15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Decktopus

Create visually stunning, content-rich, and interactive presentations in an extremely short time with the help of AI.

Learn more about Decktopus

Pros:

Overal it's OK software, but they are locking out key features for early investors.

Cons:

We are all on the Business Plan, but only people that pay monthly or yearly get these so called "add-ons" included in their plan.

Decktopus ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.4
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

Decktopus has an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 59 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Decktopus before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (59)

Courtlin
Courtlin
Director of Consulting in Vietnam
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Viable alternative to PowerPoint with visually attractive slides and a robust template library

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Decktopus is a great choice when you need to quickly wrap your message in a visually appealing slide deck; it lets you focus on the content rather than the slide design. The lack of control over sharing slides is my main frustration, which I hope the team can solve without implementing another one-time, add-on fee.

Pros:

The visual design of the stock templates is what attracted me to this software. Although PowerPoint's templates have gotten better over the years, you can still easily tell when a presenter has just selected and modified a stock PowerPoint template or worse, opted for the DIY white background and black Arial font look..."Here we go again, death by PowerPoint, I hope the presenter put more thought into their analysis than they did into their slide design..."

Cons:

I miss the ability to have a slide sorter view like PowerPoint. For short 10-slide presentations, the lack of this feature isn't a big deal. However, for longer presentations, scrolling back and forth through the deck to rearrange slides quickly becomes frustrating. Sharing slides is easy but lacks obvious controls of who can view the deck. Maybe I'm missing something here but sharing seems to be all or nothing. There doesn't appear to be a way to "unshare" a deck once the public URL has been shared and there is no way to generate private URLs to share the deck with only specific people based on their email address. It's puzzling why this feature is missing. From the Help Center, "Note: This sharing URL is a public URL, everyone can see your presentation using this public sharing URL."

Decktopus Response

2 years ago

Hello Courtlin! Thank you so so much for your great review and feedback! You can be sure that they will not go unnoticed, and we have already added them to our to-do list! Please contact us if you ever need any help. Take care!

Christopher
Christopher
Group Safety Health Environment & Quality Specialist in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Quality Hybrid Presentation / Information Collection tool

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The inbuilt questionnaires are great for safety professionals as it means we can send persons the links and collect the information directly from users after they have completed the toolbox or training.

Pros:

- It's amazingly fast at creating presentations that are fully formatted and look great! - The integration of questionnaires allows for the collection of information within the presentation itself. - Very Stable - Fast Loading - Quality hot swappable templates - Excellent icon library - Frequent Updates

Cons:

I really wish Decktopus would develop the ability to: - Export the presentations in HTML format or alternatively allow generation of a html file allowing presentations to be embedded / web linked into a Learning Management System. I.e. The platform's existing functionality would make this software great at creating online learning courses. - The ability to vertically swipe between slides up and down in presentation mode - The ability to import PowerPoint presentations is on the developer's roadmap but not yet available at time of this review.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Their AI tech simply isn't ready, with a dash of bad customer service.

1.0 9 months ago

Comments: Their approach to customer service was the nail in the coffin. With so many other options in the market, this one is a pass.

Pros:

It was straightforward to sign up and get started. The product looks well-designed and polished.

Cons:

The AI functionality is dreadful - the more descriptive the input, the worse the output gets. It's not usable, even as an aid to get started with a deck.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Religious Institutions, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Beautiful and easy presentations

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It's quick to create beautiful and informative presentations with Decktopus. I've gotten overwhelming amount of positive feedback on the quality of my presentations after switching from PowerPoint to Decktopus. Decktopus forces you think: what's really important? There are limitations on number of characters you can use per title etc following best practices of oresenting. First I found this annoying - now I just love it - knowing I won't overload anyone with too much info.

Cons:

Tables in presentations are a bit clunky, but it's somewhat of a new feature so I think it will become better with time!

Omar
President in US
Management Consulting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy to use presentation software with existing attractive templates

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: So far it saved me a bunch of time in creating presentations

Pros:

They have a library of templates, and I don't have to worry about trying to figure out the best fonts and colors that work well for the media I am using.

Cons:

It could use more editing options and capability

Kalaivani
Admin in South Africa
Computer & Network Security, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Unsatisfactory

2.0 3 months ago

Comments: Very poor experience. Not user friendly or easy to ease. Unable to export into various option. I would not recommend this product. When trying to cancel, the subscription button doesn’t work.

Pros:

Nothing, no features appealed to me. This product was unsatisfactory and I don’t know how much I can stress that I didn’t like anything about it.

