About Ansys Fluent

Ansys Fluent is the industry-leading computational fluid dynamic software known for advanced physics modeling capabilities and accuracy

Learn more about Ansys Fluent

Pros:

It also has support for distributed computing architecture which has been very beneficial in meshing and processing complex one dimensional CAE problems.

Cons:

Keeping pace with the changes and new functionalities is a bit of a learning curve. The rendering of 3D heat maps and stress diagrams is a bit choppy with certain older generation GPUs.

Ansys Fluent ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.6
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

7.9/10

Ansys Fluent has an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 30 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Ansys Fluent before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (30)

Amjed A.
Amjed A.
Mechanical Engineer in Jordan
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Why Ansys Fluent?

5 3 months ago

Comments: I used Ansys Fluent to simulate heat exchange using a heat pipe filled with various types of nanofluids.

Pros:

When the appropriate parameters are included, it aids in simulating fluid behavior. This was an excellent way to double-check the results of an experiment. Heat transfer, laminar flow, and turbulent flow can all be simulated. You can learn how to use it for minor tasks in less than two months. I particularly like the variety of data and model file extensions it supports; for example, you can import data from Excel and SolidWorks or cad files. I like how the application generates a report automatically at the end of the problem-solving process.

Cons:

It's a complicated program that necessitates a great deal of knowledge before you can use it. To achieve the desired result, you must first understand the necessary parameters. It also has a high price tag, much higher than comparable applications. It also has minimal system requirements, which means you'll need a high-end laptop, which can be expensive (it can work on low specs devices, but it will take much more time to solve the problem and get the results you are seeking)

Ashwin G.
Ashwin G.
Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

An indispensable flow modeling tool

4 10 months ago

Comments: When it comes to computer aided analysis tools, there are not too many solutions available in the market. Ansys has been the market leader in this domain for quite sometime now, and it has consistently been rated the best. Our organisation has derived several benefits with Ansys, and it integrates well with most of the modelling softwares and PLM platforms.

Pros:

I have used Ansys Fluent for modeling fluid flows for aerospace applications. I particularly like the feature set that Ansys provides. It also has support for distributed computing architecture which has been very beneficial in meshing and processing complex one dimensional CAE problems.

Cons:

There are multiple UI improvements with each product release. Keeping pace with the changes and new functionalities is a bit of a learning curve. The rendering of 3D heat maps and stress diagrams is a bit choppy with certain older generation GPUs.

Verified Reviewer
Researcher in Lebanon
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Tool for CFD Simulation

5 2 months ago

Comments: I have been using ANSYS Fluent for 5 years so far. I use it in all my CFD simulation and I have been very satisfied with it. I definitely recommend researcher to use it if available through their institutions.

Pros:

In my opinion ANSYS Fluent is the best software for CFD simulations. It has several add-ons that are extremely helpful for design and product development. It also offers engineers and researchers a lot of flexibility in terms of equations (flow, energy, and turbulence) and boundary conditions to setup the simulation as customizable as possible.

Cons:

What I don't like very much about ANSYS Fluent is the file management. I have had a hard time finding the files I save specially when the software crashes. Hopefully, with the newest updates ANSYS will fix these bugs.

Atul S.
PhD Student in UK
Research, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Always prefer STAR-CCM+ over Ansys Fluent

2 4 months ago

Comments: (Ran out of space from above question, so continuing here)
which should not be the case, as it is 2022 and opening a website for reading instructions should be the most easily available thing.
6) If there is only one or two persons who answer the questions on probably a 1000 + strong or more community on the forum, you definitely need more people who could man the ansys forum. Most of the time, the answers are actually more questions, which rather point on to 1 or 2 simple things or, a new question alltogether, making the whole process of going to the forum, quite useless.
And if by any chance, the question is tricky enough, they direct to open the ticket, which takes another god knows how many days, with response that "I will get back to you soon" and this soon comes withint 1 month or so, not with answers , but with more questions.
7) Also had the privilage to get a 850£ subscription to the training page, which was such a bad design. (Why don't you hire a better UI designer?), and finding data on the same was very challenging. One also needs to write email to that lady quite often, to ask for stuff, and this should not be the case. After all , for what exactly did I pay 850£ for?
The training portal, is also suppose to be self-explainatory with the new versions of pdf, however, it sometimes seems, the pdfs were never updated, and I wished again for Star-CCM+.
8) So if I have to write script, scheme is the last language I would do it with because it is not 1960.

Pros:

used v19R2, did the basic CFD, however, meshing on a simple geometry such as rounded pipe, seemed like a hassle. So you tell me if there is even worth going forward.

