15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About UltraVNC

Desktop solution that helps businesses access and control remote PCs, share screens, chat, transfer files, and more.

Learn more about UltraVNC

Pros:

First of all, UltraVNC is totally free: it is developed under a GPL license which allow the users to implement and develop its code to realize a better software over time.

Cons:

At times when auditing our employees we have noticed that it can cause a very slight delay on the employees screen.

UltraVNC ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
3.7
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

UltraVNC has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 42 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used UltraVNC before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (42)

André
André
System Administrator in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Chemicals, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A very robust and free option to remote connections

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Pretty interesting solution, I have used it on my former company to connect through 30 operations companies, with different sizes of bandwidth, and it manages it very well, and the price, for be free, is one of the most attractive things about this one.

Pros:

It is free, has a bunch of very good resources, the connection is pretty good, works very well even on poor connections, the bandwidth control is one of the best which I have seen. Therefore, it has some features such as file sharing, chat, and the deployment and configuration are pretty easy on both sides: administration and clients.

Cons:

Do not have so much cons about it, just on the support side, because the software is free. However, it has a good documentation to follow, but you need to have some network and server side skills.

Angus
Company Director in UK
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Does What Is Says On The Tin - Solid VNC Software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My experience has been great, I've used UltraVNC in my personal life for many many years, but only for around 6 months within my business. It stands up well compared to other VNC software, has a low latency and seems to be very stable, with little to no crashes. I'd recommend it if you need software for VNC.

Pros:

I've never had any issues with UltraVNC, it works as it should. The automatic clipboard synchronization is a simple, but well received feature that lots of similar software doesn't seem to include.

Cons:

The only thing that I would list as a con about the software, is the need for port forwarding on the machine acting as the VNC server.

Robert
Robert
Systems Administrator in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

UltraVNC - More secure options availbable.

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: UltraVNC sets a static password when deployed. In addition the system must have firewall rules for accessibility this leaves the administrator with a difficult to change password. The requirements for firewall rules mean that for remote access I would either need to have a VPN tunnel to secure remote access or lower security at the corporate firewall. Alternatively there are many web hosted secure services that are low cost.

Pros:

The most advantageous feature of this software is that it is free of cost and can be installed as a service allowing systems to be accessible at every reboot.

Cons:

Fixed password and limited accessibility makes it an undesirable option for corporate use.

Ryan
IT Tech in US
Automotive, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

UltraVNC for support.

4.0 3 months ago

Pros:

UltraVNC is so easy to use. It is a great software. It allows remote support quickly and effeciently.

Cons:

Remote support over a slower connection can be problematic.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

UltraVNC review by Support Agent

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I would recommend UltraVNC for use to anyone who has a network of a couple PC's, as it is easy and fast to connect to the Remote PC and check what is happening with it. In case some files need to be change, UltraVNC has that ability as well, which can speed up troubleshooting process as well.

Pros:

I like using this tool as I can easily connect between PS's on the same network ( in my case ) and I can check what is happening with each PC in timely manner. Also, I am able to share files between these PC's which can be really useful when I need to edit and upload some configuration file for instance. Of course, this connection is always password protected.

Cons:

UltraVNC sometimes tends to bug, which is why I need to path through Services to the affected PC and check if there was any issues with it's Services. It would be nice to have a feedback, whenever appropriate Service is not running properly or it has some issues.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Ultra VNC - fast VNC with high compression

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Ultra VNC enabled us to remotely administer a number of customer servers that only had dial-up access, without the constant drop-outs that we experienced using some other commercial software available at the time. This has saved them time and money repeatedly.

Pros:

Installation and configuration for UltraVNC was super simple. Our remote clients often had very un-reliable and slow connections, but UltraVNC was able to cope with it with it's high compression algorithms to enable to efficiently manage remote systems and provide support.

Cons:

There were odd occasions where the server would not run correctly as the driver did not load, but was not often an issue and more likely to be a PC issue.

Peter
Proprietor in Australia
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great open source solution for remote computer management and diagnostics

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: The UltraVNC Single Click version has been great to provide to my clients without having to worry about licensing issues. Many of them are computer novices so not having to talk them through installing more complex software and changing network settings has been a real time saver.

Pros:

UltraVNC is a great open source solution for remote desktop connections and being free for commercial use means big savings if you've got a lot of users that need occasional support. The software is small and easy to install and includes a variety of options to suit different Internet connection speeds. There's also a Single Click version that allows you to create a custom executable that can be distributed to customers preconfigured to connect to your IP address which saves them needing to configure the firewall at their end to support incoming connections.

Cons:

Compared to some proprietary software like Microsoft Remote Desktop and TeamViewer the screen updates appear to be a little slower and there can be occasional glitches that need a screen repaint. While not a big deal for remote support incidents it may be worth looking at other options if you're intending working over a remote connection for extended periods of time.

Gabriele
Gabriele
Mental Coach e Trainer in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Professional Training & Coaching, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

One of the first, but not the best.

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I'd recommend other VNC softwares instead of UltraVNC.

Pros:

First of all, UltraVNC is totally free: it is developed under a GPL license which allow the users to implement and develop its code to realize a better software over time. The interface is quite "old style", it has everything you need to start and work out your remote session.

