15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Anaconda

Anaconda enables businesses to securely harness the power of the open-source data science and AI community.

Learn more about Anaconda

Pros:

Preloaded libraries, support for multiple languages and environments, support for extended libraries, and simple integration of various tools, makes it a must have for coders.

Cons:

Performance adjustment is really required for users which use low end systems, especially lower RAM amounts.

Anaconda ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Anaconda has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 80 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Anaconda before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (80)

Harsh
Harsh
Researcher in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best tool for Python Begineers

5.0 12 months ago

Pros:

Anaconda is by far the best tool available for Python Begineers. It makes it easy to use jupyter Notebook, Jupyter Labs and other User Interfaces (UI). As compared to other UIs available like PyCharm which are paid, Anaconda is completely free and allows you do most of the tasks you would need to perform without error.

Cons:

Anaconda is bundle of many User Interfaces. As a consequence, it consumes a bit of storage space in your hard disk. Further, it may take some time to familiarize with the tool.

Edwin
Edwin
Administrative Assistant in Kenya
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best software for developing projects from different fields.

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: This software has enabled me learn many things from different fields with different languages most especially python programming. Indeed this software includes many packages on one software and this has made my work more effective and efficient than ever.

Pros:

First is its broad support for python libraries. This software includes various important libraries therefore it does not limit a programmer from using it either in python or R programming. It is an important software for developing long term projects that can run in different python versions. It was hard at first for me to select the best software to learn machine learning but since I got anaconda machine learning has been easy. Runs on more than one platform or operating system. Lastly installing new libraries on anaconda is so easy since it doesn't requires different steps for you to install those libraries.

Cons:

This software takes a long time to open compared to other related alternatives. When I try to update one package of anaconda, it automatically updates all the packages and this I don't like. I don't have many negative things since it covers all my expectations only that if you are using Jupyter Notebook your internet connectivity should be good.

abir
Trainer in Poland
Professional Training & Coaching, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Python distribution

3.0 4 months ago

Pros:

It contains almost all the python IDE. Once we download Anaconda all the most needed libraries are already installed.

Cons:

When I installed Numpy and Pandas libraries they weren't working on "Pycharm" even when they were working in "VS Code"

Ferhat
Data Warehouse Developer in Türkiye
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Data Science platform with extensive functionality and ease of version management

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I love Anaconda overall thanks to its extensive set of features, platforms it contains and ability to manage installed libraries and install new ones. Version management is very critical for a developer. For example, I recently needed a function that was brought to Pandas just recently, which was 'Int64' datatype that enabled NaN values for Int datatype in DataFrame. I realized I needed to update Pandas. Rather than going through painful process of library update and management, I have gone through this process with ease.

Pros:

I loved that: - Almost all libraries come default with Anaconda, such as Pandas, NumPy, Matplotlib, Seaborn, Sci-kit Learn. - Even the libraries that does not come default in Anaconda can be easily installed via Anaconda user interface because the namespace contains such information. For example XGBoost, CatBoost, LightGBM, Imbalanced-learn, tsfresh libraries can be installed easily with no need to pip or other command-line interface command. - Maintenance and update of installed libraries are managed easily and automatically in Anaconda. You can see your installed library's current version and if there's any update, it automatically checks and notify you so that you can update them all with one click only. - Anaconda comes with platforms such as Jupyter Notebook, Spyder, Orange, VSCode and more. So you can develop your Python/R script in any of those according to your preference.

Cons:

There are two drawbacks I have seen so far: - As more and more libraries are installed, Anaconda opening becomes slower. - Update of libraries at once is relatively slow but I guess that's understandable, comparing it to all the labor otherwise that would be carried out by the developer.

Yigit
Engineer in Türkiye
Consumer Electronics, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Better alternative for Numeric analysis and visualization

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Anaconda is very useful tool with many great open source tools that come with it, such as Pandas, NumPy, SciPy, Matplotlib, Seaborn as well as convenience to keep them updated, and install new ones.

Pros:

I liked that it comes with a lot of ready to use libraries out of package, such as NumPy, Pandas, SciPy, Matplotlib and Seaborn, which makes it possible to read, process, model and visualize the data. I liked that version management is very easy to handle, too. It is possible to simply click on the library and then "install/update" button below. It is also very easy to install new ones, its default namespace already contains many many Python libraries and you can filter them using "not installed ones". Then again, to install, you simply click on the checkboxes.

