15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

Activity Messenger Reviews

4.8 (53) Write a Review!

About Activity Messenger

Translate your business rules into scalable workflows, enabling you to effectively run your gymnastics club, school or dance studio.

Learn more about Activity Messenger

Pros:

SENSITIVE CONTENT] are truly fantastic at responding to requests quickly, and integrating suggestions.

Cons:

It's a weird (in my opinion) two-step process but, it does work.

Activity Messenger ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.9
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

9.6/10

Activity Messenger has an overall rating of 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 53 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Activity Messenger before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (52)

Catherine
Member Services Manager & Finance in Canada
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Canadian non-profit sport organization using Activity Messenger Enterprise

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: We have been working with Activity Messenger for almost two years now and we are so happy we were introduced to their product. We replaced both Mailchimp and Survey Monkey with Activity Messenger as well as continue to find new ways to utilize AM in our daily work. It's such a robust and easy platform to use.

Pros:

The ability to use it for SO MANY things. When we first joined, we had no idea how much of our operations we would be able to do in Activity Messenger. We also love working with the AM team. They are extremely helpful and receptive to new ideas and happy to implement new things that will benefit their clients. The AM team is very accessible and we never have to worry about waiting for them to respond; they are ON IT.

Cons:

Maybe I don't use the class registration feature enough, but I don't find it intuitive to have to set up a class in one area and also a registration form to go with that class in another. It's a weird (in my opinion) two-step process but, it does work. And if you're running the same or similar types of classes anyway, it is very easy to duplicate classes and forms and then just edit them to update the data that you need to (dates, location, instructor, etc.).

Duncan
Manager in Canada
Recreational Facilities & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Bulk email & SMS

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: This product allows me to send email and/or SMS messages, saves me money and is significantly easier to use than the competitors. I can create, copy, modify and send newsletters and automated messages in minutes where Constant Contact takes hours. Sending SMS messages opens a whole new world with instant response.

Pros:

Product is intuitive and simple to use and offers email as well as SMS messaging. I am a past user of Constant Contact, Survey Monkey and GoDaddy marketing email products. Activity Messenger easily wins on creating lists, building templates and cost. Lists are easy to upload, paste and build with extensive filter capacity as well as dual unsubscribe features. Templates are a dream to build. Pricing is based on use and not list size which is a giant saving.

Cons:

Search & filter capabilities of old lists and template would be useful.

Activity Messenger Response

3 years ago

Thank you for the review! We appreciate your business and we are looking forward to keep solving your needs!

bengono
SEO in Cameroon
Verified LinkedIn User
Machinery, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

information distributor

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

for me this software is an effective solution because it's all-in-one, and I use it for forms and event registration for my organization

Cons:

the major drawback of this software is that it's not available for all countries and it's very expensive

Annie
Enrolment Coordinator in Canada
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Activity Messenger is the best!

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: It's been super beneficial. Some leg work up front of course but every bit of work that I've put in has paid off and will ten fold going forward now that we're set up.

Pros:

So far we're just using the forms and registration features and our experience has been amazing. The team is incredibly helpful, I honestly cannot say enough about the customer service this company provides. The new forms I've built are beautiful (who knew forms could ever be beautiful!?) and the way it tracks the information that our participants provide has saved a ton of time. Our class teachers can check their registration and class lists directly as well, taking me out of the equation entirely. It's fabulous.

Cons:

The software isn't quite as used friendly at first as I was hoping it would be but I think that's because it does so much more than the software we were using before. Anytime I've had a question [sensitive content hidden] has responded within a couple of hours , if not sooner, or even gotten on zoom calls to help guide me. The company has added many features that we've asked for so the platform is only getting better.

Jenni-Lee
Director of Client Services & Human Resources in Canada
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Activity Messenger makes our business possible

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The team at Activity Messenger has been absolutely outstanding and on top of everything. Using Activity messenger for our online classes as simplied the process so much.

Pros:

I love the fact that the program creates zoom meetings for our programs and that we can set automatic messages to be sent before the class

Cons:

I don't think there is anything I can say that I do not like because Activity messenger is constantly evolving and giving us new features so that we are able to use less applications and have everything in one place.

