About Datapel WMS

Built to drive operations with advanced order management & inventory control workflows to achieve best practices for your industry.

Learn more about Datapel WMS

Pros:

Quick and relatively painless install and setup, minor teething issues like all software however customer services sorted these out quickly.

Cons:

Difficult to get slight improvements with existing processes. Example in Receiving once you Drill to Source there isn't a check box to change from Ex GST to Inc GST.

Datapel WMS ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

7.8/10

Datapel WMS has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 32 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (32)

Sort by

Have you used Datapel WMS before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (32)

Prudhvi T.
Prudhvi T.
Business Development Specalist in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Warehousing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best in the Market

5 2 months ago New

Comments: Very happy with datapel. Highly recommend.

Pros:

-Creating multiple Purchase orders from one screen - Inventory management - Multiple locations - Barcoding - Reports - Stocktake - Despatch sales orders - Can be Customized based on business requirements

Cons:

- Would be great if Integrations with E-commerce platforms are ready and available to connect ( integrations are still possible but will be a custom job)

Justin G.
Managing Director in Australia
Wholesale, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Datapel WMS Review

4 2 years ago

Comments: It has given us the ability to integrate MYOB with a Warehouse Management System.

Pros:

- Easy to use once you understand the system - It gives us the ability to integrate MYOB with a Warehouse Management System. - Integration between cloud based and server based applications.

Cons:

- Unable to have multiple windows open at the same time. Specifically we are unable to access important information such as customer reports, item list and New Sales Order at the same time. - Stock transfers are convoluted, and we are only able to do 1 item at a time. - Special pricing doesn't show the profit margin per line. - When confirming sales or purchases there should be an option to email reports. It would be handy if there was a script to open the email program, not just composing an email that sit in the outbox until the email program is manually opened. - It would be great if there was more specific information on customers. i.e list of lines a customer purchases with the last time they ordered them, last purchase price and product margin; customer gp for the last 3 months - Would be good if it had an integrated email client

Jodie T.
Business Manager in Australia
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review

3 2 years ago

Comments: We find response to our queries is extremely slow. Queries get passed from one person to another and requires constant follow-up by us to resolve any issues.

Pros:

Easy to raise POs and sales orders. Accurate tracking of inventory

Cons:

Reporting options could be better Very limited features for recording information although we do have an earlier version of Datapel so maybe it has improved

datapel Response

2 years ago

Hi Jodie, Thanks for your review - you are correct - the version you are on is a little old and we are not able to help customers using versions of our system connecting to unsupported Accounting Software - which have been out of cycle for a few years now. We have put through a few requests for your system to be upgraded - but will try contact your team again ASAP to see if we can connect with the right person to get you on the latest and greatest WMS edition. We will be in touch soon...

Rachel S.
Finance Manager in Australia
Food & Beverages, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Datapel WMS Review

5 2 months ago New

Comments: Overall, it is a good warehouse management system. You can track down all assessable items with batch number. For wholesale and warehouse, maybe it is enough. But for manufactory, you may want more function. like production plan, scanning items movement to make system on time.... it has a lot of functions, we may haven't use it. still need time to find out.

Pros:

It gave us ability to track all item batch numbers which include finish goods and raw materials. It is easy to use and very good support service.

Cons:

I like their support very much. compared MYOB, their support is very good. No extra charge. whatever problem I got, I just email them or call them, they will come back to me the solution within 2 business in most time. Even I don't know how to use it, they will send me related manual. I don't need search their manual by myself. They do have online training and manual.

Greg H.
Sales Manager in Australia
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Datapel WMS Solution for complex Retail Business

5 2 years ago

Comments: Stock visibility was our biggest challenge. We are still learning and our business is quite complex. WMS has enabled us a level of visibility that we have never had before.

Pros:

The ability for the business using WMS to be able to track every piece of stock across multiple sites as well as track both agency and retail quotations and orders. WMS is a solution that saved the organisation from spending a six figure sum for a custom package. It also integrates into our current financial systems as has room to grow as the business grows.

Cons:

There is really nothing I can think of that is missing. Our experience so far has allowed us to add customised features as needed to suit our needs.

Daniel M.
Managing Director in Australia
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Retail Stock Control

4 2 years ago

Pros:

We appreciated the ability for the package to integrate seamlessly with our MYOB Accounting software.

Cons:

Would be nice if WMS could integrate with our Wordpress online shopping for receiving and processing orders.

Vennesia S.
General Manager in Australia
Food Production, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy to use

5 2 years ago

Comments: Team at Datapel always friendly and suportive, responsed quickly.