Cons:

The only drawback I can say is its rapidity is a bit low. I guess that's expected considering the number of packages it comes with, and adding new ones to these ones. Another strange thing I came across is, whenever I want to update a package that was already installed, instead of updating that one only, it updated them all, which is odd and very time consuming, considered each update takes some significant time.

Tania
Student in Mexico
Higher Education, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Saved my semester!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent! You do not have problems if you code in r or python, you can work with both at same time!

Pros:

The fact that you can use spyder and rstudio in the same software is a great advantage to improve your app development.

Cons:

There is so much information to learn if you are new in coding, but once you learn, it is very easy to navigate in Anaconda's features.

Alejandro
PhD student in Mexico
Higher Education, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellente to start coding!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Is great! Using multiple softwares in one is the best feature, because some libraries are for r and another for python.

Pros:

The interfase is great! You can adapt your screen as you like, and use more features than most of softwares, like python and r.

Cons:

There is so much to learn about it that it take time to learn everything.

Austin
Austin
Software Analyst in Argentina
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Anaconda, the virtual environment MASTER

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: The best thing about Anaconda is that if you break something in an environment, it doesn't replicate to the rest of them, so you can rest assured that you can test things in a safe environment. That feature alone enables you and your team to be even more productive.

Pros:

I think the most impactful thing about Anaconda is the freedom to choose what do you want to install on your virtual environments, each and every one is separated like a capsule, providing excellent support on each of those individually.

Cons:

I think the first installation of Anaconda could be more user-friendly, sometimes when you first start it could cost to implement but when you start using it, it becomes amazingly powerful.

Divyang
Divyang
Web Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Preloaded Development Tool

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Industry which recruits new comers more or starting new branch in data science especially, this tool can be boon to them. Very easy for beginners to get along and all-in-one package which is also compact in size.

Pros:

Most of the tools like PyCharm or Eclipse etc. requires to download packages when you need during development like numpy, panda more if you need, and many new trainees face problem while setting up the dependencies. Anaconda isnsaviour for them. With already loaded packages that are frequently used and it also helps to set up dependencies in future. Setting up Anaconda and its components like Jupiter Notebook are quite easy with many tutorials available online, but even without that installation is easy. Along with Python, it supports many other popular language like R. Community support is great.

Cons:

Heavy load on memory and cpu on start up. Hence, specifications need to be above average if you are using for personal use. Many functionalities are provided for free but other complex functionalities specially in the field of data science and analyticsy, it require to purchase premium services. If your code get about few hundreds of lines, it might be difficult to navigate to specific module. Need some changes like Sublime to see the text zoomed out so it would be easy to find the part in a code.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Anaconda enviroments

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Overall it was really usefull for the projects

Pros:

Sharing in between envs and in between others

Cons:

It is really slow when it's starting up and deleting envs

Moustafa
AI Researcher in Japan
Biotechnology, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Anaconda Review

4.0 last year

Comments: My overall experience with Anaconda is really very good for developing AI models and do some analytics.

Pros:

I like that Anaconda provides the Anaconda prompt tool which enables me to install the packages and libraries I want using the terminal. I like that I can create an endless number of virtual environments on Anaconda where each one of them is related to a certain project. Also, I like that Anaconda is offering some learning tutorial for beginners on how to use it efficiently.

Cons:

It takes very long time when switching between 2 environments inside Anaconda. There is no cloud or sync option to help me if I am using Anaconda on multiple devices. Also, I do not like the interface of Anaconda navigator and that I cannot switch to dark mode.

Felipe
Reserarcher in US
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great platform for analysi tools

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall it is a highly recommended tool for data analysis and development. Must have tool.

Pros:

This is a great tool for data scientists and developers. Anaconda platform includes system that includes popular programming languages, libraries, and tools such as Jupyter Notebook, R, and Orange. It is easy to install and manage environments, and it allows for seamless collaboration across teams.

Cons:

One downside is that it can take up a lot of space on your computer.

Ailed
Engineer in Mexico
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

All in one!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: There is a bast library to work with, you just need to focus and search for the answer that you need.

Pros:

Anaconda is a great way to integrate the scripts from different code languages, being able to perform better analysis, no limitated to one source.

Cons:

The prices can be bearable, but you need to put effort to make it worth.

Vipul
Principal Analyst in India
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Amazing development package

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I use Anaconda navigator for machine learning with Jupyter notebook. Anaconda's environment provides every app needed for development. We can add libraries through GUI.