Cj
Gym Director in Canada
Sports, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Everything at your fingertips

4.0 9 months ago

Pros:

Activity Messenger has seamlessly integrated with our existing registration software and has plugged the existing holes we had with personalized communication as well as form and waiver management. The team is quick to implement fixes and is always available for support.

Cons:

Some labels/feature names are confusing to understand at first glance.

Jacqueline
Online Systems & NCCP Manager in Canada
Sports, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great added benefit if not already using!

5.0 last year

Comments: We have had a great experience with Activity Messenger since the first day our clubs started using the waivers and messaging option and a lot of our AGF Clubs have stayed using Activity Messenger.

Pros:

We like using Activity Messenger for a lot of our form collections, such as waivers, injury reports, nominations, uniforms and so much more. Oh I can't forget [SENSITIVE CONTENT], they are awesome and always go the extra mile to make sure you are getting what you need out of the software.

Cons:

I don't have anything that I don't like about the software, since [SENSITIVE CONTENT] are always there to help improve on what you think you are missing. We just need to use the software more because there are a lot of features that we are not using yet.

Olivier
Franchise Owner in Canada
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A total game changer for us!

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Finally an app geared for sports and recreation . This has simplified and streamlined our communications while reducing administrative time by a lot. Since it also replaces mailchimp, we are actually saving money every month! The features activity messenger offers have become integral parts of our business especially during covid-19. We us it to quickly text/email a class cancellation, and have parents sign online waivers. We also use it to integrate our zoom online classes! If you are in the recreation and sports business, this is a no-brainer!

Cons:

Honestly, I have not found anything yet when I compare to other products out there. This is such an upgrade from mailchimp because it's really geared for sports activities.

Lynda
Property Manager in Canada
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

If you have a CMS - YOU NEED to look at this software

5.0 last year

Comments: These guys are amazing! They have an awesome vision, fully support the product. the new features are just BRILLIANT! It's what you get when you work with forward thinking people who have multi layered industry experience.

Pros:

Activity Messenger is so much more than communication. We chose it because if looked like it would fully support our mobile strategy, we quickly learned it allowed us to do so much more. What is best is it was so easy to set up and start using, my last system took hours and multiple calls with "Specialists", I did this in 20 minutes and only had 2 questions which were answered in minutes.

Cons:

Nothing really, everything in Activity Messenger helped me grow, the only thing I would like to see for my business is just being able to create an invoice would be great, but this is a single use.

Dwayne
It manager in Canada
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Love Activity Messenger

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Ability to communicate with client easily.

Pros:

Easy of use. Flexibility. All in one application. Added multiple features that I wanted since I started using it. Product support is amazing. [sensitive content hidden] is the best!!! Answers all of my questions.

Cons:

Missing the ability to generate RL24 tax receipts but I know they are working on it.

Selena
CEO and Founder in Canada
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A solution for the smaller players

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: This product is great and the support is wonderful. I have been nothing but pleased with the rollout of enhancements and the continued effort to make it better unlike some softwares.

Pros:

It has almost if not all the functionality of programs like Amelia or Jackrabbit but with more flexibility on pricing.

Cons:

It is still in development and at time clunky but the customer service is so fast that it makes up for it tenfold.

Bronwen
Marketing & Communications Coordinator in Canada
Sports, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Service & Fit for our Business!

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

#1 it's integration with Amilia (registration software) and Zoom (for live classes) has saved us hours of time (and tears)! #2 it's Forms and Automation features have allowed us to send out important reminders to sign Liability waivers to our customers. Set it up, and let it run in the background. (Bonus - it stores all signed waivers for you electronically and sends a copy to your customer!). #3 Videos & Photos are hugely important to telling our Story. Activity Messenger allows us to store media files and integrates with our YouTube and Vimeo accounts. All this means creating branded content got a whole lot easier!

Cons:

It'll be nice to have more flexibility with formatting emails.