Cons:

The interface: absolutely "old style" and totally out of time. It's a PRO on one hand (read previous pros), but on another hand it's a total CON if we think about the modern app and software interfaces. The usability is not as good as it should be for newbies.

Manav
Software Developer in India
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Free and robust remote connection software!

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

This software is Free of cost and provides a wide range of resources. Also, the features such as file sharing and chat is really easy and quick.

Cons:

Outdated UI which would not attract new users. UltraVNC should upgrade their software and make it more user friendly and modern.

Marko
CTO in Slovenia
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The old standard

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: It was good for the times it was used in. But the other solutions overshadowed it with their feature set.

Pros:

It is free. It was one of the first remote connection software developed. It is still in active development and new features are contantly beeing added

Cons:

The features are lacking and the free aspect is shown in the pacing of the development.

Alessandro
System Administrator senior in Italy
Government Administration, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

UltraVNC connect you every computer

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The multiplatform system and the possibility to use it in mobility using VPN both for the admin than for the user is essential to connect everywhere and give support in time

Pros:

UltraVNC is light, works on old and new machines, multiplatform, plenty of customizations

Cons:

Sometimes customisation bring you away from the core business

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Ultra VNC v 1.1.9.3

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It is a very light application, very smooth installation, easy operation, stable connection

Cons:

sometime remote connectivity freeze during high latency network utilization

Omar
IT manager in US
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Instaba connectivity VCN

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I was glad with it , friendly Interface great to administration of points of sales and servers .

Pros:

The remote control of Servers , connections with Databases . Very friendly environment.

Cons:

The viewer interface is a aware of the remote control while is on .

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Small but functional VNC tool

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Easy to use solution, no worries regarding licensing or user session management, easy to install.

Pros:

For someone that uses remote servers for their work having trustworthy vnc connection is crucial. I used Ultra VNC for half year and I can say that this is great solution if you want simplicity. It’s open source, works even when connection is slow, very easy to navigate, you need only server name and password to connect.

Cons:

I’d prefer to have some optimizations for really slow networks for example do not refreshing the screen or refreshing partially.

Regina
Help Desk Technician in Brazil
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A Good VNC Solution

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It works fine on Windows, easy to install and use (even for those with no VNC experience). On VDI, it works just fine too.

Cons:

I had no problems with the program, I recommend it.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

UltraVNC is one of the best remote tool for internal use.

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I like custom key send option and can insert administrator credential trough the ultravnc.

Cons:

Sometime it's services stuck and unable to establish connection.

Ashlee
IT SPecialist in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Simple and Effective

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We love that its simple to implement and use with our existing system

Pros:

After everything is configured Ultra VNC is a breeze to use, all we need is the PC name and password.

Cons:

I with Ultra VNC had a function to black out the users screen. We find that they often don't understand that we need them to stop what they're doing in order for us to help so a fight over the curser ensues. For the same reason a chat feature would be nice.

Ben
Consultant in France
Telecommunications, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Over complicated

1.0 3 years ago

Comments: As an ad-hoc user and the test equipment I hire comes with this pre-installed.. Both times I have wasted hours of valuable time setting up - Previously used RealVNC with no problems.

Pros:

None, easier and simpler solutions available

Cons:

Complete load of c***, and time wasting to set up for such a simple application. Back to basics please!

Wesley
Desenvolvedor in Brazil
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

I really like UltraVNC because it is a very easy to use application

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: UltraVNC is a software that allows the control of remote computers through an internet connection very easy to use, I recommend it to everyone

Pros:

Ease of use UltraVNC is simple to install and configure, and has an intuitive and user-friendly interface.

Cons:

Risk of invasion, despite the security measures, UltraVNC can be the target of hackers or malware that try to access remote computers without authorization

Melissa
Accountant in Trinidad & Tobago
Import & Export, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great option for free remote access

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

This application allows me to connect to other machines stress free without having to physically go to the machine to perform simple tasks

Cons:

The interface is very dated, I'd love to see a more updated UI

Marco
CEO in Italy
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Service Tool

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It allows me to remotely manage production lines with old "Windows XP" control systems. Great product!

Pros:

Very light tool that can be easily installed remotely

Cons:

Nothing: for my needs it is absolutely perfect: please don't change it !!!

Federico
Network Engineer in Italy
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simple and useful

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Very simple and intuitive program. Features include file transfer and remote control. The possibility to change the compression to improve the quality of the connection is very useful.

Cons:

There are no advanced features and the user interface is outdated.

Jeff
Multimedia specialist in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

UltraVNC: Not really worth it.

2.0 3 years ago

Comments: While it could be various configuration issues unique to our installation, I think UltraVNC is in need of further development.

Pros:

When it was working properly the basic functions were reasonably stable.

Cons:

Very frustrating from a configuration point of view.

christian
Collection Manager in US
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Auditing with VNC

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great product, great price i would recommend this product to anyone.

Pros:

VNC allows us to Audit or monitor our employees screens for compliance purposes without them ever knowing we are watching.

Cons:

at times when auditing our employees we have noticed that it can cause a very slight delay on the employees screen.

Kadeem
CSR in Trinidad & Tobago
Import & Export, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great remote connection for little or no cost!

5.0 10 months ago

Pros:

The free option has enough features to satisfy most remote support needs

Cons:

Often the driver for the server connection malfunctions and a connection cannot be established.