Pros:

Batch control amendment, transfer betwen bins locations and the easy of work orders

Cons:

The latest update and myob are proving to be more challenging as some aspect changed.

Eamon T.
Director in Australia
Sporting Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

WMS came at just the right time when we were scaling our business

5 4 months ago

Comments: We had a few sync issues which was actually the result of a intermittent ADSL connection.
To resolve we reconcile MYOB to WMS weekly.

Pros:

We like - the back order managment - bin tracking - pick and pack process that shows percentage of order in stock - the paste functionality from XLS is a dream featrure - default comments for pickslips - RA functionality - Kitted items functionality - - special pricing works well

Cons:

We find the reporting limited If one can outsource a crystal report or likewise for whatever fields / metrics they are after then this can easily be resolved

Elena S.
Elena S.
Managing Director in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Wholesale, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Datapel WMS used for wholesale inventory management

4 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Good service. Good value for money solution for warehouse management software

Pros:

Easy to use. Very good integration with MYOB

Cons:

Cloud version has lesser functionality and times out

datapel Response

4 weeks ago

Hi Elena - Thanks so much for your review - we really appreciate you taking the time on this. I note there was an update in Chrome (refer sleeping tabs) that required an update to your service which triggered some timeouts with a number of users. I have informed our support team and they will be contacting you asap to arrange a convenient time to co-ordinate a workspace review. Thanks again - Datapel Customer Service Team

Jesse M.
2ic in Australia
Wholesale, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Datapel wms review

4 2 months ago New

Comments: overall the system is stable we have minor bugs everynow and again but the service staff sort these out promptly.

Pros:

quick and relatively painless install and setup, minor teething issues like all software however customer services sorted these out quickly.

Cons:

not too many things, missing a few features to make receiving in stock simpler but for the overall not too bad.

Adam K.
Director in Australia
Apparel & Fashion, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Strong Inventory Features with eCommerce and Shipping Adapters

5 2 years ago

Comments: Our experience working with Datapel has been absolutely first class, We have been working with them for over 10 years, they continue to add value every year.

Pros:

The Datapel WMS has a really simple to use interface. It handle all our warehouse pick pack and scanning needs with ease. The ability for us to plug in our web stores and mobile sales systems has been fantastic, now we can automate our entire process from order to printing of shipping labels.

Cons:

In reality there is not much at all that we don't like about Datapel WMS Its such a comprehensive WMS and dose its job so well that its the only piece of software that we haven't changed in the last 2 years of our cloud first digital transformation of the business.

Maxi B.
Director in Australia
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Datapel WMS Review

4 2 years ago

Comments: The remote service was originally most helpful when we could speak with people online.
Not so easy when this service was suspended and one had to wait for email response.

Pros:

Integration with our business was not as easy as I had hoped. However don't believe we ever had enough training to use all of the features of the program.

Cons:

The integration with myob always created inventory issues. This was because we hadn't correctly moved stock one way or another, once again probably never understanding the correct integration process. Support of the Datapel and Myob provider on a paid basis was essential for us, and I constantly felt like we needed so much more training. This service provider was amazing.

Kim hiang P.
Managing Director in Singapore
Wholesale, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great support from implementation to ad hoc assitance required

5 2 years ago

Comments: Good

Pros:

It is easy to use. When we faced problem occasionally, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] from Seasoft is very quick to attend to our needs. Therefore, we faced very little downtime.

Cons:

1) For some transactions, there are discrepancies in the tax amount when they are replicated to MYOB. 2) Sales Reconciliation has to be performed daily to identify the above discrepancies to correct them in MYOB, but the Sales Reconciliation Report "MYOB Invoices NOT reconciled with WMS Sales" takes a long time to complete even when it is just for 1 day sales. 3) Under Stock Adjustment, after the list of items is selected and the quantities and batch numbers have been keyed in, at this point if you want to add another item, you will have to go back to the selection list but in doing so, all the quantities and batch numbers previously entered will be gone. 4) Credit Note: After credit note has been created under "Return Status" before entry of batch number, if you realised that there errors and you want to make any amendments at all, even in just a description like reference number, the area under discount will have strange percentage appearing, even though the total value is correct.

Christopher G.
Managaing Director in Australia
Food & Beverages, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Exactly what we needed

5 last year

Comments: Something that i think even suprised Datapel was that when we choose Datapel - we had a two week window to implement - I didnt think they thought this was possible, as software is uniquely adapted to your requirment! They arrived on the day of our first pack off, and be it only in a skeleton fashion - everything worked and we could collect and send the data required! Then over a few months they refined the process to be more automated, Still some work to be done on other areas as we develop our knowledge within using the system.

