15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Zendesk Sell

Zendesk Sell is sales CRM software that helps you close more deals.

Learn more about Zendesk Sell

Pros:

The system is intuitive and it is fairly easy to customize and set up. Available reports are very customizable and easy to use.

Cons:

I found the Base dashboard confusing. It's dark and it's hard to find the tools.

Zendesk Sell ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.0
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

7.7/10

Zendesk Sell has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 156 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Zendesk Sell before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (156)

Aleksandra
Aleksandra
Client Success in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great crm

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use and a full suite of features

Cons:

Sometimes can be lacking some needed features

B. W.
Owner in US
Business Supplies & Equipment, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Product with GPS

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Zendesk is a great product at a great price and is a value to anyone who uses it. I liked almost everything about it, but we had a compatibility issue that was not their fault. They even have a free version if you are only using the phone app. How cool is that?

Pros:

I loved the ability to log the GPS for site visits. This feature was way ahead of the competition.

Cons:

My email runs through a corporate cloud service and we couldn't get the email to integrate through the phone app.

Suzanne
Marketing Manager in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Not worth it

2.0 3 years ago

Comments: We were trying to integrate our sales and support management systems, but we could never get Sell working reliably enough to even start working on the support migration piece. Their support was so poor, we didn't trust them to be able to help us with our mission-critical support application.

Pros:

The layout is attractive, and adding custom fields is easy.

Cons:

There were lots of opportunities for this software to be a lot better than it was, and Zendesk doesn't seem to be interested in improving it. The main reason we chose Zendesk Sell was because we wanted to integrate our sales and support instances, but we were never able to get it working. It's impossible to rearrange columns in reports and you can't filter on certain things. There are simple issues, like when you export a list the FIRSTNAME and LASTNAME fields are combined and can't be separated. Their support was AWFUL; they routinely took SIX WEEKS to respond to urgent requests from us, and even then they didn't fix the problem.

Abhilash
Accountant in US
Textiles, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Zendesk Sell Has Been So Accurate

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

Zendesk Sell has been an effective solution that make work simple for us. I like the efficiency and accuracy of Zendesk Sell.

Cons:

I do not have issues with Zendesk Sell. Zendesk Sell is great.

Trent
Owner & Operator in US
Facilities Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Powerful and simple sales management tool

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I mostly used Zendesk Sell when it was the Base CRM, though they've both worked and functioned very similarly. They have created a super easy-to-use interface that makes keeping track of and interacting with clients both simple and easy. Being able to read whole past interactions as well as see relevant sales data makes it a perfect choice for a small business. I don't know how well suited it would be to a large business, but one can hope it would work well.

Pros:

- Simple input for contact information for different clients and potential clients - Super easy to create deals and potential purchases for clients - Schedule appointments, set reminders, and send emails all from within the program - Check metrics and numbers of different members of the sales team for different times and situations. - Allows others to quickly catch up on what has happened in client interactions by reading through the emails that have been sent previously - Easily sort through customer lists to find people who are relevant under different categories

Cons:

- Sometimes too easy to change things that have been set by others - Contact uploading/downloading in .csv files is a bit of a pain at first, but not terrible to get used to.

Marlene
Operation in US
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good CRM That Integrate with CRM

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Been using it since it came out as a beta months ago, It integrates very easily with Zendesk support ticketing and has all features as any other CRM. You can easily integrate with Pandadoc and send agreements. You can send texts, emails and calls from the CRM very easily and track agents productivity.

Cons:

At first it didnt have all the features i needed and support when it was a beta but they fixed all that with time.

Solomon
Consultant in US
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Zendesk Sell Integration

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The zendesk was useful in reaching customers and keeping databases on sales and promotions leads conversion.

Pros:

Zendesk sell offers more features for marketing and adds on the zendesk platform for companies.

