and dynamic way to connect with friends, share moments, and explore content. I often appreciate the creative features, such as filters, lenses, and stickers, which allow me to add fun and engaging elements to their photos and videos. The temporary nature of snaps, which disappear after being viewed, adds a sense of spontaneity and encourages more authentic sharing.

Pros:

Creative Features: Snapchat offers a wide range of creative tools and filters that allow users to enhance their photos and videos with unique effects, stickers, and captions. These features add a fun and playful element to the content shared on the platform.Ephemeral Nature: One of Snapchat's defining features is the temporary nature of its content. Snaps disappear after being viewed, which can create a sense of spontaneity and encourage more authentic sharing among friend

Cons:

Limited Platform Integration: Unlike other messaging or social media apps, Snapchat's integration with other platforms can be limited. This means that sharing content from Snapchat to other platforms may require additional steps or compromises in terms of quality or functionality.

Sandra
NURSE AIDE in Canada
Mental Health Care, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Snapchat can be fun,but use with caution

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My experience with snapchat has been enjoyable and funny at times,I enjoy the filters and I find when I am taking any kind of photo I will go to Snap Chat to take my photo because the color and wordings are all there for me to use.I have also received messages of men and women in provocative scenes wanting to hook up.I find the locator very usefull because you can tell when you are meeting up with a friend if they are on their way yet or already at the meet up site.SnapChat has change since it first started and it is very innovative,and I feel its designed for all ages.

Pros:

Snapchat is more about chatting with friends in real time than posting updates like facebook or twitter or instagram.I find that this site is very creative with different filters being introduced every week,it allows you to create a likeness of yourself and you can track where your friends are at all times,which is wonderful for parents who have it on their childs phone as well as their own,that way they can see where their kids are at all times. the content lenght is quite short,making it fun and easy to use.

Cons:

This site can be very addictive to children because the more streaks you get on this app,the more popular they become and that leads to over use,it also opens up channels for pornography,you can get messages from unknown people who likes your snap and send provacative videos of themselves which you don't realize it until you open the message.Body image is another threat to kids and it opens doors to body shaming.Parents need to watch out for these messages,the video or snap only stays open for 10 sec,but long enought to expose a child.I find with SnapChat you cannot upload the pic to other sites it has complete control over you use of the platform.

Rajesh
Rajesh
art Faculty in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Arts & Crafts, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

An overrated app

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: my overall experience of the app is not good as i uninstalled it . it feels like using Instagram with some limited features. i feel it is so overrated and wonder why people use it .

Pros:

my impression for snapchat is overrated because of so many features but first let me tell you its pros or just things which are ok 1-if you take screenshot of any streak or chat the other person will get the notification that her/his streak or chat have been screenshot by a user . its i think a good feature in case of privacy. 2-if anyone save your photograph than the other person will came to know about this . again the privacy feature at its best . 3- when you click a picture through this snapchat cam it post original picture no quality issue also its filters are trending globally . 4- it have became more trendy after the option to add live music on your recorded videos or streaks . 5- streaks- if someone plays your streaks to max of 2 time the other person will get notified that you have watched it twice 6 and yes available free

Cons:

now lets talk about cons of the software . 1.- there is no option to use your picture as profile - you can only use given avatars or make a bitmoji of your picture and use it in profile pic . 2- there is no such profile like any other social media apps . 3-you have to save chat every time if you want to make them stay on your app so a new user can loose all of his chats if he is not aware of this option . 4-you can not use all features as you downloads app more features filters will open after you will reach new achievements of streaks . i.e. number of streaks . 5-you can react with number of emotions as in FB we have angry , sad etc. 6- you cant forward any streak to altogether you have to do it separately to share it to particular friends . 7-your story or streaks will be available to either all public or your friends there is no option of close friend or except this friend option . 8-if someone have enabled his /her location anyone can check where the person is right now which i think is an interruption in privacy . 9 you can only post video or streak of 15 sec only though you can post as many you want but each one will be of duration 15 seconds . 10there is no option of group chat , group video call . 11 there is no option of going live

Fadiah
Fadiah
Human Resources Assistant in Malaysia
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Snapchat for marketing and networking

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Snapchat's image filter is one of its most appealing features. Snapchat allows you to modify your photos and add a variety of wacky filters to make them appear more attractive and appealing to others. Furthermore, you don't have to be concerned about your image being saved in the Snapchat data repository because pictures are only saved temporarily and are immediately deleted after a day unless you want to store them manually yourself.