Cons:

Where do I start. 1) The customer support, is now directed to the ansys forum, which I am sure, some indians are doing a good job on it, however, its a very badly maintained source. The previous version of going to portal and looking for a pdf (assuming due to some blessing, it is available), was a better approach. If you cannot open a file, becuase someone is trying to send a snapshot, then please find it in your heart to buy a better anti-virus software. I am sure such a big company such as ansys can open an attachment, if it cant get everyone through the ticketing system, which by the way, is also not very useful, or so late, that the user, ends interest, or endures to find a new method, which does not require the crappy customer support of Fluent. I am guessing that is a win win for Ansys fluent anyways. 3) The ticketing system, never was useful, as I said, needed to couple fluent with python, for v19R2, and appraently, that feature is not made yet. These are the times I wished, my supervisors had agreed on Star-CCM+, instead of fluent. 4) If something has been discontinued, or will be discontinued, take it out from the list of radio buttons or drop down menus. It is simple software engineering basic. 5) Also, again, I wished, the customer portal, were open to more appropriate documentation when required. Putting up everything online in form of instructions manual was a bad decision. Also, i am pretty sure, you had not notice, that the website, opens slowly,

Godwin A.
Godwin A.
Additive Manufacturing Engineer in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ansys Fluent Review

5 9 months ago

Comments: Ansys Fluent is a generally acceptable simulation tool for computational fluid dynamics related problems. With ability to carry out multiphysics simulations and element quality check in meshing, Fluent is my most preferred and effective tool in its class.

Pros:

The efficiency of its results make Ansys Fluent the most effective tool for solving computational fluid dynamics related problems. From geometry, through meshing, physics, solution and to results, the chronological order of the workflow makes Fluent easy to use, even for beginners. The fact that a user doesn't necessarily need to fully understand the governing equations required in the setup makes the learning curve less steep. A user with a deeper understanding however, can create and modify user defined functions to suit whatever solution that may be required.

Cons:

There are minimum requirements to install and run Ansys generally but at times, even those minimum requirements seem to be incapable of a ensuring a smooth run. So it is prone to crashes and may require extremely long period of time to solve some complex problems. A high end computer might be required for such. Eventhough it is easy to use, a good knowledge of physics or engineering is usually required of the user to understand some processes. Also, the solver offers the user less control of the solving process as compared to some other tools.

Sreenath V.
Research scholar in India
Research, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fluent solutions by "Fluent" for heat transfer problems

5 2 months ago

Comments: The interface is smooth and is kept up to date to the modern industrial problems, but some times the frequent updates of software keeps the simulations run in the earlier versions unviable.

Pros:

Working in heat transfer domain, the software offers plethora of options for different types of thermal management techniques. The interactive user interface allows user to navigate through the options at ease and tutorial support offered gives additional boost to new entrants in the software

Cons:

Some times the intrinsic details that needs to be tweaked based on experimental conditions remain stubborn and unrealistic causing the software to deviate from the outputs intended from a set of conditions

Verified Reviewer
Mechanical Engineer (student/thesis) in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent

5 last year

Comments: For general purpose... Ansys is the best... for particular and more material specific analysis ( like i designed my in composite and tested the equallent model on that) its not that accurate

Pros:

Best for simpler and small scale FEM analysis... can also work for Solidworks imported mesh.. thats a plus and helpful for me

Cons:

Just a bit slow.... requires more processor. But that isnt a drawback because FEM software have to calculate value on each node so in refined mesh they are compelled to require time.

Fang L.
engineer in US
Design, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Long term user satisfaction and expectation

4 4 months ago

Pros:

It is very easy to use and has a user-friendly interface with many built-in options and customized functions. It has been there for industries for years and well known as well as acceptable by experts and professionals.

Cons:

The codes built inside are black boxes and if some specific requirement needed, the changes would be only made it through updates on new versions. Flexibility is more expected for long tern users.

Ramiz I.
Ramiz I.
Graduate Research Assistant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Research, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Robust CFD Solver

5 10 months ago

Comments: I used Fluent in the automotive and aviation industries. I have more than 7 years for the application that I have used Fluent.

Pros:

Fluent has numerous options to solve various types of flow. It produces fast and accurate results. According to comparison with experimental results, CFD results satisfy the researcher most of the time.

Cons:

The software does not allow the user to modify the source code. It has some features to modify some interface but is not desirable for every researcher.

Verified Reviewer
Civil engineer in Turkey
Verified LinkedIn User
Civil Engineering, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very useful and includes helpful tools

5 last month New

Comments: So exciting and great to learn i loved it and i wish it could be more simple ways to understand how the software can be used.