Casey
Program Manager in US
Recreational Facilities & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A great alternative to Constant Contact

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Great. No need to look elsewhere. We use Smart Rec by Amilia and it has great synchronization, though it could be better, but it is ever evolving.

Pros:

Cheaper than other big name software. The company is newer, and smaller. A rep is easily emailed with quick responses often with the answer or an update or added feature to fix or alleviate a problem. There are 3 useful pricing structure tiers great for several different sized organizations or business. It allows you to integrate with Canva.com and Pixel, both of which can be free.

Cons:

The top tier pricing structure has all the best features. When customers reply to a text message I don't get great notifications. I wish they would actually reply to my phone instead.

Tracey
General Manager in Canada
Sports, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very happy with Activity Messenger!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The biggest problem Activity Messenger has solved for us is electronic waivers. We only had a PDF version before which was very difficult for families. The automated tasks and integration with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] saves me so much time. I also like that I can reach out to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] if I have any issues, questions or feature suggestions and they respond right away.

Pros:

We started using Activity Messenger for the ability to send our waivers electronically to our members. We had been looking for a way to do this, and having it link directly to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]is incredibly helpful. It is so much easier now to get waivers back quickly from families. We now love it for even more features; we can have our COVID daily questionnaires automatically sent to participants before their program by text, email or both; we set up automatic reminders for the start of programs; we have automatic happy birthday emails sent out to every member; and we can send and receive texts from families for immediate communications. Activity Messenger has made communicating with our members so much easier!

Cons:

Right now, would just like a better way to view 2-way communications via text with members and receive notifications when we receive a text from a member. Would also like to be able to add more than one program to the automated tasks.

Melanie
Vice-President, Board of Directors in Canada
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Useful and user-friendly

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: As mentioned earlier, I would highly recommend this software. It is VERY easy to use (there are even reminders to save after making changes) and [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is always willing to help and is extremely responsive. It has moved us from administratively paper based, to virtual, very rapidly and during a time when it was extremely necessary. The fact that it has a direct link to Amelia is fantastic.

Pros:

This software is extremely user friendly and very well suited for the administration of our gymnastics club. With the ever changing COVID-19 policies and procedures at the moment, Activity Messenger has has been invaluable due to it's ease of use, adaptability and low cost.

Cons:

While using this software there have been times where we were looking for a function that was not currently included in the program. We contacted [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and every time he was either able to help us find the solution, or he very quickly created a solution.

Tracy
Owner in Canada
Executive Office, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Staying in contact just got that much easier!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: When we found Activity Messenger they were still in the developing stages of their product. They were so open to diversifying their product to our needs that we fell in love with not just the product but the customer support from the team.
[SENSITIVE CONTENT]
regularly touched base to see how they could improve on the product to help us meet our specific needs as a non profit sports program. As time moved on, we had digital waivers, fundraising initiatives, qwerty codes for easy customer access and so much more!

Pros:

This software is so affordable. As a non-profit, we are always wanting to be conscious of where we are putting out money. Activity Messenger offered so many features that integrated with other content management and creative software that we saved money by moving our forms, communications and waivers over to Activity Messenger.

Cons:

At this point, I do not have anything to say about negative aspects of the software. There are none!

Kimberly
Executive Director in Canada
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Value for product and user friendly!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It has been great. Service and response times have been terrific!
[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has been great to work with and we were up and running in no time.

Pros:

This product has been a great addition to helping us organize our waivers. We have been looking for a system that will help mitigate storage as well as the amount of staffing hours being utilized to try to organize and collect waivers. This system is fast and efficient and user friendly for the customer. The price was a great selling point for the amount of forms we collected a year with out breaking the budget. Happy we found a Canadian company as well that understood compliance!

Cons:

As it is a fairly new product, they have been open and receptive to ideas and suggestions from us for increased performance from the admin side. And work hard to find solutions that benefit all users of this app.

Tara
Administration Assistant (Virtual) in Canada
Sports, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Highly recommend

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall I find this product fantastic! I use it daily and I am always discovering new features that it offers. I also really like how easy it is to use and that you can customize it to suit your specific needs.

