15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Vercel

Vercel’s Frontend Cloud provides the developer experience and infrastructure to build, scale, and secure a faster, personalized web.

Learn more about Vercel

Pros:

It works very well with existing tool chain, can be easily integrated in CI/CD pipeline.

Cons:

I am yet to find anything I dislike about this platform.

Vercel ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

9.1/10

Vercel has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 35 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Vercel before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (35)

Pedro
Pedro
Senior Software Engineer in Portugal
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Frontend Cloud made easy

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: Overall very positive, the tool works very well and the support team is great

Pros:

It is very easy to setup, has a lot of usefull integrations with the latest technologies and repositories All the network configuration are equally easy

Cons:

Some of the features are gatted behind a enterprise license and if you want any of them you have to upgrade the entire license.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Vercel Review

5.0 last year

Pros:

Makes everything for building and deployment extremely easy, our build times are considerably smaller (Sub 3 minutes) it has a lot of great features we use including Cron jobs and has made building considerably easy

Cons:

Pricing, can be a bit expensive, I dont think you need to be on a pricing plan to truly get the good stuff out of Vercel, but if you're scaling you might need to be, things like not being able to run cron jobs more than once a day might be hampering.

sri ram
sri ram
TPR in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

User friendly

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: A vital software necessary for every business

Pros:

Easy accessible, fast response from the server, consumes low data and do not drain the charge

Cons:

Price of the software and need bug fixing and can be updated further

Aminuddin
Aminuddin
Information Technology Manager in Malaysia
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Must have tools for Developer

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I use it to track and managing our company website and mobile application. Managing code with Vercel is quite easy and it will automatically triggers the system anytime there are changes in the codes. Really helpful in managing and tracking any errors in the system.

Pros:

Developing and deploying a frontend application using Vercel is is very effective in term of the cost and time spending. Integration with ember.js is smooth and has no issue in compatibility. The ability to shares the live preview of the website to client and team members in a single click really shortening the usual process that are long and stressful.

Cons:

It will be confusing on how to use the platform for the first time, as not many guides and manual are available or provided by the software. I need to learn a new features and concept that only available in Varcel and not in other software which make me to spend some more extra hours to fully understand this platform capabilities.

Paul
CTO in South Africa
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Static site edge serving that works

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent, would recommend over similar providers.

Pros:

Fast, supports a wide range of static setups, easy to deploy too, easy to use the website, Pull Request review apps.

Cons:

No built in permanent storage system. One build at a time on the free plan.

Ankit
Owner in India
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The Best Next.js Hosting Provider

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: So far Vercel has been a great choice for Next.js based web app as it provides progressive builds which saves a lot of build time.

Pros:

Vercel is the best platform to host Next.js based web applications, plus they recently launched Next.js analytics which is a level up from all others. Also, the Vercel functions plan is a bit more generous when compared to Netlify. Vercel's CDN is also a tad faster than Netlify.

Cons:

One thing that I didn't like about Vercel is that the UI was a bit complicated when compared to Netlify.

Filmon
Social Media Manager in US
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Building Applications and Websites Made Easy

4.0 8 months ago

Pros:

I like the pre-built templates and the ease of building websites With Vercel, it becomes easy to develop applications

Cons:

With Vercel, we have all need for website and application development

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great serverless platform for any project

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

With unique links per commit and configurable settings and deployments it has become key to our QA process and delivering fast and reliable service to our customers.

Cons:

It would be nice to be able to add outside collaborators to vercel and allow them to deploy.

Yasiru
Yasiru
DevOps Engineer in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy Deployments with Vercel

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Vercel has taken the burden of deploying websites from our heads and give us all features for lowest costs in the market.

Pros:

Vercel take cares of your deployments like magic. All you have to do is integrate the Source repository then Vercel compiles and deploy and gives you an endpoint to access the deployment. Vercel supports most of the frontend frameworks and backend frameworks. And you don't have to worry about scalability or server costs. Furthermore it comes with CICD pipelines where your commits will automatically be deployed.