Pros:

Not so easy to learn but still one of the most effective and efficient tools to be used so designing or creating any kind of structure.

Cons:

The design of the software makes it a little hard to understand and to use it's great tools.

Gérard G.
Energy & Free Innovation R&D Programs Leader in France
Mining & Metals, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ANSYS Fluent helps us to make our processes more efficient and Environnemental friendly

5 12 months ago

Comments: ANSYS Fluent proposes an efficient post processing tool, and link is possible with 3D virtual reality devices to enter directly inside the modeled system to see each details of results.

Pros:

ANSYS Fluent gather most of physical phenomenums to correctly models our various processes, and the possibility to add our own models allows us to perform specific simulations.

Cons:

Price is rather high compare to other products (some of them are free), and modelization of big processes needs big computers.

Afzaal N.
Junior Researcher in Italy
Design, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent

5 last year

Comments: Best value for money for general usage.

Pros:

I have been working on Fins of a heat exchanger lately. The thing that impressed me alot, was that i can apply the thermal as well as fluiddynamic analysis on a very wide range of materials. the long list of materials impressed me. Secondly, the simplified mesh was very easy to construct on ANSYS.

Cons:

Not that easy to use. It took me a while to get used to stuff. Secondly while load testing, abaqus was more handy. even solidwork was equally good plus there was an additional advantage of easy (as well as complex) modelling.

Harshil K.
Master Thesis Student in Germany
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simulation means ANSYS

5 11 months ago

Comments: Superb I learned lot as software learning is better then book learning.

Pros:

I am a mechanical engineer with a focus of fluid simulation and I have to deal with a lot of simulation softwares. But ANSYS is one of the best software I have used so far. It is very user-friendly and the interface is very convenient to understand. Workbench gives me variety of options to do the relevant simulations. Fluent is design in step by step manner like meshing, parameter design, Boundary condition, initialization, simulation and results. The whole sequence of processes is in chronological order and it is very easy to project the mistakes as well as the cloud holes in this software. Ansys can simulate a huge as well as micro system in a quite stable way. Variety of files can be saved and get by Ansys software which includes excel, csv, pdf etc. Also almost all design software files are supported at Fluent interface.

Cons:

Ansys should increase the meshing range and simulation capacity for the student version. I own a student version of Ansys which is free for students of my university. Secondly, the files storage by the ansys software especially when a video simulation is required is too high. Some considerable. Rar files are recommended.

Punnag C.
Postdoctoral Fellow in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use but experimental validation is necessary

4 9 months ago

Comments: I have solved just 2D CFD problems ranging from steady state simulations to transient simulations that involved oscillating airfoils. My experience has ranged from easy/smooth for simple setups to difficult for the oscillating airfoil problems (because of UDF, described before).
A lot of my peers have asked me to switch to open source platforms such as OPENFoam. However, for someone who is not researching in CFD but using it as a design tool, Fluent is way more user friendly at the cost of research level customizations to tweak problem setups.

Pros:

The GUI is intuitive and there are numerous youtube videos available to get familiarized with the interface. If you are a student you can also get free access to ANSYS Forums where peers help out in setting up a CFD problem.

Cons:

The user-defined functions, popularly referred to as UDF is difficult to set up especially because of the way Windows handles dependencies. The plotting/visualization interface GUI is not as intuitive as setting up the problem and solving is. For example, it took me a long time to figure out how to set up custom parameters to plot such as vorticity, even with help of youtube tutorials and videos.

Verified Reviewer
student in Nepal
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best for cfd analysis

4 last year

Comments: overall experience is satisfactory, awesome software for simulation.

Pros:

best simulation software for cfd analysis . animations ,graph of simulated output can be easily extracted .optimization of varying input can be done for suitable output .FEM analysis can also be done. this software is best for mechanical projects . geometry can also be imported from other cad softwares.As being student of mechanical engineering I have working on project of savonious and darrieus vertical axis wind turbine, cfd analysis of wind turbine profile is to be done .using ansys it became easy to analyze the variation of output varying wind speed , aspect ratios and other factors.

Cons:

A bit slow if number of meshed element are too large, a bit difficult to use for beginners. licensing is a bit costly for students like me.

Verified Reviewer
Graduate Research Assistant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Robust and user friendly

4 5 months ago

Pros:

It’s easy to start learning cfd using fluent without in-depth knowledge of fluid mechanics.

Cons:

I wish if we can also see the equations being used in the interface. It will become easier to relate the theory with application.