Cons:

None, I didn’t like anything about the product

Vishal
Vishal
Owner in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent alternative to MS PowerPoint

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I love it.
I create all my weekly client presentations in Decktopus. I reckon it saves me at least 2 hours every week.

Pros:

Create classy presentations quickly using easy to customize templates. It's super easy to customize templates compared to PowerPoint. Once you select the style and color, you're ready to go. I spend less than 10 minutes on customizing templates.

Cons:

The stock image selection is limited. But with so many free image and illustrations available on the net, it isn't a big issue.

Shade
Shade
Founder in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Saves lots of time!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very easy to get set up and going and that’s a good thing.

Pros:

I love the many templates that they have available. It speeds up the creation process rather than starting from scratch with saves lots of time!

Cons:

Would be nice to have more customizations - like using AI as some of the other competitors have.

Joseph
Owner in US
Market Research, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Works great does exactly what I need.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Been great incredible pricing good content and easy to use

Pros:

Easy to use can create business presentations easily

Cons:

Had a bit of a learning curve to start thats it

Hendy
Hendy
Engineer in Indonesia
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Really fast way to get a slide deck published

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I really love this product as it saves my time presenting my ideas. The layouts currently available are limited, however they're getting the user experience right by enabling only essential customizations per slide layout. For each layout, there are also several variants, this part of UX that they also get right. Overall, Decktopus is really good for increasing productivity. I hope they continue to improve their product by adding more lead generation features, interactivity, analytics, integration with different apps via webhooks, Pabbly, etc. If they do, then this is not just a presentation tool but has huge potential.

Pros:

Decktopus app saves my time, but really because of my own weakness. When trying to create a presentation using the usual software, a lot of time goes into thinking about the layout, about the design, about the positioning of certain elements, which take away the essence of the presentation itself: to express ideas. Decktopus allows me to do: express my ideas, without blocking me with non-essential details.

Cons:

The interactive presentation features is pretty much non-existent and need to be developed. The use case is that the presenter will present Decktopus live in a virtual conference, and other participants can get a link to interact with this deck (e.g. polls), and the results/analytics will show in real-time in the presenter's slide.

Petar
CEO in Slovenia
Management Consulting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Very fast alternative to classic PowerPoint

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have started using Decktopus few months ago and it's honestly the best PowerPoint alternative I've seen in the past decade. I don't know how they do it, but they always have new templates that are on point. There's a template for everything from business presentations to ad campaigns! The best thing is that with one click you can change whole design without breaking anything.

Pros:

The products is so easy to use. Furthermore it saves so much time. Instead of playing with ppt design, you can need your materials. The design is predefined, very modern and easily changeable to other templates via only one click.

Cons:

The design could use some modernisation. The only thing missing is upload of your existing ppt file and using Decktopus then. This function is on the roadmap.

Chris
Chris
Founder in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Insurance, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Amazing Presentation Tool

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Very easy to use with clean templates that resonate with buyers. Was very easy to create a new deck that is converting at a much higher rate.

Cons:

The share links work but sometimes are blocked by my customers but it's easy to download and send the actual PDF>

Luca
Luca
Engineer in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A big boost in productivity

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Absolutely positive. Being able to create a presentation using the minutes instead of hours is priceless

Pros:

For me, create powerpoint and presentation is always a mess. I spend usually lots of time formatting and resizing text and images in order to make slides interesting. But with Decktopus i can create a complete presentation in 30 minutes or less. It's very easy to use and force you to focus on what matters most: content

Cons:

the platform is still immature and some important features such as animations are missing. But the potential is huge and the development team is very attentive to requests

Christian
Ceo in Canada
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great product !

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Super product that i recommend to every business owner to save time and share professional presentation.

Pros:

I like the fact that Decktopus is easy to use. We created presentation with their wonderful templates and it's easy to duplicate and make some adjustments and send it to our prospects and customers. Look sharp and professional !

Cons:

A proposal section could be a really good idea (pricing tab). Also embedded codes could be fantastic (calendar links for example).

Gizem Nur
Gizem Nur
Social Media Manager in Türkiye
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Beautiful Templates

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The templates are great and ready-to-go. You can just fill in the information and wow your audience.

Cons:

There is nothing I dislike about Decktopus but I sometimes wish I could just add more info to description boxes but I know that the reason I can't is for a purpose- so that the presentation looks good to eyes!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Decktopus User Review

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Used Decktopus on latest project. Unlike many softwares, I really like how easy it to use and the platform is quite self-explanatory.

Pros:

Ease of use. Very fluid and accessible.

Cons:

Tool gets buggy while uploading media files which slows down overall process.