Cons:

It needs a feature which lets the user create a custom endpoint for secondary branch commits.

Kirti
Kirti
developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Scaling Your React App with Vercel

5.0 last year

Comments: Fast and scalable: Vercel is designed to provide fast and scalable hosting for modern web applications, with a focus on the Jamstack architecture. This can result in improved performance and reduced latency for your users.

Pros:

Vercel integrates with popular Git platforms like GitHub and GitLab to automatically build and deploy your applications whenever you push changes to your repository.

Cons:

Complexity: Some users have found Vercel's interface and documentation to be overly complex, especially for beginners or non-technical users. The platform's powerful features can also make it challenging to configure and optimize for certain use cases.

Daniel
CTO in Taiwan
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good for early stage startups or MVP

4.0 last year

Comments: For the basic and standard stuff they offer, they do a good job on. Once your use-case becomes a little more advanced and specific, you are on your own.

Pros:

Easy to setup and good integration with github, especially the super quick and easy setup when pushing to a remote branch and automatic build deployments. The interface is also very intuitive and easy to use. Documentation is good.

Cons:

Serverless monitoring and APM is severely lacking, even though vercel recommends Datadog and others, they only provide basic log management. There is no good way currently to setup APM. I also think vercel should provide more in house log management on top of the currently supported real time log tailing. Simple storage of logs shouldn't be that hard to achieve, this includes the request and response body of the logs, not the current one where the aforementioned items are left out. Additionally, serverless cold starts are a huge pain. And support for it is severely lacking. The documentation suggests some basics, and to use edge. But edge is hardly useful and highly situational as it does not support node apis. Which means you can't really do much with it. Support ticketing times are also really slow and not helpful, the best they can do is direct you to a documentation page that you have already visited prior to opening the ticket.

Cole
Founder in US
Consumer Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best frontend deployment platform we have used

4.0 last year

Pros:

Vercel from the start has been extremely easy to use, very high quality, and also beyond fast.

Cons:

In the time we have used Vercel, the only con we have ran into is the limits of the free plan. However upgrading to their Pro plan has solved most all of these issues.

Josh
Developer & Director in UK
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Vercel are changing the game

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: One of the best companies and tools I've worked with for a while.

Pros:

Beautifully simple deployment process for all kinds of web technologies wrapped around a really nice UI with a fantastic team behind them. Their main project, NextJS, is game changing for fast performant and open web.

Cons:

Almost nothing to not like about it! I can't think of anything worth mentioning.

Yudy
Frontend Engineer in Indonesia
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The Best Way to Deploy Website (Without the Hassle)

5.0 last year

Comments: the things that i appreciate most about Vercel is its support for popular frontend frameworks, such as Next.js and React. This makes it easy to get started with Vercel, as i can simply deploy my app with a single command.

Pros:

easy to get started with, even for beginners. You can simply connect your GitHub or GitLab repository, and Vercel will automatically deploy your website or application

Cons:

it is a great platform for frontend developers. However, there are a few things that I would like to see improved, such as its pricing

Sanket
Full Stack web developer in India
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Vercel's simplicity of use is one of my favourite aspects of the software.

5.0 last year

Comments: Vercel is a dependable, user-friendly, high-performance platform that I wholeheartedly endorse to any developer looking to install and host their websites and applications.

Pros:

Developers may easily explore the platform and launch their applications right away because to its user-friendly interface. The manual is highly extensive and offers simple-to-follow step-by-step instructions. Vercel's CDN and global edge network enable exceptionally quick website and application deployment and loading.

Cons:

Despite the ease with which Vercel interfaces with other programmes and services, some programmers may find that the platform's limited support for databases and backend services prevents them from creating more sophisticated applications.Although the Vercel platform's support channels, such as email and community forums, are comprehensive and well-written, some developers may find that they are not as responsive as they would like.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Newspapers, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Deploy your static application for free

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We were more than happy to use Vercel for our static applications including websites and other analytics dashboards.