Bipin G.
Simulation engineer in US
Aviation & Aerospace, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fluent

4 4 months ago

Comments: Overall satisfied

Pros:

Functionality , options and accuracy are good features .

Cons:

Dynamic mesh features are ver difficult to use . Serious convergence issues for transient analysis. Post processing is not easy.

Tariq A.
Student in India
Education Management, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ansys Fluent, one of the best!

5 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall, ansys fluent has made a direct impact in my day to day work, allowing me to uncover various observations.

Pros:

One of the best things about Ansys Fluent is the user interface. It is extremely beginner friendly. Furthermore there is a help icon below each and every button which allows and opens up a browser which provides an in-depth analysis of the same.

Cons:

Perhaps, the option of not being able to convert the simulation file into a GUI is something that is still missing in Fluent.

Oladipo A.
Oladipo A.
Content Writer in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Broadcast Media, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ansys Fluent as an Engineering Software

5 8 months ago

Comments: The overall usefulness of this software is way more higher than its disadvantages, So, it is highly recommended.

Pros:

The fact that it is easy to import CAD models through space claim. It is a software that can easily work on models from any other engineering software.

Cons:

One of the major disadvantage of this particular software is that it consumes a lot of space on the RAM/ memory of the PC. The software can not be used by anyone that doesn't have basic knowledge in Physics.

Ali I.
Systems Security Engineering Manager in Turkey
Information Technology & Services, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

From.securiry perspective

4 4 months ago

Comments: Neutral

Pros:

Doors compatibility and exporting the reports

Cons:

Not to many system security capability...

Verified Reviewer
Draftsman in Ghana
Verified LinkedIn User
Civil Engineering, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ansys fluent Review

4 last year

Pros:

video out of a simulation, graph output from your simulation which is fully customizable. the arrangement of the commands are pretty accessible. I love how you are able to link the commands you use.

Cons:

it is not easy use as a beginner. As a beginner it was pretty hard for me to locate a lot of commands. it is draws a lot of power from my system when I'm running complex simulations.

Dave D.
Modelling & Simulation Engineer in UK
Defense & Space, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review

3 4 months ago

Comments: Mixed.
I appreciate the software's technical capability and support from customer support team has been very good, but the solver can be a real pain to run at hypersonic speeds at times if there is any amount iof divergence from primitive geometry.

Pros:

The price is good and there is a good deal of physical model functionality from low to hypersonic. Significant V&V has been done. I like the Fluent AERO capability that is being rolled out to do sweeps of AoA, Mach, etc.

Cons:

The software is very difficult to apply - significant amount of time needs invested in meshing. Other solvers (e.g. CDD++) are much easier to run successfully (i.e. quickly get solve an analysis). Find that other colvers are more capable numerically of running in the hypersonic regime. Fluent capability of integrating with Pointwise meshes that I receive from my customer is not great. Sometimes the technical support is good, other times can be a bit distant. Support received from other vendors is more engaged and actively trying to help (i.e. hands on).

Ayodeji O.
Ayodeji O.
Additive manufacturing in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The perfect Engineering simulation software.

5 10 months ago

Comments: Ansys fluent has been the most common CFD simulating software in my area, and i have never regretted using it. I have used it mostly for analyses of multiphase models.

Pros:

Ansys fluent is a flexible simulation software, its ability to mesh specific faces and nodes for example using face meshing makes it easy to focus more on the critical portion to be analyzed and thereby the processing unit can be judiciously used for the areas that are more important for the analysis. Recently, i heard of ansys adoption of Virtual Reality which i think will be perfect for real time simulation of multiphase models.

Cons:

It's difficult to compute a well refined mesh on low end laptops due to processor and ram limitations. also someone with low or no knowledge of engineering will find it confusing and difficult to use fluent. furthermore, the user interface is not too enticing for new beginners.

Umar A.
Umar A.
Engineer in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Fluency of Ansys Fluent

5 9 months ago

Comments: The overall experience is great. Although it has a steep learning curve, by the time you understand it, it becomes rather simple to operate.

Pros:

What I liked most about the product was how it made the rather difficult and confusing topic of CFD easy to understand and comprehend. It is a useful tool to carry out several CFD experiments. I dare say that it is the best software out there for this specific problem.

Cons:

The user interface many times is confusing and difficult. It takes sometime to get used to it.

Ralf G.
Academic stuff in Germany
Research, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ralfs review

5 4 months ago

Comments: i am solving transient room airflow and multiregion problems (solid/fluid combinations)

Pros:

The ability to use it in batch mode and the possibility to implement udf

Cons:

that you stoppt Gambit (it is much faster and often creates better grids) the graphical support under linux it is not possible to export the cases in older versions