Steve
Steve
IT Admin in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Quick and easy presentations

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: This one was pretty easy concept. Create an account and start working on a presentation.

Pros:

This is a quick and easy platform to create presentations for sales meetings, training, info meetings, etc. The system is easy to use and allows online collaborators so you and a team cam work on a project.

Cons:

I would like to see more templates and graphics elements. It does look like it is growing and the development continues to work on improvements.

Joachim
Founder in Nepal
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Simplicity is its strength

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I love this app as it is fresh, modern, simple, and powerful in many aspects. Its versatility and ease of use is just amazing!

Pros:

It is easy to use, with a clean UI. No learning curve. We can embed any slideshow in any website. Alternatively we can send the slide link by email. There are templates but they are actually not really needed. We can easily design slides from the scratch. Download of the ready presentation into PDF/ PPT is possible for offline viewing. The design is super-modern. Analytics give us excellent insight on how the slides are used. Decktopus has recognized early that the slides are an excellent tool for marketing (lead generation). Means, we can have opt-in forms, CTA button etc. This versatility makes Decktopus outstanding, being able to use it for so many different purposes, like academic, private, informational, marketing, company profile, CV, annual report, and so many others.

Cons:

We can't change much about the principle design patterns of the slides. However, this is simplicity by design. The tool was not created to substitute Powerpoint but to bring out something quick, easy, and modern. If somebody needs total control over the design, then better to use Powerpoint.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Not keeping their word

1.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Overal it's OK software, but they are locking out key features for early investors. That's not nice.

Cons:

I've been an early investor (lifetime deal) since they first started out. I've been a (fairly) happy user on the Business Plan, but now they are locking out features and selling those as "add-ons" to people who are on a lifetime plan. We are all on the Business Plan, but only people that pay monthly or yearly get these so called "add-ons" included in their plan. We are all on the Business plan, so it doesn't make any sense why we should have to pay extra for features that are included in the Business plan. They even lock us out of the "folders add-on", so we can't have folders (such a basic and to be honest must have functionality even in a free plan) without paying extra for it.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

New version - We apologize for the inconvenience, but ... Thank you for your understanding and again we apologize.

1.0 4 months ago

Comments: fun until the new version was here... i want all my presentations as they were

Pros:

i was really a fan of the decktopus until the new version came online... my work was re-formated and seems like I have to redo it all over again... thank you very much for that I think I have to look for another alternative

Cons:

replies like like this: if the texts or images are in a different position or size, you can easily adjust them from the editing page. During the transition of decks to the new version, there have been no alterations in content; however, modifications in design may occur. Rest assured, you can effortlessly fix any such modifications from the editing page for a seamless experience. i can rest assured... i have to do them all over again

Samir
Assistant Professor in India
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great Presentation Kit

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: A lot of infographic software is at my disposal. They're all gone now. Decktopus, on the other hand, uses a unique slide design. They caught my eye so much that I bought the software right away without trying it out first. There is no regret in this. My students and colleagues alike were impressed by the "new look" of my presentations. On my YouTube channel, I've started using them as well. The best part of Decktopus , definitely , is it's uniqueness.

Pros:

* Unique design ** user-friendly interface *** Easy to operate **** Sublime and very sophisticated. ***** Wonderful Customer support system.

Cons:

* Downloading speed is too slow. It takes a long time to get downloaded.

Darryl
Darryl
Book Author in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Publishing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Helps presentations look good

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Have used regularly for presentations since getting it. I'm very happy with it.

Pros:

PowerPoint can be overwhelming. Decktopus helps make presentations look good with their built-in designs. Options are more limited, and that is exactly what I wanted. It keeps things looking really good.

Cons:

If you are looking for more options, this is not the software for you. If you are looking for well designed presentations, Decktopus is excellent.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

I forget i have PowerPoint :)

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I love because i can access to Decktopus on my way and I can edit my presanctions on tablet too. There customers support is great. I hope they will add more advance and modern templates to their presentation template library and add more storage options like able to add more 3rd party apps.

Pros:

I can access to Decktopus on my way easy to build presentations customizable templates I got Onetime pay option was a money saver

Cons:

Not enough modern templates too much tools inside dashboard no onboarding enough have many other free options

Esmé
floor manager in Netherlands
Supermarkets, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Smart and user friendly, it’s great!

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Smart and user-friendly presentation tool. You have a nice theme selection.

Cons:

I would like to have more options to add information to the description.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Amazing Service

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I love how easy to use this service is and it helps with my presentations all the time. i dont need to use Microsoft as much, i think i prefer desktopus any day

Cons:

i think customizing the templates could be made easier