Pros:

The pros of this software are that it is easy to use, extremely customizable and compliments any other software/websites you are using. I also enjoy the communication component as I find you can really connect with you clients using Activity Messenger.

Cons:

The only con would be that for someone who is not tech-savvy the learning curve may be a bit longer however it is very easy to use once they learn the software and the functions available.

Selina
Coordinator in Canada
Sports, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Activity Messenger

5.0 last year

Comments: Activity Messenger has allowed me and the team to stay organized by creating 3 different sections for each of the regions we are coordinating. It also simplifies the task when we are recruiting as our applicants fill out the forms according to their region and book their interviews based on the days and times we added on the calendar. Being able to communicate with the coaches and applicants through text message and email is also an aspect that was well thought out and is used often when communicating with them.

Pros:

The way of communication and ease of scheduling interviews.

Cons:

When we would like to permanently edit a workers information (phone number or email), we end up with the same employee twice.

Nathan
Safety Officer in Canada
Sports, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Gymnastics BC Review of Activity Messenger

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It has been very positive. We are slowly transitioning form other platforms and making sure that our community is still receiving the support they need in the process. We are genuinely excited to continue exploring this partnership.

Pros:

The adaptability of the form system allows us to manage registration information, convert legal documents to online formats, and to manage all of the completed documents in a database. With this system also facilitating an excel export function, it made Activity Messenger very appealing to use as a tool that takes in data that we need to safely store, analyze, and access in the future.

Cons:

There are some gaps with specific features (e.g., specific question options on forms or features on the communication settings). However, [SENSITIVE CONTENT] have been extremely prompt, understanding and excited to help fill in the gaps. They have already addressed 8-10 specific gaps that we have experienced and developed features that were exactly what we were looking for.

Chelsea
Recreation Supervisor in US
Recreational Facilities & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Recreation Dept Uses AM

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: They've been very responsive to requests & helpful when we can't get things done. They are also very upfront (in a good way) about what limitations that they have.

Pros:

The best feature hands down is the scheduling option for messages. You can set up a message to go out before you have the registration completed. It auto pulls the registration list & sends to those people.

Cons:

There is little to no integration with Amilia's facility rentals. If we could automate emailing to people who've booked with us (confirmation, details about the facility, a review prompt, etc) that would be amazing!

Jacqui
Senior Customer Service & User Experience Representative in Canada
Recreational Facilities & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fantastic, Best Customer Support

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use, once you know how. Again, Customer Support has been invaluable.

Cons:

It is difficult to find answers/solutions using the online Help Support Inventory. I just bypass it now and reach out to Customer Support.

Tessa
Performing Arts Coordinator in Canada
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Exceptional Customer Service

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent

Pros:

[SENSITIVE CONTENT] are truly fantastic at responding to requests quickly, and integrating suggestions. They managed to set up countless edits for our team in a matter of days during a particularly busy time at our company. I would highly recommend Activity Messenger to anyone. It has a user-friendly interface and effective integration to Amilia.

Cons:

Honestly, there is no aspect of Activity Messenger I don't enjoy. Any suggestions you have about changes are well received by the team!

Stacey
Owner/Operator in Canada
Arts & Crafts, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Love this Product!!

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Took so much of our workload, running our small business, off our shoulders!

Cons:

So far nothing! We have had a great experience with it.

Sebastien
Vice-President in Canada
Nonprofit Organization Management, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent Product to integrate Amilia & Zoom

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: This application save us hundreds of hours to communicate the Zoom link to the participants and manage multiple zoom accounts. Once the setup is done its a no touch application. The technical support is awesome and listen to the organization needs.

Pros:

Integration very easy for both Amilia and Zoom Daily morning activity email recap Automatic Amilia participants synchronization before emailing Zoom meetings Ability for participants to receive their Zoom link 1 hr before the event in an automated way. Ability to reschedule a zoom meeting with another account/presenter before the robot send the zoom link. Blazing fast technical support

Cons:

Relatively new application, so there is still a few minors bugs, the technical support correct them in a blazing fast way. Most of the time, the bug is corrected the same day or next business day.