Pros:

Firstly we needed the easy integration with our Financial system, Secondly we had some unique requirments in terms of capturing and sending all the Xml data of site daily. Thirdly it has the scope for us to expand and utilise more functions interms of MRP. We have a way to go but Datapel have enabled us to use componenets we need now and we are working on establishing a plan to continue on this journey.

Cons:

Dash board is not updating very well and would be nice if i could adapt this to something more meaningfull

Angela G.
Accounts in Australia
Wholesale, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Satisfaction with using Datapel is quite high

4 2 years ago

Comments: When we have had issues with the system, as soon as we log a complaint datapel is able to resolve it in a timely and efficient manner. They were always very attentive to our requests and problems. Overall WMS is a great system and have enjoyed using it

Pros:

I found learning this software was quite easy and can be learnt in very short times. I use the reporting features of it and the reports are very useful for what I need to use it as I need to prepare sales reports to my team and the figures are picked up quite well. I like the drill down features on it as well as can get to many features in a couple of searches.

Cons:

Integration is very good with MYOB but we have had a couple of hick ups in the last couple of years but data pel was able to resolve it very quickly when the system was not interfacing with our accounting software

Craig M.
CFO in Australia
Wholesale, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Datapel Warehouse management System

4 2 years ago

Comments: The after sales, technical support can be slow to respond

Pros:

It sync's seamlessly with MYOB and has become our source of truth

Cons:

Sometimes the software needs to be customised to function/fit our business process. This can be timely and costly.

Sarah H.
Office Administrator in Australia
Wholesale, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Product review

4 2 years ago

Pros:

The ease of Order tracking from start to finish can help advise internal operations of the progress of each order as well as the ability to give customers updates on their order. The integration with accounting software is seamless which saves time on uploading data.

Cons:

New online software can be slower than the desktop version. Support assistance can sometimes be a difficult process and can be lengthy at times.

Tyson B.
Accounts Manager in Australia
Warehousing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Datapel WMS - Great Software

5 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent, great software, great support, great staff

Pros:

The ease of use, great functions for any stock control with loads of modification for all your needs.

Cons:

Some minor tweaks needed after latest upgrade but were addressed and fixed straight away by Datapel Support Team.

Liezel N.
Accounts Administrator in Australia
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Satisfied

5 2 years ago

Pros:

The software is really easy to use and navigate. It has lots of places to retain detail on everything. It is an all in once solution.

Cons:

The only down side is that while invoices and purchases are sent to accounting software it locks other users from ordering, picking and packing. The process is slow but we also realise that there will be room for improvement once we switch to online versions.

David W.
Director in Australia
Chemicals, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mudex

4 2 years ago

Comments: The experience has been good for most parts there have been time where we have had issues but Datapel has always be able to rectify the issue

Pros:

We researched all products on the market and the WMS is the best fit for a mid size company

Cons:

Not much to say here as there is no other product available for the size company we are.

Troy L.
General Manager in Australia
Wholesale, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy inventory system to use

4 2 years ago

Comments: Initially we had no inventory management and this software is great for that

Pros:

Product is user friendly, has great reporting capabilities and inventory management is spot on.

Cons:

General complaint from my team is the system can be slow. Better CRM integration or capabilities, less reliant on accounting systems for data.

Terry P.
Managing Director in Australia
Wholesale, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

WMS review

4 2 years ago

Comments: The implementation staff and support staff have been accessible and always there to help. WMS just works well

Pros:

Work flows are easy to follow. there is some flexibility in customisation. works seamlessly with MYOB. stock locations and levels are easily monitored

Cons:

some of the replication to MYOB can be a bit clunky

Nicole S.
Administration/Accounts in Australia
Medical Devices, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Happy Customer

4 last year

Comments: Satisfied customer

Pros:

It's easy to use and enables me to achieve all my warehousing goals and objectives. In the medical field we have to track lot numbers / serial numbers, which is easy to achieve and manage with WMS.

Cons:

There are sometimes software glitches that disrupt the workflow.

Joe H.
Administration in Australia
Food & Beverages, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Datapel WMS Review

4 2 years ago

Pros:

Interface is quite and simple and easy to learn.

Cons:

Difficult to get slight improvements with existing processes. Example in Receiving once you Drill to Source there isn't a check box to change from Ex GST to Inc GST. However this feature is available in Special Pricing in the Sales screen

Matthew C.
Director in Australia
Wholesale, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

V12 Cloud migrations

5 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent service! I would like to take this opportunity to thank you [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] who has been very helpful throughout this migration

Pros:

v12 cloud version gives us a better option to customise for our needs

Cons:

the speed is average specially when you have to deal with orders with over 100 lines it is not the best