Cons:

There are none but the trail but it is a helpful feature to gain customer leads

Juan Esteban
Juan Esteban
Senior Managing Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Zendesk Suite evaluates customer service

4.0 last year

Comments: Zendesk Suite is a website that meets the basic requirements to be a quality site that offers its customers several stages to reach their target audience and provide each customer with the right specialist. It allows clients to add client information and assign ratings to discussions about the motivations behind creating practical assumptions of each conversation. The Zendesk Suite application has a methodology that employs different strategies to discover the image that users have. Zendesk Suite is a cloud-based messaging application that was developed to meet the varying requirements of outreach groups, both large and small. For customers who are happy with Zendesk Suite, it makes the experience of visiting a museum more personalized and changes discussions according to their and their customers' assumptions.

Pros:

Zendesk Suite employs different methods to discover the image we have users through them. It allows customers to collect information about their customers and rank discussions on the assumptions made in each conversation. It is not given an extraordinary score at this stage, which guarantees that it is employed in all organizations. Client assistance is accessible and can help all clients effectively utilize the stage. It combines well with other programs and updates your client interface. Zendesk Suite connects with other programs in the same category, for example, Zendesk and Slack.

Cons:

We use the trial version of Zendesk Suite, and I recently realized that my association was charging per client, rather than a one-time annual or monthly fee that would allow us to have more clients. It has worked consistently and we have had no issues using the scenario in our organization.

Jared
Jared
Founder and CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Solid SMB/SME CRM. Reports are lacking but otherwise great UX

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

- Direct mail integration (no bcc required) saves everyone a world of hassle - Very easy to create customized lists of deals - Mobile app is very, very good - Easy to customize deal page with relevant info including "smart links" to 3d party sites - Decent UI and easy to understand - Integrated Dialer would be great if we weren't already using Dialpad - Quick onboarding, decent SFDC import - Zapier integration

Cons:

- Reporting is completely inadequate: - No good way to report on lead sources - No way to report on leads by assignee - No way to create new reports if the pre-made ones don't do enough for you - The UI is surprisingly slow. Like, a-full-second-for-a-simple-lookup slow. This is not a complete dealbreaker, but is pretty irritating - Associating contacts to deals doesn't associate your comms w/them to the same deal, so if you have a lot of back and forth with someone about a deal, but forgot to add them to that deal in Base, you won't see the communication on the page for that deal. -

Anthony
Anthony
Realtor in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Great Tool for Keeping All Your Clients Together

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Really comprehensive. I found myself adding things to client profiles, interactions, and deals just to fill in and use all the features! Really fantastic for keeping everything related to a client and their deals organized.

Cons:

Some things are too specific and didn't fit perfectly with my work flow or type of business. The Client Space, while a fantastic idea, needs work. It's a bit user unfriendly on the client side. Also, it's pretty ugly which is a shame since the rest of Base looks so good.

Maud
Digital Marketing & Communications Manager in France
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Happy customers happy businesses.

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use. Reasonably priced compared to its competitors. The easiest way to increase sales. We are very honored by the positive feedback of our customers. This product has become the source of our happy customers.

Cons:

There is nothing I really dislike. I would recommend it to anyone to give this product a chance and see the increase in sales.

Chi
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Intuitive, User Friendly GUI and Great Service Personnel

4.0 10 years ago

Comments: I felt one of the reviews was unfair and unhelpful. I hope this will help people in their decision making. To keep the review in context, I am part of a smaller business in financial services, where client numbers aren't in the multitudes. First off, I want to say that their customer contact personnel and support team are absolute stars. Very polite and attentive, they called me up within 2 minutes of finishing the tutorial to see if I had any questions. Second, they had a walk through tutorial! Unlike Insightly or 3 of the other CRM's I tested, Base did not just leave you to test it out on your own. They populated the account with a dummy setup to more thoroughly demonstrate its uses. On completion of the tutorial, they reset the account and let me tinker myself. The interface and functionality of Base is highly intuitive. After the initial walk through, I was able to determine how to create, edit and manage all the fields, filters, contact statuses, pipeline stages, etc. Finally it has connectivity with Office 365 and allows for email syncing... (however this has not been functioning fully for me) Now some issues I ran into, the syncing of my emails to base is a bit dicey. We use office 365 and Base can connect to it to sync emails. However, my emails aren't being received in base correctly. I can send mails, individually or in mass, via Base, but my mails don't automatically sync upon receiving at all. I have to use the Base plugin on Outlook to send the appropriate mails manually. While this is inconvenient, the staff have been very helpful and are working on it. Hopefully there is a resolution to this inconvenience.