Cons:

Snapchat, in contrast to other social networking apps, does not enable you to share any other content or pictures, which may annoy users. Furthermore, because Snapchat only allows you to submit 10-second clips, you will not be able to upload big clips in a set period.

Nickolette
Nurse in Jamaica
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Snapchat Review

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: This Platform helps me to stay connected with my friends and family all over the world. Helps me to go back to memories from pass years

Pros:

Snapchat is my all times favorite app, because I absolutely love looking at myself, and so I love making videos. I love the fact that I have different filters to play around with, it keeps me entertained. I am able to connect with my friends, and keep up with their daily lives. I am able to subscribe to my favorite celebrity pages and interact. Your messages disappear within 24 hours after it is sent, if you don’t tap to save it which is a plus for me. It makes interacting with individuals about personal issues feel safer than using other platforms. Snapchat is the place I go to to make videos and destress from a long day. I love the fact that I am able to save my snaps and look back at them years down the line. The memories are one of my favorite things about this app.

Cons:

I am yet to have any problems with Snapchat. It’s easy to use, fast and safe. I do realize that when I lose Snapchat my phone battery die faster than normal. But that’s OK I don’t mind. Snapchat is top tier. You won’t be disappointed.

Sofia
Sofia
Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Cosmetics, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fun to use, no storage needed

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Love to have fun, send videos and not needing storage and try endless filters.
Storys and news also are an extra plus to pass the time.

Pros:

I love that always is something new to try or to see. Filters are so good and inspiring other apps to copy them. We use it a lot with my girl friends to be update of our location to know everyone is safe. Also in the map we can see where are the places with more people interacting. Sometimes is our final vote to define the place we are going a saturday night.

Cons:

I really love it but they are losing users so with some of my friends i talk through other apps and makes it a little annoying to having your social experience in several apps

Arshad
Arshad
Media and Communications in Pakistan
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SnapChat

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Snapchat is a good tool to share your moments with friends and family and to chat with them securely.

Pros:

Snapchat is a unique social media platform in the sense that it also provides security to the posts of its users like by informing them when someone takes screenshot of your story or message. The stories that you post disappears after 24 hours of posting. You can choose who can view your stories. Also the messages that you post disappears automatically when read by the recipient.

Cons:

I don't see any big drawbacks in snapchat, just that it shows a lot of ads but thats something tied with every free aap nowadays.

Belissa
Neuroscientist in Brazil
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Real Life interaction- Corona has nothing on us

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I love this app. I can say that I had a positive experience this far with this app. It allows me to keep connected to my friends while having fun with random pictures. Snapchat is an app that allows you to have a casual or serious interaction without compromising you in any aspect. I enjoy the possibility of counted seconds from the pictures.

Pros:

I enjoy having real life interaction with friends and the fact it's private in a good way. Snapchat allows people to keep interacting with one another with snaps of the daily activity. It is great way to enjoy your social circle mainly at this time of coronavirus. This is the best app for social interaction. The tool that allows you to see who screenshots your pictures is extremely helpful too.

Cons:

I least like that sometimes I want to click in the snapchat of the other person and don't appear that I opened it. I know you can put your mobile on airplane mode, but it would be great if this tool exists, it would make this app more round and complex. I also would like to see my friends' friend on the friends' list to add. Sometimes, there are just random individuals not necessarily the people close to your friends.

Ozge
Social Worker in Türkiye
Nonprofit Organization Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Old

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: When I first used it, I was in high school and this program made me happy. Afterwards, I thought that this program was in adolescence and stopped using it. The filters are of course different from each other, but the program no longer appeals to me.

Pros:

An ideal platform for the moment with your closest friends. While everyone I don't know is human on Instagram, my formatting snapchat in more sizes accommodates the audience. It is also the one that was thrown without registration. It is also an adequate program for photography and video. I think it stands out with its many filters. It's also a great feature to get a notification when a screenshot is taken.

Cons:

I think that this program is now behind the times. It was extremely popular when it first came out and almost everyone was using it. Nowadays, its target audience is more adolescent group. It is not a platform that can be used by people from all walks of life.