Pros:

We used this service to host our static application and it was easy. We can't complain whatsoever. It also has build-in CI/CD pipeline and provides previews for every git push

Cons:

The only drawback is the 100GB bandwidth limit. But yet for internal applications, this is more than enough.

Saajan
Security Researcher in India
Computer & Network Security, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Fast deployment time of vercel is perfect

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with Vercel till now is good. And, I used so many competitors of Vercel like Netlify, Github Pages, Cloudfare Pages, and Render but no one can beat the speed of the deployment process in the Vercel. Also, Vercel has some cool features like preview apps and so on. And, That's why still i am sticking with the Vercel today for my apps.

Pros:

Vercel is very simple to deploy apps or websites on their server. And, Vercel also deploys our apps instantly. Also, I like its automatic deployments feature that automatically makes changes on the apps if we made some changes in the connected repo.

Cons:

Although Vercel has good features and capabilities but still it lacks some easy documentation for beginners and developers as well.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great platform for Web Developers

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, Vercel is a fantastic program for frontend frameworks and static websites.

Pros:

Vercel is an easy-to-use platform that has a neat user interface, free plan, no bandwidth limit on deployed sites, fast deployment, and the ability to have multiple projects.

Cons:

I am yet to find anything I dislike about this platform.

Oguzhan
Oguzhan
Frontend Developer in Türkiye
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The easiest way to deploy websites

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Vercel is very fast and it has a clear file structure. If you wanna create a static web app, you should try it.

Cons:

I think it only problem is that it has some strict rules but this's not a big problem.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Events Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Really love it

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Great for our business has helped improve us. Easy to setup and inexpensive.

Pros:

Easy to setup and very cheap. The pro version is even better.

Cons:

To be honest we haven't found anything wrong right now and are really enjoying it.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Market Research, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Multi-linked Severless Platform

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Trying to make our projects have an online audience and Vercel made it easier and cost effective as we did not need too many experts for our page to run

Pros:

Vercel is unbeatable when it comes to how many software and application development platforms I can deploy. From Github to Next.js, from Nuxt.js to Gitlad and the list goes on and on.

Cons:

Only need to tweak something on the pricing as it does not show plainly what package one is buying. Need so much attention to detail to be able to pick it up

Ravi
Solutions Architect in Singapore
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

supercharge your web development with rapidly iterrations

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

It works very well with existing tool chain, can be easily integrated in CI/CD pipeline

Cons:

Nothing major, but having more template would be useful.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Vercel Review

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

the best thing about this app is the import feature from github and the 14 free trial for pro version is great for small teams up to 10 members

Cons:

20 dollars per member for pro features, would be easier to have one payment for a particular number rather than paying for individual members

Simone
Web developer in Italy
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Vercel is the platform you want to use, if you want to deploy Next.js based applications fast

5.0 last year

Comments: Deploying Next.js applications before meeting Vercel was a painful experience. Now it's not anymore.

Pros:

Vercel created Next.js. So it's no surprise they came out with the best platform to deploy Next.js based web applications.The deploy runs smoothly and without any issue, nothing comparable to any other platform or internal configuration you could have tried.

Cons:

Actually, as far as I can see... nothing. Since it is so Next.js oriented, maybe it cannot be the best choice if you just need to deploy a traditional React application. I found it difficult to handle socket based applications, too.

Dylan
Dylan
Software Development in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

*The* most capable Platform as a Service

5.0 7 months ago

Pros:

If you're using a JAMStack framework, Vercel will scale you from startup all the way to enterprise. They have every feature you need when scaling up your app to cater to a global market.

Cons:

Their pricing doesn't start too badly, but when you start getting towards their Pro and Enterprise tiers, which happens pretty quickly, they will rinse you dry.