Pros:

- Intuitive, User Friendly and generally refreshing to work with - Great tutorials and educational content via their blog - Support staff are attentive and helpful - Offers office 365 email connectivity (BIG +++)

Cons:

- Email Syncing is not working as intended (however this could be an isolated issue due to something on my end - currently troubleshooting)

Rick
President in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, full-featured CRM

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Flexible, scalable, intuitive CRM. I like that it integrates with a variety of other services and is easy to use. It stores a lot of information on our clients and has different alerts to remind you of events and task.

Pros:

I've been using Base now for the past four years. I've found it easy to use and intuitive. It integrates with several other systems. One feature I really appreciate is how it picks up and stores emails that are sent into a person's profile wether they are sent or received either internally or externally from Base. The ability to follow a sale through its different phases is also easy to use. The mobile app works interfaces icely with an iPhone and allows you to record Actions after the call. It is well organized, scalable and offers everything a small business needs in a CRM

Cons:

I wish there was an easier way to add photos to your contacts. It can pick a photo up if you have some social media information, but I have found the process cumbersome.

Mandi
Owner
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Easiest CRM for on-the-go use

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

great mobile app. ability to see the number of times a client has viewed an email! Easy to use deals/opportunities function. Love that it automatically logs calls/emails to the relevant contact.

Cons:

I wish it had better integrations with other softwares. It has several that it integrates with, but the integrations are minimal at best and completely non-functional at worst. Better integration with accounting and digital marketing softwares would be nice for me and might be critical for other industries

Mary
Director of Sales in US
Construction
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

BASE CRM: Love it!

5.0 9 years ago

Pros:

BASE is clean and simple, yet powerfully effective as a CRM. It's intuitive, extremely user-friendly, supplies lots of video tutorials and access to the California team for FAQ's, and has all the features other, more complicated, expensive CRM's have. It allows you to tailor your database to fit your needs; and track sales, tasks, and pipeline projects in graphic form. It's affordable and has a great app for mobile phones that allows access to contacts, notes, tasks, and a workable platform while on the go in real time. It's simple to teach new users how to navigate and utilize. Adding or deleting users is simple, and access to the CRM information can be limited / private, or made public for the entire team to access. I feel like it's hip and cutting edge product; not at all stuffy.

Cons:

The one complaint I have is when you do talk to a team member over the phone, there's a lot of background noise in their office. I also wish some of the commonly-used fields would transfer to new Contacts, like Phone Number and Industry so that those don't have to be retyped with new contact entry.

Tyrone
Adjunct Professor in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Great modern day CRM

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Unlike Salesforce, Base CRM was created in the cloud. It is a great sales and client communication tool. The best feature is the mobile app for Android that integrates with your text messaging.

Cons:

Base CRM is a bit more pricey than its competitors. Additionally, you have to pay for each employee that uses it as compared to paying for a group of individuals to have access.

Susan
owner in US
Wholesale, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

improving now that it is merged with zendesk

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: in the past it was a love hate relationship. Now that they are merged with Zendesk it is getting much more positive.

Pros:

cost effective way to do customer management

Cons:

features difficult to use or we don't even know they exist without a lot of digging. Changes are never announced in a way where we know what new features are launching

Tia
Tia
Sales Director in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great CRM

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: I use Base daily to keep track of my notes and clients. I can upload files and import my emails so everything is in one place. Every day I go through my daily tasks and update my deals. The tool is easy to use with a lot of options.