Cons:

When adding libraries we have to restart Anaconda.

Robert
Developer in US
Construction, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Fantastic for Data Analysis

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I primarily used this for machine learning, general data analysis, and some mundane scripting (in tandem with Powershell depending on the situation).

Pros:

Installation was easy, and the cost can't be beat. I really like the UI compared to other scripting or coding interfaces; it seems much more approachable. No issues encountered using pandas or numpy, and everything else also worked as expected. The standard installation includes not only support for python-based stuff, but also command line and powershell (for those windows users out there). You can also install R and PyCharm but I'm not sure if those incur some sort of licensing. Bottom line is it supports a ton of different functionality.

Cons:

My machine is beefy, but I could understand how using local compute on a weaker machine could be frustrating. I also had to fuss a little bit with the references/included paths to find Python packages I wanted to use. Once I got it all figured out it was smooth sailing, though.

Pardha Sai Krishna
Student in US
Automotive, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Anaconda- best distribution platform

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I used anaconda distribution platform for python. I used spyder and jupyter for academic purpose and they are very good with their interfaces and help features

Pros:

Some of the pros of this software are large number of applications you can use. It has good environment features and can create multiple custom features. You can have multiple versions of same application. It has large base of applications amounting to ten thousand

Cons:

It is a bit difficult to use at the beginning. Once you go through tutiorials it gets easy to use the app. To use an app which isn't in the package like pycharm, it needs some time to get used to it

Moustafa Medhat
Moustafa Medhat
Student in Egypt
Verified LinkedIn User
Medical Devices, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

My Experiance with Anaconda

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience is very good as Anaconda is the option I choose while writing code

Pros:

I like the interface of Anaconda as it is so minimalistic and all options can be understood easily especially for beginners. Also, I love the short-cuts at Anaconda as it saves a lot of my time. I like the ability to create a lot of environments and switch between them easily.

Cons:

I don't like that there is no dark mode at Anaconda and that I have to call an external package to do so. Anaconda consumes a lot of RAMs and sometimes I face some lags.

Christopher
Student in Mexico
Insurance, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great Software

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Its a software where you can program in several languages, Anaconda has a lot of programs suchs like R Studio, Python, Orange and Jupyter Notebook. Its easy to use because has the opportunity to choose the enviroment, version and a lot of other setting that are very useful for everyone.

Cons:

I dont consider that exist issues with this program, I only think the loading time would be better in some times and maybe would be more intuitive.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Insurance, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Product for Python Users

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Used it to develop models in Python

Pros:

Great distribution, with installation and package management tools and a lot of packages to make developing much easier.

Cons:

It takes some getting used to to navigate the environment.

Alessandro Alvise
Business Developer in Spain
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Amazing software.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Great software, I have it saved in my tool bar and I use it often. Recommended.

Pros:

Very nice and functional. I use it for python and the jupyter notebook works very well. It's my go-to software.

Cons:

No issues identified. Through anaconda you have access to multiple softwares, if you already know you're not going to use some of them, it would be nice to remove them maybe.

Kimberly
Kimberly
Biostatistician in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Biotechnology, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great tools for analyzing big datasets!

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

I really like that it provides multiple tools for analyzing large datasets in R and Python.

Cons:

Rstudio can be difficult to launch sometimes.

Spandan
Developer in US
Insurance, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Anaconda

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I think this is the best way of setting up Python/ML environments on Windows

Cons:

A little clunky and heavy. I prefer just using the prompt rather than GUI

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Civic & Social Organization, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Anaconda review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The application's access to other applications reveals a strong and integrated working system.

Pros:

The app does an overall good job of predictive modeling.

Cons:

The application is integrated with other applications, but data on recent versions is scarce

Essence
Professor in US
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

I not as scary as you think

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Honestly, its pretty wonderful. Look forward to using it more

Pros:

I really like Anaconda, as someone relatively new to machine learning devices, using this definitely helps makes the experience smoother

Cons:

It is definitely a learning curve. I am currently take a course just to truly understand its mechanics. However, once you truly learn it, it is not so bad.

Atif
Atif
Software Developer in Pakistan
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best package manage for Python

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have used it initially as part of a code. But since then, I have always used it when I work with python

Pros:

Ease of use Easy to manage packages Easy to switch package versions jupyterlab is embedded to develop notebooks

Cons:

Heavy to download Take much longer time especially if you are on slow internet Needs some time to understand how to manage versions of packages