About Ansys Discovery

Ansys Discovery enables engineers to make better design decisions earlier in the product development process.

Learn more about Ansys Discovery

Pros:

Not Available

Cons:

Not Available

Ansys Discovery ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Service
4.3
Features
3.3
Value for Money
3.8

Likelihood to recommend

5.8/10

Ansys Discovery has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 9 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (9)

Sort by

Have you used Ansys Discovery before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (9)

Godwin A.
Godwin A.
Additive Manufacturing Engineer in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Simulation and Experimentation in Real Time

5 9 months ago

Comments: Ansys Discovery is relatively easy to use and it gives real time simulation at its best as you don't get to wait long period of time just to get results, they are delivered instantly in the explore mode. With this, you can easily experiment with different materials and conditions without having to wait for results as long as the solving is turned on. As materials are being changed, results are updated automatically.
Multiple studies can be carried out in the same project including mechanical, thermal and fluid flow. I get to easily import geometry directly as native CAD files of Autodesk Inventor and SolidWorks without have to convert them.

Pros:

The user interface is very interactive with an heads up display (HUD) that tells you what information is required to complete whatever study(ies) to be carried out and as soon as enough information is supplied, results can be gotten instantly.

Cons:

Due to its real time nature, performance relies heavily on system GPU so you might need to follow the minimum system requirements. I noticed a restriction on exporting files to only discovery file format.

Michael A.
Head of Engineering in Switzerland
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Instant Simulation with direct modeller

4 5 months ago

Comments: It is a very useful tool at design finidng phase of a product

Pros:

I like the combination of a 3d direct modeller with the super easy simulation feedback. Design iterations are made instantly

Cons:

I would like to be able to have orthotropic and anisotropic material models

Sean O.
owner, engineer in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Complete waste of money

3 3 months ago

Comments: Every time I tried to use Discovery, I spent several days trying to get it to work, usually only succeeding when I could copy an existing demo and then replacing the geometry instead of starting from scratch because of all the UI bugs and order of operations is critical for functionality but the UI does not help you understand which order is functional. Every project took several days to get to the 90% completion phase, and then I would need one aspect - rotation, movement, mixing, a video with rotating propeller, etc. and support would notify me that I would need to start over from scratch in fluent / CFX and my days of setup were a complete waste.

Pros:

Its a complete standalone software. It doesn't need anything else to function.

Cons:

It's a complete standalone software. I can't use it on existing simulations, or transfer simulations from discovery directly to fluent / mechanical. If I do I have to redesign everything, remodel everything, reset the boundary conditions and everything

Bruce K.
Mechanical engineer in Australia
Mining & Metals, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Simple and accurate

5 5 months ago

Comments: Working on a structural frame, the model appears to be meshed as a single part but the deflection simulated was actually measured on the completed structure. the simulation was completed in 1 hr!

Pros:

Discovery is pretty basic to use and fast, the results are comparable to ANSYS but are limited. This is a very good step in the design concept stage.

Cons:

We use Ansys for calculating stresses in an assembly, we have a significant expense in the licenses of Ansys however Discovery is so simple to use and is very effective on the simple models, I feel it could be cheaper. Many cad packages have inbuilt FEA which is also effective , With all the subscription charges our office incurs, we would be better off outsourcing the design work to our Indian offices.

Luca N.
R&D Hydraulic manager in Italy
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

a satisfied customer

4 5 months ago

Pros:

the fact that rapidly you can change and evaluate shape, and then deeply analize with the premium release

Cons:

the connection with the premium solver, not always an easy transition

Manmohan M.
Sr. Manager Solutions Architect in India
Computer Hardware, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Amazingly Interactive tool

4 5 months ago

Comments: Na

Pros:

Ease to use. Few clicks to make an sample test case.

Cons:

Installaing on a remote server without GPU is slightly painful.

Ewen C.
Product Development Engineer in US
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It's a good start, but there are a lot of opportunities for improvement.

1 5 months ago

Comments: It's a good start. The very quick solution turn around using GPUs is definitely a benefit. But the limitations and clunkiness of the program makes it such that I can hardly use it ever (because my models requires a capability that Ansys Discovery Live currently does not or cannot offer).

Pros:

With the proper and appropriate hardware, you can obtain a solution significantly faster than conventional solution methods by leveraging the power of GPUs, even older ones. For simple problems (i.e. single parts and/or basic external vehicle aerodynamics), it is very easy to set up.

Cons:

I'll give what I think are opportunities for improvements based on domain. Static structural - does not handle multiple parts/complex assemblies very well. Does not/cannot model non-linear contacts. Does not/cannot simulate non-linear materials. Defining and applying custom materials is sometimes quite cumbersome. Fluids - Cannot extract important engineering values from the fluid simulation, e.g. coefficient of drag/coefficient of lift from the external aerodynamics example. Cannot select other turbulence models. (Last I inquired, you can ONLY use the LES turbulence model, which is invalid for certain types/classes of analyses.) Cannot model air as an ideal gas (compressible flow solver). Cannot define point heat sources. Direct modelling/manipulation - if you have a part with defined dimensions (part from print), it is quite cumbersome to reproduce the part using the direct manipulation method. Direct manipulation method is great when you are trying to experiment with new designs and you are trying to figure out which design will work best, but if you are trying to test/verify an existing design and you don't have the original/source CAD part, which requires you to re-model it in Ansys Discovery Live/SpaceClaim, it's ridiculously complicated to create, for example, a dimension that is symmetrical/mirrored. Topology optimisation - Sometimes the result from the topology optimisation does not pass the FEA analysis.

Chris G.
ENGINEER in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Interesting idea, but FEA is 'HARD' for a reason...

2 5 months ago

Comments: Use it for educational purposes only. Change the interface to be more compliant with other Engineering software and the Guidelines and styles as defined my Microsoft for Windows 10,11, etc... products.

Pros:

The 'instant' or 'live' results has some educational possibilities, but is limited by other issues.

Cons:

The interface is completely unlike and OS or Engineering software suite in use. When using with SW or CREO, for example into Discovery for analysis, users are completely dumbfounded. Discovery is extremely limited without a 'full' ANSYS workbench license. If I have the Workbench license, the Workbench UI is cleaner and easier to use. Symmetry planes, contact types, convergence reports (in my case) 'on the fly analysis' were completely missing.

Xiangjie Z.
Engineer in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

good software

5 5 months ago

Pros:

easy to use, versatile, a lot of control

Cons:

a little slow, too many information, too many options