Pros:

I really like to have everything in one place. All of my files, emails, tasks, contacts, notes, everything is all connected. Having it all in one place simplifies my life a lot. I also like that you can assign things to other people.

Cons:

The mobile app is awful and rarely works.

Trinity
Sales Manager in US
Utilities
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Good for product based sales, but not so much for services

3.0 8 years ago

Pros:

It has a user-friendly interface with a good number of tutorials and webinars to help you learn the ins and outs of Base.

Cons:

It is still growing to meet the needs of clients that have very specific needs with more customization. It also isn't designed for a service that has recurring monthly payments and service offerings. For example, Base itself has three paid levels. To organize a pipeline for those sales, you would either have to recreate a deal every month, or leave them in the pipeline forever. Neither of those is a great option, and the reporting features are rather useless when the latter option (which we do) is used. Since they never truly "close," since they are recurring, and even a lower level service commitment is still a revenue generator for us, the reports cannot give helpful information.

Calvn
President in US
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

I am glad i found base

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Full featured CRM for a fraction of the cost

Pros:

I found base to be extremely easy to use. It had all the essential features of a SALES focused CRM. We do a lot of direct mail marketing so it was important that we had a system that allowed us to easily maintain various contact list and tag them appropriately

Cons:

Although it is a Sales focused CRM i would at least like to see the ability to group leads or contacts into campaigns in the future. Right now we accomplishing this by simply adding tags.

Eric
Account Manager
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Fantastic and easy to use

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I have done a lot of research and used a lot of CRM. Base far exceeds the expectations I had for it. It is extremely customizable to fit your specific needs. The interface is very user friendly and puts all of the information you want to see in one place. The customer service is fantastic. The cost is a little more expensive than some of the other CRMs. But I am a firm believer in "You Get What You Pay For." With Base you get that an more. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a quality CRM.

Pros:

Easy to use, Fully Integratable with other systems through their open API. Everything you need is in one place.

Cons:

Set up costs are a little high.

Matthew
VP Business Development in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent solution

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: Base is a very intuitive, easy to use, CRM. It has a very streamlined sales pipeline interphase, a simple contact managment data entry format and custom data fields that are simple to set up and very useful for tracking unique datasets.

Pros:

The user interphase, ease of integration with Google Apps, the platform and the price.

Cons:

The steep increase to get the professional suite of tools.

Ron
US
Marketing & Advertising
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Base CRM review

4.5 10 years ago

Pros:

It's easy to use. You can sync on mobile devices and desktop computer. It's great for groups and team work. Base works very well on a mobile phone, in my case an iPhone. It's very easy to navigate between the dashboard, to the leads, contacts deals tasks calendars and reports. you can even enter your email setting to save every email in the system regardless of where you send it from. Even when emailing from your computer software like Outlook or Mail, Base will grab this email and include it in your Base database.

Cons:

I haven't had any problems with Base, short of the speed in which it was working on cellular network. At first I needed to clarify myself with the terminology they use (i.e. what's the difference between a lead and a contact.) However, once I realized how they think about it and present it in the software, it all made sense.

Diego
Business Development Manager
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Worst CRM I have used, doesn't work half the time and has terrible customer support

2.0 7 years ago

Comments: Avoid this, stick to either Salesforce or Hubspot. Wanted to give this system a chance but the code is so bad and the amount of times things break or functionality doesn't work is shocking. Upgraded our service and half the stuff stopped working... My director is so tired of using them that we are going to migrate to Hubspot or anything else. Their customer support has been really below par.

Pros:

The recording of the calls feature.

Cons:

It's slow, breaks down at times, calls don't work half the time, entering numbers to call can't be done in certain ways on some forms, support is slow. Smart lists views leave way too much spase at the top of the screen, so you can only see a few contacts at a time.

Kelli
office manager in US
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Doesn't do what we need it to do

3.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Easy to set up customer database that can store related documents and images

Cons:

No calendar sharing between team members makes this product an expensive rolodex.